Set on the banks of Switzerland’s largest lake, with the French border just minutes away, Geneva offers an abundance of choice for day-trippers. Whether you fancy cruising along the Swiss Riviera, scaling the snowy peaks of the French Alps or ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 136 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Simon T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

The Chamonix trip was the highlight of our Geneva Trip, the train trip up to the Glacier was brilliant but the Caves in the Glacier were the icing on the cake we only booked the Train trip and not the cable car but on arrival we decided to go up but were unable to because of strong winds BUT Chamonix had enough to keep us busy for the morning with plenty of shops and restaurants for Lunch/Dinner Considerably cheaper than Geneva.

Doing what: Chamonix and Mont Blanc Day Trip from Geneva

Eleanor O

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

This tour is worth every penny. I wouldn't bother booking the lunch as we didn't have that included and ate a lovely steak in the same place for only 15 each. Unfortunately, the ice caves were closed due to weather and the fog was bad so we couldn't see much from the top of mont blanc but it was still worth it to go and Chamonix is a really pretty town. We really enjoyed this tour and you get enough time to explore yourself. The guide Neil although sarcastic and a little negative actually gave some good advice on activities to do in Geneva yourself and how to do things on a budget - he's a knowledgeable guide and willing to offer practical advice.

Doing what: Chamonix and Mont Blanc Day Trip from Geneva

Rhian T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Maggie our tour guide met us with a big smile which set the tone for the rest of the day, which was lovely. A short journey through the mountains in a comfortable small coach took us to Gruyere where we first of all went to the Callier chocolate factory, then onto the Gruyere cheese factory and finally to the village of Gruyere for 2 hours of free time. Both factory tours were very informative, timed well and provided generous samples of the products produced in each facility. There was shopping time in each location plus in Gruyere village. I thoroughly enjoyed the whole day which was a Godsend on a Sunday where nothing in Geneva is open and we would have been wandering around with nothing to do.

Doing what: Day Trip to Gruyères with Cheese and Chocolate Tastings

Matt

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

The bus station was easy to find, and I was one of a group of 17 on this tour from Geneva in Switzerland to the small and very picturesque town of Chamonix in France about 90 minutes drive away on a modern and comfortable coach. The tour guide was very personable and informative. In Chamonix we took 2 cable cars included with the tour price up to the top of Mont Blanc, which has a sort of visitor's centre with various viewing platforms giving spectacular views over the Alps. There was some free time in the afternoon to wonder round Chamonix and get lunch. The train wasn't running at the time, so the tour guide gave us a refund of the cost of the train, offered to take us on a short walking tour around a pleasant area a the foot of the mountains instead, before the drive back to Geneva. Overall I very much enjoyed this tour and highly recommend it.

Doing what: Chamonix and Mont Blanc Day Trip from Geneva

Trinhity

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Don't forget your passport on this one! Amazing, breathtaking, words don't do it justice, tour. I loved it being highly independent, the tour guide dropped us off at the cable car base of Mont Blanc and told us exactly where and when to meet and the rest was up to us. Taking the cable car up was amazing and just spending hours up on Mont Blanc was surreal. Please dress appropritely, I was dressed for Geneva weather, and it slipped my mind that I was going about 12,000 Ft up on a mountain covered in snow. The best tour I took from Geneva, hands down. Also Chamonix is quiant and just beautiful at every turn. A MUST SEE.

Doing what: Independent Chamonix and Mont Blanc Tour from Geneva

jeffcclo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

My wife and I booked this excursion through Viator in early September. We note from the confirmation email that the tour is actually operated by Key Tours. Our tour guide Neil was a nice guy who gave lots of information about Chamonix and Mont Blanc during the 1.5 hour bus travel. Chamonix is a very quiet and nice small town. Climbing up to Aiguille du Midi via cable car is a wonderful experience that we enjoyed very much. The view on mountain top is marvelous and one would never forget. Weather was great and we spent the whole morning in Aiguille du Midi before going back to Chamonix for a quick bite. Since the Montenvers Mer de Glace was closed during our visit, Neil offered us a nice replacement in the afternoon - to climb up to the mountain opposite to Mont Blanc by cable car. That enabled us to have a better view of the magnificent Mont Blanc. Before we headed back to Geneva, we had a nice walk in Chamonix. The tour was about 10 hours in total.

