Despite its successful post-war reinvention, Germany’s part in World War II history will forever haunt its people. The country has made the brave choice to preserve its harrowing past rather than gloss over it. As a result, many of Germany’s World ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 1083 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Lisanna S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Cesar is an excellent guide. He is very knowledgeable about the city and WW2 history. This walking tour was a great way to see a lot of the city in a short period of time! I got a sense of what is available to see and do for my next visit!

Doing what: Private Walking Tour: World War 2 and Cold War Sites in Berlin

chris

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Excellent tour. Jan was very knowledgeable and we found out some amazing topics during the cold war. Good use of time with going to the locations where things happened.

Doing what: Cold War Walking Tour of Berlin

Jacqueline M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

I really liked the tour guide! He was very professional, straightforward, clear and explained things very well! He knew what he was saying. He was also very friendly and chatted with the members of the group. Unfortunately, these tours do not offer much time to see things!

Doing what: Salzburg Small Group Day Tour from Munich

Patric F United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

This tour was a terrific history lesson about a very horrific period in human history. It's a very sobering and very insightful experience. Our guide, Steve, was extremely knowledgeable about this concentration camp and world war 2 in general. He knew everything there was to know about the nazis and answered every question everyone asked. Do yourself a favor and do this tour, you learn so much more and have a more complete experience. Thanks Steve, you were terrific.

Doing what: Small-Group Dachau Concentration Camp Memorial Site Tour from Munich

Tim W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

This is definitely the way to do it!!! Daniel was very knowledgeable and extremely personable. We had a large group of 33 people so we had 2 guides Daniel and Dani we split into 2 groups for the historical tour and ferris wheel ride but met up at the beer tent and ate, drank and celebrated together. We were able to use our food vouchers for the 1/2 roast chicken towards anything on the menu as long as we paid the difference. it was worth 9 The best way to do Oktoberfest and be guaranteed a table. Book this you won't be disappointed!

Doing what: Munich Oktoberfest Tickets and Tour

weedesmond

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Konrad, the guide, was funny and it was a fantastic 4-hours Segway fun! Although it was raining and cold, City Segway really warms up our day with their enthusiasm!

Doing what: Munich Segway Tour

LBC

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Great tour. We went on the tour with Ryan. There were about 30 people in our group. The logistics were so smooth. Ryan made sure we knew the exact plan and guided to Sachsenhausen by train with ease. He is one of the best guides we've had on this trip. Not only was he so well informed, he is a great story teller and painted us a picture of what life was like during this time period, told us insight into the events that led up to the imprisonments and murders, and some of the aftermath. Ryan clearly is passionate about German history and is well read on the subject. His enthusiasm and compassion made our trip so rewarding. Growing up Jewish and from a family whose relatives lived through this time period and were in the camps different camp I thought I knew most of what he would share with us - I was wrong. Ryan taught me a great deal and I was so moved by his tour. Thank you Ryan for what you do.

Doing what: Sachsenhausen Concentration Camp Memorial Walking Tour

Michelle C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

The guide was very informative and professional, if not the most riveting or winsome of characters. She was quite kind with the recommendations and directions afterwards, also. I think her name is Lorna. The tour is well set up, too, and you see the big sites all in one go. I'd recommend.

Doing what: Discover Berlin Half-Day Walking Tour

Andrea W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Our guide Anke was great! This tour gave us a lot of background on a gorgeous city with rich history. She spoke slowly, had pictures with her of important people, places related to the sites and photos of post war destruction that helped us appreciate all of the work that has gone into the restoration of Dresden. We will definitely remember the history, she made it come alive, telling us about the personalities of the influential people in Dresden through the ages. I highly recommend this tour. Dresden was even more incredible than we had even imagined it would be.

Doing what: Dresden Walking Tour Of The Historic Old Town

Richard F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

We jumped off the train from Prague to Berlin to do this walking tour and then got back on the train. It was well worth it. Dresden was leveled during WWII and was rebuilt with the old look and feel. Very beautiful city. You can walk to Old Town from the train and take this tour.

Doing what: Dresden Walking Tour Of The Historic Old Town

Marilena H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

The trip to Dresda was wonderful. We had a beautiful day due to the exceptional beautiful town which Dresda is, to the weather which was also great, shiny and warm, and to the very professional and informative guide we had, Aya. Thank you Aya and congratulationas for the very good job you do. Everything was respected. We had time to eat something and also to visit the Historical Green Vault. Very impressive. Of course, it was nice to have one more free hour. It is possible because the returning hour in Berlin is 7 p.m. I recommend to extend this time with one more hour and to fix the returning hour for 8 p.m. It will be nicer. All in one, it was a successful trip.

Doing what: Dresden Day Trip from Berlin

Maria E

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Alun our tour guide was excellent. He was very knowledgeable about the area and about what had occurred in the camp. His sensitivity to this topic made us aware of the tragic event that happened during World War II. He answered all our question and let us have time to observe the surroundings. It was a place everyone should visit to remember how war can be so horrible.

Doing what: Fully Guided Dachau Concentration Camp Memorial Site Tour from Munich

emmaknock United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

I’m a huge Bowie fan so I was really excited to take this tour — thankfully, it did not disappoint. Our guide Peter knew a ton about Bowie, his musical influences and the significance of the so-called Berlin years, and he did an incredible job of explaining Bowie’s music in the context of the Cold War. We saw the legendary Hansa Studios, Potsdamer Platz, sections of the Berlin Wall, the Topography of Terror, Zoo Station and other culturally significant sites. Peter had a little speaker with him so we could listen to songs at relevant points on the tour, and he had various other props — including Christopher Isherwood’s “Goodbye to Berlin” and an old map of divided Berlin — to help us better understand Cold War-era Berlin. My personal highlight has got to be standing in the entrance of the Schöneberg apartment building where Bowie and Iggy Pop both lived. I definitely recommend this tour to any Bowie or music fans visiting the city.

