On first glance, the city of Frankfurt, formally known as Frankfurt am Main, appears to be merely a transit hub and center for international commerce. And given that its prominence in the Frankfurt/Rhine-Main Metropolitan area, the city’s ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 856 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Fleming USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

My wife and I really enjoyed this tour. We had a perfect weather day and our guide,bus driver, and food were very good. You see many castles and other sites during the river portion of the tour. Other stops were very nice and did not feel rushed. Our tour group developed a camaraderie that made the trip a great experience. We maintained conversations throughout the tour with people from other countries.

Doing what: Rhine Valley Trip from Frankfurt including Rhine River Cruise

Ken W W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Peter was an excellent guide. I'd love to have him for any tour!

Doing what: Black Forest and Baden-Baden Day Trip from Frankfurt

CowboyE

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

We had a wonderful day touring the Rhine River Wine country. Lunch was in a delightful little restaurant near the river and was simple but very good. The wine tasting was disappointing, but the rest of the trip was outstanding and highly recommended. My wife and I had a problem after we had left for our hotel she left some very important papers behind, but the wonderful people in the tour office retrieved them and waited for us to return, which saved our vacation. All in all a very worthwhile and enjoyable day.

Doing what: Rhine Valley Trip from Frankfurt including Rhine River Cruise

Linda H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

We had an excellent day. Our guide was knowledgable and very funny. I wish it could have been longer.

Doing what: Heidelberg and Rhine Valley Day Trip from Frankfurt

dranandnadkarni India

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Good tour, easy to find starting point.Comfortable A/C coach bus . George our guide was a very humorous man. He took us uphill in the bus and suggested a payable open cable car ride to the village below . What a view ! vine yards , village , river and castles. excellent lunch at an authentic village restaurant followed by wine tasting. ice Wine deserves special mention. The cruise was comfortable in an A/C boat with complete restaurant and open air areas.Lot of medieval castles along both banks. some scenic views including the pretty girl waiting rock.Back on time the evening free for ourselves . We even won a small bottle of brandy for knowing a little about German history

Doing what: Rhine Valley Trip from Frankfurt including Rhine River Cruise

dranandnadkarni India

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Fast drive through Autobahn, reached Badenbaden, avery fairy tale like town , beautiful bridges, buildings , garden baths and a large casino.A winding ride through dense forest we reached Black forest a serene place with a lake surrounded by coniferous forest. Authentic black forest cake and cuckoo Clock are the things to look for here . On the other side of the hills across Rhine river crossed into Strasbourg France .The cathedral and toy train ride through the old town was lovely.Peter our guide was very friendly and good swift driver who brought us back in time for dinner.

Doing what: Black Forest and Strasbourg Day Trip from Frankfurt

Louise E

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

A wonderful day with many stops for interesting sites--the Baden-Baden Casino, the Strasbourg Cathedral with the Astronomical Clock, Gutenburg Square, and a lovely place for a late afternoon lunch. The architecture of the area is unique. The flowers are beautiful.

Doing what: Black Forest and Strasbourg Day Trip from Frankfurt

Louise E

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

This Cathedral has relics of the 3 Wise Men behind the main altar so it can be overlooked. The reliquary is fashioned as a golden house-like container. The Cathedral was a key structure for airplanes to maintain their orientation during WW II. Heavy military and police guard the Cathedral since the January 2016 terrorist activity. The visitation inside the Cathedral is randomly changed to prevent possible terrorist activity. I felt safe on my visit considering the changing belief systems in the world.

Doing what: Cologne Day Trip from Frankfurt

yale888

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2016

Very nice trip. Our tour guide is excellent, very professional, and funny. However it is too short in Strasbourg.

Doing what: Black Forest and Strasbourg Day Trip from Frankfurt

chris

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2016

The Rhine river tour was amazing. Our guide had many fun facts about Germany as well. Expect to pay extra for other things, dinner upgrades or the skii lift view.

Doing what: Rhine Valley Trip from Frankfurt including Rhine River Cruise

Deidre W

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2016

Very well organised tour. We missed the connection to the ferry and they barged our bus across the river so we could board on the next stop. Our host was entertaining and informative. The scenery amazing. The dinner was pleasant though the price for tap water excessive and the wine tasting in the true sense - small sips interesting. We took our 8 and 11 year old and the half day tour was just long enough to keep their interest and the super large ice cream and e-readers at the hotel kept them engaged while we learnt more about the local wines. So, don't be put off by the front office meeting point which, while central, is less than salubrious. The operators are obviously professionals.

Doing what: Rhine Valley Trip from Frankfurt including Rhine River Cruise

CHRIS B

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2016

The whole day was interesting, the cruise was beautiful thanks to fabulous weather. The meal was simple and nice.

Doing what: Rhine Valley Trip from Frankfurt including Rhine River Cruise

Lisa J

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2016

Our driver/guide was super nice. That's the best thing I can say about the trip. I felt it was tremendously overpriced for the value. We were given a short tour of Heidelberg Castle ruins and then taken to the town and left on our own for an hour and a half. As far as the Rhine Valley sail, it was very nice, but it was followed by a sub-par dinner drinks, even water, cost extra! and a cheesy wine-tasting in a creepy, musty room. The whole thing could have been so much better.

