Galway ATTRACTIONS See all

Kylemore Abbey and Gardens

Tucked in the shadows of the mighty Seven Pins Mountain range, Kylemore Abbey cuts a striking figure against its majestic backdrop. A Benedictine monastery founded in 1853, the Abbey took seven years to build and remains in use today as an all ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 190 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Pauline T Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

What a day and once again a tour jam packed full of beautiful countryside, a castle, magnificent gardens and ancient buildings. Kylemore Abbey is in very good condition and the surrounding area is so picturesque. The gardens on the estate are very well established the day just isn't long enough to fit it all in. Would recommend this tour.

Doing what: Connemara Day Trip from Galway: Kylemore Abbey and Ross Errilly Friary

Jeffrey S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

We took the Connemara Day Trip from Galway to Kylemore Abbey and Ross Errilly Friary. The driver provided interesting facts along the way. The scenery through Connemara was wonderful. There was adequate time allowed to tour the Abbey and adding the Friary at the end was an extra bonus as my understanding other tour companies don't go there. All in all a nice trip and good tour company.

Doing what: Connemara Day Trip from Galway: Kylemore Abbey and Ross Errilly Friary

Lisa W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Glad to have Mike D. again as our driver as I had him the day before on my Cliffs of Moher Day trip. His love for Connemara is well deserved. Beautiful countryside.!!

Doing what: Connemara Day Trip from Galway: Kylemore Abbey and Ross Errilly Friary

GABRIELE C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Great trip and super guide!

Doing what: Connemara and Galway City Day Trip from Dublin

Adrian P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

5 out of 5! Excellent tour and have to make a special comment regarding Ken, the guide of the tour: he is an outstanding person with a bubbly and chatty person. Not too many like him on the field, unfortunately. Well done, Ken and hope you'll be again on my next trip to Cliffs of Moher tour! Thank you for your time and your knowledge sharing!

Doing what: Connemara Day Trip from Galway: Kylemore Abbey and Ross Errilly Friary

Adrian P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

5 out of 5! Excellent tour and have to make a special comment regarding Ken, the guide of the tour: he is an outstanding person with a bubbly and chatty person. Not too many like him on the field, unfortunately. Well done, Ken and hope you'll be again on my next trip to Cliffs of Moher tour! Thank you for your time and your knowledge sharing!

Doing what: Connemara Day Trip from Galway: Kylemore Abbey and Ross Errilly Friary

clark.rebecca59

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Really beautiful way to see the Irish countryside. Picturesque at every turn. Mike our tour guide was amazing, funny and kept the whole bus on focus of Ireland.

Doing what: Connemara Day Trip from Galway: Kylemore Abbey and Ross Errilly Friary

ann b

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Gorgeous relaxing train ride west to the opposite shoreline. Nicely organized by the tour group. A bus ride through the landscape with the driver giving history, and information. Loved it all.

Doing what: Connemara and Galway Bay Rail Tour from Dublin

Todd K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

This trip was a great day trip. The tour bus picked us up right at our hotel. The day flew bye and was a perfect trip away from Galway.

Doing what: Connemara Day Trip from Galway: Kylemore Abbey and Ross Errilly Friary

Ann F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

I had a blast - 3 hours' train across gorgeous green countryside, then a coach tour of Connemara with Darren of Lally Tours - very personable and knowledgeable about Irish history and culture. I look forward to more tours of this kind on my next visit!

Doing what: Connemara and Galway Bay Rail Tour from Dublin

Kathleen D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Great tour company. There was a bit of an issue figuring out the hotel pickup, but other than that the tour was a breeze. Mike D. is awesome and full of fun knowledge. I learned so much about Connemara!

Doing what: Connemara Day Trip from Galway: Kylemore Abbey and Ross Errilly Friary

Mark V

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Michael D. was a great tour guide. Enjoyed the day!

