Following an old medieval trade route through the foothills of the Bavarian Alps to the former Imperial cities of Rothenburg, Donauwörth and Dinkelsbühl, the Romantic Road is endlessly scenic and it’s the gateway to many of Bavaria’s top ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 145 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Roger P

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2016

If you like a lot of free time to explore on your own, this is the package for you. I will say that the drive to Hohenschwangau could have been shortened. I realize it's based on designated stops for the coach, but the stops between Rothenburg to Hoenschwangau other than the final church were pretty much out of the way bathroom stops to pick up other riders. Seemed like a 2 hour drive was stretched out to 7 hours.

Doing what: Four Day Frankfurt to Munich - Romantic Road, Hohenschwangau, Neuschwanstein

Maria Agustina F

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2016

I totally LOVED the guide in Rothenburg, Marianne, telling us details and anechdotes. Rate is only 3 stars because of the bus getting there which was late, I didn't know we were going to stop in so many little towns so I feared I had got into the wrong bus, AND the driver wasn't any good with his English. I think it is VERY important that the driver knows english well the one getting back did and was very nice. Also, the lady in the Frankfurt tourist office should speak to tourists in English. Come on, you're dedicated to tourism and get people from all over the world!

Doing what: Full Day Tour to Rothenburg

Miss Pat

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2016

I was disappointed with this tour. Following the Romantic Road meant zooming up the autobahn then turning off to a village when the driver needed a break. Not at all happy with our driver from Munich to Rothenburg, he didn't take enough care and we had a close call. However, Rothenberg was sensational. Our accommodation was beautiful at the Golden Rose, a little boutique hotel near to the centre of the city. I would do Rothenberg again but would find my own way there.

Doing what: Overnight Munich to Frankfurt - Romantic Road, Rothenburg

H M

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
September 2016

A nightmare. This is but a series of uncoordinated tours with uncoordinated companies who know nothing of the 4-day voucher arrangement. One of the companies, the supposedly nice romantic route bus tour, left us stranded in one of the cities while they kept driving with our luggage inside. We had to pay a stranger to drive us in his private car to catch up with the bus. When we did so, the driver blamed the other passengers for not telling him we were missing. When we finally arrived to one of the destinations, we had to faced a terrible hotel with black mold in the bathroom. Believe it or not, the driver we had to deal with the next day was much more rude than the previous one: he even told us dont expect from me any tourist treatment, I operate as a public transportation driver and will not make any stop or give you any audio equipment Sure enough, he didn't stop one time and I had to hold it for hours because the WC on the bus was so nasty, it was nauseating. Stay away from this rip-off and rent yourself a car. You will enjoy much better all the Romantic Road has to offer and be left with less regrets about having left home.

Doing what: 4-Day Munich to Frankfurt - Romantic Road, Linderhof, Hohenschwangau, Neuschwanstein

Keith J

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2016

Great tour! The castles were wonderful and we would highly recommend to visit them. The Hotel Muller was very nice with a great little balcony and a view of the mountains! A little more info regarding how the bus trip works would have been helpful. Since we didn't get the info until the 1st hotel and we were busy site seeing, we did not realize that the bus stops frequently for short visits to some of the towns on the romantic road. Rothenburg was also a fabulous unique town to visit...don't forget to stop at one of the many bakeries!

Doing what: 3-day Munich to Frankfurt Tour - Romantic Road, Rothenburg, Hohenschwangau, Neuschwanstein

Theressa D Canada

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
July 2016

This is not a tour, it's a bus ride! Very upsetting, we were in Germany for 2wks and had real luggage with us. You get dropped off at a train station in Augsburg and must take a train to Munich. I had a senior with me so this was very upsetting. Lots of stairs to climb. We were only informed of this train ride when we picked up our documents, the web does not say this at all. Checked with other guests they too were very surprised by this portion of the journey.
Day1 Crusty driver, bad driving, blew through red light just departing from Frankfurt. 2nd attempt the driver in front stopped and Crusty began swearing. Barely spoke 2 words of English, didn't know the tape recorded guide was out of sync with our stops. Stop 2, he sold tickets at the front door leaving us in the pouring rain and did not open the back doors to let us on. Weikersheim, Crusty, honked horn, moved bus and closed doors on 1 guest from Australia, and swore at our guide because our castle tour was a couple of min. late. His driving made many of us sick to our stomachs. Rothenburg, was a highlight, 90min tour in the pouring rain, but our guide was pure sunshine. Informative, interactive and courteous. Hotel Goldene Rose, lovely, front desk excellent and breakfast sufficient. Day2, a world of diff. Calm, happy driver, smooth ride. Augsburg had 2 stops, 1st 30min to see the square area, 2nd dropped off at the train station. We had to retrieve our own tickets and find our way to the correct platform, carrying full suitcases and carry on bags. Use a real bus tour company, where each stop allows you more time. The description on the web makes you believe you will get this but 15-30min is the max barely time to find a toilet/sandwich shop and take a photo. I cannot recommend this tour to anyone it was not worth the price paid.