Doing what: Chamonix and Mont Blanc Day Trip from Geneva

Winston S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Great trip! Would highly recommend to purchase the train ride to see the glacier too. We opted not to purchase the lunch which i'm glad since it would limit our time at the top of Mont Blanc. The queue to get on the clear platform was over 30min long which we would have to skip had we had to be back at the bottom at noon. Plenty of cafes and restaurants to grab your own lunch. Fantastic day trip from Geneva!

Doing what: Chamonix and Mont Blanc Day Trip from Geneva

Patricia N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

This was an amazing Tour and I was just so lucky. I did the Tour on a Monday approx 1/2 hour before we arrived at Chamonix it started to rain then snow so by the time we got to Chamonix everything was white and it was still snowing - just beautiful I have never seen snow falling before further snow was forecast and the cog railway was not working due to a tree fallen on the track. We were give the opportunity to go back to Geneva and rebook the Tour for another day which I chose to do. I did the Tour again on the Wednesday, it was a beautiful day, sun shining, blue skies so the contract was amazing. The Cable Car ride to the top of Mont Blanc was just amazing the scenery stunningly beautiful, watching skiers below, unfortunately I was a bit effected by the altitude so could not stay up there for too long but I would have to say it was the absolute highlight of my trip and I was away for 6 weeks visiting 6 countries. The cog railway gave another aspect of the Alps. Our guide on both days was Neil, he was so good and knowledgeable and his attention to detail was great.

Doing what: Chamonix and Mont Blanc Day Trip from Geneva

Anna Katrina C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

It and #39;s a full-day tour which took us to a scenic drive from Geneva to Chamonix and cable car trip to the Auguille du Midi of the French Alps. The views were absolutely breathtaking! We also took the Petit Train to see the Mers de Glace, which is also amazing. Our guide Neil is fun and knowledgeable!

Doing what: Chamonix and Mont Blanc Day Trip from Geneva

Kristina C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Such a wonderful tour, well worth the day trip from Geneva!

Doing what: Chamonix and Mont Blanc Day Trip from Geneva

Carmel Lynne B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

This is a fabulous tour! I learned a lot of Geneva and the way of living - thanks to Kimmay!

Doing what: Day Trip to Gruyères including Golden Panoramic Express Train

RYSZARD T K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

We had the full works, the return coach trip to Chamonix, the return gondola trip up Aiguille du Midi, the lunch and the return train ride to Montenvers to view the bottom of the Mer de Glace glacier. Overall our experience of the whole package was positive but as a result of our experience we would have taken up different options within the package if we were to go again.

By far our favourite part of the package was the trip up Aiguille du Midi. We found that the views of Mont Blanc were so stunning that we would have stayed up there for a couple of hours at least. In fact, because it was suggested that we catch the 11:45 gondola down we only had 45 minutes to admire the views and explore all of the different facilities offered at the top. The main reason for this limitation was that we had booked lunch at the Gustavia hotel. The three course lunch, with soft drink, served at the Gustavia was in fact very good but had we known we would have foregone it and stayed for a lot longer at the top of Aiguille du Midi.

In fact we found while driving to Chamonix that there was a coach leaving at 14:00. So for us the ideal trip would have been to arrive at Chamonix at 10:00, catch the gondola up to Aiguille du Midi at 10:30 and staying at the top for just over two hours, returning on the 2pm coach back to Geneva.
This means we would also have missed Montenvers trip. However apart from some very stunning mountain views at Montenvers there was very little to see there. Unfortunately the Mer de Glace glacier visible there was just stones and rocks at this time of year. So we could well have missed this trip.

