One of the fastest moving glaciers in the world, the Franz Josef Glacier is a spectacular river of ice. It is one of the world's steepest glaciers descending 1.5 miles (2.5 kilometers) over its 7.5 mile (12 kilometer) path through the valley, ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 330 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

wmwakefield

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

This was our first helicopter flight. It was absolutly amazing. We saw it all, Mt Tasman, Mt Cook, Franz Josef Glaicer and we actually walked on Fox Glacier. I would recommend it to anyone.

Doing what: Twin Glacier Helicopter Flight from Franz Josef

wol777

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2016

Order good weather! The flight over the glacier was wonderful, pity the clouds were so low. Our pilot was friendly, knowledgeable and competent.We were able to walk on the glacier, which is not always possible. Early morning flights are more reliable for hitting the better weather. Would do it all again.

Doing what: Franz Josef Neve Discoverer Helicopter Flight

Ivan H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Absolutely a delightful chance to fly up and see the glaciers up close in person! Really fun experience and a definitely must do attraction!

Doing what: Franz Josef Neve Discoverer Helicopter Flight

Rebecca B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Despite the weather on the day of our tour, it was amazing and the guide was friendly and knowledgable. Loved it!

Doing what: Franz Josef Glacier Valley Walk

cassiekroo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Michael and Jon were very knowledgeable and helpful guides. They provided details on plants, regional information and history and changes in the glacier. Both guides also kindly went above and beyond to help with recommendations for local restaurants and other attractions in NZ. The tour includes a hike easy to moderate, with some rock edges and walking across streams and slight incline, full gear you'll appreciate the waterproof pants, boots and all weather jacket AND complimentary entry to the hot pools attached to the same bldg where you check in. The return trip was via the public trail flat, very easy so I had a chance to compare the guided vs. doing it on your own. The guided tour gets you a little closer to the glacier base and is more of a hike than a walk on a flat path. Plus the details on the retraction, changes in size and impacts across time was all interesting and worth investing in a guide the gear and hot pool alone is worth the price of the ticket. Both guides were highly service oriented and you can feel their passion toward exploring the glacier and surrounding area, with a keen focus on safety.

Doing what: Franz Josef Glacier Valley Walk

donovanplusmonica

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

This tour was amazing! From the helicopter to our tour guide Nathan! We had such a great time exploring the glacier ! Highly recommended. The hot pools at the end were a nice finish as well.

Doing what: Small-Group Franz Josef Glacier Walk

SHARUL NAKHODA Singapore

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Nathan Russell our glacier guide was awesome and he gave above and beyond service for our family of 4, and the glacier terrains were spectacular. Cheers

Doing what: Small-Group Franz Josef Glacier Walk

d.m.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

This was absolutely amazing. The views were great and wandering around a glacier was a very unique and fun experience.

Doing what: Small-Group Franz Josef Glacier Walk

Richard P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

A fantastic experience.
A must for any one travelling to NZ. Put it on your bucket list.

Doing what: Twin Glacier Helicopter Flight from Franz Josef

Glenda F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

New Zealand is full of fabulous experiences, but this was without doubt THE BEST. Thanks!

Doing what: Franz Josef Mountain Scenic Helicopter Flight

janjazz16

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

The walk was amazing and the guide was very informative

Doing what: Small-Group Franz Josef Glacier Walk

Natasha S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Amazing trip! From the helicopter ride there to walking around! I would recommend this to everyone. With a small group i can only imagine that it's a quicker trip around the glacier than it would be with a larger group. We had a few slower walkers which worked out well for us because we were up front and got to stop and enjoy the scenery. Our guide, George, was awesome and he made it fun too!

Doing what: Small-Group Franz Josef Glacier Walk

kees.sjakolien

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Fantastic, easy, relaxed and beautiful

Doing what: Twin Glacier Helicopter Flight from Franz Josef

richam

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Fantastic guide to a fantastic place. My husband and I were the only ones on the tour on the day we went so we got one on one attention. We were taken off the beaten track and got access to places the normal visitors don't get to see. The running commentary on the geology and history and flora and fauna was very appreciated. The free entry at the end of the day to the hot pools certainly relieved our aching muscles...lol.

Doing what: Franz Josef Glacier Valley Walk

Kirsty G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Tour was great same with your guide nick!

Doing what: Small-Group Franz Josef Glacier Walk

CHIONG MOON B

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
July 2016

Very experienced guide with vast knowledge about the native plants. Felt very relaxed throughout the entire expedition. Friendly and cheerful.

Doing what: Franz Josef Glacier Valley Walk

Varun A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Wonderful experience walking on the glacier. Snow all around. We had great fun. Weather was awesome and we really enjoyed it :

Doing what: Small-Group Franz Josef Glacier Walk

Brian T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

All we imagined it would be

Doing what: Twin Glacier Helicopter Flight from Franz Josef

yi ming L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Great tour guides and extremely informative. Awesome experience. Only real way to experience the glaciers.

Doing what: Small-Group Franz Josef Glacier Walk

Renee' M

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
June 2016

For the price and from the description, I expected more. The pilot didn't even describe anything we were passing over. I wish I had my money back!

Doing what: Franz Josef Neve Discoverer Helicopter Flight

doodly

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Our Pilot, Blair was excellent. He made our trip so memorable - particularly for our younger boys who had not seen snow before. This was the highlight of our three weeks in New Zealand.

Doing what: Franz Josef Neve Discoverer Helicopter Flight

Hannah C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

The staff are friendly and make sure that you are well equipped for the trip. It was pouring rain when I went, so all the provided gear was muchly appreciated. It was great to have a guide take you through valley and have them share history and science behind such beautiful views. This guided walk gives you a great intro into the area, so that you can go check out the other walking tracks as well.

Doing what: Franz Josef Glacier Valley Walk

Keith H

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
May 2016

Very disappointed. Expected to get onto ice as per the photo's advertising it shows, however turned out to be just a walk over rocks and through a small wood.
Could have done this trip on our own without incurring any cost.
Not value for money

Doing what: Franz Josef Glacier Valley Walk

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message