When you hear a wine name like Châteauneuf-du-Pape, you probably think of how you've seen that on a label in your local wine store. But what many people forget is that like Bordeaux, Champagne, and Burgundy, Châteauneuf-du-Pape is an ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 187 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Joy Z

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

My husband and I enjoyed this trip immensely. Our guide, Anna, was very knowledgeable and personable. Although this trip packs in a lot, it was everything we wanted to see and I never felt rushed. We had sufficient time at each stop. There really is nothing I would leave out. Had my husband and I tried to do this on our own, we never would have found all these places. Thank you, Viator! We will book with you again. - Joy Z.

Doing what: Provence Le Grand Tour

CSR

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

The tour was great. We really enjoyed. Though it was a long day, our tour guide was very informative, friendly and accommodating. Given the short period of time we have, it was a great way to see Provence without having to drive ourselves.

Doing what: Provence Le Grand Tour

Mary B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Fabulous tour guide - knew his stuff, was from the region, spoke English well. Kept us moving but didn't rush us.
Stops at Tavel, Chateauneuf du Pape, both great. Fun tastings.

Doing what: Rhone Valley Wine Tour from Avignon: Chateauneuf-du-Pape and Tavel

Miranda C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Fantastic!!! I cant say enough about this tour, we had JB as our guide and he was amazing, very funny, knowledgeable and just cool. We had a small tour, only my wife and I, with another couple, JB picked us up from the hotel, on time, and we hit Chateau Neuf and he took us to 5 wineries and some that I know we would never have made it to if we did the tour ourselves. worth every dollar!! Came back with 12 bottles of wonderful wine and memories that I will never forget!! Can't wait to get back.
Jason from Canada.

Doing what: Wine Tasting in Châteauneuf du Pape from Avignon Including Lunch

Gregg Y

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Our guide was knowledgable about wine and had a witty sense of humor. We immensely enjoyed all the sites we visited.

Doing what: Wine Tasting in Châteauneuf du Pape from Avignon Including Lunch

Donald D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

The tour was exceptionally well paced. The guide was extremely knowledgeable and personable. We loved the wines and learned a lot about the wine making process.

Doing what: Rhone Valley Wine Tour from Avignon: Chateauneuf-du-Pape and Tavel

rob

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

julian was our guide and he was great. never could have seen as much without this tour. highly recommend tour

Doing what: Provence Le Grand Tour

Cham

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

This is a fantastic tour and it needs to be on your bucket list !

Doing what: Wine Tasting in Châteauneuf du Pape from Avignon Including Lunch

Stephanie P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

The tour was very good and we learned a lot! Our tour guide was so nice and very interesting.

Doing what: Rhone Valley Wine Tour from Avignon: Chateauneuf-du-Pape and Tavel

Graham K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

When in Provence you have to do Le Grand Tour! It's a lot of travelling in the bus which wasn't good for my arthritic hip and knee but these are places that have to be seen! Loved the tour, and tour guide Remi was very patient and very knowledgeable. Les Baux de Provence, Roussillion and Gordes were lovely but the old Roman amphitheatre in Oange and the Pont du Gard were particularly impressive

Doing what: Provence Le Grand Tour

fiona c

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Marc was a great tour guide, very knowledgeable about wines in particular.

Doing what: Provence Le Grand Tour

monikagrzegorzek

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Very good! Great sights, enjoyed it all the way!

Doing what: Provence Le Grand Tour

cathag13

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

It s very interesting.
You learn a lot about french wines and you can taste different kinds

Doing what: Rhone Valley Wine Tour from Avignon: Chateauneuf-du-Pape and Tavel

dkmaf340

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Wonder tour seeing all the highlights of the region.

Doing what: Provence Le Grand Tour

Angela L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

It was my first time to travel to the south of France. I have heard so much about the charm, beauty and magic of Provence and southern France. I went into this trip with lots of fantasies and images about this place. Needless to say, the Reality far exceeded my fantasies. From the moment our tour guide picked me up to the moment he dropped me off, the whole day was just mesmerizing. The town of Orange was a good starting point. I learned so much about wine from our visit to Chateauneuf du Pape, the hilltop villages were heartachingly beautiful and the Pont du Gard...I am lost for words. I was stunned into silence at my first sighting of it. Julienne our driver/tour guide was just perfect. His nice, friendly, easy going personality were a big positive factor for the tour. He was very informative and had lots of knowledge about the places and the whole region. We talked about wines, grapes, palaces, romans, rivers, mountains, french food, french people and culture, lavender, van gogh etc...All in all it was defintely a grand tour and I loved it and I was very happy that I booked it.

Doing what: Provence Le Grand Tour

Christine S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

This is a reasonably comprehensive tour to a number of locations. It is a long day but if you have limited time is it an excellent tour. The wine tasting class was excellent and I am sure everyone attending left knowing a lot more about wine and how to tell a quality wine than they previously did. I wish I had taken a map so I could have tracked our travel as we were doing it.

Doing what: Provence Le Grand Tour

EK

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Loved the tour! Fantastic guide, great wine.

Doing what: Wine Tasting in Châteauneuf du Pape from Avignon Including Lunch

Teresa M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Emmanuel was our tour guide - absolutely wonderful! We had a great day and tasted a great deal of wines from the region. I would totally recommend this trip. The lunch was superb!

Doing what: Wine Tasting in Châteauneuf du Pape from Avignon Including Lunch

Michael V

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

This is a great tour of you want to take in winery, Roman ampitheatre and beautiful villages of Provence, all in one day. A long day, but very rewarding. Mark was an excellent tour guide.

Doing what: Provence Le Grand Tour

Forrest S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

We had the good luck to have Phillippe Hendricks to be our tour guide. He knew the area well and provided historical information beyond our expectations. The area is beautiful and the Roman ruins were beyond our expectations.

Doing what: Provence Le Grand Tour

Richard D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Thoroughly enjoyed our wine tour. Julien our driver was both friendly and informative with a great sense of humour. We were picked up on time and given a lot of background information before arriving at our first tasting. Definately recomend.

Doing what: Rhone Valley Wine Tour from Avignon: Chateauneuf-du-Pape and Tavel

Katherine O

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Because we had only 3 days in Avignon, we signed up for this tour. I had wanted to see all these places and had originally planned to rent a car and drive to them. I am very glad we took the tour instead. We could never have found, much less driven to, all these places by ourselves. Especially for this price. They are all beautiful. My friend said she could have done with one less, but which one? They were all amazing places I was so glad to see. The partner group, Provence tours arranged the tours by language, and our guide Violette was superbly informative and friendly while keeping us on track for the day. We had a nice Mercedes 8 passenger van that was a comfortable ride with air conditioning. Bring snacks and water. No time allowed for a sit down meal. We stopped for sandwiches at one point. It was a 12 hour day, but I would do it again.

Doing what: Provence Le Grand Tour

Anna H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Great! The time is just nice for all the destinations listed. Emmanuel is very informative too. Thank you so much!!

Doing what: Provence Le Grand Tour

Alice Shiqing H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

We skipped Notre Dame since this was so easy to access and before this trip, we had already being there twice. Cassis is a very lovely village. I would strongly recommend to go this place. The boat ride to Calanques was fabulous experience. This is the high light of this tour.

Doing what: Provence Le Grand Tour

Michael S United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

This ended up being the high light of our 3 week trip.

Doing what: Provence Le Grand Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message