Geneva is a fine base to explore the nearby Alps, whether they're in Switzerland, France or even Italy. There's public transport access by train and bus to nearby mountain destinations where the hiking in summer is as tantalizing as the skiing in ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 797 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Kenzie

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Great tour! Beautiful views! If I could do it again, I wouldn't do the lunch and would've sat at the top of the mountain and had a beer/lunch up there. It was an amazing day that I'll forever remember!

Doing what: Chamonix French Alps Day Tour from Geneva by Open-Top Bus

Denise T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

This tour was a five star plus. Neil was our tour guide and he was perfect, knowledgeable and friendly. We enjoyed Mt Blanc and Chamonix so much that we did the tour over again a few days later. Don't miss this one! The ice cave was worth the 450 steps up and down. The wildflower walk and the train ride was wonderful. Chamonix was a beautiful town and worth a walk around if you have time.

Doing what: Chamonix and Mont Blanc Day Trip from Geneva

John F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

When I booked this tour, I was a little concerned that it was somewhat short - and a bit expensive. But, I was very happy to find that it felt much longer and was a wonderful way to become immersed in the beauty of Switzerland. The hotels were wonderful, but the best part - the part I hoped to experience - the scenery - was sublime.

Beyond that, though, our guide, Walter, was a major highlight for me. Definitely a gentleman from the old school. Kind, solicitous, with a real concern for those he is leading. He looked after us all - without exception - making sure we were all happy and seen to. He obviously loves his job and his country and shared a great deal of information about Swiss culture and history and some fascinating stories. A real gem!

I heartily recommend this tour.

Doing what: 4-Day Switzerland Tour from Geneva to Zurich Including Italy and Liechtenstein Visits

Robert L United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Beautiful scenery, lovely French Alpine village, inspiring Mont Blanc, great food and our terrific guide, Neil. What else could you ask?
If you do not take this tour you have truly missed out on a sightseeing opportunity. You will go to the top of Mont Blanc, travel to the beautiful glacier of Mont Blanc, have a chance to go into the ice cave of the glacier where you need to be in physical shape have lunch at any of the the terrific restaurants in Chamonix and if your truly fortunate, Neil will be your guide. Neil was outgoing, friendly, helpful and very knowledgable about the
I heartily recommend this tour to all!!!!!

Doing what: Chamonix and Mont Blanc Day Trip from Geneva

Amanda d

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Fabulous day! A very unique experience, great tour guide - very organized and informative. Panoramic train was lacklustre, mostly tunnels and trees, better vistas from the bus. A must do tour!

Doing what: Day Trip to Gruyères including Golden Panoramic Express Train

Margaret M

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2016

Thoroughly enjoyed our day trip to Chamonix and Mont Blanc. A fantastic experience and beautiful scenery.

Doing what: Chamonix and Mont Blanc Day Trip from Geneva

Lynn D

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2016

Going to Aiguille du Midi by the cable car was worth it. It was breath taking! At the 2nd stop, if you climb the stairs, there is a restaurant where you can have lunch and enjoy the view. Otherwise, you can follow the sign and take the elevator to the highest peak to see the gorgeous view of Mont Blanc. You should spend as much time as you can on the peak and enjoy the view. Then, go to little shops at Chamonix. However, you should skip the train to the glacier because it takes too long to get in line to see the same thing or less, but the train ride was scenic. Originally, I did not book the train because I saw some reviews about not having enough time, but the tour guide convinced me to buy the train ticket for 12 Euros more. That was a waste of my time and money. The line took 1 hour and the train round-trip ride took another hour. I did not get off the train because there was no time. I should have gone with my 1st choice skip the glacier train. I just wish I spent more time at the top of the mountain and had some time for shopping in Chamonix.

Doing what: Chamonix and Mont Blanc Day Trip from Geneva

Rosemary G

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2016

we really enjoyed the trip although it was busy and we had a lot of queuing to do. Neil was very informative and helpful. We were glad that we didn't book lunch as there was just no time for a proper meal. Also there was no time to look round the town which didn't bother us but might some people. The views were amazing from the top and we were happy to be there

Doing what: Chamonix and Mont Blanc Day Trip from Geneva

James Malcolm C

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2016

Lovely day out, with everything working out as planned. The guide who accompanied us, Neil, was very informative and helpful, though perhaps a little patronising at times. The A/C on the bus could also have been more powerful on the ride back.

