Perched on the southwestern-most tip of the vast Lake Geneva, the city of Geneva makes the perfect base from which to explore both the French and Swiss lakesides and there are numerous Swiss towns worthy of a day trip. On the opposite side of the ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 255 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Clayton K USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Fantastic tour. Make sure you have extra batteries and memory for your camera.

Doing what: Day Trip to Lausanne, Montreux and Château de Chillon

Richard M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Spent a wonderful day with Margarite Maggie seeing all there is to see and hearing all about the region. Thoroughly enjoyed the tour. Highly recommend this experience!

Doing what: Day Trip to Gruyères including Golden Panoramic Express Train

Glenn C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Great tour guide, beautiful countryside!

Doing what: Day Trip to Lausanne, Montreux and Château de Chillon

Amanda d

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Fabulous day! A very unique experience, great tour guide - very organized and informative. Panoramic train was lacklustre, mostly tunnels and trees, better vistas from the bus. A must do tour!

Doing what: Day Trip to Gruyères including Golden Panoramic Express Train

Suzanne H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Trip was amazing! Chocolate Factory was very educational as well as delicious. The trip into Gruyère was spectacular as well as educational and delicious. The scenery was beautiful beyond words. I would highly recommend this excursion!

Doing what: Day Trip to Gruyères including Golden Panoramic Express Train

Ida K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Great tour! Loved the scenery and the artisinal cheese making

Doing what: Day Trip to Gruyères including Golden Panoramic Express Train

Diana M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

This was a wonderful trip. My husband was attending a trade show so I had the day to myself. The coach was comfortable, the guide was informative, the scenery was amazing, the chocolate, cheese, and wine unforgettable.

Doing what: Day Trip to Gruyères including Golden Panoramic Express Train

AZLINA H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

fantastic tour..thanks a lot for this unforgettable trip..

Doing what: Day Trip to Gruyères including Golden Panoramic Express Train

Lynn D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Tour Guide Marie did an excellent job managing 40 people on this trip which was a full day of activities. Unfortunately the weather wasn and #39;t great whilst we were on the train so visibility was limited in places but didn and #39;t stop us enjoying the day. Chocolate and cheese - what and #39;s not to love?!

Doing what: Day Trip to Gruyères including Golden Panoramic Express Train

bhudson1

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Great trip! This one day tour gives you the opportunity to see the Swiss countryside, enjoy a Swiss tradition - the cheese fondue - as well a chocolates and locally made wine. The addition of the train ride give one the opportunity to see the landscape from a different view. The tour guide, Maggie, was friendly and knowledgeable and made everyone feel welcome. I highly recommend the tour.
Southslope

Doing what: Day Trip to Gruyères including Golden Panoramic Express Train

xenogearz

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

The weather was nice and sunny and the scenery throughout the trip was nothing short of spectacular. Highly recommended!

Doing what: Day Trip to Lausanne, Montreux and Château de Chillon

Carmel Lynne B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

This is a fabulous tour! I learned a lot of Geneva and the way of living - thanks to Kimmay!

Doing what: Day Trip to Gruyères including Golden Panoramic Express Train

Mark B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

This was an amazing trip! Maggie, our guide, was great and very knowledgeable. All the stops were very interesting and the views of the lake were spectacular. Highly recommended!

Doing what: Day Trip to Lausanne, Montreux and Château de Chillon

ADITYA S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

There are actually no words to say for this tour. I must say it was one of the outstanding tours ever undertaken from Geneva, Switzerland.

On the day of the tour, it was raining in Geneva and bit foggy in Gruyeres. So this made the trip more fantastic as the views were awe inspiring. On the first stop to the Chocolate Factory in Broc, the slot timings were specially reserved for us to see the factory. The Audio Guide was fun to hear and the processes in the factory is what one should watch and enjoy. At the end you get to taste lots of chocolate from which, one could decide the chocolates to buy from their official shop. The collection is huge so have some time in hand to do the shopping. Next was an uphill drive to a small city. Upon arrival, walked via car parking garages and then bit uphill to see the local cheese production, specially opened for the trip. The preparation was delicious and the best thing was all the travelers were doing the cooking which was another one of a kind experience. After the tasting it was the visit to the city of Gruyeres, a small town with a castle and splendid mountains to see. Later on, the tour continues to the Montbovon station where one catches the Golden Panoramic Express Train to Montreaux. I kept my eyes open all the time, as it was amazing to see the scenery from the train. After a drink stop at Montreaux, next was a short picture stop at Vevey and then the trip concluded back to Geneva in the evening.

If one is visiting Geneva, do take this tour and am pretty sure one wouldn't regret spending the money on it.

Special thanks to the tour guide Maggie and the bus driver Maurice for making the trip wonderful.

Doing what: Day Trip to Gruyères including Golden Panoramic Express Train

Krunal India

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Unexpectedly Outstanding Trip

Doing what: Day Trip to Gruyères including Golden Panoramic Express Train

Matthew S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

The tour was fantastic! Beautiful views, comfortable bus ride, very knowledgeable and polite tour guide, Simon. He made sure we stopped in picturesque areas of town to take pictures which was great. Ferry ride to castle was spectacular! Would highly recommend!

Doing what: Day Trip to Lausanne, Montreux and Château de Chillon

Emma W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

It was great. Lovely tour guide. Good coach. Very good. My only criticism would be that we were often having to wait for one particular group at each stop point they were late a couple of times. I wonder whether we could have been told that we must stick to the timings for the day to work. Other than that, it was great!

Doing what: Day Trip to Lausanne, Montreux and Château de Chillon

Lynn R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

It was fabulous! The scenery was breathtaking, the chocolate testing scrumptous and the wine tasting was fun too. The tour was a glimpse into small town farming life in Switzerland amid the backdrop of the Swiss Alps. Our tourguide was knowledgable and kept things interesting. Totally recommend for a day tour!

Doing what: Day Trip to Gruyères including Golden Panoramic Express Train

Mr m j W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Great way to see a lot in a short amount of time. Money well spent. Very enjoyable. Loved the cruise!!!

Doing what: Day Trip to Lausanne, Montreux and Château de Chillon

Marc C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

the tour guide Margret was amazing, very informative

Doing what: Day Trip to Gruyères including Golden Panoramic Express Train

Fadi K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Extremely Nice The guide, the visited places were perfect. Make sure to pick this trip.

Doing what: Day Trip to Gruyères including Golden Panoramic Express Train

hannah-alexander

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Excellent tour, jam packed day full of the best of Switzerland. Beautiful views, delicious food, comfortable bus and amazing tour guide. If you only do one thing in Switzerland, do this!

Doing what: Day Trip to Gruyères including Golden Panoramic Express Train

Michael B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Very nice - enjoyed it very much.

Doing what: Day Trip to Lausanne, Montreux and Château de Chillon

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message