Doing what: Overnight Frankfurt to Munich - Romantic Road, Rothenburg

Jules

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
July 2016

Not worth the money I paid for it from Australia. Viator have just cobbled together a bunch of providers who operate independently and all require separate vouchers and pick up points. The hop on hop off bus was the most disappointing with surly bus drivers and very little information on the sites.

Doing what: Four Day Frankfurt to Munich - Romantic Road, Hohenschwangau, Neuschwanstein

Archhana M

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
June 2016

The tour is not worth the money they charge! There is no personal guide at many places.
Hotel was far from the place the bus drops you off. I was stuck with 2 luggage in a foreign country, not knowing where the hotel was. It was very disappointing! Customer service at the local tour company that Viator lines up with had extremely poor customer service. I will not recommend this tour to anyone. Please choose an alternative tour company.

Doing what: 4-Day Tour from Frankfurt to Munich: Romantic Road, Rothenburg, Augsburg, Neuschwanstein Castle

Barbara S

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2016

We loved the overnight stay in Rothenburg. It is a wonderful place to visit. The hotel was great. The night watchman's tour was super. I am only giving it 4 stars because it is not a private tour. It is a public bus that makes a couple of stops along the way. As well, when we were on the way to Frankfurt, the bus had to backtrack and pick up about 20 people from an outlet mall. This was in heavy traffic and construction added about 40 miles round trip to the journey. If we had known it was a public bus, we would most likely have made arrangements to go by train. When we got to the first pickup place, the coach was not there. We ended up walking about 20 blocks with suitcases to get to the central station. When it arrived, we were the only people on the tour.

Doing what: Overnight Munich to Frankfurt - Romantic Road, Rothenburg

Lily T

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
May 2016

Unfortunately, this was my worst ever tour experience. When I booked via Viator, my booking confirmation gave instructions to collect tickets from the ticket office. However, when I reached the tour office on Sat, they did not have my tickets and said the bus driver will have it. On Sun day of tour, I tried the tour office again in the morning in case the tickets arrived/emailed/faxed overnight. Again, I was told to the bus driver will have it. However, the bus driver didn't allow me on the bus because I didn't have a ticket. I ended up running between the tour office and the bus on multiple trips and be on the phone with the tour operator to try and sort this out. I was abused by the tour operator for delaying the departure of the bus and she said it was my fault. I was eventually allowed on the bus but the communication was terrible. The bus driver told me I won't be going back to Frankfurt that night because the bus goes all the way to Fussen. This was supposed to be a day trip. I spent the next couple of hours on the phone to work out what is going on, where I'm supposed to have this included 2 course lunch, where/when I'm supposed to have this included guided city tour and whether I will be able to get back to Frankfurt that night. The sole reason I booked a tour is because I don't want to deal with all the admin but I think I ended up having to deal with more admin than if I didn't go with a tour!!! This caused considerable stress and frustration and needless to say, I did not have an enjoyable experience at all throughout the day.

Doing what: Full Day Tour to Rothenburg

Donald K

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2015

For those that like more independent sightseeing, the city has lots of charm and the time to see what you really want and not be hurried.

Doing what: Wurzburg Day Tour from Frankfurt

Nabil H

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2015

Great Tour! Rothenburg stay was the highlight.

Doing what: 3-day Munich to Frankfurt Tour - Romantic Road, Rothenburg, Hohenschwangau, Neuschwanstein

Rick C

3 star rating: Worth doing
October 2015

Touring service staff was very rude and unhelpful. Driver was okay not too punctual though. The scenery was beautiful. Hotel was acceptable. Was surprised that the Augsburg tour was self guided tour instead of guided tour which was misrepresented on the website. Overall the tour was worth doing.

