On first glance, the city of Frankfurt, formally known as Frankfurt am Main, appears to be merely a transit hub and center for international commerce. And given that its prominence in the Frankfurt/Rhine-Main Metropolitan area, the city’s ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 807 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Raymond L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Great day of touring took the double tour of Heidelberg castle and Rhine valley what a way to spend a day seeing the castle ruins and taking a boat ride up the majestic Rhine river, great memories !

Doing what: Heidelberg and Rhine Valley Day Trip from Frankfurt

Catherine M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Our trip was amazing! The Black Forest and Strasbourg were both sites to see. Our tour guide was knowledgeable and very friendly. He helped make the tours, Thanks Peter! Cathy, Melissa, and Sonya

Doing what: Black Forest and Strasbourg Day Trip from Frankfurt

Joyce C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

The trip was great. We especially enjoyed the boat trip and the tour of the castle.

Doing what: Heidelberg and Rhine Valley Day Trip from Frankfurt

salah.masri

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Nice tour with good information about the town of Heidelberg.
Well organized with accurate timing.

Doing what: Heidelberg Half-Day Trip from Frankfurt

suem

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Great tour our guide Michael was very informative and made the day a lot of fun.
The meal was nice and the restaurant which had an included wine tasting was very quirky.
The Rhine cruise which lasted 1 hour 20 minutes was very relaxing.
There were so many photos to take of all the castles and the time went very quickly.
I would definately recommend this tour. The local provider ETS did a great job.

Doing what: Rhine Valley Trip from Frankfurt including Rhine River Cruise

suem

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Our guide Peter Pierre was fantastic he was very attentive and took the time to ensure all the guests were happy.
We started at Strassbourg which is just beautiful we had plenty of time to look around and to buy some lunch and souvenirs.
The Black forest was definately worth seeing and the original recipe for Black Forest cake is definately worth trying when there.
It is a long day being 10 or more hours but very relaxed and again I would recommend the local provider ETS for this tour.

Doing what: Black Forest and Strasbourg Day Trip from Frankfurt

h.r.allison.89

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

We throughly enjoyed this tour of the Heidelberg area! The town was lovely, and the tour guide was excellent! Even though we left late, he did a great job of showing us the highlights of the castle and are. Thank you so much!

Doing what: Heidelberg Half-Day Trip from Frankfurt

Virgina K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Highly recommend! My favorite tour in Europe. We did the full day tour as it left earlier than the half day, and made arrangements to end the tour before the bus ride back to Frankfurt so that we could catch a train to Cologne. The tour guide was fantastic! The bus ride to the start was fun and full of great facts about Germany. We really enjoyed the gondola ride and the lunch and wine tasting before catching our beautiful boat to curise the Rhine River. On the boat ride, we saw castle after caste. It was stunning! This tour is the ONE tour that I would absolutely repeat again anytime, just for the relaxing beauty. Highly recommend!!

Doing what: Rhine Valley Trip from Frankfurt including Rhine River Cruise

kjellerson2

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Beautiful!! Our guide was very knowledgeable and funny. Had a great time!!!!

Doing what: Rhine Valley Trip from Frankfurt including Rhine River Cruise

Indrajit D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

It was fantastic. of course nice weather contributed to this trip to make it more enjoyable. the tour guide was nice person as well

Doing what: Rhine Valley Trip from Frankfurt including Rhine River Cruise

Peter M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Michael Mickel? is a wonderful tour guide, amusing and helpful! The tour is well run and very enjoyable. All in all a great days fun!

Doing what: Rhine Valley Trip from Frankfurt including Rhine River Cruise

Martin D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Another wonderful tour, great guide but perhaps he drove a little too fast on the U barn. Also we didn't spend enough time in the Black Forest or in Baden, Baden. This trip neede to be longer and lunch should have been organised as part of the tour.

Doing what: Heidelberg Half-Day Trip from Frankfurt

Martin D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Great tour but not long enough to enjoy all parts of tour. Very informative guide but he drove too fast on the U barn. Lunch should have been part of this tour and longer time in the Black Forest is what we would have liked.

Doing what: Black Forest and Baden-Baden Day Trip from Frankfurt

sf

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Excellent. Wonderful, knowledgeable tour guide. We go the best possible value for our afternoon in Heidelberg.

Doing what: Heidelberg Half-Day Trip from Frankfurt

Alison B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

A wonderful overview of a spectacular valley. The bus took us on the scenic road to the Rhine,, visiting quaint towns and incredible monuments. A lovely lunch, followed by a wine tasting, then onto the boat for the river cruise. The cruise was all that we hoped for, with views of vines, castles, hills and almost medieval villages.

Doing what: Rhine Valley Trip from Frankfurt including Rhine River Cruise

Theressa D Canada

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2016

Our guide Adrian, was very funny, informative, courteous and a great guide for this tour.
The rain was awful but it lightened up when we arrived at Heidelberg grounds. I'm sure the views are even prettier in the sunshine. We actually thought we would get a tour in the castle, but it was only the outside grounds and a view of the huge wine barrel inside.
Poured rain in the town, but we did our best to walk the streets and see a little. You do not have enough time to sit at a cafe and see the town. It's one or the other, before you must return to the bus.
1 note and maybe this is a North American thing we're Canadian, but bus drivers are not permitted to smoke on the bus even when it's stopped and everyone is off. We returned to our bus from the Castle grounds and choked on the air in the bus. It was obvious the driver had been smoking the entire time we were on the tour. The bus stunk. The bus was also old, broken seat belts, arm rests etc.

Doing what: Heidelberg Half-Day Trip from Frankfurt

Aaron G

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2016

Great time spent on the Rhine. I wasn't overly fussed on the dinner and the bit where they try and get you to buy wine.

Doing what: Rhine Valley Trip from Frankfurt including Rhine River Cruise

Syed Suleman A

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2016

It was ok. Viator ticket for blue bus was 1.69 euro more expensive than the regular ticket.

Doing what: Frankfurt Sightseeing Cruise

Ryan O

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2016

Much fun. Bus a little used looking but every thing else was great. Our guide, Micheal, made it a very enjoyable trip. Lunch was superb, and the restaurant fun to explore. The cruise was a bit short but very relaxing

Doing what: Rhine Valley Trip from Frankfurt including Rhine River Cruise

bhkim410

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2016

Very nice and excellent small group tour. We enjoyed it.

Doing what: Black Forest and Strasbourg Day Trip from Frankfurt

Morgan C

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2016

Heidelberg is beautiful and the guide was very knowledgeable about the town's history. However we didn't get enough free time after our castle tour. I would have liked more time to enjoy lunch there and walk around Heidelberg, I felt a little rushed to get back to Frankfurt. Overall good tour and friendly, helpful guide.

Doing what: Heidelberg Half-Day Trip from Frankfurt

ALFONSO B

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2016

Good cruise, very had to find the starting point with no care for customers coming from other countries.

Doing what: Rhine Valley Trip from Frankfurt including Rhine River Cruise

Amanda T

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2016

Heidelberg was amazing but extremely rushed. The guide had great knowledge of the city and castle and #39;s history but there was hardly any time to explore on your own.

Doing what: Heidelberg and Rhine Valley Day Trip from Frankfurt

Nirmala G

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2016

This tour was amazing!

Doing what: Heidelberg Half-Day Trip from Frankfurt

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message