On first glance, the city of Frankfurt, formally known as Frankfurt am Main, appears to be merely a transit hub and center for international commerce. And given that its prominence in the Frankfurt/Rhine-Main Metropolitan area, the city’s ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 892 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

marciaeh5

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

This was a great trip, not only because of where we visited and what we saw, but because we had a wonderful tour guide, Thomas. We were the only people on the tour this day and we had our 18 month old son with us. Thomas was so accommodating to our family and was so knowledgeable about the area, he really helped make the tour a great experience.

Doing what: Black Forest and Strasbourg Day Trip from Frankfurt

Yasmeen N

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2017

Almost excellent. Just the city tour bit in the hop on hop off bus was disappointing. Other wise very good and pretty informative.

Doing what: Cologne Day Trip from Frankfurt

Judy F

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2017

This tour goes morning and afternoon. In the winter I would choose the morning tour. We unfortunately only landed in Frankfurt at lunch time and could only do the afternoon tour - in the dark. Although the castle was lovely at night, you didn't get to see the surrounding city or the view from the castle - that you would have got during the day. The Heidelberg Markets were a must see though - lots of great stalls and food stalls. Tried my very first hot beer! It was different. We met some lovely people. I would recommend it, but as I say the morning tour would probably be better.

Doing what: Heidelberg Half-Day Trip from Frankfurt

Sue H

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
January 2017

Our guide seemed to be in a rush to get us there, get us home and get us through the tour, a cold packaged sandwich and water were offered to us. I loved sseeing the little city of Heidelberg, very quaint, beautiful castle, glad I went, I wish our driver had been more engaging

Doing what: Heidelberg Half-Day Trip from Frankfurt

Inayara B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Great experience, I recommend everyone to this tour, wine tasting was very fun and the tour guide also!

Doing what: Rhine Valley Trip from Frankfurt including Rhine River Cruise

Kimberly S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Great experience and wonderful tour guide! We had probably 7 or 8 on our tour which was a nice size. It was December so we were able to take in the Christmas market while there. Castle was very interesting and glad we had the tour to take us through all the different styles and rebuilds. We highly recommend!

Doing what: Heidelberg Half-Day Trip from Frankfurt

kpetroll

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

The tour guide was awesome. Everything went smoothly. Heidelberg was a really cool city to visit and I would recommend it to anyone. The half day was perfect and I felt like we had the perfect amount of time to spend in the city. The castle tour took about an hour and we had an hour or so to spend walking around the city. Definitely would recommend.

Doing what: Heidelberg Half-Day Trip from Frankfurt

Rene Z USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Excellent tour and very informative from Frankfurt. Would highly recommend for a half-day tour. Driver was prompt and courteous and gave us a sandwich lunch in Heidelberg.

Doing what: Heidelberg Half-Day Trip from Frankfurt

Margaret H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

The trip to Heidelberg was amazing. Our guide Adrian was very knowledgeable and the walking tour of the castle was both entertaining with his stories as well as highly informative. The old city was charming. Overall a very enjoyable excursion

Doing what: Heidelberg Half-Day Trip from Frankfurt

lethompson Canada

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

This was a great trip. The weather was perfect and our guide Adrian was excellent. Our driver Alex did a great job of getting around the very narrow streets and avoiding cars...especially one going the wrong way. We did Heidelberg then the Rhine River cruise and dinner, and wine tasting. It was lot of fun and I would do it again.
LT Canada

Doing what: Heidelberg and Rhine Valley Day Trip from Frankfurt

jpasp Philippines

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

It was an amazing experience. The only downside is the long hours on the road, but well compensated by the awesome destination and the very well managed tour. Our guide Peter was quite attentive, knowledgeable, and considerate. A huge bonus on this trip was first-day snow at the Black Forest! Strasbourg was beautiful and the sun came out for great photo opportunities.

Doing what: Black Forest and Strasbourg Day Trip from Frankfurt

jpasp Philippines

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Heidelgerg has a lot of history, therefore a knowledgeable guide becomes very important to get the best experience. Adrian was an excellent guide. The photos I took acquired more meaning with the provenance that Adrian supplied. When he found out that I was from the Philippines, Adrian knew that in 1886, the Philippine national hero, Dr Jose Rizal, trained in Heidelberg as an ophthalmologist. Not many Filipinos know that. It was a memorable experience.

