Despite its successful post-war reinvention, Germany’s part in World War II history will forever haunt its people. The country has made the brave choice to preserve its harrowing past rather than gloss over it. As a result, many of Germany’s World ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 3397 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Virginia D Jemio United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

This tour was very educational and historic. I forgot the name of our tour guide but to mention, he was outstanding too.

Doing what: Small-Group Dachau Concentration Camp Memorial Site Tour from Munich

Peter O

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

Excellent walk with great guide! Do it! Gives a totally new perspective on Berlin.

Doing what: Final Days of World War 2 Walking Tour of Berlin

Scott J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

Our tour guide was simply great. He told us where the entrances were to the churches and that a donation was requested so I was able to go back on my own to all three churches and enjoy them. I liked his lunch recommendation so much that I ended up eating there three days in a row! He gave me lots of information that made the rest of my stay in Nuremberg more enjoyable like showing me on the map where some of the other things to do were located and recommending spots for dinner. The tour was small too, only three of us plus our guide so it was very personal. Highlights of the tour for me were the castle and the clock on the square at noon. I decided to extend my trip and do the Rally grounds as well and was able to pay the difference in cash. This was a great walking tour. I would absolutely recommend it.

Doing what: Nuremberg Old Town Walking Tour

Julie G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

This tour was excellent and highly recommend. The guide was very knowledgeable about the camp itself and what did and did not occur there, the lead up to the opening of the camp and others in Germany and Poland. The day was close to zero with some remaining snow from previous days and ice which made the impact of living and working conditions of those incarcerated there much more real and harrowing, much I would imagine it would be in the height of summer. I cannot really describe the feel of the camp itself, as I just do not have the words for how it made me feel. Huge day of reflection of atrocities human's inflict on other's.

Doing what: Small-Group Dachau Concentration Camp Memorial Site Tour from Munich

Antoinette H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

Our tour guide Ian gave us a great tour of the area. He was very informative and knowledgeable of what happened at Dachau. We had the perfect amount of people in our group - only 12. Transportation was easy and it wasn't difficult finding the Radius Tours. It did take me awhile to initially find information on where the exact meet-up/check-in location would be but I was able to find it on here. Basically you would go to the Munich Central Station Hauptbahnhof and it would be located behind platforms 32-35. Hope this helps! Great tour overall!

Doing what: Small-Group Dachau Concentration Camp Memorial Site Tour from Munich

Mary B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

Great tour, small groups were the best and the guide was great. I would recommend it. It is just a very sad tour. We should not forget that part of history.

Doing what: Small-Group Dachau Concentration Camp Memorial Site Tour from Munich

Karen M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

Our tour guide was Matt. He was very well informed of the events leading up to World War I and II, during the war and after the liberation of the camp by the allied forces. He gave us 1 hour at the end of the tour to go back and spend some time on our own to explore the exhibits, the camp and the museum we spent our time in the museum. Matt encouraged questions too. Important to note - out of respect for the events that happened here, do NOT bring ANY food onto the grounds. Also, selfies are strongly discouraged I mean...why would you really?. Great tour. Very organized. Very informative and very humbling.

Doing what: Small-Group Dachau Concentration Camp Memorial Site Tour from Munich

Stephen A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

Was a small group and very informative. We had a Great Guide !

Doing what: Small-Group Dachau Concentration Camp Memorial Site Tour from Munich

juleswag71

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

This tour was a great way to see Dachau. Our guide, Matt, was great! He was friendly and very knowledgeable. He explained why Dachau became the first camp, the history of Hitler and then provided a tour of the Memorial Site and explained many details about each of the areas we toured. If you want a tour that provides a lot of information about the History of the camp, this is your tour.

Doing what: Small-Group Dachau Concentration Camp Memorial Site Tour from Munich

Richard C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Carlos the tour guide was extremely knowledgeable and very interesting. He was friendly and helpful. Definitely the highlight of our visit to Berlin.

Doing what: Berlin's Infamous Third Reich Sites Half-Day Walking Tour

Rusitha M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

The guide Mr. Barnsby was very educated about the history of WW-II. And also he has the passion to teach the tourists. Very Informative tour through the city of Berlin. Excellent..!!

