Flowing 527km between Mainz and Bamberg, and passing through 3 German states (Bavaria, Baden-Württemberg and Hesse), the Main River is one of the main tributaries of the mighty Rhine River. Running through the heart of Frankfurt, the river is ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 39 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Megan A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

A great way to get your bearings in the city. Weather permitting some great photo opportunities. It was really a good value using Viator and easy booking in. Definitely do the 100 minutes up and down river tour to see the industry and the beauty.

Doing what: Frankfurt 100-Minute Sightseeing Cruise

Ronit B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

The buses wwre on time. The drivers (two) were kind and helpful. Great way to start knowing a city.

Doing what: Frankfurt City Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

James H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

We enjoyed our Frankfurt adventure knowing that we would only be there one day and your bus service was a wonderful way to see so many things that we could have missed. The driver was especially good and his driving was safe. We would use your services again if needed.

Doing what: Frankfurt City Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

wally

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Having only a minimum amount of time in the city this proved an easy way of seeing Frankfurt. We found the bus comfortable and the commentary good.
The driver was pleasant and helpful.
Avery enjoyable tour - we went round twice!

Doing what: Frankfurt City Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

Patricia C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

The gentleman driver was wonderful. His explanation of the various sights was well done. It was a most enjoyable tour.

Doing what: Frankfurt City Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

desker Azerbaijan

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Had no trouble validating our ticket with the driver. We found the tour most enjoyable and informative

Doing what: Frankfurt City Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

Sean Adrian M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Had the best time, Anthony our driver was second to none. Will do it again and go on more tours with Viator once I go back soon. Viator made my trip!

Doing what: Frankfurt City Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

Mario S Malta

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

A very interesting private tour to two historic and picturesque towns not too far from Frankfurt. As my wife and I were the only tour partecipants, we were taken around in a limo, and had the driver/guide all to ourselves. He took us to visit the important sites, and we were also given free time to further explore any place that caught our fancy.

Doing what: Wiesbaden and Mainz Day Trip from Frankfurt

JENNY SOCK CHENG T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2013

It was an enjoyable tour of the city as we had only one day in Frankfurt. The bus driver did not inform us that the bus tour took two different routes as he could not speak very much English. We found out by accident after hopping off at the Galerie shopping district and hopped onto another bus only to discover that the second bus took a different route from the earlier bus we were on. If one were to study the guide map given out when you board the bus, you would notice that there are two different colored routes marked out, one in Green and another in Red. We ended up riding the second bus for another complete round trip which showed us another interesting side of the city. The audio guide was good and the earphone jack sockets were working. Contrary to the starting time stated in our voucher, the bus service began at 0930 hours in summer and not 1000 hours as indicated in the voucher. Overall, it was a very good experience of seeing the "dull and uninteresting" city of Frankfurt as is often said of Frankfurt, especially the twin mirrored glass towers of Deutsche Bank sometimes referred to as Debit and Credit. We found the overall tour to be very interesting although the city is not as interesting as other German cities that we visited on this trip like Munich and Berlin.

Doing what: Frankfurt City Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

Patricia A H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2013

This was a great way to avoid a long layover in Frankfurt. Our driver was right on time...waiting for us outside of customs. He had suggestions on what to see and a great restaurant for lunch. All seven of us enjoyed ourselves. Our driver was excellent. Thank you for offering this experience

Doing what: Frankfurt Layover Private Sightseeing Tour with Round-Trip Airport Transport

Silvia C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2011

I was impressed by the organization, the info package, the punctuality and the wonderful hotel in Rotterburg.
What I didn't like is that this suppose to be trip with panoramic view but the drivers use the best seats on the coach for their leaflets and personal stuff (4 front seats) and make people that have paid to seat behind. This is very upsetting.

Doing what: Overnight Frankfurt to Munich - Romantic Road, Rothenburg

Margaret K USA

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2016

It was ok. Did learn a lot about Frankfurt. Bus driver did not stop at each of the stops like other hop on hop off tours.

Doing what: Frankfurt City Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

Leigh Ann F

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2016

Town has lots to see and is worth the 2hr drive. Unfortunstely our driver was new and his first time taking a group to Cologne. He was very nice but not prepared/trained enough to lead an organized/informative trip.

Doing what: Cologne Day Trip from Frankfurt

Terry N

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2016

We had a relaxing and pleasant afternoon on the river. Although the cityscape is mostly modern towers, there was enough scenery and historic background from the commentary to make it interesting.The service and the facilities were very good.

