Galway ATTRACTIONS See all

Kylemore Abbey and Gardens

Tucked in the shadows of the mighty Seven Pins Mountain range, Kylemore Abbey cuts a striking figure against its majestic backdrop. A Benedictine monastery founded in 1853, the Abbey took seven years to build and remains in use today as an all ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 170 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Kathryn V

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

This was the perfect day trip for our short time in Ireland. By traveling in the bus, you get to see the wide range of stunning landscapes Ireland has to offer. Our tour guide, Phil, was fantastic! Giving knowledgeable recommendations and facts about Irish culture.

Doing what: Connemara Day Trip from Galway: Kylemore Abbey and Ross Errilly Friary

Yuzhen Y

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Very comfortable day trip. The coach has been well driven and comfortable. The driver is a good guide too. Had many chances to get off and enjoy the view. Well-planned, organized yet rewarding trip. Definitely recommend this.

Doing what: Connemara Day Trip from Galway: Kylemore Abbey and Ross Errilly Friary

Biswajit R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

I nad my wife went to Connemara on 23 June. Galway tour company was excellent. Our guide Roger was more than a guide. Connemara is a natural beauty. I recommend this tour 10 out of 10 times.

Doing what: Connemara Day Trip from Galway: Kylemore Abbey and Ross Errilly Friary

JAMES E G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

My wife and I took this tour with Darren as our driver,
We had a fantastic time which was enhanced by Darren's friendliness and his entertainment skills.
Darren's knowledge and light hearted banter really contributed to a great day.
At one point he had the whole bus singing the chorus of The Irish Rover and I joined with him in a rendition of Seven Drunken Nights and learned the two verses of Saturday and Sunday night,
Once again a great day and many thanks to Darren.
Jim and Sue Glanvill Gosport UK

Doing what: Connemara and Galway City Day Trip from Dublin

Joanna M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

These tours are a fantastic way to see other parts of the country without having to take on the challenge of driving in a country you're unfamiliar with. My husband and I did feel like we were on the bus A LOT, however, we still saw A LOT and it was beautiful!! Because Connemara and Galway are about 3 hours from Dublin, I'm not sure being on the bus so much can be changed, so it's just sort of a double edged sword. This trip was definitely worth the money!

Doing what: Connemara and Galway City Day Trip from Dublin

Lori C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Beautiful landscape. Very knowledgeable tour guide. We learned so much! The bus was brand new and beautiful. Picked us up at our hotel. Very accommodating.

Doing what: Connemara Day Trip from Galway: Kylemore Abbey and Ross Errilly Friary

BETH W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Loved every minute of the day! Fabulous tour guide and lovely area of Ireland.

Doing what: Connemara Day Trip from Galway: Kylemore Abbey and Ross Errilly Friary

Cheryl E

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Our tour guide helped make our final day in Ireland a memorable experience!!! Phil was hilarious, informative and accommodating. He not only brought context to the sights and sounds of Ireland, but helped us appreciate the spirit of the Irish people. A beautiful tour in all respects!!! Thank you, Phil!!!

Doing what: Connemara Day Trip from Galway: Kylemore Abbey and Ross Errilly Friary

Mark P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Mike D was awesome very imformative and funny had a great time!! I would highly recommend the tour

Doing what: Connemara Day Trip from Galway: Kylemore Abbey and Ross Errilly Friary

Matthew F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Fun tour! Great way to get out of the city and see the countryside. Had I driven myself, I would have gotten lost around Connemara. Totally worth doing.

Doing what: Connemara Day Trip from Galway: Kylemore Abbey and Ross Errilly Friary

Jennifer C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

The driver was superbly entertaining, and the trip was amazing. Very Happy to recommend this trip to all who want to see the area. The Kylemore Abbey was actually just a bit disappointing, as there were so many people and you don't get to see many rooms. Had much more fun on the road and at the Friary.

Doing what: Connemara Day Trip from Galway: Kylemore Abbey and Ross Errilly Friary

Patti J K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

This is a wonderful tour. If you are in the Galway area this tour is a must see.

Doing what: Connemara Day Trip from Galway: Kylemore Abbey and Ross Errilly Friary

Patti J K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

This is a wonderful tour. If you are in the Galway area this tour is a must see.

