Despite its successful post-war reinvention, Germany’s part in World War II history will forever haunt its people. The country has made the brave choice to preserve its harrowing past rather than gloss over it. As a result, many of Germany’s World ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 1047 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Wendy M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Guide -Roland -v good and entertaining. Remember additional cost for bus and tour of castle. Even after bus there us quite walk from viewing platform to castle esplanade. If you choose horse and carriagedo on way down as you won't want go viewing platform, uphill, after castle. Queues for bus tickets ridiculous in hot weather. More needs done to process bus tivket queues quicker. Remember if u choose to walk from bottom, it is v long and steep. You'll need to be fit and have lots water. Castle v well preserved inside and out and spectacular views on good day. Hof ttowards bottom hill -with seating up side, v good and reasonably priced.

Doing what: Neuschwanstein Castle Small-Group Day Tour from Munich

Catalina B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

It was fun and I found out lots of things that I wasn't aware although I have been living in Berlin for the past 4 years. Toby was a great guide and had lots of interesting stories about the places we passed by. Great experience and would do it again with guests :D

Doing what: Berlin Segway Tour

jesse.swanzy

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Absolutely what we were looking for! A good overview of the MANY key sites of the city with pertinent information to make it all make sense, covering from the Kaiser Reich through the Cold War. Our guide Alex I think, bearded young guy was extremely informative with appropriate color commentary on the sites, philosophy of the time, etc.

We loved it. Would do it again for sure!

Doing what: Discover Berlin Half-Day Walking Tour

Robbie C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Dresden is a beautiful city with an amazing history. Our guide did an excellent job explaining the history of the Histotic Old Town and how the city rebuilt it's self after the fire bombing at the end of WWII. It was short but well worth the money.

Doing what: Dresden Walking Tour Of The Historic Old Town

Alison C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

You see a bit of Berlin training and walking from place to place. Explained really well and thoroughly enjoyed. especially liked the workshop where we could create our own stencil art on canvas and take with us...but be warned pick something easy to cut out! highlight was the abandoned train yard with incredible street up everywhere you looked.

Doing what: Small-Group Berlin Street Art Tour and Graffiti Workshop

LAURA K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Great tour although very thought provoking and traumatic at times. Our guide Sam was very knowledgable and spent a lot of time going into great detail regarding events of the war and what went in the concentration camp. Quite a walk from train station to the camp but well worth the money and effort.

Doing what: Sachsenhausen Concentration Camp Memorial Walking Tour

Giuliane Berry

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

This was a very interesting and enlightening tour, rich in details and side stories nicely explained by our super guide Rachel! She really know the city, was very friendly and gave us good overview on some nice places in Berlin, that my husband and I visited afterwards alone. I would definetely recommend this tour!

Doing what: Discover Berlin Half-Day Walking Tour

Erica S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

The views are breathtaking and if you want to know more about Hitler and World War 2 then this is a must do trip.

Doing what: Berchtesgaden and Eagle's Nest Day Tour from Munich

Donna B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Absolutely fantastic! My tour guide Heidi ? was simply wonderful, with a great depth of knowledge about Berlin and was so friendly and interesting to listen to. I highly recommend her tour, as I learnt many facts I wasn't aware of as well a brief history of Germany explained really well. The tour is a half day, but at a comfortable pace. If you are in Berlin, seek out this walking tour with Heidi!!!

Doing what: Discover Berlin Half-Day Walking Tour

Catherine Z

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Really excellent guide who told us about the historical context of Dachau and interesting details about people/the surrounding area. Ex. Pregnant women sometimes have their children out of town to make sure their children's birthplace isn't Dachau. The guide gave a fairly comprehensive overview of what happened in the beginning, middle, and end of the war in relation to Dachau and was really receptive to questions of all sorts.

Doing what: Small-Group Dachau Concentration Camp Tour from Munich

Matthew P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

My guide was Pip. I could not have asked for better. She was not just full of knowledge about her subject, but had the rare gift of imparting very complex historical concepts regarding interpretation, memory, meaning, and the use of space in ways that anyone can understand. Those who manage to take this trip with her will learn a lot more than just what happened where at this sad monument to human cruelty. Pip will tell them why it matters, how it came to be, what people have thought about Nazi crimes over time and why the Nazi bureaucracy was able to create a system where ever greater amounts of cruelty and caprice with human life were rewarded, rather than sanctioned.

I cannot recommend Pip highly enough.

Doing what: Sachsenhausen Concentration Camp Memorial Walking Tour

Matthew W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Caesar was extremely knowledgeable and funny. I highly recommend this tour for anyone with interest in world war II and history. This is a good tour for your wives to go shopping and for you to enjoy the amazing history and architecture. Caesar was great!

