With a huge number of domestic and international flights landing in Frankfurt, the lively metropolis makes a strategic base for exploring central Germany, with excellent transport links to Bavaria, Baden-Württemberg and the Rhine Valley. If ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 60 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Larry Andrew H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Wonderful day trip. Unfortunately, the vehicle was small, old and cranky. I had to sit away from my husband throughout the journey. This was made up by including Salsburg in the day trip. Guide/driver was very knowledgable and tried hard to ensure all aboard got to see what they paid for. Overall, a very erwarding day trip.

Doing what: Heidelberg and Baden-Baden Tour from Frankfurt

Howard N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

They are not kidding when they say day trip. Left at 8:30AM and got back after 10PM, but well worth it. We drove through a long swath of Germany, our tour guide was knowledgeable and fun. The stopovers were interesting and provided a chance to stretch a bit with all the car time.
Neuschwanstein was stunning.

Doing what: Neuschwanstein Castle Day Trip from Frankfurt

Joon S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

A very enjoyable day trip! It is a long day, so prepare for that. Worth the time to go see Neuschwnanstein and the old medieval city. Tour guide was excellent.

Doing what: Frankfurt Super Saver: Neuschwanstein Castle and Rothenburg Day Trip

Kelly W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

This was a fabulous day trip out of Frankfurt. The sites were incredible and the tour guide, Michael was terrific, friendly and knowledgeable. The food was great. I loved that white asparagus was in season and we could upgrade our lunch request to include that. The only comment is that unless you were really listening which apparently I wasn't I didn't catch that the lift ride down to the village costs 5 Euro and is not included in the trip price. If you opt not to do that, the bus will take you down at no charge of course. But the lift ride was well worth every bit.

Doing what: Rhine Valley Trip from Frankfurt including Rhine River Cruise

Christina B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Had a wonderful time on this tour! We chose the full day trip which included a delicious lunch and wine tasting. The boat cruise was fun and bring your cameras - lots of wonderful photo opportunities.

Doing what: Rhine Valley Trip from Frankfurt including Rhine River Cruise

kaka

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

This was a wonderful day trip along the river Rhine a UNESCO heritage site. Ours was a small group and it started with a bus ride from just off of the Frankfurt HBF station to the village of Assmannshausen for a lunch break and wine tasting at Anker restaurant well decorated with nautical themes. We then boarded the boat for about hour and half trip down the Rhine river. The scenic beauty along the Rhine is mesmerising, the vineyards, the castles, the small towns were beautiful. The boat ride culminated at Sankt Goarshausen, and started journey back to Frankfurt with a brief shopping halt at village of Aulhausen. Our bus driver cum guide Mr. Michael, was delightful Friendly, informative and humorous. He made a point of talking to everyone in the group. Overall, a very nice and delightful day tour

Doing what: Frankfurt Super Saver: City Highlights Tour plus Rhine Valley Cruise and Wine Tasting

S R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

A fantastic day trip from Frankfurt. Though a full on itinerary, it was well planned out and covered the best bits of the region. Our guide Peter was excellent, his expertise, knowledge and helpful recommendations made the tour a really memorable one. We would definitely recommend this tour.

Doing what: Black Forest and Strasbourg Day Trip from Frankfurt

buddy.bland

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

This was a wonderful day trip along the Rhine. It started with a one-hour bus ride from just off of the Frankfurt HBF station to Aulhausen where we took a ski lift down the side of the hills into the Rhine valley. The views were great, overlooking the vineyards and the river. The lift took us to the village of Assmannshausen where we walked to the restaurant for lunch. The food was good and the waitress was delightful. The restaurant is decorated with nautical themes and is fun to browse. We then boarded the boat for a 1.5 hour trip down the Rhine. The boat's PA system described all the castles and towns in about 4-5 languages so that everyone knew what we were seeing. The boat made three stops along the way to allow passengers to get on or off. When we arrived at our stop in Sankt Goarshausen, we got back on our bus and drove back to Assmannshausen for the wine tasting. Then to the village of Aulhausen for a brief shopping stop. Finally, we boarded the bus to arrive back in Frankfurt at 7:00 pm. Our guide on the Bus, Michael, was delightful and made a point of talking to every passenger to answer their questions. Overall, a very nice day!

Doing what: Rhine Valley Trip from Frankfurt including Rhine River Cruise

Darla L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Highly recommend this one day trip. Such a beautiful country. Guide and driver were awesome!

Doing what: Rhine Valley Trip from Frankfurt including Rhine River Cruise

Suzanne W Singapore

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Fantastic day trip from Frankfurt. We had a wonderful guide in George, who gave excellent commentary and facts throughout the trip. The places we visited were lovely and the Rhine Valley cruise delightful - what a lovely part of the world. If you have limited time this is a great option for a day trip from Frankfurt.

Doing what: Frankfurt Super Saver: City Highlights Tour plus Rhine Valley Cruise and Wine Tasting

Carrie T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Our tour guide was very good. The scenery was amazing and it was the perfect amount of time for the half day trip. Highly recommend.

Doing what: Rhine Valley Trip from Frankfurt including Rhine River Cruise

Jerry O

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Reliable and comfortable transportation. The tour guide was very friendly, helpful, and knowledgeable. This day trip is a must for anyone visiting Germany...amazing sites, views, and food.

