Geneva is a fine base to explore the nearby Alps, whether they're in Switzerland, France or even Italy. There's public transport access by train and bus to nearby mountain destinations where the hiking in summer is as tantalizing as the skiing in ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 781 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Jane T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Relaxing,informative and very enjoyable. Phillip our guide was great and had lots of interesting things to tell us about. It was some of the most picturesque areas we had seen so far on our Europe adventure.

Doing what: 4-Day Switzerland Tour from Geneva to Zurich Including Italy and Liechtenstein Visits

Catherine L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Amazing worthwhile tour - I can and #39;t wait to go back!

Doing what: Chamonix and Mont Blanc Day Trip from Geneva

Crystal T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Highly recommended the trip! it was a great day for us, with clear sky and sun and we are able to see a magnificent view! it can be a little cold up on top so bring some winter/spring jacket along. Did it without lunch so had more relaxing time to absorb the view. It is a pity I did not have much time to explore chamonix

Doing what: Chamonix and Mont Blanc Day Trip from Geneva

Jeffry G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Guide was excellent...very dry sense of humor I appreciated. Trip to top on gondola was interesting. Tram ride was as well.

Doing what: Chamonix and Mont Blanc Day Trip from Geneva

Peter S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

This tour was amazing!

Doing what: Chamonix and Mont Blanc Day Trip from Geneva

Kristen W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

This is a trip of a lifetime. I highly recommend! You do need to be in moderately good shape, but the scenery is breathtaking!

Doing what: Chamonix and Mont Blanc Day Trip from Geneva

Joe H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Comfortable and on time travel. Useful insight and knowledge from the guide. Amazing village, views and experience.

Doing what: Chamonix and Mont Blanc Day Trip from Geneva

Anna Katrina C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

It and #39;s a full-day tour which took us to a scenic drive from Geneva to Chamonix and cable car trip to the Auguille du Midi of the French Alps. The views were absolutely breathtaking! We also took the Petit Train to see the Mers de Glace, which is also amazing. Our guide Neil is fun and knowledgeable!

Doing what: Chamonix and Mont Blanc Day Trip from Geneva

Carl D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Overall fantastic experience. Highly recommend.

Doing what: Chamonix and Mont Blanc Day Trip from Geneva

Patricia N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

This was an amazing Tour and I was just so lucky. I did the Tour on a Monday approx 1/2 hour before we arrived at Chamonix it started to rain then snow so by the time we got to Chamonix everything was white and it was still snowing - just beautiful I have never seen snow falling before further snow was forecast and the cog railway was not working due to a tree fallen on the track. We were give the opportunity to go back to Geneva and rebook the Tour for another day which I chose to do. I did the Tour again on the Wednesday, it was a beautiful day, sun shining, blue skies so the contract was amazing. The Cable Car ride to the top of Mont Blanc was just amazing the scenery stunningly beautiful, watching skiers below, unfortunately I was a bit effected by the altitude so could not stay up there for too long but I would have to say it was the absolute highlight of my trip and I was away for 6 weeks visiting 6 countries. The cog railway gave another aspect of the Alps. Our guide on both days was Neil, he was so good and knowledgeable and his attention to detail was great.

Doing what: Chamonix and Mont Blanc Day Trip from Geneva

Knema R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Neal was a great tour guide. Raymond was a great driver. The town of Chamonix, the trip to L'Aiguille du Midi and La Mer de Glace were wonderful.

Doing what: Chamonix and Mont Blanc Day Trip from Geneva

Suzanne H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Trip was amazing! Chocolate Factory was very educational as well as delicious. The trip into Gruyère was spectacular as well as educational and delicious. The scenery was beautiful beyond words. I would highly recommend this excursion!

Doing what: Day Trip to Gruyères including Golden Panoramic Express Train

Andrew P

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2016

Overall it was a lot of fun. I did not realize it was 25 canal and 75 ocean. It was quite windy in the afternoon and I think I would have enjoyed the morning session a bit more. That said, it really was quite fun and the views were superb!

Doing what: Day Trip to Gruyères including Golden Panoramic Express Train

Laura B

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2016

While the weather did not cooperate (and we couldn and #39;t see anything from Mont Blanc), Patricia and our driver made everything worth it! A+! The restaurant was wonderful, the driving and access without the hassle of coordinating tickets was terrific! Still hopeful to do it again and see the view!

Doing what: Private Tour: Mont Blanc and Chamonix Day Trip from Geneva Including Gourmet Lunch

Wayne B

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2016

It was worth the trip.

Doing what: Chamonix and Mont Blanc Day Trip from Geneva

Katie L

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2016

Wonderful tour! Once in a life time experience! The tour guide was very informative and helpful. Both cable car and cog railway were fantastic and Chamonix itself is a beautiful place. Only criticism would be that the bus leaves too early to travel back to Geneva so we did not get to see as much of Chamonix as we would have liked.

Doing what: Chamonix and Mont Blanc Day Trip from Geneva

Kenneth A

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2016

Everything was great except for lunch. I would not recommend buying the lunch package, it was awful elusive service, terrible food.

Doing what: Chamonix and Mont Blanc Day Trip from Geneva

Ralph H

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2016

Trip itself was great, beautiful scenary, great area. Tour guide didn't do much.

Doing what: Chamonix and Mont Blanc Day Trip from Geneva

C W W

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
July 2016

Rushed and not much information given by the tour guide. Weather meant we could not go up the cableway which was not his fault but he then seemed flustered and rushed us back early at the end of the day. Weather is unpredictable so there needs to be a better back up plan and the commentary needs to have more information other than all the meeting arrangements. We heard others complaining too about the amount of waiting around. Example there is a beautiful church in Chamonix with lot of history - we found out by accident and he did not mention it to us. No real recommendations for food other than trying to push the hotel food on to us. Could have been better

Doing what: Chamonix and Mont Blanc Day Trip from Geneva

Caitlin C

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
July 2016

This tour was amazing!

Doing what: Chamonix and Mont Blanc Day Trip from Geneva

catherine l

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
July 2016

tour guide left us at meeting place did not show up so we had to find restaurant by ourselves a group of us which cut our lunch time 20 to 30 minutes short he would not admit he was not there even after four couples told him he was not his name was Neil if he would have admitted he was wrong we all would have accepted his mistake

Doing what: Chamonix and Mont Blanc Day Trip from Geneva

Nicholas T Singapore

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
July 2016

Devastating experience. Booked this trip for an anniversary celebration with my partner, and we both flew to Geneva specially for it. Tour provider did not show up at all. Went half an hour earlier to meeting point, waited for a total 1.5 hours and countless calls being made mind you, roaming calls to the provided contact numbers of the local guide and the in case of emergency contact - to no avail. Called up Viator helpline but was put to hold citing busy influx of calls and a promise to call me back - which they never did. Only managed to call through after 4 hours - and the only response I could get was that we are sorry we can't help because there has not been any response from the local tour provider. Amazing.

Very disappointed because we had high expectations for this given the past positive reviews and the price we paid selected all the options. This ruined the entire experience because of the fact that we went to Geneva for this which means our flight tickets and accomodations are just a complete waste.

Till today, I have no response or answer from either Viator or this tour provider. Calls were never returned and answers were not received.

Very very disappointing. I'm pretty sure Chamonix itself is amazing, but do not bother with this tour unless you want a wasted air ticket, accomodations and the amount you paid for this tour.

Doing what: Chamonix French Alps Day Tour from Geneva by Open-Top Bus

Emily S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Absolute highlight of my trip, a total must see! Breathtaking

Doing what: Chamonix and Mont Blanc Day Trip from Geneva

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message