Doing what: Chamonix and Mont Blanc Day Trip from Geneva

Bidisha G

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2016

Nice trip, however I felt it was overpriced. Weather was bad towards the end of the day so the train trip was really not enjoyable. I think if you take the chocolate train from goldenpass, you are better off.

Doing what: Day Trip to Gruyères including Golden Panoramic Express Train

Tony

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
August 2016

The views were stunning. It was not really a guided tour as we were all left by ourselves for most of the day with directions and meeting times provided. So this left a lack on information on history etc that would normally come from the guide.

Doing what: Chamonix and Mont Blanc Day Trip from Geneva

Roderick J L

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
August 2016

Very poor guide and very poor organisation and very misleading tour description.

Doing what: Chamonix and Mont Blanc Day Trip from Geneva

Jane T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Relaxing,informative and very enjoyable. Phillip our guide was great and had lots of interesting things to tell us about. It was some of the most picturesque areas we had seen so far on our Europe adventure.

Doing what: 4-Day Switzerland Tour from Geneva to Zurich Including Italy and Liechtenstein Visits

Catherine L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Amazing worthwhile tour - I can and #39;t wait to go back!

Doing what: Chamonix and Mont Blanc Day Trip from Geneva

Crystal T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Highly recommended the trip! it was a great day for us, with clear sky and sun and we are able to see a magnificent view! it can be a little cold up on top so bring some winter/spring jacket along. Did it without lunch so had more relaxing time to absorb the view. It is a pity I did not have much time to explore chamonix

Doing what: Chamonix and Mont Blanc Day Trip from Geneva

Jeffry G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Guide was excellent...very dry sense of humor I appreciated. Trip to top on gondola was interesting. Tram ride was as well.

Doing what: Chamonix and Mont Blanc Day Trip from Geneva

Peter S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

This tour was amazing!

Doing what: Chamonix and Mont Blanc Day Trip from Geneva

Kristen W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

This is a trip of a lifetime. I highly recommend! You do need to be in moderately good shape, but the scenery is breathtaking!

Doing what: Chamonix and Mont Blanc Day Trip from Geneva

Joe H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Comfortable and on time travel. Useful insight and knowledge from the guide. Amazing village, views and experience.

Doing what: Chamonix and Mont Blanc Day Trip from Geneva

Anna Katrina C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

It and #39;s a full-day tour which took us to a scenic drive from Geneva to Chamonix and cable car trip to the Auguille du Midi of the French Alps. The views were absolutely breathtaking! We also took the Petit Train to see the Mers de Glace, which is also amazing. Our guide Neil is fun and knowledgeable!

Doing what: Chamonix and Mont Blanc Day Trip from Geneva

Carl D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Overall fantastic experience. Highly recommend.

Doing what: Chamonix and Mont Blanc Day Trip from Geneva

Patricia N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

This was an amazing Tour and I was just so lucky. I did the Tour on a Monday approx 1/2 hour before we arrived at Chamonix it started to rain then snow so by the time we got to Chamonix everything was white and it was still snowing - just beautiful I have never seen snow falling before further snow was forecast and the cog railway was not working due to a tree fallen on the track. We were give the opportunity to go back to Geneva and rebook the Tour for another day which I chose to do. I did the Tour again on the Wednesday, it was a beautiful day, sun shining, blue skies so the contract was amazing. The Cable Car ride to the top of Mont Blanc was just amazing the scenery stunningly beautiful, watching skiers below, unfortunately I was a bit effected by the altitude so could not stay up there for too long but I would have to say it was the absolute highlight of my trip and I was away for 6 weeks visiting 6 countries. The cog railway gave another aspect of the Alps. Our guide on both days was Neil, he was so good and knowledgeable and his attention to detail was great.

Doing what: Chamonix and Mont Blanc Day Trip from Geneva

Knema R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Neal was a great tour guide. Raymond was a great driver. The town of Chamonix, the trip to L'Aiguille du Midi and La Mer de Glace were wonderful.

Doing what: Chamonix and Mont Blanc Day Trip from Geneva

Suzanne H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Trip was amazing! Chocolate Factory was very educational as well as delicious. The trip into Gruyère was spectacular as well as educational and delicious. The scenery was beautiful beyond words. I would highly recommend this excursion!

Doing what: Day Trip to Gruyères including Golden Panoramic Express Train

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message