Taking a guided walk on a glacier has to be one of the coolest experiences you'll have in New Zealand. Whether hovering over the spectacular ice formations by helicopter or strapping on crampons to hike the ice, Franz Josef and Fox Glaciers are ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 278 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Vera K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

Unfortunatly we could not do the Heli Hiking because of bad weather. But the next day we are on a 30min flight to Franz Josef and Fox Glacier and it was an amazing, breathtaking experience. Thanks a lot to Mathew, our Pilot.

Doing what: Heli Hiking Franz Josef

GARY H L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

A real experience, something every one should do.

Doing what: Franz Josef Mountain Scenic Helicopter Flight

Alan R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

This is a truly magical experience and is well worth the ticket price. Soaring way above the galaciers and seeing how extensive and beautiful the ranges are should not be missed. The short stop on the Franz Josef glacier gives you an experience of a lifetime. Go for it!

Doing what: Franz Josef Mountain Scenic Helicopter Flight

Stuart R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

Awesome experience. I was initially nervous at my first flight in a helicopter yet I could hardly tell I had left the ground. That anxious moment over the rest of the trip was so amazing. The flight over the glacier was amazing with the pilot turning the helicopter to give all passengers great views. The landing on the glacier was great fun. Definitely an experience I would recommend. Thank you.

Doing what: Franz Josef Mountain Scenic Helicopter Flight

Therese C

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2017

Unfortunately we struck bad weather and were only able to do a 10 minute flight of one glacier Franz Josef and weren't able to land.
Otherwise fabulous!

Doing what: Twin Glacier Helicopter Flight from Franz Josef

Michelle W

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2017

Unfortunately the weather would not allow us to land and do the hike. The company were fantastic and very safety conscious. Still had a good time but not what we expected.

Doing what: Heli Hiking Franz Josef

hasenkamp.oliver

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Great tour!

Doing what: Heli Hiking Franz Josef

Eileen F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Great tour. Good value for money

Doing what: Heli Hiking Franz Josef

Amy L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

This tour is well worth the money! The guides were fun and professional and the views from the helicopter and on the ice were amazing! I would suggest leaving a couple of days free for this as flights can be cancelled due to bad weather.

Doing what: Heli Hiking Franz Josef

Pik Yok W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

It's amazing and unforgettable moments!!

Doing what: Franz Josef Mountain Scenic Helicopter Flight

Daclimit13

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

This flight was brilliant. Companies involved did everything they could to accommodate our family and the pilot Chris could not be faulted and was outstanding with our young daughter. The weather wasn and #39;t going our way but the flight was delayed and we managed the full tour with landing 2hours later.

Doing what: Twin Glacier Helicopter Flight from Franz Josef

Elaine M

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2017

Unfortunately the weather wasn't good for our glacier tour but it was great that all the wet weather gear and boots were provided- otherwise it would have been pretty miserable. The guide was good and made it very interesting but we didn't really get to see much of the glacier due to the weather. Overall though it was a good experience and doing the tour was much better than just doing the walk ourselves. The company were very accommodating - we had mixed up our dates a turned up a day late but there was no problem and they let us go on the tour the day we turned up.

Doing what: Franz Josef Glacier Valley Walk

bb Australia

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2017

We were disappointed to not be able to see the glacier due to cloud not the fault of our tour guide though, just the nature of the variable weather conditions. We didn't seem to get as close to the glacier as the walkers on the self-guided track. I came to NZ 20 years ago and had excellent memories of walking on the glacier with a guide, but obviously the restrictions have increased due to the injuries/deaths sustained by tourists who went outside of the warning signs and barriers.

Doing what: Franz Josef Glacier Valley Walk

Lisa W

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
January 2017

Unfortunately we could not go on the trip due to bad weathe Iin Franz Josef. We were gutted but could use our voucher when round the otherside of Mt Cook. Tried in Fox Glacier first on our route and there was a chance as they were only doing 10 min flights because of weather. As we waited for a flight to come in the weather started to change and unfortunately they abanndonned flying for rest of day. The others thag managed do the 10min flight before us were really lucky as the pilot was able to land aswell. They said it was so worth it even if it was only 10 mins. Definately book it and its a bonus if yiu get to go up. If not viator do give a full refund.