Doing what: 4-Day Tour from Frankfurt to Munich: Romantic Road, Rothenburg, Augsburg, Neuschwanstein Castle

Truth Teller

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

4 1/2 stars. Very good tour, well organised, managed and lead by the tour guide Dirk. My only criticisms were i some of the hotels did not have air-conditioning, which was uncomfortable in South Germany in August it might be better at cooler times of the year, ii the air-conditioning on the bus could be temperamental, iii on the final day I was expecting a panoramic city tour of Frankfurt, but we just spent a longer time in Rudesheim instead, before dropping people off in Frankfurt. I wasn't sure whether to rate the tour 4 or 5 stars - 4 1/2 - but generally recommended.

Doing what: Romantic Germany: 7-Day Tour from Frankfurt to Munich, Neuschwanstein Castle and Heidelberg

Shoko T

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
August 2015

The places we visited are great and worth visiting.
But I felt this tour is just a combination of bus tickeet and hotels and therefore it seems better to book the bus ticket and hotels separately.
It would be better if we could have lunch at Augsburg or somewhere on day2 and/or we could arrive at Frunkfurt before 1800 on day3.

Doing what: 3-day Munich to Frankfurt Tour - Romantic Road, Rothenburg, Hohenschwangau, Neuschwanstein

Alazane

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

While this tour felt a little rushed in some of the smaller towns/stops along the way, booking the trip this way made the logistics very simple. All the connections and accommodations were clearly laid out and very well planned for our comfort along the way. The stops in Rothenburg ob der Tauber and Hohenschwangau were long enough for us to both see everything that was of interest to us and have time to meander the streets and the mountain trails just for the sheer enjoyment of the environment.

Doing what: Four Day Frankfurt to Munich - Romantic Road, Hohenschwangau, Neuschwanstein

Christine F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

We were a little nervous traveling without our bus and hotel documents. However like clockwork the bus arrived on time and the driver had all of our information and complete itinerary - all in order. Clean, safe and reliable transportation.

Great trip and wonderful stops along the way. We would recommend this trip to all travelers young and old.

Doing what: Overnight Munich to Frankfurt - Romantic Road, Rothenburg

Jennifer

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2015

It is beautiful town.
I loved it

Doing what: Full Day Tour to Rothenburg

Trina S

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2015

Overall, the tour package gave me an overview of Germany that I would not have been able to experience on my own with the limited planning time that I had for this trip. There was a mix-up at the office in Frankfurt when I picked up my vouchers and I was told to meet at the bus stands by the train station at 8 AM when in reality we were meeting at a different tour operators office at 9:30 ---- not a good start with rain falling all morning, and I'm schlepping my bags around Frankfurt. The day tour to Heidelberg was great with a fantastic tour guide that blended the ancient and recent history, not to mention a wicket sense of humor! The tour to Rothenburg from Frankfurt was comfortable with several stops with guided tours/ the ability to wander on your own. This was mostly due to the great bus driver for this leg that spoke very good English and German, and was very polite and generous. The time in Rothenburg was fantastic with cozy accomodations, a town festival, and the Night Watchman tour in the evening. Also a great place to do some shopping for souveniers to take home.

Now comes the not so nice part of the tour ---- the bus ride from Rothenburg to Newschwanstien. The bus driver was surly, and we weren't sure if he really knew how to drive the bus since he kept gunning the engine and slowing down, giving a less than comfortable ride. He didn't stop at some of the guide points due to falling behind due to traffic on the road, and didn't seem to know anything about where he was supposed to stop. We ended up in a short stop in Munich the only WC stop all day to find that they were under construction --- you mean to tell me that someone who drives this every week didn't know???Needless to say, we were relieved to get off the bus at the Muller House at Neuschwanstein, which is charming and very hospitable with beautiful views! The interior castle tour was not as I expected, but the outer access and horse carriage ride down was very nice.

Doing what: Four Day Frankfurt to Munich - Romantic Road, Hohenschwangau, Neuschwanstein

prasad s

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2015

Hi,
On July 19th 2015, as part of the 3-day Munich to
Frankfurt Romantic Road tour, we took the bus operated by Touring
Tours and Travel from Munich and this was supposed to cover
both Linderhof and Neuschwanstein castles. However the tour guide said that
Neuschwanstein was very crowded and said that given guided tour slots
available, he will first go to Neuschwanstien and then to Linderhof
castle. We told him that we have accommodation booked at Hotel
Muller but that didn't matter.

