When you hear a wine name like Châteauneuf-du-Pape, you probably think of how you've seen that on a label in your local wine store. But what many people forget is that like Bordeaux, Champagne, and Burgundy, Châteauneuf-du-Pape is an ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 162 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Michael V

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

This is a great tour of you want to take in winery, Roman ampitheatre and beautiful villages of Provence, all in one day. A long day, but very rewarding. Mark was an excellent tour guide.

Doing what: Provence Le Grand Tour

Forrest S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

We had the good luck to have Phillippe Hendricks to be our tour guide. He knew the area well and provided historical information beyond our expectations. The area is beautiful and the Roman ruins were beyond our expectations.

Doing what: Provence Le Grand Tour

Richard D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Thoroughly enjoyed our wine tour. Julien our driver was both friendly and informative with a great sense of humour. We were picked up on time and given a lot of background information before arriving at our first tasting. Definately recomend.

Doing what: Rhone Valley Wine Tour from Avignon: Chateauneuf-du-Pape and Tavel

Katherine O

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Because we had only 3 days in Avignon, we signed up for this tour. I had wanted to see all these places and had originally planned to rent a car and drive to them. I am very glad we took the tour instead. We could never have found, much less driven to, all these places by ourselves. Especially for this price. They are all beautiful. My friend said she could have done with one less, but which one? They were all amazing places I was so glad to see. The partner group, Provence tours arranged the tours by language, and our guide Violette was superbly informative and friendly while keeping us on track for the day. We had a nice Mercedes 8 passenger van that was a comfortable ride with air conditioning. Bring snacks and water. No time allowed for a sit down meal. We stopped for sandwiches at one point. It was a 12 hour day, but I would do it again.

Doing what: Provence Le Grand Tour

Anna H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Great! The time is just nice for all the destinations listed. Emmanuel is very informative too. Thank you so much!!

Doing what: Provence Le Grand Tour

Alice Shiqing H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

We skipped Notre Dame since this was so easy to access and before this trip, we had already being there twice. Cassis is a very lovely village. I would strongly recommend to go this place. The boat ride to Calanques was fabulous experience. This is the high light of this tour.

Doing what: Provence Le Grand Tour

Michael S United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

This ended up being the high light of our 3 week trip.

Doing what: Provence Le Grand Tour

CuppyFox

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

This tour was totally worth it! Without a car it would have taken a week to see all the places we did in one day. I loved the wine-tasting at Chateauneuf-de-Pape, Pont du Gard, and the village of Rouissillon. Our guide Phillipe was great, he was knowledgable and kept the energy going!

Doing what: Provence Le Grand Tour

Cynthia h

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

It was an interesting day and we visited some fantastic French villages. The guide Marc was very knowledgeable, on time and really was a lot of fun

Doing what: Provence Le Grand Tour

Cynthia h

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

It was an interesting day and we visited some fantastic French villages. The guide Marc was very knowledgeable, on time and really was a lot of fun

Doing what: Provence Le Grand Tour

Walters2468

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Very pleasant and informative guide. Excellent experience.

Doing what: Provence Le Grand Tour

pambetz

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Great Guide and visits to small town and vineyards - and of course tastings! Even brought empty! Chateauneuf-du-Pape bottle designed by artist Pere Anselme home - which caused some raised eyebrows at airport security LOL!

Doing what: Rhone Valley Wine Tour from Avignon: Chateauneuf-du-Pape and Tavel

Sarah K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Overall an excellent tour. Marc was very knowledgeable about Provence and we learned a lot about the region. We were with a nice group which helped make the day very enjoyable. Marc arrived on time, the vehicle was comfortable we were not in back seat though, we got back on time and Marc's English was excellent.
Comments:
Felt a little rushed during day and would have liked more time in a couple of places.
There was one cliuent on a half day tour, the rest of us were full day. Therefore had to return to starting point which may have been the reason we were short on time. Suggest having tour with people who have same schedule.
For a!most 300 kind of expected lunch would have been provided or at least some beverages.
in spite of these comments would highly recommend tour.

Doing what: Provence Le Grand Tour

Anne S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

Our guide Emanuel gave us an amazing Grand tour of Provance. His knowledge of the places he took us and the surrounding areas was excellent. The weather was beautiful which added to the experience. Overall it was an enjoyable day. I would definitely recommend this tour to anyone wanting to see places outside Avignon.

