Despite its successful post-war reinvention, Germany’s part in World War II history will forever haunt its people. The country has made the brave choice to preserve its harrowing past rather than gloss over it. As a result, many of Germany’s World ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 1024 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

gloria.taub

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

So worth the money! We booked this short cruise on the Rhine as a way to unwind and adjust to the time change after our flight from the USA. Great service, warm welcome and a lovely cruise where you can get your bearings. Would gladly recommend for families, couples and singles.

Doing what: Cologne Sightseeing Cruise

John M United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Paul met us at Marienplatz as expected. We then used public transportation with quick connections and with all fares being included in the tour price to reach Dachau. Paul was very knowledgeable about Dachau and the World Wars and the rise and fall of Hitler and concentration camps. After giving us a guided tour of the main features of Dachau we had time to go back and explore areas of interest in more detail. Paul was very friendly and professional and provided us a great in-depth experience.

Doing what: Fully Guided Dachau Concentration Camp Memorial Tour from Munich

patrice h

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Excellent tour. A lot of walking on gravel. Warm in the summer, not a lot of shade. Tour guide was excellent.

Doing what: Small-Group Dachau Concentration Camp Tour from Munich

Uriel T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Arrived on time. The boat is well maintained and the service courteous. The restrooms are sparkling clean! There are pre-recorded explanations broadcasted in german and english when passing through the different landmarks, which is OK. Recommended! Also, notice that the primus line has many other offerings which i was not aware of, which seem quite interesting.

Doing what: Frankfurt Main River Sightseeing Cruise: Upstream or Downstream

rhapsody_usa

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Interesting and educational tour. I liked the fact that it was a WWII Combo offer. The tour guide did a great job - he was very dedicated to the subject matter. I recommend this tour to anyone interested in WWII.

Doing what: Munich WWII Combo: Dachau Concentration Camp and Third Reich Walking Tour

Nancy P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Wonderful, relaxing, scenic tour with a warm and humorous guide. Great fun!

Doing what: Illuminated Hamburg City Tour and Evening Cruise

teresa.barnard

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Being a solo traveler I enjoyed the scenery and the history that goes hand in hand. This bus stopped close to Miniature Wunderland which was perfect for me as my main visit to HB was MW afterwards I was able to walk to where the boat ride was waiting for my harbour cruise. Definitely recommended!

Doing what: Hamburg Hop-on Hop-off Tour - Red Double Decker

Nicholas B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

This was a great experience, not only learning tons about the Cold War, but also seeing a lot of the city. Jared was incredibly knowledge and had a wonderful personality.

Doing what: Cold War Walking Tour of Berlin

lmjpichler

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Great tour. My son and I are big history buffs and believe me this tour guide knew his stuff. It was interesting to stand on the exact spot where Hitler was last seen alive, The guide brought a laptop and played vintage films of the area in World War 2. I would recommend this tour to anyone interested in German history.

Doing what: Berlin Third Reich Small-Group Walking Tour Including Topography of Terror

Jill G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

This tour was excellent. I am a history teacher and a big portion of this trip to Europe was focused on World War II history. Our guide did not disappoint.

Doing what: Hitler and the Third Reich Munich Walking Tour

Natalie N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

The tour was very memorable and a huge highlight of our Europe trip. Alun made it an unforgettable experience and we learned so much from his expertise. It was definitely worth it to do the guided tour as Alun provides all the historical facts and details each site within the camp. Aside from his knowledge, he is a warm, dedicated person who truly cares about making sure you walk away with a full understanding of the history of the camp.

Doing what: Fully Guided Dachau Concentration Camp Memorial Tour from Munich

Kyle P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Highly recommend this walking tour! We got to see all the highlights of Berlin, and our guide Lynsay was really enthusiastic and knowledgeable about the history of the city. We learned a few things that we didn't know about WWII and the Cold War, and also got some great recommendations for the best Museums, restaurants, and other things around Berlin.
Thanks for an awesome tour!

Doing what: Discover Berlin Half-Day Walking Tour

Christine W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Very informative. Well worth doing. Our guide Steve was brilliant - really knowledgeable about WWII history.

Doing what: Munich WWII Combo: Dachau Concentration Camp and Third Reich Walking Tour

rongrauch

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Our tour guide, Boris, was outstanding, very knowledgeable and humorous. He gave us background going back to WW1 and through the post Cold War Era. Of particular interest were details pertaining to Berlin's partition and situation as part of East Germany.