Doing what: Heidelberg and Rhine Valley Day Trip from Frankfurt

Ammaar M

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2016

Since I was the only person taking this tour, I was switched from a coach to a private car which was good, however, I was not provided with the lunch pack which was an included item in the trip.

Doing what: Phantasialand Theme Park Independent Day Trip from Frankfurt

Maria Agustina F

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2016

I totally LOVED the guide in Rothenburg, Marianne, telling us details and anechdotes. Rate is only 3 stars because of the bus getting there which was late, I didn't know we were going to stop in so many little towns so I feared I had got into the wrong bus, AND the driver wasn't any good with his English. I think it is VERY important that the driver knows english well the one getting back did and was very nice. Also, the lady in the Frankfurt tourist office should speak to tourists in English. Come on, you're dedicated to tourism and get people from all over the world!

Doing what: Full Day Tour to Rothenburg

Troy H

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2016

The cruise was very nice with great views. It helps if you have access Google maps and Wiki so that you can look up all the sights and read about the history. They should not advertise that there is wine tasting. It barely qualifies. Four plastic shot glasses half full, no refills. The dinner was just ok at best, in an overcrowded restaurant sitting elbow to elbow.

Doing what: Rhine Valley Trip from Frankfurt including Rhine River Cruise

Mazher

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2016

This was one of the best trips I took. Our guide Peter was excellent. He must have been 60 year or 65 years old and still active in his suite and tie, very professional, calm and knowledgeable guide with excellent control on the vehicle at high speed.

We started our day with a drive to Baden Baden and we enjoyed the drive. After arriving in Baden Baden we were shown the important parts of the city including the Casino.

From Baden Baden we went to Black Forest, we were given sandwiches and water by Peter while departing Baden Baden. We had our lunch at Black Forest, had the Black Forest cake and its very yummy, We spent some time at the lake. Its one of the most beautiful places in Germany and worth a visit. Take as many pictures as possible as its really a picturesque location.

From Black Forest we sent to Strasbourg, walked around the city, took the mini train / mini tram from the Cathedral to see the historical part of the city. This was the best part in Strasbourg. Its a short trip to the city, dont forget to buy some souvenirs all along the tip from every place you visit.

The price of this tour is little on the higher side but if Peter is your guide, its totally worth it.

Doing what: Black Forest and Strasbourg Day Trip from Frankfurt

Xochitl S

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
September 2016

Guide was great and I appreciated the effort to jam both events into one day, but both things could easily take up the better part of a day. Also there should be an option to pay less if you do not drink, which I do not.

Doing what: Heidelberg and Rhine Valley Day Trip from Frankfurt

Steven D

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
September 2016

It was an 11-hour day but unfortunately 6 hours of that was spent on an old, poorly-equiped bus. The trip to Heidelberg wasn't too bad - 1.5 hours but the the on-bus toilet was not operational. The tour guide Adrian was poorly presented scruffy old clothes, hair and not even an identifying badge. It seemed he and the bus driver Alex had their own deals going to avoid parking the bus in designated areas so we had to wait for pickup at two different spots in Heidelberg.
The real problems began when we left Heidelberg. We diverted to pickup two more customers in Heidelberg, with the bus going down side-streets and getting stuck, having to reverse etc. We lost about 45 minutes. Then we were told by the guide the bus would take us back to the office in Frankfurt to drop off some customers and pickup others for the boat ride. It seemed the company just strung together two tours at their convenience not ours. We got off the bus in Frankfurt after a further 1.5 hours no bathroom break again! and got straight back on for the transfer for Kaub. This took a further 2 hours, all the while the guide telling us there was a possibility we might miss the last boat departure scheduled at 5pm. Thankfully they held the boat for 20 minutes so we got on. The boat cruise was good but light was fading fast. At the restaurant we were served a choice of a quarter chicken and fries or vegetables and fries - very poor. We moved to another room for a quick wine tasting that consisted of 5 plastic thimbles each with a splash of wine. It was embarrassing. We then got back in the bus for our return to Frankfurt that was then diverted to the cargo area of the airport to drop-off the two customers who had a car transfer back to Heidelberg. We have taken many Viator trips around the world - and never had such a terrible experience. A very bad way to end our stay in Germany and a waste of money.

Doing what: Heidelberg and Rhine Valley Day Trip from Frankfurt

nancjohn

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Everything stayed on schedule and the tour guide was fantastic! The beauty of the area and the river was awesome! Absolutely would do this tour again!

Doing what: Rhine Valley Trip from Frankfurt including Rhine River Cruise

Marie O

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Fabulous day! Scenery amazing! Michel, our tour guide, was great and very funny.
Would certainly recommend to anyone.

Doing what: Rhine Valley Trip from Frankfurt including Rhine River Cruise

MARINA V

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

It was a very interesting tour with a knowledgeable guide. The weather was bad, unfortunately--it rained all the time.

Doing what: Heidelberg Half-Day Trip from Frankfurt

MARINA V

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

This tour was excellent! We were very lucky with our guide Peter--he was knowledgeable, helpful, and an excellent driver. He even too k us to Strasburg, France, which was a pleasant surprise.

Doing what: Black Forest and Baden-Baden Day Trip from Frankfurt

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message