So varied is the native wildlife of Ecuador’s Galapagos Islands that it inspired Charles Darwin’s Theory of Natural Selection and the 19 main islands and numerous smaller isles present a unique microcosm of the world’s spectacularly diverse ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 36 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Souvik S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

One of the best trips in my life. Timely and efficient

Doing what: 5-Day Galapagos Island Hopping Tour

Florian O H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Excellent tour, perfect organization. Changed schedule based on weather conditions or national park times. Hotels were really good as well. Really liked the food. Would do it definitely again.

Doing what: 5-Day Galapagos Island Hopping Tour

David L G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

All of the guides were fantastic, prompt and accommodating. We saw all kinds of wildlife it was fun walking on deserted islands.

Doing what: Galapagos Islands Explorer Package from Santa Cruz Island

miodku

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

I couldn't recommend this trip more! From start to finish it was a massive surprise, hotel Flamingo was great, all daily trips we had arranged were amazing, specially trip to Santa Cruise island were we snorkeled with sea lions and turtles. If I could go back there tmw I woul!

Doing what: Galapagos Islands Explorer Package from Santa Cruz Island

Jason A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

I really enjoyed it. Most of the time when people say things like "oh the rare so and so lives in these parts and if your lucky you may see it." I take little notice of it as I assume I will not see it... In the Galapagos someone will say that and when you arrive you see 12 of them immediately.

Doing what: Galapagos Islands Explorer Package from Santa Cruz Island

Susan E

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2012

Not a moment was wasted! We saw so much wildlife! Great hotel too! kNOWLEDGEABLE guiides.

Doing what: Galapagos Islands Explorer Package from Santa Cruz Island

Michael M USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2012

Very nice trip indeed! We got to see flora and fauna that I have never seen before. The guides were informative and friendly. Both Spanish and English were spoken fluently.

Doing what: Tortuga Bay Tour and Yacht Cruise to La Loberia Island

CTJodi Greece

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2012

Well worth it! Why? Title is misleading. There is a 3 hour tour of Tortuga Bay, then a 2 hour lunch break, then another 3 hour cruise (with snorkeling and mask provided free) followed by another beach tour. On the downside, because I misunderstood, I showed up in a bathing suit and coverup at start of trip! ARGH! Highly frowned on, but I honestly thought the entire thing was a 1/2 day boat tour of both Tortuga Bay and La Loberia! So wear tee shirt, shorts and good hiking shoes for first round of trip (which also includes a refreshing swim in Tortuga Bay, so make sure you wear your bathing suit under your hiking clothes), then enjoy lunch and get ready for a great time in the afternoon. The staff was SUPERB! They do speak English but most of your tour mates will speak Spanish, the primary language of the guides. It is worth studying Spanish for a couple of months just to understand and communicate with your tour guides and tour mates. I HIGHLY recommend this! Had no clue I would get this kind of value for my money! Hotel pickup fast and easy; Eduardo in Quito confirmed and doubled confirmed my hotel pickup. There is, however, no "drop off" but guess what? Puerto Ayora is only about 1/4 square miles, so walking back from the main docks (directly across from the only real grocery store) to your flat or hotel is easy as punch. There's no such thing as getting lost in Puerto Ayora. This tour was a great and FULL day of fun and adventure!

Doing what: Tortuga Bay Tour and Yacht Cruise to La Loberia Island

dac6902

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2017

We had a wonderful time! I made several hotel changes before our eventual pick-up, and the Viator personnel kept track of my MANY e-mails. Thank you for this! The hike to the Volcano was gorgeous, though a little longer than we anticipated. Had we known it would be over 10 miles, we would have brought our own supply of snacks, as the supplied lunch was not quite enough sustenance for the hike, AND lunch. The guides were all top-notch, and very well-educated. The other meals were solid. The style of meal preparation was simple and straightforward, but the actual food was EXCELLENT quality. The transfers were prompt. The group size was perfect. I would use Viator again.