At Neuschwantien, the guide hurried us up so much to keep
the tour slot 12:20pm for 20 people and 12:45pm for the
remaining that he made us skip going to the St. Mary's
bridge for a view of the castle. This was very disappointing.


After checking in at Hotel Muller, we enquired on bus facilities
and taxi options if we went to Linderhof but given that
it was a Sunday, these options were limited and the taxi
charges were exorbitant. The people at Hotel Muller were very helpful
in this regard. In the end we chose to skip going
to Linderhof castle as the bus left for Linderhof at around
3pm and there was no easy way of returning to Hotel
Muller that day. We are extremely disappointed for not seeing Linderhof
castle and wanted to bring this to your attention.

On the positive side, the rest of the trip from Neuschwanstien
to Frankfurt was excellent and went according to plan. The hotel
at Rothenburg was very nice as well.

thanks
prasad

Doing what: 3-day Munich to Frankfurt Tour - Romantic Road, Rothenburg, Hohenschwangau, Neuschwanstein

Curtis S

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
July 2015

We got terrible information from the tour office in Frankfurt. Sent us to a bus stop when we really needed to go to a different tour office nearby. Our bus ride after Rothenberg was 8 HOURS to the castles that are really 4 hours away. No schedule until the day the tour start. Never again.

Doing what: Four Day Frankfurt to Munich - Romantic Road, Hohenschwangau, Neuschwanstein

Erica G

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
July 2015

Meh...this could have been SOOO much better, not because Germany doesn't have beautiful sights, but because the company, Tour and Touring, could have been much more efficient. I've taken many tours before and other companies really have their art down to a science. Not this one. First, I went to pick up my packet at their office as instructed before heading to the bus and the attendant, a Spanish lady, was extremely rude. She didn't acknowledge my presence when I introduced myself and then a few minutes later randomly took the voucher I had in my hand to grab my materials. The bus driver was annoyed when out of all that paperwork it's a decent amount they give you, I couldn't find the exact voucher he needed for me to board the bus. He took the package from me in exasperation no English and took what he needed. The tour guide was nice enough BUT: We only had a tour guide up until Rothenburg, THAT's IT!!! After Rothenburg for the next couple of days, you get a tape that the bus plays automatically when you enter a specific town. No personal touch whatsoever, like taking public transportation. Second, the tour guide was as tactless as they come. Most of the tourists on board were American and yet he made silly comments like how his favorite phrase was that This wasn't made in America and how Americans copied the German highway structure but you know they have more miles, but it has less quality, like for America. Are you Kidding? How old are we?? Rothenburg was beautiful, a must see and the driver in charge of our hotel transportation was extremely friendly and punctual. There are several stops between the main cities but they are all about 20 mins, barely enough to really see anything. And the Romantic Road gimmick is really just that, there's a lot of highway. Oh and there was an error on my pick up time in Augsburg which sent me scrambling an hour early. Don't do this tour, at least not with them You're better off just seeing the main sights on your own!

Doing what: 4-Day Tour from Frankfurt to Munich: Romantic Road, Rothenburg, Augsburg, Neuschwanstein Castle

Nimmy

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
June 2015

Did not have the English speaking guide we promised. It was only the driver, who did not even understand English well.Did not even come out of the bus with us.

Doing what: Four Day Frankfurt to Munich - Romantic Road, Hohenschwangau, Neuschwanstein

Di

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
June 2015

The experiences on the tour attractions/locations etc0 were really good however the local operator was totally inadequate. We never did receive any vouchers/tickets in fact no paperwork at all. When we arrived to get the coach the driver had no record of us at all. Eventaully we had him agree to call the office and he was told we were joining his coach and that our tickets/vouchers would arrive at the first stop. NOTHING was ever given us. We had no vouchers for the coach or any accommodation. Extremely badly organised. Others on the coach had very similar experiences.

Doing what: Overnight Munich to Frankfurt - Romantic Road, Rothenburg

Maira Coutinho F

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
May 2015

It was not a tour, Viator only books everything for you and you pick up the vouchers in an office. You don't see any Viator staff. The bus booked for us was a regular Romantische Strasse line, on the first day there was a friendly informative guide, but on the second day there was no guide at all.

Doing what: Overnight Frankfurt to Munich - Romantic Road, Rothenburg

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message