When you hear a wine name like Châteauneuf-du-Pape, you probably think of how you've seen that on a label in your local wine store. But what many people forget is that like Bordeaux, Champagne, and Burgundy, Châteauneuf-du-Pape is an ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 176 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

rob

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

julian was our guide and he was great. never could have seen as much without this tour. highly recommend tour

Doing what: Provence Le Grand Tour

Cham

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

This is a fantastic tour and it needs to be on your bucket list !

Doing what: Wine Tasting in Châteauneuf du Pape from Avignon Including Lunch

Stephanie P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

The tour was very good and we learned a lot! Our tour guide was so nice and very interesting.

Doing what: Rhone Valley Wine Tour from Avignon: Chateauneuf-du-Pape and Tavel

Graham K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

When in Provence you have to do Le Grand Tour! It's a lot of travelling in the bus which wasn't good for my arthritic hip and knee but these are places that have to be seen! Loved the tour, and tour guide Remi was very patient and very knowledgeable. Les Baux de Provence, Roussillion and Gordes were lovely but the old Roman amphitheatre in Oange and the Pont du Gard were particularly impressive

Doing what: Provence Le Grand Tour

fiona c

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Marc was a great tour guide, very knowledgeable about wines in particular.

Doing what: Provence Le Grand Tour

monikagrzegorzek

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Very good! Great sights, enjoyed it all the way!

Doing what: Provence Le Grand Tour

cathag13

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

It s very interesting.
You learn a lot about french wines and you can taste different kinds

Doing what: Rhone Valley Wine Tour from Avignon: Chateauneuf-du-Pape and Tavel

dkmaf340

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Wonder tour seeing all the highlights of the region.

Doing what: Provence Le Grand Tour

Angela L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

It was my first time to travel to the south of France. I have heard so much about the charm, beauty and magic of Provence and southern France. I went into this trip with lots of fantasies and images about this place. Needless to say, the Reality far exceeded my fantasies. From the moment our tour guide picked me up to the moment he dropped me off, the whole day was just mesmerizing. The town of Orange was a good starting point. I learned so much about wine from our visit to Chateauneuf du Pape, the hilltop villages were heartachingly beautiful and the Pont du Gard...I am lost for words. I was stunned into silence at my first sighting of it. Julienne our driver/tour guide was just perfect. His nice, friendly, easy going personality were a big positive factor for the tour. He was very informative and had lots of knowledge about the places and the whole region. We talked about wines, grapes, palaces, romans, rivers, mountains, french food, french people and culture, lavender, van gogh etc...All in all it was defintely a grand tour and I loved it and I was very happy that I booked it.

Doing what: Provence Le Grand Tour

Christine S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

This is a reasonably comprehensive tour to a number of locations. It is a long day but if you have limited time is it an excellent tour. The wine tasting class was excellent and I am sure everyone attending left knowing a lot more about wine and how to tell a quality wine than they previously did. I wish I had taken a map so I could have tracked our travel as we were doing it.

Doing what: Provence Le Grand Tour

EK

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Loved the tour! Fantastic guide, great wine.

Doing what: Wine Tasting in Châteauneuf du Pape from Avignon Including Lunch

Teresa M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Emmanuel was our tour guide - absolutely wonderful! We had a great day and tasted a great deal of wines from the region. I would totally recommend this trip. The lunch was superb!

Doing what: Wine Tasting in Châteauneuf du Pape from Avignon Including Lunch

Michael V

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

This is a great tour of you want to take in winery, Roman ampitheatre and beautiful villages of Provence, all in one day. A long day, but very rewarding. Mark was an excellent tour guide.

Doing what: Provence Le Grand Tour

Forrest S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

We had the good luck to have Phillippe Hendricks to be our tour guide. He knew the area well and provided historical information beyond our expectations. The area is beautiful and the Roman ruins were beyond our expectations.

Doing what: Provence Le Grand Tour

Richard D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Thoroughly enjoyed our wine tour. Julien our driver was both friendly and informative with a great sense of humour. We were picked up on time and given a lot of background information before arriving at our first tasting. Definately recomend.

Doing what: Rhone Valley Wine Tour from Avignon: Chateauneuf-du-Pape and Tavel

Katherine O

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Because we had only 3 days in Avignon, we signed up for this tour. I had wanted to see all these places and had originally planned to rent a car and drive to them. I am very glad we took the tour instead. We could never have found, much less driven to, all these places by ourselves. Especially for this price. They are all beautiful. My friend said she could have done with one less, but which one? They were all amazing places I was so glad to see. The partner group, Provence tours arranged the tours by language, and our guide Violette was superbly informative and friendly while keeping us on track for the day. We had a nice Mercedes 8 passenger van that was a comfortable ride with air conditioning. Bring snacks and water. No time allowed for a sit down meal. We stopped for sandwiches at one point. It was a 12 hour day, but I would do it again.

Doing what: Provence Le Grand Tour

Anna H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Great! The time is just nice for all the destinations listed. Emmanuel is very informative too. Thank you so much!!

Doing what: Provence Le Grand Tour

Alice Shiqing H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

We skipped Notre Dame since this was so easy to access and before this trip, we had already being there twice. Cassis is a very lovely village. I would strongly recommend to go this place. The boat ride to Calanques was fabulous experience. This is the high light of this tour.

Doing what: Provence Le Grand Tour

Michael S United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

This ended up being the high light of our 3 week trip.

Doing what: Provence Le Grand Tour

CuppyFox

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

This tour was totally worth it! Without a car it would have taken a week to see all the places we did in one day. I loved the wine-tasting at Chateauneuf-de-Pape, Pont du Gard, and the village of Rouissillon. Our guide Phillipe was great, he was knowledgable and kept the energy going!

Doing what: Provence Le Grand Tour

Cynthia h

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

It was an interesting day and we visited some fantastic French villages. The guide Marc was very knowledgeable, on time and really was a lot of fun

Doing what: Provence Le Grand Tour

Cynthia h

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

It was an interesting day and we visited some fantastic French villages. The guide Marc was very knowledgeable, on time and really was a lot of fun

Doing what: Provence Le Grand Tour

Walters2468

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Very pleasant and informative guide. Excellent experience.

Doing what: Provence Le Grand Tour

pambetz

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Great Guide and visits to small town and vineyards - and of course tastings! Even brought empty! Chateauneuf-du-Pape bottle designed by artist Pere Anselme home - which caused some raised eyebrows at airport security LOL!

Doing what: Rhone Valley Wine Tour from Avignon: Chateauneuf-du-Pape and Tavel

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message