Doing what: Frankfurt Super Saver: Neuschwanstein Castle and Rothenburg Day Trip

Sandra S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

this day trip is a must, absolutely breathtaking. Our tour guys was a delight. We drove to the valley and had lunch at a charming quaint restaurant bathrooms a must see then a wine tasting. We then went down the Rhine for a wonderful cruise stopped on the way home to shop in a little village or grab a sweet and cap - I am so happy we went on this tour

Doing what: Rhine Valley Trip from Frankfurt including Rhine River Cruise

Tassie Traveller Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

This day trip was a great way to experience the beautiful medieval town of Rothenburg. Peter, our Tour Guide, was wonderful - he suggested that we travel from Frankfurt to Rothenburg via the scenic route which meant that we were able see many of the picturesque villages that dot the River Main. In Rothenburg itself, Peter was able to give us information and tell us stories that would not accessible in tourist books or brochures. There were only three people on this tour and I was expecting to be told that the trip would be cancelled. This, however, was not the case and the three of us travelled very comfortably in a large car. I can thoroughly recommend this trip.

Doing what: Guided Rothenburg Day Trip from Frankfurt

Ceej

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

No trip to Frankfurt is complete without a day trip to Heidelberg! This was a very beautiful castle, even though it rained. We were shown the world's largest wine barrel, which was quite amusing! Anyone who likes history would enjoy the tour, as we learned some great facts.

Doing what: Heidelberg Half-Day Trip from Frankfurt

Mario S Malta

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

A great day trip to this lovely city with its enormous Cathedral. We had time enough for personal sightseeing, and visiting the Cathedral at our leisure. The stop in Limburg on the way back to Frankfurt was a pleasant break, and a chance to see an untouched medieval town.

Doing what: Cologne Day Trip from Frankfurt

Patricia C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Great day trip. We had a fantastic day. Only a small group (4 of us) and Peter, our guide was wonderful. He was professional yet personable. He was very knowledgeable about the region and explained many things to us about the local history and culture. Peter is an excellent and capable driver, this is quite a long distance trip and I felt very safe with him at the wheel. Initially, we were a bit reluctant to spend the money for this day trip but it turned out to be the most enjoyable day we had during our 3 weeks in Europe. Well worth what it costs. I will remember this day for a long time to come, especially the Strasbourg Boat Cruise, the Black Forest Cake and the Cuckoo Clocks!

Doing what: Black Forest and Strasbourg Day Trip from Frankfurt

Yoda

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2013

Very special. Overnight stay in Rothenburg wonderful, especially as all the day trippers have left. Time to walk the town, do the Night Watchman's Tour and walk the wall which surrounds the village. Simply lovely overnight stay in Hohenschwangau and despite huge numbers of people tour of Neuschwanstein Castle extremely well organised and orderly. Very pretty spot. Although there are short stops along the way bus trip from Rothenburg to Hohenschwangau a very long day.

Doing what: Four Day Frankfurt to Munich - Romantic Road, Hohenschwangau, Neuschwanstein

Steven W F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

A fantastic half day trip. The tour guide was affable and knowledgeable and ensure each and every passenger had a great day out. Would thoroughly recommend this tour and tour company.

Doing what: Heidelberg Half-Day Trip from Frankfurt

Roderic B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

I really enjoyed my day trip to Neuschwanstein. It is an extremely long day with a lot of time on the road. If you are not put off by spending 4-5 hours on the road each way, I highly recommend this trip. The castle is one of the most stunning things in Europe that I have seen and the region of Bavaria it is located in is gorgeous. Additionally our guide stopped for pictures in Rothenburg on the way back which is an experience not to be missed. The guide Wolfgang was professional, knowledgable, and even went out of his way to try to converse with me in German to help improve my language skills even though he spoke flawless English.

Doing what: Neuschwanstein Castle Day Trip from Frankfurt

Shawn R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2013

Great half-day trip from Frankfurt. It is perfect if you want to see Heidelberg but don't have an entire day to spend. The tour guide was very knowledgeable and efficient.

Doing what: Heidelberg Half-Day Trip from Frankfurt

ANDRES C

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2016

Both activities, Heidelberg half-day trip and Frankfurt City tour, were great. Both guides were very accommodating too. It was just the direction indicated on the voucher as its shortcoming. The direction was a total incomplete. They only indicated near main entrance of the Frankfurt Central Station. They should also include landmarks such as nearby hotels Hotel Continental and Le Meridien Park Hotel or take right across main entrance of the Central Station. The direction was really vague. Good thing, there is a Tourist Information Office before exit of the main entrance of the Central Station. Because of their help, I was able to locate the meeting/departure point.

Doing what: Frankfurt Combo: Heidelberg Half-Day Trip and Frankfurt City Tour

Robbie C

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2016

A great day trip to Heidelberg. The guide was very funny and knowledgable. The castle was very impressive with a great history. It would have been nice to spend a little more time in the Old Town but overall it was well worth the money.

Doing what: Heidelberg Half-Day Trip from Frankfurt

Petra P

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2016

We took a half-day trip and everything went smoothly, the timetables, dinner etc. The guide was very funny and the driver got us to the boat in time despite the traffic and construction work on our way.

Doing what: Rhine Valley Trip from Frankfurt including Rhine River Cruise

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message