Doing what: Final Days of World War 2 Walking Tour of Berlin

Lorna W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

This was our first Viator excursion. We were initially a bit hesitant with the normal traveler anxiety but were attracted by the price 1/3 of a similar excursion offered by the cruise ship and its worry-free return to ship guarantee. It turned out to be the best excursion of our trip. They delivered exactly as advertised even though we only had 15 in our group. We were met at the gangway and led to a comfortable coach at the meeting time. We watched a good documentary of east/west Berlin during the 3 hour drive. The guide met us right on time in the city. Ulli was fluent in English, humorous, interesting and knowledgeable. The tour was well paced, and we saw every attraction without being hurried. We had a lunch break at the Sony Center at Potsdamer Plaze with many local food options. We ran into torrential rain towards the end of the tour but we were able to get out of the city and return to the ship without delay. Viator communicated efficiently after our booking. They were able to get answers promptly from the local tour company. We had an excellent experience getting the highlights of this fascinating city with limited time we had.

Doing what: Warnemünde Shore Excursion: Berlin City Highlights Tour

sharron

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Our guide Taylor was exceptional he was able to give us a great overview of the city and all its history and customized it to our desires. The three hours were plenty of time to walk to all the sights that we wanted to see. We have found that this private tour was able to accomplish what we wanted and we look forward to a similar tour once we reach Prague. A great way to see the highlights of such an amazing and clean city.

Doing what: Private Walking Tour: Berlin Highlights and Hidden Sites

gjv001

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Very interesting and enlightening tour. We were aware of the tragic history associated with Dachau Concentration Camp. However our guide Grit gave us additional information and a perspective from
her research and encounters with others who have studied Dachau's history. Her insight made our tour.

Doing what: Small-Group Dachau Concentration Camp Tour from Munich

Sarah E

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Ben was a great guide, knowledgable and interesting. Appealled to teenagers as well as their parents. Took us to some of the places we would not have visited otherwise. Warehouse session was fun to do and original. Highly recommend.

Doing what: Small-Group Berlin Street Art Tour and Graffiti Workshop

umuva United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Excellent, excellent, excellent. Beautiful warm day. Learned a great deal. Nice pace and saw so much. One of the best walking tours I have taken. Well worth the money.

Doing what: Berlin Small-Group Tour: Sights, History And Stories of Berlin's Past And Present

gloria.taub

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

So worth the money! We booked this short cruise on the Rhine as a way to unwind and adjust to the time change after our flight from the USA. Great service, warm welcome and a lovely cruise where you can get your bearings. Would gladly recommend for families, couples and singles.

Doing what: Cologne Sightseeing Cruise

John M United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Paul met us at Marienplatz as expected. We then used public transportation with quick connections and with all fares being included in the tour price to reach Dachau. Paul was very knowledgeable about Dachau and the World Wars and the rise and fall of Hitler and concentration camps. After giving us a guided tour of the main features of Dachau we had time to go back and explore areas of interest in more detail. Paul was very friendly and professional and provided us a great in-depth experience.

Doing what: Fully Guided Dachau Concentration Camp Memorial Tour from Munich

patrice h

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Excellent tour. A lot of walking on gravel. Warm in the summer, not a lot of shade. Tour guide was excellent.

Doing what: Small-Group Dachau Concentration Camp Tour from Munich

Uriel T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Arrived on time. The boat is well maintained and the service courteous. The restrooms are sparkling clean! There are pre-recorded explanations broadcasted in german and english when passing through the different landmarks, which is OK. Recommended! Also, notice that the primus line has many other offerings which i was not aware of, which seem quite interesting.

Doing what: Frankfurt 100-Minute Sightseeing Cruise

rhapsody_usa

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Interesting and educational tour. I liked the fact that it was a WWII Combo offer. The tour guide did a great job - he was very dedicated to the subject matter. I recommend this tour to anyone interested in WWII.

Doing what: Munich WWII Combo: Dachau Concentration Camp and Third Reich Walking Tour

Nancy P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Wonderful, relaxing, scenic tour with a warm and humorous guide. Great fun!

Doing what: Illuminated Hamburg City Tour and Evening Cruise

teresa.barnard

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Being a solo traveler I enjoyed the scenery and the history that goes hand in hand. This bus stopped close to Miniature Wunderland which was perfect for me as my main visit to HB was MW afterwards I was able to walk to where the boat ride was waiting for my harbour cruise. Definitely recommended!

Doing what: Hamburg Hop-on Hop-off Tour - Red Double Decker

Nicholas B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

This was a great experience, not only learning tons about the Cold War, but also seeing a lot of the city. Jared was incredibly knowledge and had a wonderful personality.

Doing what: Cold War Walking Tour of Berlin

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message