Taking a guided walk on a glacier has to be one of the coolest experiences you'll have in New Zealand. Whether hovering over the spectacular ice formations by helicopter or strapping on crampons to hike the ice, Franz Josef and Fox Glaciers are ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 263 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

William G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Due to the high snow the day before, we were fortunate to see a high volume of snow on the glacier. The tour was short only 30 min, but it was a fantastic activity where we stopped on the glacier itself and got to experience the majestic scenery. Definitely worth a try if you are to visit New Zealand's glacier.

Doing what: Twin Glacier Helicopter Flight from Franz Josef

Marian L

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2016

Despite pretty awful weather, the walk was amazingly good - excellent informative guide Nick and the loaned clothing and boots kept us dry. Please add a reference to the included use of the hot pools after the walk to the google online booking so one can come prepared.

Marian Melbourne

Doing what: Franz Josef Glacier Valley Walk

wmwakefield

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

This was our first helicopter flight. It was absolutly amazing. We saw it all, Mt Tasman, Mt Cook, Franz Josef Glaicer and we actually walked on Fox Glacier. I would recommend it to anyone.

Doing what: Twin Glacier Helicopter Flight from Franz Josef

ray_1955

3 star rating: Worth doing
November 2016

A lot of time on the glacier was squandered watching the guide carve steps in the ice to make it easier to walk on. The glacier itself was awesome.

Doing what: Heli Hiking Franz Josef

Rebecca B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Despite the weather on the day of our tour, it was amazing and the guide was friendly and knowledgable. Loved it!

Doing what: Franz Josef Glacier Valley Walk

cassiekroo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Michael and Jon were very knowledgeable and helpful guides. They provided details on plants, regional information and history and changes in the glacier. Both guides also kindly went above and beyond to help with recommendations for local restaurants and other attractions in NZ. The tour includes a hike easy to moderate, with some rock edges and walking across streams and slight incline, full gear you'll appreciate the waterproof pants, boots and all weather jacket AND complimentary entry to the hot pools attached to the same bldg where you check in. The return trip was via the public trail flat, very easy so I had a chance to compare the guided vs. doing it on your own. The guided tour gets you a little closer to the glacier base and is more of a hike than a walk on a flat path. Plus the details on the retraction, changes in size and impacts across time was all interesting and worth investing in a guide the gear and hot pool alone is worth the price of the ticket. Both guides were highly service oriented and you can feel their passion toward exploring the glacier and surrounding area, with a keen focus on safety.

Doing what: Franz Josef Glacier Valley Walk

Raquel M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

It was espectacular!! I know is a bit expensive but it really worth it, is the best way to experience the Glacier!! If you go on your own you won't be able to see the Glacier like this, only on the distance and can be disappointing, but the views from the helicopter are amazing and walking on the glacier leaves you speechless. The guide was also really nice and we enjoy it a lot!

Doing what: Heli Hiking Franz Josef

Man Yi L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Amazing view from the helicopter and breath taking glaciers. Because of global warming, you can only hike in the Glacier via helicopter. Guide is friendly and places participants and #39; safety as priority. Very memorable hike.

Doing what: Heli Hiking Franz Josef

Richard P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

A fantastic experience.
A must for any one travelling to NZ. Put it on your bucket list.

Doing what: Twin Glacier Helicopter Flight from Franz Josef

Glenda F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

New Zealand is full of fabulous experiences, but this was without doubt THE BEST. Thanks!

Doing what: Franz Josef Mountain Scenic Helicopter Flight

kees.sjakolien

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Fantastic, easy, relaxed and beautiful

Doing what: Twin Glacier Helicopter Flight from Franz Josef

richam

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Fantastic guide to a fantastic place. My husband and I were the only ones on the tour on the day we went so we got one on one attention. We were taken off the beaten track and got access to places the normal visitors don't get to see. The running commentary on the geology and history and flora and fauna was very appreciated. The free entry at the end of the day to the hot pools certainly relieved our aching muscles...lol.

Doing what: Franz Josef Glacier Valley Walk

CHIONG MOON B

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
July 2016

Very experienced guide with vast knowledge about the native plants. Felt very relaxed throughout the entire expedition. Friendly and cheerful.

Doing what: Franz Josef Glacier Valley Walk

Brian T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

All we imagined it would be

Doing what: Twin Glacier Helicopter Flight from Franz Josef

Mike C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Well organized, good guide, great experience.

Doing what: Heli Hiking Franz Josef

Hannah C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

The staff are friendly and make sure that you are well equipped for the trip. It was pouring rain when I went, so all the provided gear was muchly appreciated. It was great to have a guide take you through valley and have them share history and science behind such beautiful views. This guided walk gives you a great intro into the area, so that you can go check out the other walking tracks as well.

Doing what: Franz Josef Glacier Valley Walk

WARREN M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

We arrived well before the scheduled time my 2 Daughters where so looking forward to walking and climbing a Glacier.
We where weighed kitted up and placed clothing on. Then we where told we could not go as the ice was too slippery for my youngest to go on. I am glad that safety is the first concern and the company did go out of there way to get us on at a later time.
I cannot rate the trip but my rating is for the company.
I am sure the trip would have been amazing.

Doing what: Heli Hiking Franz Josef

Keith H

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
May 2016

Very disappointed. Expected to get onto ice as per the photo's advertising it shows, however turned out to be just a walk over rocks and through a small wood.
Could have done this trip on our own without incurring any cost.
Not value for money

Doing what: Franz Josef Glacier Valley Walk

Philippa M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Had a wonderful guide who was very knowledgeable and enthusiastically shared his delight in the rocks and minerals and fauna as we walked at a comfortable pace. Only a couple of steep parts to the path as he took us off piste but Aaron was very helpful and sure footed helping those of us who were out of our comfort zone.
Awesome scenery.

Doing what: Franz Josef Glacier Valley Walk

Nicole M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Awesome flight, we were lucky to have clear weather which made it even better. Tour was really well organised and the pilot was great.

Doing what: Twin Glacier Helicopter Flight from Franz Josef

Lisa D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Loved it, and would highly recommend as a way to get up close and personal with a glacier. Educational and spectacular.

Doing what: Heli Hiking Franz Josef

Deleanu C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

This tour was amazing and they also changed our booking to the other town that we been on the other side of the glacierwas a GPS bad location from Here Services and we ended up on the other side 50km, now I always double check with Google maps. I would also go with glacier hiking but for fast pace you can use only this helicopter tour.

Doing what: Twin Glacier Helicopter Flight from Franz Josef

Daniel D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Excellent and enjoyable

Doing what: Franz Josef Glacier Valley Walk

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message