On first glance, the city of Frankfurt, formally known as Frankfurt am Main, appears to be merely a transit hub and center for international commerce. And given that its prominence in the Frankfurt/Rhine-Main Metropolitan area, the city’s ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 883 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Margaret H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

The trip to Heidelberg was amazing. Our guide Adrian was very knowledgeable and the walking tour of the castle was both entertaining with his stories as well as highly informative. The old city was charming. Overall a very enjoyable excursion

Doing what: Heidelberg Half-Day Trip from Frankfurt

lethompson Canada

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

This was a great trip. The weather was perfect and our guide Adrian was excellent. Our driver Alex did a great job of getting around the very narrow streets and avoiding cars...especially one going the wrong way. We did Heidelberg then the Rhine River cruise and dinner, and wine tasting. It was lot of fun and I would do it again.
LT Canada

Doing what: Heidelberg and Rhine Valley Day Trip from Frankfurt

jpasp Philippines

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

It was an amazing experience. The only downside is the long hours on the road, but well compensated by the awesome destination and the very well managed tour. Our guide Peter was quite attentive, knowledgeable, and considerate. A huge bonus on this trip was first-day snow at the Black Forest! Strasbourg was beautiful and the sun came out for great photo opportunities.

Doing what: Black Forest and Strasbourg Day Trip from Frankfurt

jpasp Philippines

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Heidelgerg has a lot of history, therefore a knowledgeable guide becomes very important to get the best experience. Adrian was an excellent guide. The photos I took acquired more meaning with the provenance that Adrian supplied. When he found out that I was from the Philippines, Adrian knew that in 1886, the Philippine national hero, Dr Jose Rizal, trained in Heidelberg as an ophthalmologist. Not many Filipinos know that. It was a memorable experience.

Doing what: Heidelberg Half-Day Trip from Frankfurt

Jennifer F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

An amazing tour to beautiful Strasbourg and the Black Forest is a must! We were also lucky that it snowed! Our guide Peter was also amazing and very accommodating with our needs. We got to have original Black Forest cake too! Even though the snow delayed our drive into Baden-Baden and it was dark, he still took us around and told us interesting stories about the area. I highly recommend this tour and better yet, if you got Peter for a guide.

Doing what: Black Forest and Strasbourg Day Trip from Frankfurt

Brian S

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2016

The tour guide bus driver was very good. The lunch included not so good.

Doing what: Rhine Valley Trip from Frankfurt including Rhine River Cruise

Vicki G

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
November 2016

This cruise will take up your entire day for a 1 1/2 hour cruise and a whopping 20 minutes to spend in Rudesheim! And the wine tasting is a joke. You're given 4 'thimbles', seriously, of 4 different wines.
I had only one day in Frankfurt with my son and we wasted the day on this tour.

Doing what: Rhine Valley Trip from Frankfurt including Rhine River Cruise

joel de jesus

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Adrian our tour guide was patiemt, knowledgable and funny

Doing what: Heidelberg Half-Day Trip from Frankfurt

Pamela O New Zealand

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Not what we expected, was just two of us in Mercedes with very nice driver, Peter.
He showed us around Koblenze and was very helpful. Not sure the fortress was worth a special visit, but cable car and park were fine. Would recommend the trip, but if you know about battle emplacements the fortress is not particularly great.

Doing what: Koblenz Day Trip from Frankfurt: Ehrenbreitstein Fortress, Rhine Valley Cable Car Ride and German Dinner

Huned L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Heidelberg is a beautiful city. We saw the castle, the bridge, and some of the town. But, it is our driver Rouf that really made this a wonderful experience. He had some amazing stories and interesting facts to share. He was kind enough to drop us at our hotel near the airport at the end also. An amazing experience.

Doing what: Heidelberg Half-Day Trip from Frankfurt

Tahani M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

The trip was amazing because of such a great guide Mr. Piter. He is the best guide I had for all my trips in Europe.... If you are near Frankfort do not miss it... I came From Mannhiem to join this trip. I saw Baden Baden, Black Forest, Strasbourg.

Doing what: Black Forest and Strasbourg Day Trip from Frankfurt

passek

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

We had a great day on the Rhine River Trip. It was beautiful. The tour was well run and the tour guide was excellent. Our only complaint was we were not served authentic German food for lunch. We can have roast chicken anytime. it was disappointing.If you want to experience the Rhine River we would recommend this tour.

Doing what: Rhine Valley Trip from Frankfurt including Rhine River Cruise

jtrenwith

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2016

A really lovely day trip to Wurzburg - the walk to the fortress is a must and the old town is a must see.

Doing what: Wurzburg Day Tour from Frankfurt

Tracey B

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2016

Adrian our tour guide was a hoot! We had a great time on this tour, the cruise was everything we had hoped it to be and the dinner and wine tasting was a great way to finish the night. Adrian who ran the wine tasting definitely knows his wines and introduced us to a whole new way to appreciate wines. The only negative, was the bus driver - he was a crazy driver, putting us in some very hair raising situations on a number of occasions and worse he was smoking on a few occasions whilst driving - yuck!