Doing what: Connemara Day Trip from Galway: Kylemore Abbey and Ross Errilly Friary

Boris K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Excellent tour. Phil was an excellent guide and driver.

Doing what: Connemara Day Trip from Galway: Kylemore Abbey and Ross Errilly Friary

William E

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

PJ was wonderful- funny, informative, and a fine driver. We enjoyed our day very much!

Doing what: Connemara Day Trip from Galway: Kylemore Abbey and Ross Errilly Friary

wjolson Canada

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Our tour operator was PJ. He was excellent! We were able to see the mountains and the countryside of sheep farmers with their baby lambs. So sweet! The story of Kylemore Abbey is even more beautiful than the beautiful Abbey itself. We had a great day and thoroughly enjoyed it all. I would recommend this tour.

Doing what: Connemara Day Trip from Galway: Kylemore Abbey and Ross Errilly Friary

Louis N Canada

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Well, I absolutely loved this tour. Everything went extremely smoothly from the early rail trip to Galway to the return to Dublin in the evening. The tour guides were phenomenal Jim O'Keefe, Peter, and the stupendous driver of the coach, Martin. The guides had lots of interesting information to impart and struck a perfect balance of humour, information, and silence. Well done! The scenery was breathtaking. Quite unbelievable. I strongly recommend this tour...it very much surpassed my expectations!

Doing what: Connemara and Galway Bay Rail Tour from Dublin

Joy L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Our trip to Connemara, led by Derek, was most enjoyable from start to finish. We enjoyed the Irish music en route too. The trip was relaxing and informative and we learnt snippets of the countrys history which encouraged us to find out more. We will recommend this company to others and will book again with you if we return to Ireland. Thank you.

Doing what: Connemara and Galway City Day Trip from Dublin

goudy03

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

I booked this tour after reading the reviews and was really glad we did, it was excellent. The bus departs from the COACH station not the bus station, this was not stated on the itinerary.
The driver Mike D was superb, spoke in great detail about the areas we were passing, clear on instructions of where to go and when to return to the bus and navigating along the narrow country roads.
We stopped off at Kylemore Abbey first, which is quite spectacular along with the gardens and church, there's a cafe and shop on the grounds. We made several stops to take photo's of the amazing views of the Connemara mountains and surrounding areas. We had a look around the village Cong, which is where the film The Quiet man was filmed.
Thoroughly enjoyed the tour and would strongly recommend it.

Doing what: Connemara Day Trip from Galway: Kylemore Abbey and Ross Errilly Friary

Kathryn S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

PJ was awesome, and couldn't have asked for a better trip

Doing what: Connemara Day Trip from Galway: Kylemore Abbey and Ross Errilly Friary

CARYLU A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

This trip was amazing! Everything was great!!! Even the last minute changes! We ended up going to a sheep farm instead of the boat tour, which was an unbelievable great experience and something I wanted to do since I got to Ireland! Loved it!!! Thanks Wil for everything!

Doing what: Connemara and Galway City Day Trip from Dublin

Hendrik d

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

My wife cried when we had to leave. We returned on another day. More than that I need not say.

Doing what: Connemara Day Trip from Galway: Kylemore Abbey and Ross Errilly Friary

CLEBER P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

Tour incrível, especialmente pela beleza natural da região de Connemara e pela charmosa cidade de Galway. Nosso guia foi ótimo. Um dos pontos altos deste tour é a visita a uma fazenda de ovelhas onde o dono nos mostra como conduzi-las com seu cão. Realmente demais.

Doing what: Connemara and Galway City Day Trip from Dublin

Kim L Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

This was a fun tour. We were on the bus a lot, but that is because you need to travel a long distance. The Connemara was amazing and beautiful. As part of the tour, there was a sheep roundup demonstration, which was amazing being on the side of a mountain, with the lake down the bottom and spectacular mountains all around and a sheep dog in the distance being told directions with whistles and calls in the distance. We then proceeded onto the Abbey for lunch, which was great, I just wish we had a little more time there to explore the grounds. Galway was fun, but not enough time to see things.

Doing what: Connemara and Galway City Day Trip from Dublin

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message