Geneva is a fine base to explore the nearby Alps, whether they're in Switzerland, France or even Italy. There's public transport access by train and bus to nearby mountain destinations where the hiking in summer is as tantalizing as the skiing in ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 817 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Elizabeth B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Totally amazing. Views soooo beautiful and the town really lovely with its shops and lovely flowers. Enjoyed everything about this tour to the max, the Cable car ride, the train ride, the lunch and the beer was really good. Our guide Neil was exceptional and very informative. What I really liked about this tour was that Neil informed you what to do, where to go and I did not have to follow him around

Doing what: Chamonix and Mont Blanc Day Trip from Geneva

Glenn C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Great tour guide, beautiful countryside!

Doing what: Day Trip to Lausanne, Montreux and Château de Chillon

Richard M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Spent a wonderful day with Margarite Maggie seeing all there is to see and hearing all about the region. Thoroughly enjoyed the tour. Highly recommend this experience!

Doing what: Day Trip to Gruyères including Golden Panoramic Express Train

Marla P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Our tour guide was fantastic - knowledgeable and entertaining! Mont Blanc is stunning and the village of Chamonix is delightful.
Depending on the time of year - dress in layers - the top of Mont Blanc is COLD! Midpoint is a delightful cafe for sandwiches/hot chocolate/coffee - with spectacular views.
DO NOT MISS this tour - take the entire day - do not limit yourself by only going for a half day!

Doing what: Chamonix and Mont Blanc Day Trip from Geneva

jeffcclo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

My wife and I booked this excursion through Viator in early September. We note from the confirmation email that the tour is actually operated by Key Tours. Our tour guide Neil was a nice guy who gave lots of information about Chamonix and Mont Blanc during the 1.5 hour bus travel. Chamonix is a very quiet and nice small town. Climbing up to Aiguille du Midi via cable car is a wonderful experience that we enjoyed very much. The view on mountain top is marvelous and one would never forget. Weather was great and we spent the whole morning in Aiguille du Midi before going back to Chamonix for a quick bite. Since the Montenvers Mer de Glace was closed during our visit, Neil offered us a nice replacement in the afternoon - to climb up to the mountain opposite to Mont Blanc by cable car. That enabled us to have a better view of the magnificent Mont Blanc. Before we headed back to Geneva, we had a nice walk in Chamonix. The tour was about 10 hours in total.

Doing what: Chamonix and Mont Blanc Day Trip from Geneva

Clayton K USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Fantastic tour. Make sure you have extra batteries and memory for your camera.

Doing what: Day Trip to Lausanne, Montreux and Château de Chillon

Clayton K USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Another fantastic tour. You won't want the day to end.

Doing what: Chamonix and Mont Blanc Day Trip from Geneva

Lucine G USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

A very interesting and great experience to see the alps from above 3820 meter above sea level

Doing what: Chamonix and Mont Blanc Day Trip from Geneva

Au K

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2016

The day trip was a very rushed trip. The queue to get up to the summit of Aiguille du Midi was very long leaving little time to enjoy the panorama of Mont Blanc. It was virtually impossible to enter the glass box because there were simply too many people waiting to enter. The second part of the tour was to Mer de Glace by train. If you want to visit the ice cave, it is a 200 step walk down and a similar number of steps up so you have to be physically fit. My advice is that if you are taking the full day tour, skip the lunch. You won't have much time for a 3-course lunch at a local hotel in Chamonix. Moreover, you may be nauseous due to the high altitude at Aiguille du Midi and be in no mood for lunch. Have a sandwich or salad instead.

On the whole, it was a wonderful day trip although the amount of time spent at Aiguille du Midi and Mer de Glace was rather short. It was a clear day when I went on 17 August 2016 and managed to take in gorgeous views of Mont Blanc.

Doing what: Chamonix and Mont Blanc Day Trip from Geneva

Kenzie

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Great tour! Beautiful views! If I could do it again, I wouldn't do the lunch and would've sat at the top of the mountain and had a beer/lunch up there. It was an amazing day that I'll forever remember!

Doing what: Chamonix French Alps Day Tour from Geneva by Open-Top Bus

Denise T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

This tour was a five star plus. Neil was our tour guide and he was perfect, knowledgeable and friendly. We enjoyed Mt Blanc and Chamonix so much that we did the tour over again a few days later. Don't miss this one! The ice cave was worth the 450 steps up and down. The wildflower walk and the train ride was wonderful. Chamonix was a beautiful town and worth a walk around if you have time.

Doing what: Chamonix and Mont Blanc Day Trip from Geneva

John F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

When I booked this tour, I was a little concerned that it was somewhat short - and a bit expensive. But, I was very happy to find that it felt much longer and was a wonderful way to become immersed in the beauty of Switzerland. The hotels were wonderful, but the best part - the part I hoped to experience - the scenery - was sublime.

Beyond that, though, our guide, Walter, was a major highlight for me. Definitely a gentleman from the old school. Kind, solicitous, with a real concern for those he is leading. He looked after us all - without exception - making sure we were all happy and seen to. He obviously loves his job and his country and shared a great deal of information about Swiss culture and history and some fascinating stories. A real gem!

I heartily recommend this tour.