Doing what: Twin Glacier Helicopter Flight from Franz Josef

William G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Due to the high snow the day before, we were fortunate to see a high volume of snow on the glacier. The tour was short only 30 min, but it was a fantastic activity where we stopped on the glacier itself and got to experience the majestic scenery. Definitely worth a try if you are to visit New Zealand's glacier.

Doing what: Twin Glacier Helicopter Flight from Franz Josef

Marian L

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2016

Despite pretty awful weather, the walk was amazingly good - excellent informative guide Nick and the loaned clothing and boots kept us dry. Please add a reference to the included use of the hot pools after the walk to the google online booking so one can come prepared.

Marian Melbourne

Doing what: Franz Josef Glacier Valley Walk

Wanderlust US

3 star rating: Worth doing
December 2016

When I was booking this tour, I was under the impression you get to walk on the glacier. This walk only takes you to where the public is allowed. It needs to be made very clear that this includes no ice time. It would also be helpful to know that the hot pools are included in price so you can bring a bathing suit. Otherwise the tour guide was awesome and knowledgeable and fun to be around. A bit overpriced. I really wish I did the heli ride instead to get on the glacier.

Doing what: Franz Josef Glacier Valley Walk

wmwakefield

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

This was our first helicopter flight. It was absolutly amazing. We saw it all, Mt Tasman, Mt Cook, Franz Josef Glaicer and we actually walked on Fox Glacier. I would recommend it to anyone.

Doing what: Twin Glacier Helicopter Flight from Franz Josef

ray_1955

3 star rating: Worth doing
November 2016

A lot of time on the glacier was squandered watching the guide carve steps in the ice to make it easier to walk on. The glacier itself was awesome.

Doing what: Heli Hiking Franz Josef

Rebecca B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Despite the weather on the day of our tour, it was amazing and the guide was friendly and knowledgable. Loved it!

Doing what: Franz Josef Glacier Valley Walk

cassiekroo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Michael and Jon were very knowledgeable and helpful guides. They provided details on plants, regional information and history and changes in the glacier. Both guides also kindly went above and beyond to help with recommendations for local restaurants and other attractions in NZ. The tour includes a hike easy to moderate, with some rock edges and walking across streams and slight incline, full gear you'll appreciate the waterproof pants, boots and all weather jacket AND complimentary entry to the hot pools attached to the same bldg where you check in. The return trip was via the public trail flat, very easy so I had a chance to compare the guided vs. doing it on your own. The guided tour gets you a little closer to the glacier base and is more of a hike than a walk on a flat path. Plus the details on the retraction, changes in size and impacts across time was all interesting and worth investing in a guide the gear and hot pool alone is worth the price of the ticket. Both guides were highly service oriented and you can feel their passion toward exploring the glacier and surrounding area, with a keen focus on safety.

Doing what: Franz Josef Glacier Valley Walk

Raquel M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

It was espectacular!! I know is a bit expensive but it really worth it, is the best way to experience the Glacier!! If you go on your own you won't be able to see the Glacier like this, only on the distance and can be disappointing, but the views from the helicopter are amazing and walking on the glacier leaves you speechless. The guide was also really nice and we enjoy it a lot!

Doing what: Heli Hiking Franz Josef

Man Yi L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Amazing view from the helicopter and breath taking glaciers. Because of global warming, you can only hike in the Glacier via helicopter. Guide is friendly and places participants and #39; safety as priority. Very memorable hike.

Doing what: Heli Hiking Franz Josef

Richard P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

A fantastic experience.
A must for any one travelling to NZ. Put it on your bucket list.

Doing what: Twin Glacier Helicopter Flight from Franz Josef

Glenda F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

New Zealand is full of fabulous experiences, but this was without doubt THE BEST. Thanks!

Doing what: Franz Josef Mountain Scenic Helicopter Flight

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message