Despite its successful post-war reinvention, Germany’s part in World War II history will forever haunt its people. The country has made the brave choice to preserve its harrowing past rather than gloss over it. As a result, many of Germany’s World ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 3381 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

William F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Great guide Sabri made this very difficult tour a good tour. He was informed and knowledgeable. Overall tour very convenient, would highly recommend.

Doing what: Small-Group Dachau Concentration Camp Memorial Site Tour from Munich

newtownsqkitty

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

We met the bus at the Mirabellplatz in town, a full size bus not a shuttle. Really knowledgeable guide who pointed out places of interest on the way and provided great information at the site. When we reached the base of the mountain we switched to other full size buses which made their winding way up the mountain. At the top we walked into the mountain where there was a large polished brass elevator, which the guide informed us could hold about 50 people, but because Hitler was claustrophobic he only allowed 3 or 4 others and the highly polished brass made the space seem bigger. Fortunately the weather was good and not cloudy. They close this tour in Oct or Nov depending on the weather. At the top the view was phenomenal. The building is stone on the outside with beautiful woodwork inside. There is a restaurant inside also. Outside there is a huge patio, places to sit and a small hut where you can get hot chocolate and souvenirs.

Doing what: Eagles Nest in Berchtesgaden Tour from Salzburg

Liz H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

You can go to Dachau without a guide, but this is a superb trip, with an excellent guide Ian. Full of unbiased, intelligent and thoughtful facts. Take warm clothing!

Doing what: Small-Group Dachau Concentration Camp Memorial Site Tour from Munich

Charles M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

A trip that all humans should make. Our guide was highly knowledgeable and provided great information for a somber, life changing tour.

Doing what: Small-Group Dachau Concentration Camp Memorial Site Tour from Munich

Juan V

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Enjoyed this tour very much. Right on time and very comfortable and clean bus. The guide was excellent and the scenery was beautiful. Had a great time would recommend it.

Doing what: Berchtesgaden and Eagle's Nest Day Tour from Munich

Kabe Z

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

We appreciated having someone explain everything to us. Mat, our guide, was excellent. Most of the tour is outdoors so if it's cold be sure to dress very warm. We wished we'd put on more clothing that day. It would have been easier to concentrate on and appreciate the explanations more if we hadn't been so miserably cold. The tour 2 hours was a bit long for our 3 teens. However, I am not sure they would have gotten as much out of it if we'd done it on our own but perhaps the audio guide is good? Our children appreciated the documentary film more than the actual tour. The visuals really helped them understand.

Doing what: Small-Group Dachau Concentration Camp Memorial Site Tour from Munich

Glenn W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

After hearing about the atrocities for years, seeing this camp in person brought a whole new realization to it. Keith was an excellent, knowledgable guide. I recommend taking this short trip if you are visiting Munich.

Doing what: Small-Group Dachau Concentration Camp Memorial Site Tour from Munich

Lindsey C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Can't recommend highly enough. Extremely interesting tour with very knowledgeable and entertaining guide, JJ. We went back the next day to revisit some of the sights in more detail.

Doing what: Final Days of World War 2 Walking Tour of Berlin

Terrina F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Humbling tour that was very well presented by our guide Steven. We met at HBF in Munich, transported by train and then bus to Dachau. A thought provoking experience recommended to all so we don't forget about this terrible autrosity.

Doing what: Small-Group Dachau Concentration Camp Memorial Site Tour from Munich

Jessie

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

I recommend taking this tour in the morning. Very sad but needed if traveling near Dachau. Our tour guide was absolutely fantastic! I never felt bored once. He was so interesting and provided my mom and great places to go after the tour in Munich.

Doing what: Small-Group Dachau Concentration Camp Memorial Site Tour from Munich

Carol T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Educated and informed. Personal anecdotes added to the trip

Doing what: Berlin's Infamous Third Reich Sites Half-Day Walking Tour

Huan W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

The tour was very well done but be prepared for what you are going to see.

Doing what: Small-Group Dachau Concentration Camp Memorial Site Tour from Munich

Jennifer K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Fabulous tour and the guide made it very interesting

Doing what: Private Walking Tour: World War 2 and Cold War Sites in Berlin

Kate N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Our guide was very knowledgeable and kept it interesting!!

Doing what: Nuremberg Old Town Walking Tour

Thomas T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Excellent tour. Great tour and guide. Very informative - learned so much.

Doing what: Small-Group Dachau Concentration Camp Memorial Site Tour from Munich

greg.hakomaki

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Our guide was very informative. we l armed so much about what happened that I had never heard before. An emotional place but well worth seeing.

Doing what: Small-Group Dachau Concentration Camp Memorial Site Tour from Munich

R J A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Very informative walking tour. Covered just about everything about Berlin during the Third Reich. Tour guide was very knowledgeable.

Doing what: Berlin's Infamous Third Reich Sites Half-Day Walking Tour

Marilena Z

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Extraordinary tour. The guide was awesome and very helpful. Thanks Viator!

Doing what: Small-Group Dachau Concentration Camp Memorial Site Tour from Munich

AG

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

We had a very good half day tour to Dachau in September this year. Our guide was very knowledgable and friendly. I would highly recommend this tour if you are visiting Munich.

Doing what: Small-Group Dachau Concentration Camp Memorial Site Tour from Munich

col

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Not much up there now but brilliant views from the top

Doing what: Eagles Nest in Berchtesgaden Tour from Salzburg

lily k

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

A very sobering experience but one that should be made if in Munich. Tour started with a combination of a short train ride and bus ride. The guide was very knowledgeable and did an excellent job providing additional information and insight. He was also open to questions regarding other places to visit and local restaurants on the ride back.

Doing what: Small-Group Dachau Concentration Camp Memorial Site Tour from Munich

Judith B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Went to this with my husband and 15 year old daughter. We didn't really know what to expect at the camp itself. It was very moving to see the history. The tour guide was very insightful. I would highly recommend. The company we used made the whole process of leaving Munich and getting to the site easy.

Doing what: Small-Group Dachau Concentration Camp Memorial Site Tour from Munich

Samantha W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Jeff was a great tour guide! Definitely recommend!

Doing what: Small-Group Dachau Concentration Camp Memorial Site Tour from Munich

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message