Doing what: Provence Le Grand Tour

Anita J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

The guide was excellent. Her knowledge of the area - fun facts too - was terrific. We had a good time.

Doing what: Provence Le Grand Tour

Yana F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

There was a splendid tour, rather informative, and at the same time relaxing and very well organized. How was it possible to visit so many fantastic places within the single day so many impressions, emotions and memories. Thanks to the excellent guide Julien our multinational group was feeling nothing but comfort and relaxing in this trip. Julien is the true professional, ready to answer any question, with very friendly and attentive attitude to each person in his group. I am really thankful to Viator and to Julien for this Grand Day in Provence, - such tours can be definitely strongly recommended to everybody.

Doing what: Provence Le Grand Tour

surferjoe13

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

This was a wonderful tour. Our guide, Jacque, was extremely knowledgable about Avignon, the surrounding areas, wine, and the wine-making process. His English was perfect, he was very personable, and we enjoyed his company. The restaurant he selected for lunch was a beautiful chateau on the top of a hill. The food and ambiance were wonderful. He took us to a number of wineries in small villages which I could not possibly have found by myself. It was wonderful to drink wine without having to worry about driving through the narrow village streets, or finding my way back to our hotel in Avignon. My wife and I highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Wine Tasting in Châteauneuf du Pape from Avignon Including Lunch

surferjoe13

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

My wife and I enjoyed this tour immensely. Our guide, Adeline, was very knowledgeable about wine and the wine-making process. She also was a wealth of information about the history, geography, and meteorology of the surrounding region. The highlight of this tour was a wine tasting class at a winery in Ventoux where Adeline explained how to evaluate and taste wine. We were able to taste seven wines during this class. After lunch we went to a winery in Tavel where we tasted several rose wines which Tavel specializes in comparing wines made from grapes grown in different soils. We ended our day in Chateauneuf-du-Pape at a winery which discussed the specialized wine-making process in that region. We found Adeline to be utterly charming. Her English was impeccable.

Doing what: Rhone Valley Wine Tour from Avignon: Chateauneuf-du-Pape, Ventoux and Tavel

Ann G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

This was a wonderful tour! Our guide was amazing--thoroughly knowledgeable and so helpful. We enjoyed both wineries very much! We were on a Viator tour in 2013 in Epernay which was also wonderful. We will highly recommend Viator to any travelers and look forward to our next Viator experience.

Doing what: Rhone Valley Wine Tour from Avignon: Chateauneuf-du-Pape and Tavel

Traian M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

We have enjoyed this trip very much. It is a half day excursion, just not too long and not too short.
The tour guide was very knowledgeable, new several languages and was a very nice person.
We recommend this tour if you happen to be in Avignon.

Doing what: Rhone Valley Wine Tour from Avignon: Chateauneuf-du-Pape and Tavel

Josh F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

We had an amazing time with Jaque, our guide, and our Australian companions. He took us to 4 wineries and we had some magnificent tastings. He also drove us through some old villages and we had a delicious lunch in a castle. The views, the wine and the company were unforgettable.

Doing what: Wine Tasting in Châteauneuf du Pape from Avignon Including Lunch

James D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

It was a very comprehensive tour. The guide was excellent and had great knowledge of the area. We really enjoyed it. We highly recommend it.

Doing what: Provence Le Grand Tour

Melanie M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

We had a great experience and would recommend this tour to anyone so long as Jean Baptiste is your guide. He really made the day special for us and one of the most memorable days of our great trip to France. We saw parts of Provence we would have never encountered without him, experienced great wineries and saw some amazing scenery. This tour is a great way to get started in the Provence area.

Doing what: Wine Tasting in Châteauneuf du Pape from Avignon Including Lunch

Mara H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Really great tour with a wonderful guide, Julian. Enjoyed all three wineries, and Julian's wonderful commentary about the wine making process, and the region. Julian did a fantastic job, and made everyone feel comfortable while on the tour. The only change I would make is for the tour company not to have others join the tour half way through the day. We had to backtrack to where we started in Avignon just to pick up two people. Wasted part of our tour day having to have Julian do that.

Doing what: Rhone Valley Wine Tour from Avignon: Chateauneuf-du-Pape, Ventoux and Tavel

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message