Doing what: Warnemünde Shore Excursion: Berlin City Highlights Tour

sarahjhunton

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

I am so glad I went on this tour. Marc with a C! was a great guide and clearly knew what he was talking about, plus was a lot of fun. Covering Berlin by bike, specifically the Cold War sites, worked out really well. I'm sure we saw a lot more than if I had only taken the walking tour. I also believe that since this tour was specific to the Cold War, there were more people who were really interested in the subject matter than if it was just a general city tour. I LOVED it and would recommend a bike tour in Berlin to anyone who can ride one.

Doing what: Berlin Bike Tour: Berlin Wall and Cold War

Doug E

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Great tour guide very knowledgable and animated. Without him and some personal op-ed, the tour would have been so so as there's really not much to see with Munich virtually obliterated as the war ended. The one building Arts still stands built with granite sourced with slave labour so very surreal.

Definitely recommend the tour as it helps connect many of the dots.

Doing what: Hitler and the Third Reich Munich Walking Tour

Katherine M Canada

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Barnaby is amazing and made this tour something I will never forget. If you are interested in WWII history, this tour is an absolute must. So rich and difficult a subject but Barnaby made it palatable and fascinating instead of gruesome and depressing. I can't say enough about what a fantastic tour this was. A trip highlight.

Doing what: Final Days of World War 2 Walking Tour of Berlin

andrew p

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

This is a good way to see Potsdam in a day but unfortunately you need more than a day here as we found out

Chicle of where the wwii Potsdam agreement was signed has been retained in its original form an amazing place to visit

Charlottenhoff palace is brilliant from end to end

We enjoyed a nice lunch at the restaurant

Our day ended at sanssouci. It is a short walk back to the start if you want to stay after the last bus

Doing what: City Sightseeing Potsdam Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

andrew p

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

The cruise is the best way to see Berlin but there are a couple of points to be aware of

The boat does not start from the tour start point it was already 75 full when we boarded so we were very lucky to get a nice table for dinner

Dinner was very good and was good value

Doing what: Berlin Evening Cruise

Heart81461

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Our tour guide, Grit, was incredible. She gave us so much history and info on the war, the camp, life a a prisoner, and the survivors. She was respectful and knew when we needed time to digest things and gave us privacy. She gave us time to be alone with our thoughts. It is not an easy tour, but we will never forget our visit nor all the atrocities that occurred there and all over the world.

Doing what: Small-Group Dachau Concentration Camp Tour from Munich

Timothy B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Guide (Steve) spoke outstanding english (he is English) and connected the dots between and #34;what happened and #34; and and #34;why it happened. and #34; He is a historian specializing in the WWII period. I am glad I booked this guided tour instead of visiting on my own.

Doing what: Small-Group Dachau Concentration Camp Tour from Munich

Joseph S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

This tour was amazing. Very warm day but our guide Lucia was great about keeping us in shaded areas when she wanted to talk to us. Town was beautiful with plenty of Sound of Music film spots

Doing what: Salzburg Small Group Day Tour from Munich

phillip.jones0816

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

The small group tour consisted of 10 people which was great and made for an even better experience at this beautiful memorial. Our tour guide, Mat, was fantastic. His knowledge of Dachau and WWII was tremendous! The train ride/bus ride took very little time. We were given time to wonder around on our own as well. Mat definitely gave us more information than we could have asked for!!

Doing what: Small-Group Dachau Concentration Camp Tour from Munich

Sondra C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

This tour was awesome. The beer at the train station is a nice way to start things off, but it was a bit on the warm side. From there you ride the subway and lightrails to a few destinations and get some really great insight to the city, food, and beer. You will have to buy some beers but they are not expensive. Food was a traditional meat and sausage platter. It was raining when we went, I would have preferred to sit in the beer garten, but not sure that's ever an option. Highly recommend doing this tour. FYI it ends at the Hofbrauhaus, but otherwise has nothing to do with it. You will get there late, so meals will be limited if you plan on eating there. Go next door, not where the tour ends, much more fun and lively there than in the restaurant.

Doing what: Bavarian Beer and Food Evening Tour in Munich

Margaret S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Great tour
Really informative and helpful guide and got to see all the highlights of Potsdam

Our guide also gave us a good grounding in how to use the trains so we stayed a few afterwards to see the Sansouci palace and easily made our way back to Berlin

Highly recommend it

Doing what: Discover Potsdam Walking Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message