Doing what: Final Days of World War 2 Walking Tour of Berlin

Bernadette H M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Our guide Michael was spectacular... knowledgeable, passionate and tuned into us and what we wanted to learn about. Honestly one of the best tours I've ever done. If you have a half day in Berlin do this tour. A powerful experience that will stay with me forever.

Doing what: Private Walking Tour: World War 2 and Cold War Sites in Berlin

Wildspirit United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

We booked this trip in 2015 but was cancelled due to road repairs so we decided to book again. We went in October 2016 and the trip was well worth wait. Fantastic views and enjoyed a great meal sitting above the clouds. Would recommend this trip to everyone.

Doing what: Berchtesgaden and Eagle's Nest Day Tour from Munich

Rebecca T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Worth the visit. Our guide Ian was very informative.

Doing what: Small-Group Dachau Concentration Camp Memorial Site Tour from Munich

Derek M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Excellent tour with an excellent and knowledgeable guide (Jess). Obviously quite sobering at times with visits to memorials for victims of the Nazis but overall felt like it was taking a step back in history. Definitely recommend, even in the freezing temperatures!

Doing what: Berlin's Infamous Third Reich Sites Half-Day Walking Tour

William F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Great guide Sabri made this very difficult tour a good tour. He was informed and knowledgeable. Overall tour very convenient, would highly recommend.

Doing what: Small-Group Dachau Concentration Camp Memorial Site Tour from Munich

newtownsqkitty

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

We met the bus at the Mirabellplatz in town, a full size bus not a shuttle. Really knowledgeable guide who pointed out places of interest on the way and provided great information at the site. When we reached the base of the mountain we switched to other full size buses which made their winding way up the mountain. At the top we walked into the mountain where there was a large polished brass elevator, which the guide informed us could hold about 50 people, but because Hitler was claustrophobic he only allowed 3 or 4 others and the highly polished brass made the space seem bigger. Fortunately the weather was good and not cloudy. They close this tour in Oct or Nov depending on the weather. At the top the view was phenomenal. The building is stone on the outside with beautiful woodwork inside. There is a restaurant inside also. Outside there is a huge patio, places to sit and a small hut where you can get hot chocolate and souvenirs.

Doing what: Eagles Nest in Berchtesgaden Tour from Salzburg

Liz H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

You can go to Dachau without a guide, but this is a superb trip, with an excellent guide Ian. Full of unbiased, intelligent and thoughtful facts. Take warm clothing!

Doing what: Small-Group Dachau Concentration Camp Memorial Site Tour from Munich

Charles M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

A trip that all humans should make. Our guide was highly knowledgeable and provided great information for a somber, life changing tour.

Doing what: Small-Group Dachau Concentration Camp Memorial Site Tour from Munich

Juan V

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Enjoyed this tour very much. Right on time and very comfortable and clean bus. The guide was excellent and the scenery was beautiful. Had a great time would recommend it.

Doing what: Berchtesgaden and Eagle's Nest Day Tour from Munich

Kabe Z

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

We appreciated having someone explain everything to us. Mat, our guide, was excellent. Most of the tour is outdoors so if it's cold be sure to dress very warm. We wished we'd put on more clothing that day. It would have been easier to concentrate on and appreciate the explanations more if we hadn't been so miserably cold. The tour 2 hours was a bit long for our 3 teens. However, I am not sure they would have gotten as much out of it if we'd done it on our own but perhaps the audio guide is good? Our children appreciated the documentary film more than the actual tour. The visuals really helped them understand.

Doing what: Small-Group Dachau Concentration Camp Memorial Site Tour from Munich

Glenn W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

After hearing about the atrocities for years, seeing this camp in person brought a whole new realization to it. Keith was an excellent, knowledgable guide. I recommend taking this short trip if you are visiting Munich.

Doing what: Small-Group Dachau Concentration Camp Memorial Site Tour from Munich

Lindsey C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Can't recommend highly enough. Extremely interesting tour with very knowledgeable and entertaining guide, JJ. We went back the next day to revisit some of the sights in more detail.

Doing what: Final Days of World War 2 Walking Tour of Berlin

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message