Doing what: 4- or 5-Day Galapagos Island Hopping Tour

Lori A. L

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2017

The tour was relatively well organized the people were incredibly warm and helpful. The itinerary did lay out the program day to day, but at times it did not have enough specifics about times and exertion level, and we were only briefed the night before, so it was difficult to make changes in the tour. Our day in Santa Cruz could've been much better spent. We walked for miles for really nothing, and then the guide left us on the way back and we got lost finding our hotel. LOVED the snorkeling at Kicker Rock and our time on Isabela island was very enjoyable most of us did not do the hike up to the volcano crater....it was too hot would make much more sense to leave for that hike about 5-6 AM so that the hike back is not during the heat of the day. The Galapagos themselves are AMAZING! the wildlife is spectacular and really all around you!

Doing what: 8-Day Galapagos Island Hopping Tour

Jamie C

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2017

My family and I just returned from the 4 day island hopping tour. The trip was amazing. Tons of sea life, iguanas, turtles. Below i will detail the trip a bit more with pros and cons.
Day 1- Picked up from airport by guide, we were taken to Puerto Ayoro for lunch. After lunch we took a boat about 2 hours to Isla Isabel. We checked into hotel and went to the flamingo lagoon. Pros: Hotel is basic, but nice. Food is good and served in a timely manner. Flamingo tour was beautiful. Cons: Water on this island is LIMITED. Bring bottled water from main island. Bring water with you as the water on this island is not safe.
Day 2- Picked up from hotel for trip to Volcano. The volcano hike is long. The total trip is about 10 miles. We were unaware of the distance so luckily my 4 and 10 year olds were troopers and happily completed the hike. We returned from the hike and went snorkeling. Pros: The volcano was an amazing site. The guide was great and well informed. The snorkeling experience was amazing. We swam with turtles right next to us, and saw beautiful sea life. Cons: The hike is long so be prepared with water and extra food. The lunch supplied by the hotel in NOT enough small sandwich and an apple. It turns out to be quite a long day between the hike and snorkeling. If you are traveling as a family and your kids are adventurous, then you should not have a problem
Day 3- Took boat early 5:30 a.m. back to Puerto Ayoro about 2 hours. We checked into hotel and ate breakfast. Our guide met us and took us to the Charles Darwin Museum. After we returned to the hotel for lunch and then walked to Tortuga Bay with the same guide. Pros: Our guide Cesar was awesome. Well informed and made the tour enjoyable. Museum is really cool with turtles, birds, iguanas, and plant life. Tortuga Bay is amazing. Iguanas walking on the beach and clear water. Cons: Tortuga Bay is NOT close. Their is a claim that the walk is about 2.5 Km. This is inaccurate. We walked from the hotel and it was about 4 to 4.5 miles walking. Not a big deal, just be prepared.
Day 4: Took ride back to boat for Isla Baltra.
The trip is unique but it is not for everyone. If you like luxury hotels, easy travel, then this is not a good trip for you. That being said, that is probably why we liked the trip so much. It was a rugged, out of the way, no working internet, amazing trip. Just... be prepared! Water, extra food, and good shoes!

Doing what: 4- or 5-Day Galapagos Island Hopping Tour

Ching Ying L

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2017

It was a great trip in the Galapagos if you like the ocean, wild life and tranquility.

Dont like the arrangement of the tour as they are actually sending us on different local tours each day with different tour guides and some of whom dont even speak English. There are lots of hidden costs such as the entrance fee to the National Park, water taxi fares and speedboat fares. One day they switched our schedule and told us to take out swimsuit from the luggage to go swimming in short notice of 10 minutes without even having a hotel room ready for us to change !!! Another day, a substitute guide just drew us a crude map and told us to walk and tour to the Charles Darwin station by ourselves from the hotel.