Doing what: 4-Day Switzerland Tour from Geneva to Zurich Including Italy and Liechtenstein Visits

Robert L United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Beautiful scenery, lovely French Alpine village, inspiring Mont Blanc, great food and our terrific guide, Neil. What else could you ask?
If you do not take this tour you have truly missed out on a sightseeing opportunity. You will go to the top of Mont Blanc, travel to the beautiful glacier of Mont Blanc, have a chance to go into the ice cave of the glacier where you need to be in physical shape have lunch at any of the the terrific restaurants in Chamonix and if your truly fortunate, Neil will be your guide. Neil was outgoing, friendly, helpful and very knowledgable about the
I heartily recommend this tour to all!!!!!

Doing what: Chamonix and Mont Blanc Day Trip from Geneva

Amanda d

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Fabulous day! A very unique experience, great tour guide - very organized and informative. Panoramic train was lacklustre, mostly tunnels and trees, better vistas from the bus. A must do tour!

Doing what: Day Trip to Gruyères including Golden Panoramic Express Train

Lynda T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

A great day trip to one of the world's most beautiful mountain. Breathtaking ! Our guide Neil was wonderful, very informative and clear. Gave us a good recommendation for lunch venue with superb food and good pricing. Wouldn't be as enjoyable without Neil's great help. Thank you !

Doing what: Chamonix and Mont Blanc Day Trip from Geneva

bigmind Saudi Arabia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

i looooooooooooove it

Doing what: Chamonix and Mont Blanc Day Trip from Geneva

Winston S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Great trip! Would highly recommend to purchase the train ride to see the glacier too. We opted not to purchase the lunch which i'm glad since it would limit our time at the top of Mont Blanc. The queue to get on the clear platform was over 30min long which we would have to skip had we had to be back at the bottom at noon. Plenty of cafes and restaurants to grab your own lunch. Fantastic day trip from Geneva!

Doing what: Chamonix and Mont Blanc Day Trip from Geneva

Ivan R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

The bus tour from Geneva to Zurich was a nice and amazing experience through the Swiss Alps we started it on July 20 with my wife and my 17-year son, we enjoyed four spectacular days. We thought that our son was to be bored on a tour of adults, but the guide did everything possible for him and for another American teenager girl to enjoy to the fullest. On our tour were only 11 people and we ride all the time in the same clean new bus for more than 30 passengers then, the road journeys were fully comfortable.

The tour is designed to maximize time and visit many attractions, but also allows people to know and enjoy many cities without the pressure of having to get up early in the morning or arrive late at night at the hotels.

The driver was quite polite and Philippe the multilingual guide English, Spanish, French, German and Italian is unique in its kind and he has exceptional kindness its amazing that Philippe has in-depth knowledge of the roads, routes, small towns, cities, places of interest, historical sites, shops, restaurants, buildings, etc., all the way. During the four days he didnt stop telling us about history, geography, fun facts and anecdotes of local people, famous people who were born, businesses and a lot of general interest information and facts. During the four days we had no time to get bored ten points for Philippe!

On behalf the breakfasts, lunches and dinners included in the tour almost all, excellent restaurants, great atmosphere and fine food hotels in Zermatt close to Matterhorn mountain, Lugano and St. Moritz had five stars and the best available location.

In short, there isnt any complaint is the best boutique tour through Swiss Alps to recommend for couples, groups and families, while we are thinking about do it again the next summer with the rest of our children.

Doing what: 4-Day Switzerland Tour from Geneva to Zurich Including Italy and Liechtenstein Visits

malcolmandsandie

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

What a wonderful day.....Perfect in every way. Our tour guide Caroline was very helpful.Chamonix was incredible, Mont. Blanc and the Glacier were amazing. Certainly a tour of a lifetime. Highly Recommend A

Doing what: Chamonix and Mont Blanc Day Trip from Geneva

Bernard M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Well worth the trip

Doing what: Chamonix and Mont Blanc Day Trip from Geneva

Stephanie F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

This trip is really good especially as it is quite self-directed. Our tour guide Neil was great. Beautiful sights and it was fantastic. I booked everything except the meal, which I was able to buy while I was there. There are plenty of other food options available, however the restaurant which they recommend is amazing Gustavia - attached to a hotel

Doing what: Chamonix and Mont Blanc Day Trip from Geneva

Patrick B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

excellent and excellent guide, great day out.

Doing what: Chamonix and Mont Blanc Day Trip from Geneva

Margaret M

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2016

Thoroughly enjoyed our day trip to Chamonix and Mont Blanc. A fantastic experience and beautiful scenery.

Doing what: Chamonix and Mont Blanc Day Trip from Geneva

Lynn D

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2016

Going to Aiguille du Midi by the cable car was worth it. It was breath taking! At the 2nd stop, if you climb the stairs, there is a restaurant where you can have lunch and enjoy the view. Otherwise, you can follow the sign and take the elevator to the highest peak to see the gorgeous view of Mont Blanc. You should spend as much time as you can on the peak and enjoy the view. Then, go to little shops at Chamonix. However, you should skip the train to the glacier because it takes too long to get in line to see the same thing or less, but the train ride was scenic. Originally, I did not book the train because I saw some reviews about not having enough time, but the tour guide convinced me to buy the train ticket for 12 Euros more. That was a waste of my time and money. The line took 1 hour and the train round-trip ride took another hour. I did not get off the train because there was no time. I should have gone with my 1st choice skip the glacier train. I just wish I spent more time at the top of the mountain and had some time for shopping in Chamonix.

Doing what: Chamonix and Mont Blanc Day Trip from Geneva

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message