Doing what: Frankfurt 100-Minute Sightseeing Cruise

Linda Lorraine H

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2015

Great way to see Frankfurt.
This bus is not as frequent as the red bus , however it is not as full either .
We never had any problems finding a seat and the driver was very helpful.

Doing what: Frankfurt City Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

Pamelia S

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

We enjoyed the tour when we FINALLY got picked up at our hotel. We had made special arrangements paying more money to be picked up and dropped off at our hotel before/after the tour but the tour people did not come get us for over one hour late. We missed our tour at the appointed time due to this late pickup and had to stand around and wait an additional 45 minutes until the tour came by. So we were approx. 1 hr. 45 minutes late beginning our tour. The tour pick-up and drop-off from hotel people were very belligerent with me. I had a tour group with me I had booked. They also charged extra money for return to the hotel. Once we did get on the bus tour, it was nice and the commentary was in English and the driver was very courteous. The main problem was with the people picking up and dropping us off at our hotel which we paid additional for -- and they are the same people connected with this particular vendor that Viator has contracted with for these tours. If you do the bus tour, that will be great. But if you want any other services, forget it. I will say I have had great results with all my other Viator purchases in many countries.

Doing what: Frankfurt City Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

George B

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2013

driver very helpful and friendly

Doing what: Frankfurt City Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

Donna L

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2012

Overall it was very good. The first bus driver was good to explain everything as we went along. The 2nd bus driver was a drip. He never said anything and was not very clear about break times. Except for that it was a nice trip. Of course our weather was perfect so that made a big difference because you do spend a lot of time outside.

Doing what: Three Day Frankfurt to Munich - Romantic Road, Heidelberg, Rothenburg

RICK J

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2012

The tour was pleasant, but the driver drove way too fast. It seemed he wanted to end the tour quickly. Frankfurt is beautiful, but small. So with a fast driver and a small city, the tour was over before I knew it. I had to do it again to see what I missed the first time (I think he even drove faster the second time).

Doing what: Frankfurt City Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

Jan T

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2010

Rothenburg is a bit commercialised - try the smaller towns to stay in. The first driver was excellent - the second was really cranky and refused to tell us where to access taxis in Munich due to lack of interest.

Doing what: Overnight Frankfurt to Munich - Romantic Road, Rothenburg

Daniel N USA

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2009

Day one was not spent much on the Romantic Road, but the stay in Rothenburg was worth it alone. It is a very nice walled village. Day 2 was nice on the Romantic Road, but our driver was a bit impatient on narrow roads. The coordination of bus, taxi, and hotel was a breeze. The tour ended about 4:30 pm, though, so that threw us off some.

Doing what: Overnight Frankfurt to Munich - Romantic Road, Rothenburg

Shirley A

3 star rating: Worth doing
November 2016

The pre-recorded on-board commentary was quite good.
On other Hop-On/Off tours I've been on, the driver announced when we were coming up to the next stop - the driver we had on this trip didn't make a single announcement, nor did he slow down near any of the stops - this lead us to think that there was quite a distance between the stops!

Tip: When riding on the upper level, the front seat on the left is quite a distance from the electronic box to plug in your headset ... if you want to sit back in your seat, sit on the right side of the bus!

Doing what: Frankfurt City Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

James C

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2016

The cruise offers you good sights of the city and the surrounding regions along the Main river. There is no official tour guide, the entire tour is done over loudspeaker on the cruise, and is in both German and in English, very clearly broadcast. The information broadcast was pretty interesting and fun. However, the cruise was quite slow, and there were long periods of silence as the boat slowly went along the river, which meant it could be quite boring especially when you're farther away from the city center.

Doing what: Frankfurt Sightseeing Cruise

Peter S

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2016

Perhaps it was the time of the year being right on Christmas but the driver didn't seem to follow the entire route. He asked you where you wanted to go and took you there which was fine but I hope that there wasn't anyone waiting at a stop that we missed?

Doing what: Frankfurt City Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

Deborah O

3 star rating: Worth doing
October 2015

On a beautiful sunny day in half term,UK, myself and my daughter took the tour. It took a little persuasion for the bus driver to slide the roof off, which was a huge relief as it was 18 degrees outside with clear blue sky and lovely sunshine! This also gave a much better view of the city and its stunning sky lines. The commentary was informative and easy to hear and we thoroughly enjoyed the tour.

Doing what: Frankfurt City Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message