Doing what: Connemara Day Trip from Galway: Kylemore Abbey and Ross Errilly Friary

Suzanne W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

This tour is a lovely introduction to Connemara--an area of Ireland filled with mountains and lakes. Don't expect to stay in any one place for long as this tour covers a lot of ground. There are many photo stops and chances to stretch your legs. Our longest stop was a Kylemore Abbey which was two hours. You obviously could spend an entire day there, but with strategic tips from our guide Ken, I managed to see everything I came here for. A helpful tip was to take the shuttle to the Victorian walled gardens first. They are lovely and not to be missed. There is also a nice tea shop in the garden for a snack.

Doing what: Connemara Day Trip from Galway: Kylemore Abbey and Ross Errilly Friary

Larry P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

we had a great tour guide! the places we visited were beautiful and my boyfriend still talks about how much fun he had. The scenery is breathtaking and the guide was very informative and had a great personality. Not to be missed!

Doing what: Connemara Day Trip from Galway: Kylemore Abbey and Ross Errilly Friary

Cheryl

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

This was a nice day trip that took you over the Irish country side. You learned a bit of history, viewed some spectacular gardens, and phenomenal country side.

Doing what: Connemara Day Trip from Galway: Kylemore Abbey and Ross Errilly Friary

Kathryn V

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

This was the perfect day trip for our short time in Ireland. By traveling in the bus, you get to see the wide range of stunning landscapes Ireland has to offer. Our tour guide, Phil, was fantastic! Giving knowledgeable recommendations and facts about Irish culture.

Doing what: Connemara Day Trip from Galway: Kylemore Abbey and Ross Errilly Friary

Yuzhen Y

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Very comfortable day trip. The coach has been well driven and comfortable. The driver is a good guide too. Had many chances to get off and enjoy the view. Well-planned, organized yet rewarding trip. Definitely recommend this.

Doing what: Connemara Day Trip from Galway: Kylemore Abbey and Ross Errilly Friary

Biswajit R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

I nad my wife went to Connemara on 23 June. Galway tour company was excellent. Our guide Roger was more than a guide. Connemara is a natural beauty. I recommend this tour 10 out of 10 times.

Doing what: Connemara Day Trip from Galway: Kylemore Abbey and Ross Errilly Friary

JAMES E G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

My wife and I took this tour with Darren as our driver,
We had a fantastic time which was enhanced by Darren's friendliness and his entertainment skills.
Darren's knowledge and light hearted banter really contributed to a great day.
At one point he had the whole bus singing the chorus of The Irish Rover and I joined with him in a rendition of Seven Drunken Nights and learned the two verses of Saturday and Sunday night,
Once again a great day and many thanks to Darren.
Jim and Sue Glanvill Gosport UK

Doing what: Connemara and Galway City Day Trip from Dublin

Joanna M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

These tours are a fantastic way to see other parts of the country without having to take on the challenge of driving in a country you're unfamiliar with. My husband and I did feel like we were on the bus A LOT, however, we still saw A LOT and it was beautiful!! Because Connemara and Galway are about 3 hours from Dublin, I'm not sure being on the bus so much can be changed, so it's just sort of a double edged sword. This trip was definitely worth the money!

Doing what: Connemara and Galway City Day Trip from Dublin

Lori C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Beautiful landscape. Very knowledgeable tour guide. We learned so much! The bus was brand new and beautiful. Picked us up at our hotel. Very accommodating.

Doing what: Connemara Day Trip from Galway: Kylemore Abbey and Ross Errilly Friary

BETH W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Loved every minute of the day! Fabulous tour guide and lovely area of Ireland.

Doing what: Connemara Day Trip from Galway: Kylemore Abbey and Ross Errilly Friary

Cheryl E

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Our tour guide helped make our final day in Ireland a memorable experience!!! Phil was hilarious, informative and accommodating. He not only brought context to the sights and sounds of Ireland, but helped us appreciate the spirit of the Irish people. A beautiful tour in all respects!!! Thank you, Phil!!!

Doing what: Connemara Day Trip from Galway: Kylemore Abbey and Ross Errilly Friary

Mark P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Mike D was awesome very imformative and funny had a great time!! I would highly recommend the tour

Doing what: Connemara Day Trip from Galway: Kylemore Abbey and Ross Errilly Friary

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message