Doing what: Heidelberg Half-Day Trip from Frankfurt

Jennifer F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

An amazing tour to beautiful Strasbourg and the Black Forest is a must! We were also lucky that it snowed! Our guide Peter was also amazing and very accommodating with our needs. We got to have original Black Forest cake too! Even though the snow delayed our drive into Baden-Baden and it was dark, he still took us around and told us interesting stories about the area. I highly recommend this tour and better yet, if you got Peter for a guide.

Doing what: Black Forest and Strasbourg Day Trip from Frankfurt

Brian S

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2016

The tour guide bus driver was very good. The lunch included not so good.

Doing what: Rhine Valley Trip from Frankfurt including Rhine River Cruise

Vicki G

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
November 2016

This cruise will take up your entire day for a 1 1/2 hour cruise and a whopping 20 minutes to spend in Rudesheim! And the wine tasting is a joke. You're given 4 'thimbles', seriously, of 4 different wines.
I had only one day in Frankfurt with my son and we wasted the day on this tour.

Doing what: Rhine Valley Trip from Frankfurt including Rhine River Cruise

joel de jesus

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Adrian our tour guide was patiemt, knowledgable and funny

Doing what: Heidelberg Half-Day Trip from Frankfurt

Pamela O New Zealand

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Not what we expected, was just two of us in Mercedes with very nice driver, Peter.
He showed us around Koblenze and was very helpful. Not sure the fortress was worth a special visit, but cable car and park were fine. Would recommend the trip, but if you know about battle emplacements the fortress is not particularly great.

Doing what: Koblenz Day Trip from Frankfurt: Ehrenbreitstein Fortress, Rhine Valley Cable Car Ride and German Dinner

Huned L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Heidelberg is a beautiful city. We saw the castle, the bridge, and some of the town. But, it is our driver Rouf that really made this a wonderful experience. He had some amazing stories and interesting facts to share. He was kind enough to drop us at our hotel near the airport at the end also. An amazing experience.

Doing what: Heidelberg Half-Day Trip from Frankfurt

Tahani M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

The trip was amazing because of such a great guide Mr. Piter. He is the best guide I had for all my trips in Europe.... If you are near Frankfort do not miss it... I came From Mannhiem to join this trip. I saw Baden Baden, Black Forest, Strasbourg.

Doing what: Black Forest and Strasbourg Day Trip from Frankfurt

passek

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

We had a great day on the Rhine River Trip. It was beautiful. The tour was well run and the tour guide was excellent. Our only complaint was we were not served authentic German food for lunch. We can have roast chicken anytime. it was disappointing.If you want to experience the Rhine River we would recommend this tour.

Doing what: Rhine Valley Trip from Frankfurt including Rhine River Cruise

jtrenwith

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2016

A really lovely day trip to Wurzburg - the walk to the fortress is a must and the old town is a must see.

Doing what: Wurzburg Day Tour from Frankfurt

Tracey B

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2016

Adrian our tour guide was a hoot! We had a great time on this tour, the cruise was everything we had hoped it to be and the dinner and wine tasting was a great way to finish the night. Adrian who ran the wine tasting definitely knows his wines and introduced us to a whole new way to appreciate wines. The only negative, was the bus driver - he was a crazy driver, putting us in some very hair raising situations on a number of occasions and worse he was smoking on a few occasions whilst driving - yuck!

Doing what: Rhine Valley Trip from Frankfurt including Rhine River Cruise

Stuart E

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2016

we spent about 1-1/2 hours on the bus. this was OK. The guide was very good. I was pleasantly surprised by the good lunch. The chicken was very good. We got on the boat and sailed about 1-1/2 hours which was alittle short but OK. We had a wine tasting that didn't amount to too much. Overall it was worth the price.

Doing what: Rhine Valley Trip from Frankfurt including Rhine River Cruise

Adriana Brazil

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2016

Lovely tour, visited many beautiful places with a very experienced guide.
Baden Baden is a charmy resort town, Black Forest has pine trees and lakes in perfect harmony, Strasbourg is a gordious old town.
Only point is short time to see it all, Strasbourg deserves an entire day.

Doing what: Black Forest and Strasbourg Day Trip from Frankfurt

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message