Geneva is a fine base to explore the nearby Alps, whether they're in Switzerland, France or even Italy. There's public transport access by train and bus to nearby mountain destinations where the hiking in summer is as tantalizing as the skiing in ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 849 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

JOSE LUIS R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Amazing trip! Highly recommended.

Doing what: Chamonix and Mont Blanc Day Trip from Geneva

Matt

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

The bus station was easy to find, and I was one of a group of 17 on this tour from Geneva in Switzerland to the small and very picturesque town of Chamonix in France about 90 minutes drive away on a modern and comfortable coach. The tour guide was very personable and informative. In Chamonix we took 2 cable cars included with the tour price up to the top of Mont Blanc, which has a sort of visitor's centre with various viewing platforms giving spectacular views over the Alps. There was some free time in the afternoon to wonder round Chamonix and get lunch. The train wasn't running at the time, so the tour guide gave us a refund of the cost of the train, offered to take us on a short walking tour around a pleasant area a the foot of the mountains instead, before the drive back to Geneva. Overall I very much enjoyed this tour and highly recommend it.

Doing what: Chamonix and Mont Blanc Day Trip from Geneva

Kathryn Rose C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

It was an experience!

Doing what: Chamonix and Mont Blanc Day Trip from Geneva

Trevor Raymond K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

An unbelievable area of scenery and a highly recommended tour. We were not able to take the nominated ride to the summit because of the maintenance period before the sky season, but our guide made up for this minor short coming and added other options which were very appropriate. Excellent!

Doing what: Chamonix and Mont Blanc Day Trip from Geneva

ctsumlin

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Chamonix and Mont Blanc tour was cancelled, due to the weather. Instead, we went to Glacier 3000 and experienced breathtaking views, stopped in Montreaux for lunch and shopping, and toured the Chillon castle. Our tour guide, Maria, was awesome as well as our driver Roberto. Worth every penny!!!

Doing what: Chamonix and Mont Blanc Day Trip from Geneva

Trinhity

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2016

Pretty calm, easy going tour seeing the beautiful country of Switzerland and seeing the Chateau de Chillon. You also see the Olympic Museum, and take a boat ride on Lake Geneva. Overall not really a tour, just transportation to see some beautiful scenes.

Doing what: Day Trip to Lausanne, Montreux and Château de Chillon

Harland B

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2016

This trip was pretty good. Didn't realize we'd spend time at the Olympic Museum but it was worth it and in fact, could have spend another hour there. Boat ride was great. And, visiting Chateau de Chillon was EXCELLENT. We could have skipped Montreux as only walked by some expensive stores and instead sped more time at the Chateau. Definitely need more time for the Chateau.

Doing what: Day Trip to Lausanne, Montreux and Château de Chillon

Jodi A

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2016

Sadly it was very snowy on the mountain so we couldn and #39;t see as much. I found the guide a little sarcastic rather than friendly. Otherwise, the trip was nice and worth it on a clearer day.

Doing what: Chamonix and Mont Blanc Day Trip from Geneva

Jodi A

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2016

Sadly it was very snowy on the mountain so we couldn and #39;t see as much. I found the guide a little sarcastic rather than friendly. Otherwise, the trip was nice and worth it on a clearer day.

Doing what: Chamonix and Mont Blanc Day Trip from Geneva

Patrick L

3 star rating: Worth doing
November 2016

should of just rented a car

Doing what: Chamonix and Mont Blanc Day Trip from Geneva

Michelle A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

I booked this tour as a way to see the alps in the most least time-consuming way possible. The tour itself was wonderful but would not have been worth it without the cable car experience. I had initially not booked the cable car or the lunch with the tour but ended up paying for each of those things there. It may have been more economical to pay for it as a package. Neil is an incredible tour guide!

Doing what: Chamonix and Mont Blanc Day Trip from Geneva

cmkacher

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

This 4 day tour covered some of the most beautiful areas that I have seen in my life. There was a good variety of activities and interests done at a well timed and planned pace. The hotels were all charming and lovely and our guide and driver both top notch. A perfect tour if you have limited time to see some of the best of southern Switzerland, with the bonus of dipping into Italy included.

Doing what: 4-Day Switzerland Tour from Geneva to Zurich Including Italy and Liechtenstein Visits

Andrew T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

The trip was great and the guide was really good!

Doing what: Chamonix and Mont Blanc Day Trip from Geneva

marving99

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

The trip was beautiful and amazing. Had a great tour guide.

Doing what: Chamonix and Mont Blanc Day Trip from Geneva

LISA W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Fantastic day. Both Chamonix and Mont Blanc were amazing! Couldn't recommend this excursion highly enough

Doing what: Chamonix and Mont Blanc Day Trip from Geneva

Partha S C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

The tour was excellent and the tour guide Neil was very good and informative.

Doing what: Chamonix and Mont Blanc Day Trip from Geneva

Partha S C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

The tour was excellent and the tour guide Maggie was very informative and took great care of everyhting.

Doing what: Day Trip to Gruyères including Golden Panoramic Express Train

malikhemani

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Great trip. Our favorite out of all. We got lucky and had a small group. The guide knows this trip in and out. Do note the train is not working so they will refund you that part. Thing to note: when you arrive to town, it may be tea time which means several shops will be closed.

Doing what: Chamonix and Mont Blanc Day Trip from Geneva

Lisa A P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

This trip was exactly as advertised. I highly recommend this very memorable experience.

Doing what: Chamonix and Mont Blanc Day Trip from Geneva

Lisa A P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

This trip was exactly as advertised. I highly recommend this very memorable experience.

Doing what: Chamonix and Mont Blanc Day Trip from Geneva

Benjamin K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Great trip with a great tour guide!

Doing what: Chamonix and Mont Blanc Day Trip from Geneva

Arun C

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2016

The open-top bus never happened we were taken in a comfortable mini-van instead, but there was no canned commentary as promised. The cable car rides two in all and express elevator to the top of Mont Blanc, and the views up there, were breathtaking and worth every penny spent. Lunch at the Bistro restaurant I'd opted and paid for this was nice but... different. I'll probably opt for a burger and coffee outside instead if I ever do this again - there are lots of eateries to go to, the best one in the main terminal itself. Be wary of the over-priced souvenirs on the top - they're all available down below at cheaper rates and with more variety. We had lots of time to take in the overall ambiance of the place, and Neil the driver-cum-guide was friendly, forthcoming and very informative. I definitely recommend this tour to anyone who's visiting Geneva for a couple of days or more and wants some spectacular Swiss mountain views from relative comfort.

Doing what: Chamonix French Alps Day Tour from Geneva by Open-Top Bus

Hoi W

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2016

A very good trip. Both Mont Blanc and Chamonix are interesting and memorable. Well worth the visit.

Doing what: Chamonix and Mont Blanc Day Trip from Geneva

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message