Not happy with the tour booking agent at all. I have knee problem. On booking, they already advised me not to go to the Sierra Volcano on Isabella Island but to go on a snorkeling trip at Los Tuneles instead, but I had to pay 60 USD more. Correspondences had been made via email several times to confirm that i was going on the Los Tuneles snorkelling tour. How could they forgot totally to make the arrangement ??? When I arrived at Isabella, I was told that nobody there knew of my knee problem and they had to put me on a second floor room in the hotel which had steep stairs. No one had arranged the snorkelling tour for me and the Los Tuneles tour was already fully booked and the only option I had left was either to climb the volcano or to go to the Tintoreas with an additional charge. Also even written that snorkelling equipment rental fee was included , they were asking us to pay. Some of the tourists are very upset with the hidden costs, but the guide was showing this bad attitude saying you could well go ahead to complain if you wish !!!

I would not recommend joining this tour at all.

Doing what: 5-Day Galapagos Island Hopping Tour

c j b

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2015

Enjoyable trip, hotel accommodation was good, guides were very helpful and spoke good English, between snorkelling, swimming with the sea lions, short bushwalking trips, giant tortoises, marine and land iguanas and of course blue - footed boobies was a great experience.

Doing what: Galapagos Islands Explorer Package from Santa Cruz Island

Jun X

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2014

value for money! good guides! and good lunches!

Doing what: Galapagos Islands Explorer Package from Santa Cruz Island

Jun X

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2014

value for money! good guides! and good lunches!

Doing what: Galapagos Islands Explorer Package from Santa Cruz Island

Kareem K

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2014

Amazing way to see a lot of the Galápagos Islands, but you actually can't choose the islands as it says in the itinerary, it's what's available at that day, plus everyday is with different guides

Doing what: Galapagos Islands Explorer Package from Santa Cruz Island

Cheryl W

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2013

I had a great time and Viator really takes care of you! I booked the trip about 6 weeks in advance for the week of Christmas and while I couldn't go on a yacht tour, Viator got me a land-based tour (staying in a hotel) and taking boats out to the islands. Everything was well taken care of including someone with my name on a card upon arrival to the airport. The guides were great, I met great people and the wildlife viewing was amazing. I saw the giant tortoises each day, snorkeled and swam with sea turtles two of the days, saw booby birds up close, tons of iguanas, etc. It was great! The hotel was nice and included breakfast, probably a 3.5 star quality and a block from Charles Darwin Avenue, a cute touristy town. I'd recommend Viator! The only downside was the 2 hour speedboats to the other islands. Luckily I didn't get sick but others on the boat did. It's a rough ride, so just be aware of that. All in all, a great trip! Thanks, Viator!

Doing what: Galapagos Islands Explorer Package from Santa Cruz Island

Melanda C

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2013

This tour was amazing. The Galapagos are stunningly beautiful, and I regret that I couldn't stay longer. We were there during mating season for the Blue-Footed Booby, and saw the males dance up close and personal. It does not get better than that. The Grey Line Ecuador team were friendly and knowledgeable, and the Red Booby Hotel was simple, but neat and clean. I would definitely recommend this to anyone who is thinking of making the trip.

Doing what: Galapagos Islands Explorer Package from Santa Cruz Island

Calvin V

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2013

excellent accommodation, and informative guides

Doing what: Galapagos Islands Explorer Package from Santa Cruz Island

SARABJIT B

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2012

We loved it with the exception of trip to Isabella. It s/b booked for only for seaworthy travellers. Also, the itinerary in English would be better for English Speaking travellers.

Doing what: Galapagos Islands Explorer Package from Santa Cruz Island

Keith W

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2012

nicely paced trip, saw some great location, guides were knowledgeable and helpful

Doing what: Galapagos Islands Explorer Package from Santa Cruz Island

JD W

3 star rating: Worth doing
March 2013

We enjoyed the Galapagos and met many wonderful people from South America. The unique animals were very special. If we had it to do over I would choose to stay on a boat rather than return to a hotel each afternoon. There was too much time spent going from hotel to an island and then back again.

Doing what: Galapagos Islands Explorer Package from Santa Cruz Island

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message