One of the fastest moving glaciers in the world, the Franz Josef Glacier is a spectacular river of ice. It is one of the world's steepest glaciers descending 1.5 miles (2.5 kilometers) over its 7.5 mile (12 kilometer) path through the valley, ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 318 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Natasha S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Amazing trip! From the helicopter ride there to walking around! I would recommend this to everyone. With a small group i can only imagine that it's a quicker trip around the glacier than it would be with a larger group. We had a few slower walkers which worked out well for us because we were up front and got to stop and enjoy the scenery. Our guide, George, was awesome and he made it fun too!

Doing what: Small-Group Franz Josef Glacier Walk

kees.sjakolien

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Fantastic, easy, relaxed and beautiful

Doing what: Twin Glacier Helicopter Flight from Franz Josef

Kirsty G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Tour was great same with your guide nick!

Doing what: Small-Group Franz Josef Glacier Walk

CHIONG MOON B

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
July 2016

Very experienced guide with vast knowledge about the native plants. Felt very relaxed throughout the entire expedition. Friendly and cheerful.

Doing what: Franz Josef Glacier Valley Walk

Varun A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Wonderful experience walking on the glacier. Snow all around. We had great fun. Weather was awesome and we really enjoyed it :

Doing what: Small-Group Franz Josef Glacier Walk

Brian T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

All we imagined it would be

Doing what: Twin Glacier Helicopter Flight from Franz Josef

yi ming L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Great tour guides and extremely informative. Awesome experience. Only real way to experience the glaciers.

Doing what: Small-Group Franz Josef Glacier Walk

Renee' M

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
June 2016

For the price and from the description, I expected more. The pilot didn't even describe anything we were passing over. I wish I had my money back!

Doing what: Franz Josef Neve Discoverer Helicopter Flight

doodly

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Our Pilot, Blair was excellent. He made our trip so memorable - particularly for our younger boys who had not seen snow before. This was the highlight of our three weeks in New Zealand.

Doing what: Franz Josef Neve Discoverer Helicopter Flight

Hannah C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

The staff are friendly and make sure that you are well equipped for the trip. It was pouring rain when I went, so all the provided gear was muchly appreciated. It was great to have a guide take you through valley and have them share history and science behind such beautiful views. This guided walk gives you a great intro into the area, so that you can go check out the other walking tracks as well.

Doing what: Franz Josef Glacier Valley Walk

Keith H

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
May 2016

Very disappointed. Expected to get onto ice as per the photo's advertising it shows, however turned out to be just a walk over rocks and through a small wood.
Could have done this trip on our own without incurring any cost.
Not value for money

Doing what: Franz Josef Glacier Valley Walk

Karis C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Loved it....so much better seeing it up close than from the bottom at the valley walk. Glad I went on the 2nd morning flight group as there was less people traffic up on the walk. We didn't see other groups til the very end. Short helicopter ride was fun and 3 hrs on the ice was perfect. Fairly easy hike for this low-moderate fit girl, but a few steeper areas that might be hard for someone with bad knees. Next time I want to do the ice climbing to get closer to the serac and have a more challenging hike. Adam was a great guide!
This activity is entirely weather dependent as rain isn't uncommon there so it's luck of the draw. Glad I prebooked knowing I could get a refund thru viator if weather cancellation bc it was raining badly when I arrived to town but sunny and gorgeous the day of the helicopter-hike and all tours were sold out so there were some disappointed tourists.

Doing what: Small-Group Franz Josef Glacier Walk

Philippa M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Had a wonderful guide who was very knowledgeable and enthusiastically shared his delight in the rocks and minerals and fauna as we walked at a comfortable pace. Only a couple of steep parts to the path as he took us off piste but Aaron was very helpful and sure footed helping those of us who were out of our comfort zone.
Awesome scenery.

Doing what: Franz Josef Glacier Valley Walk

Miss K. D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

I loved the glacier soo much!!! It was amazing experience, definitely recommended!

Doing what: Small-Group Franz Josef Glacier Walk

Nicole M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Awesome flight, we were lucky to have clear weather which made it even better. Tour was really well organised and the pilot was great.

Doing what: Twin Glacier Helicopter Flight from Franz Josef

Deleanu C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

This tour was amazing and they also changed our booking to the other town that we been on the other side of the glacierwas a GPS bad location from Here Services and we ended up on the other side 50km, now I always double check with Google maps. I would also go with glacier hiking but for fast pace you can use only this helicopter tour.

Doing what: Twin Glacier Helicopter Flight from Franz Josef

Daniel D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Excellent and enjoyable

Doing what: Franz Josef Glacier Valley Walk

Timothy M

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2016

Little interaction between pilot and group, but experience was amazing.

Doing what: Twin Glacier Helicopter Flight from Franz Josef

Charles H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

We were fortunate to have beautiful weather, so had a fantastic flight!

Doing what: Franz Josef Mountain Scenic Helicopter Flight

chef.monty1330

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

What an awesome adventure

Doing what: Small-Group Franz Josef Glacier Walk

Jing C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

What a Fantastic trip we had! Thank You very much The Road Trip for organising this Amazing and Exciting tour for our family. My wife and I are very grateful for having a great tour guide, and he has become a friend of ours. Our tour guide was eager to show us all the beautiful scenery and activities that are available at the south Island. We can feel that he loves New Zealand and is passionate of New Zealand's natural wonders and cultures, and we feels that there is no better tour guide to have than someone who really knows and loves New Zealand.
Thank You The Road Trip and Simon and we will be back.

Doing what: Private Tour: 8-Day South Island Tour from Christchurch Including Franz Josef, Wanaka and Queenstown

Keith D

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2016

Great trip and knowledgeable guides.

Doing what: Franz Josef Glacier Valley Walk

suellis31

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

Booking a tour allowed us to hike paths in the woods leading to the glacier that the general public walking on their own could not access. The guide's knowledge of various plants and the history of the glacier definitely made it a good deal as opposed to just walking up to the glacier viewpoint on your own. The ticket also included use of the glacier hot water pools which felt great after all the traveling we had been doing.

Doing what: Franz Josef Glacier Valley Walk

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message