Doing what: Rhine Valley Trip from Frankfurt including Rhine River Cruise

Stuart E

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2016

we spent about 1-1/2 hours on the bus. this was OK. The guide was very good. I was pleasantly surprised by the good lunch. The chicken was very good. We got on the boat and sailed about 1-1/2 hours which was alittle short but OK. We had a wine tasting that didn't amount to too much. Overall it was worth the price.

Doing what: Rhine Valley Trip from Frankfurt including Rhine River Cruise

Adriana Brazil

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2016

Lovely tour, visited many beautiful places with a very experienced guide.
Baden Baden is a charmy resort town, Black Forest has pine trees and lakes in perfect harmony, Strasbourg is a gordious old town.
Only point is short time to see it all, Strasbourg deserves an entire day.

Doing what: Black Forest and Strasbourg Day Trip from Frankfurt

Robert V

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2016

A really good trip overall. Our tour guide Adrian had a great sense of humor, which really made the trip fun. The itinerary was good, the sights were good, the transportation arrangements were good, and the wine tasting was good. The food was just ok... nothing to write home about, but the overall experience was awesome. Thankfully, the weather cooperated and it was a fine, sunny fall day which was icing on the cake.

Doing what: Rhine Valley Trip from Frankfurt including Rhine River Cruise

Margaret H

3 star rating: Worth doing
October 2016

The cruise was wonderful. Beautiful scenery and good information The dinner and wine tasting were disappointing. They crowded us all around one table we had no elbow room at all even though the restaurant was basically empty. The dinner was very basic. The wine tasting part was disappointing. Guide was knowledgeable about the local wines but tasting was very small less than a thimble full of each kind and the presentation was in tiny tiny little plastic disposable pill holders. I would have to say that despite the dinner and wine the cruise part was really really beautiful and the trip is worth taking. Just beware that the cruise is really what you are buying here

Doing what: Rhine Valley Trip from Frankfurt including Rhine River Cruise

Barb.allen

3 star rating: Worth doing
October 2016

I did not realize how much time was on a. Us for this tour. Perhaps my error but not sure that info was on the tour sign up info. Lunch in a very crowded Included a wine tasting that was really not very interesting, had to be done in another very crowded space too much time getting in and out of little spaces. More time on the water or walking around a town would have been better.

Doing what: Rhine Valley Trip from Frankfurt including Rhine River Cruise

Hema D

3 star rating: Worth doing
October 2016

We took the 8-hour full day Rhine Valley trip, operated by ETS. ETS arranged for us to be picked up in the morning from our hotel for a fee, which was very helpful. For the same fee Euro 10 we were dropped off at our hotel on the return. Once all attendees arrived at the ETS office we were bussed to Ammanhausen, which is the town where the UNESCO Heritage Site along the Rhine begins. We were given lunch at a local restaurant and then boarded the cruise boat. Unfortunately the lunch restaurant was awful - cramped, with a very basic set menu and tasteless food. Wine tasting was offered at an adjoining facility but my husband and I did not participate as we don't drink so I can't comment on that. Our expectation was that the cruise would be 8 hours but, in fact, it was 2. The facilities on the boat were excellent with it arranged as individual tables and guests being able to order snacks and drinks. The view and ride itself were beautiful and relaxing. On the way back we stopped at the town of Rudesheim for souvenir shopping, which was great. One optional activity offered at an additional fee was to ride a lift like a ski lift from the top of a hill in Ammanhausen down to the restaurant location. We did not participate in that. The guide assigned to us for the day was excellent - friendly, knowledgeable, with the ability to relate to every guest. I would have rated this a 4 or even 5 star if the lunch were better and the cruise longer.

Doing what: Rhine Valley Trip from Frankfurt including Rhine River Cruise

Michael S

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
October 2016

Not really much to see compared to similar cruises in Paris or Budapest.

Doing what: Frankfurt Sightseeing Cruise

rose.mcegan

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
October 2016

Too rushed. We did the afternoon tour but in October the sun goes down too early and you're left in the dark.

Doing what: Heidelberg Half-Day Trip from Frankfurt

Adriana Brazil

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
October 2016

Cologne seems to be a very interesting city with a marvelous cathedral. However I had a guide not that good, apparently inexperienced, that converted tour in a complicated experience. He did not provide any information about city, did not include restroom break on the journey, prioritized bus citysighseing instead of going directly to cathedral could not see it entirely, was closing, could not find easily hotel booked for part of tour guests, completely forgot to give our lunch sandwiches remembered at 16:30, after visiting cathedral asked what we would like to see in Cologne instead of giving us a tour around city I was expecting guide to tell me what to see, but we didn't see much. Finally on way back he got stuck and blocked on the road due to a car crash and because of this we could not visit Limburg as scheduled and tour ended one hour delayed OK, not his fault but ruined tour.

Doing what: Cologne Day Trip from Frankfurt

Steve A

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
October 2016

First, the tour was not what it was advertised to be. The bus driver was on of the worst drivers ever. Dozing off, all over the rode, nearly crashing into other vehicles. Had to wake up the tour guide to ask if the driver was under the influence. One of the scariest bus rides I have ever been on. The wine tasting was a joke, they gave a size taste of wine. I would never book another tour through them. 1/2 star for the tour guide who was knowledgeable.

Doing what: Heidelberg and Rhine Valley Day Trip from Frankfurt

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message