Finally the trip was organised by Keytours and they provided an excellent guide named Neil. He was somewhat laconic at the start but proved to be very informative and organised the trip really well.

Doing what: Chamonix and Mont Blanc Day Trip from Geneva

Pete C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Great trip... we were extremely lucky that the day was bright and clear, providing views to France, Italy and of Geneva. Highly recommended. Would opt for the longer trip next time we chose the 6 hour trip with Cable Car to allow for more time to explore Chamonix.

Doing what: Independent Chamonix and Mont Blanc Tour from Geneva

ADITYA S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

There are actually no words to say for this tour. I must say it was one of the outstanding tours ever undertaken from Geneva, Switzerland.

On the day of the tour, it was raining in Geneva and bit foggy in Gruyeres. So this made the trip more fantastic as the views were awe inspiring. On the first stop to the Chocolate Factory in Broc, the slot timings were specially reserved for us to see the factory. The Audio Guide was fun to hear and the processes in the factory is what one should watch and enjoy. At the end you get to taste lots of chocolate from which, one could decide the chocolates to buy from their official shop. The collection is huge so have some time in hand to do the shopping. Next was an uphill drive to a small city. Upon arrival, walked via car parking garages and then bit uphill to see the local cheese production, specially opened for the trip. The preparation was delicious and the best thing was all the travelers were doing the cooking which was another one of a kind experience. After the tasting it was the visit to the city of Gruyeres, a small town with a castle and splendid mountains to see. Later on, the tour continues to the Montbovon station where one catches the Golden Panoramic Express Train to Montreaux. I kept my eyes open all the time, as it was amazing to see the scenery from the train. After a drink stop at Montreaux, next was a short picture stop at Vevey and then the trip concluded back to Geneva in the evening.

If one is visiting Geneva, do take this tour and am pretty sure one wouldn't regret spending the money on it.

Special thanks to the tour guide Maggie and the bus driver Maurice for making the trip wonderful.

Doing what: Day Trip to Gruyères including Golden Panoramic Express Train

Miss A J P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

I was sceptical to book this tour because previous reviews on Trip Advisor regarding the local tour operator and the tour leader had me worried but I can honestly say that this tour was really good.
You meet at the bus station in Geneva, easy to locate and you can clearly find the tour office if you cant locate the bus. You check in, hop on board, across the border to France and on the way there you get your itinerary, tickets and any other useful information.
I am well-travelled and don't need somebody to babysit me so this tour was what we were after. I travelled with my boyfriend, we stuck to the itinerary and felt that we had plenty of time for all activities. Unfortunately we just had to rush for the Glacier Cave as they changed the timing of the mountain train and therefore we only had 1hr to trek down the 450 steps to the glacier and then back up, it was snowing but managed it in no time at all you also need to take a small cable car down part-way but that was quick this was not the tour companys fault btw. Some people missed the 4pm train due to it being overcrowded but the tour leader/driver waited the 30mins for them to arrive on the next train as it was not their fault for not be allowed to board the 4pm train.
We got the full day package with lunch and it was very nice, all you can eat soup, salad and then you got a main i.e chicken, fish or veg and then dessert and a soft drink/juice all included. If you don't want to do the lunch there are plenty of other places to eat.
Overall if you want an organised tour where you can go off on your own but not have the hassle or buying tickets, getting to Mont Blanc, looking for a tourist map etc then this tour is for you. Yes Neil is pretty blunt at times but in all fairness we did have a load of people who weren't listening to him and it can get very old but he is super helpful, speaks like 5 languages and was always seen in Chamonix in case you get lost - but Chamonix is small.

Doing what: Chamonix and Mont Blanc Day Trip from Geneva

ADITYA S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Wow! The tour was fantastic. The scenery view with the ropeway and cogwheel train ride were ecstatic. If in Geneva, one must take this tour for sure.

Doing what: Chamonix and Mont Blanc Day Trip from Geneva

Deena

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

The tour was wonderful! Beautiful location and a knowledgeable tour guide. The only issue was with the trip back to Geneva - we ended up on a different bus with another group, which was late and quite crowded. However, the day was great!