Doing what: Berlin Small-Group Half-Day Walking Tour: David Bowie and the End of the World with a Historian Guide

Jon C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Could not have been better!
Maria was an amazing tour guide. She spoke loudly, clearly and with great knowledge of so many WW2 sites I've always wanted to see. I would highly recommend this tour for any WW2 enthusiast, it's an amazing deal!

Doing what: Final Days of World War 2 Walking Tour of Berlin

David T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

As someone who traveled to Europe specifically to gain more knowledge about WWII, I cannot say enough good things about this tour and its guide. Alun was extremly engaging in one-on-one conversations and posed a great deal of insight about Dachau and the rise of the Third Reich. During the Dachau portion of the tour, Alun's descriptive narrative made it easy to visualize what prisoner life and conditions were like. He gave an hour of free time to explore the camp and visit the memorials at tour goers own pace which added more meaning to the visit. Walking through Munich on the Third Reich portion of the tour, Alun possessed an indepth perspective about Hitler's personal life to include day-to-day activities, his relationship with his inner circle, and his political development in Munich. Alun conveyed facts with a particular familiarity of the chain events that lead Hitler to become Chancellor of Germany in a concise and easy to understand manner that is second to none. I would highly recommend this tour to anyone interested in learning more about WWII or if they're interested in history in general. I will definitely be going on Alun's other tours when I visit Europe again in the future.

--David

Doing what: Dachau Concentration Camp Memorial Site And Third Reich Day Tour From Munich

Larry B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Karen did a wonderful job of taking us through the history of Dresden on the walking tour. The city is amazing in the rebuilding and she helped us understand the early history, through the war and to the reconstruction after Germany was reunified. Her love of the city is evident and the information was interesting and entertaining.

Doing what: Dresden Walking Tour Of The Historic Old Town

John F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Excellent tour guide. You should warn people that there is no lunch break since the tour coincides with the lunch hour.

Doing what: Half-Day Potsdam Sightseeing Tour Including Guided Sanssouci Palace Visit from Berlin

Larry Andrew H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Wonderful day trip. Unfortunately, the vehicle was small, old and cranky. I had to sit away from my husband throughout the journey. This was made up by including Salsburg in the day trip. Guide/driver was very knowledgable and tried hard to ensure all aboard got to see what they paid for. Overall, a very erwarding day trip.

Doing what: Heidelberg and Baden-Baden Tour from Frankfurt

Murray M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

If you want to put places to your WW2 history names, or just want a fantastic views from the Eagles Nest this is a great day.

Doing what: Berchtesgaden and Eagle's Nest Day Tour from Munich

Adam M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Keith did a fantastic job of making my 6- and 8-year-olds comfortable. While this is definitely an adult tour, there was nothing -- other than sample the beers -- that the kids couldn't do. Keith made the Beer Museum fun and told some hilarious stories about the history of beer. We sampled some very tasty Bavarian food and there was plenty of it. In fact, my only suggestion would be to end the tour there, instead of going to the Hofbrauhaus, which I do not think anybody from my tour went into. Again, Keith did a great job and this was money well spent. Speaking of which, bring some Euros on the tour, because there will be opportunities to buy beers along the way. As an added bonus, my kids now do the Cooper dance to let onlookers know that the plague is over. However, it was slightly awkward in church, especially for those that weren't aware of the plague in the first place.

Doing what: Bavarian Beer and Food Evening Tour in Munich

Douglas B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Excellent tour. We did this the first day we were in Berlin and it was a great way to get oriented with the city. Jurgen sp? was a fantastic guide and really entertaining. He also gave us some fantastic tips on places to go out in the city afterward. We stopped at the Schleuse Krug beer garden which was a great break in the biking. Highly recommended!

Doing what: Berlin Bike Tour

Andrew M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Lorna was a terrific tour guide. She was well informed with the facts of the concentration camp as well as other facts pertaining to the 2nd world war and the Nazi party. When asked questions, she had almost every answer and when asked her opinions, she shared he point of view freely. It was clear she is a history major and a very smart young lady.

Doing what: Sachsenhausen Concentration Camp Memorial Walking Tour

lyn

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

What a great way to see the city - we travelled to many of the city sites on the segways, hopping off frequently to hear the history behind the venue or take a closer look and have a photo or two. Our guide was funny, engaging and informative. We were particularly interested in ww2 history and so he focused on this at each location. Particularly enjoyed riding through the park in the sun and stopping to see the surfers.

Doing what: Private Tour: Munich Segway Tour Including Chinese Tower Beer Garden

Wendy M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Guide -Roland -v good and entertaining. Remember additional cost for bus and tour of castle. Even after bus there us quite walk from viewing platform to castle esplanade. If you choose horse and carriagedo on way down as you won't want go viewing platform, uphill, after castle. Queues for bus tickets ridiculous in hot weather. More needs done to process bus tivket queues quicker. Remember if u choose to walk from bottom, it is v long and steep. You'll need to be fit and have lots water. Castle v well preserved inside and out and spectacular views on good day. Hof ttowards bottom hill -with seating up side, v good and reasonably priced.

Doing what: Neuschwanstein Castle Small-Group Day Tour from Munich

Catalina B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

It was fun and I found out lots of things that I wasn't aware although I have been living in Berlin for the past 4 years. Toby was a great guide and had lots of interesting stories about the places we passed by. Great experience and would do it again with guests :D

Doing what: Berlin Segway Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message