Doing what: Chamonix and Mont Blanc Day Trip from Geneva

Asish H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

Was in Geneva for the weekend and so glad I took this tour. Wouldn't hesitate if the weather is good - easily one of the best days of my life. The Aix du Midi and Mer de Glace was plain fabulous.

Doing what: Chamonix and Mont Blanc Day Trip from Geneva

Frank L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

Great way to get a taste of Chamonix skiing from Geneva. Drop off at Planards around 10am for equipment and there and #39;s a beginners slope there. Take the free 15min shuttle to Brevent where the real action is and you can return to Planards early to walk around Chamonix town a bit before bus pick up at 5pm.

Doing what: Chamonix Ski Resort Day Trip from Geneva with Optional Aiguille du Midi Cable Car Ride

Kasie F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

This was an absolutely amazing tour. Our tour guide was very prompt with leaving and returning to Geneva. He even gave us tips on other things to do in the city. I highly recommend this trip if you have a day to spare. One of the most incredible places I've ever been

Doing what: Chamonix and Mont Blanc Day Trip from Geneva

SOLOMON T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

Never leave Geneva without visiting Chamonix, the best experience ever!

Doing what: Chamonix and Mont Blanc Day Trip from Geneva

Kathryn S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

We are so glad that we read and listened to all of the positive reviews. MOST INCREDIBLE VIEWS IN THE WORLD. This trip is a MUST if you are in Geneva. It was the highlight of our long weekend in Switzerland and France. The tour was well run and worth the money. I have traveled a lot in Europe, and Chamonix quickly became my favorite village town. The people are friendly, food is delicious and the views are out of this world. Don't miss out on this tour of a lifetime.

Doing what: Independent Chamonix and Mont Blanc Tour from Geneva

Lynn R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

This is an excellent sight-seeing day trip from Geneva! One gets to travel to France and see the French Alps. The village is charming and quaint and the cable car ride to the top of Mont Blanc is invigorating and breathtaking. There is a glass box at the top that allows you to step out and on a clear day, the pictures are phenonmenal! Our guide took us for a hike and we did the cable car to the top of the mountain. I would highly recommend it as a day trip out of Geneva.

Doing what: Chamonix and Mont Blanc Day Trip from Geneva

dien.let United Arab Emirates

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Chamonix was a great place to visit. Seeing the ice capped mountains on a crystal clear day was amazing. Our tour guide Neil was very knowledgeable and gave us a lot more information than just about our tour, such as details about Geneva which was very helpful.

The only negative about this tour is the 3-course lunch. Give this a miss as the 2 options for main course chicken or vegetarian was quite average. Instead, go to the same restaurant and order your own meal from their extensive menu, that way you have more choices for lunch.

The ice caves were interesting but we thought they were a bit gimmicky... i.e. created as a tourist attraction only. So if you are fit and healthy and like a little exercise, then have fun with the stairs.

Remember to pack some very warm clothes.

Doing what: Chamonix and Mont Blanc Day Trip from Geneva

Huddo Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

A full bus load of tourists left on time from central Geneva with our tour guide who was knowledgeable and personable but often tried too hard to be entertaining and witty, confusing many with his instructions as a result. Nevertheless, the day was one to remember for all the right reasons. The cable car ride to Aiguille du Midi was sensational and although a mild blizzard struck the mountain whilst we were there, drastically hampering visibility and reducing the temperature, it was still spectacular. Given ample time at the top to bang off as many photos as possible, we then descended the mountain to Chamonix for a very satisfying lunch and free time in the town. The clouds cleared to a crystal clear blue sky and we then boarded the train to inspect the glacial ice cave. The train trip was fabulous and the ice cave suitably spectacular BUT very hard work up and down with the amount of steps. If you are too old, too young, feeble, sickly or have bad knees - forget it. My knees recovered after 2 days. A memorable day out and a highlight of our travels.

Doing what: Chamonix and Mont Blanc Day Trip from Geneva

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message