Gold Coast ATTRACTIONS See all

Stradbroke Island

North Stradbroke Island, nicknamed “Straddie” by the locals, offers a low-key escape from Brisbane. The picturesque island, the most popular of all the islands in Moreton Bay, is lined by white sand beaches on its eastern shores, while the interior ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 100 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Suzanne s

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Excellent guide Brian educated us on science of the sand islands, a bit of history, botany, all with a charming sense of humor. Whale sightings were few and far off, the sandy beaches pristine, a beautiful day out.

Doing what: Stradbroke Island Day Trip from Brisbane

nina

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

It was a great trip!

Doing what: Stradbroke Island Day Trip from Brisbane

Laura Challman A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Highly recommended! We 50 adult and 2 20 year olds had a wonderful day trip to this beautiful island. Gorgeous scenery throughout, a delicious lunch, comfortable ferry ride to/from, and comfortable 14 person van ride to the ferry, and on the island. It was a beautiful and relaxing day all around.a

Doing what: Stradbroke Island Day Trip from Brisbane

Brenton S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Well organised and host Harrison was very knowledgable and able to provide good information. Enjoyed Visiting the advertised sights and had an enjoyable days

Doing what: Stradbroke Island Day Trip from Brisbane

Mark D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

This was a great day tour - highly recommended while in Brisbane.
The scenery is beautiful, the guide was excellent, everything was just perfect

Doing what: Stradbroke Island Day Trip from Brisbane

Janice A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

I think this island sums up a view of paradise. The trip was amazing and we enjoyed such a special range of activities during the day. Thank you daintree travel.

Doing what: Stradbroke Island Day Trip from Brisbane

gloria dawn m

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Great day, great tour guide Shane. Lunch at Stradbroke pub delicious. Scenery specular

Doing what: Stradbroke Island Day Trip from Brisbane

Patricia K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Great trip. We all had a great time.

Doing what: Stradbroke Island Day Trip from Brisbane

Jieru T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

It was great for some family time, my parents enjoy it when they can have some quite walk along the beach while myself could enjoy the water activities available on the resort. I like the music played by our guide too!! The talk was interesting :

Doing what: Stradbroke Island Day Trip from the Gold Coast

Sue L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

It was a great day, except for the weather! The lunch was awesome. We tried out a few water sports and came home totally worn out. Would definitely recommend this trip.

Doing what: Stradbroke Island Day Trip from the Gold Coast

Jane B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

Beautiful island, just wish we'd arranged longer than a day trip!
Great guide, good lunch, a well organized trip that made the most of the time we had there.

Doing what: Stradbroke Island Day Trip from Brisbane

Gerald D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

This was a wonderful daytrip. Stradbroke is a beautiful place and Shane, our guide, was an excellent host.

Doing what: Stradbroke Island Day Trip from Brisbane

Petra V

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

relaxed and beautiful tour!

Doing what: Stradbroke Island Day Trip from Brisbane

Debbie P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

An absolutely fantastic day

Doing what: Stradbroke Island Day Trip from the Gold Coast

Peter Q

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

An excellent day out. Although there's a maximum group size of 13, it was our lucky day as just there were just five of us on the day I chose, so it amounted to an executive tour. The trip was perfectly inclusive with not a wasted moment: a road trip the island, a visit to a secluded lake, lunch at a very pleasant beach side hotel, a swim at the beautiful Cylinder Beach and, finally, a walk around the headland with spectacular ocean views.
Our guide, Shane weas a great guy who knew the place like the back of his hand and had a wonderful relaxed, friendly manner, laced with good humour.
Our small group was of a certain seniority but there was nothing too strenuous involved in the day's activities, though I certainly slept well that night. I was tempted to bring my seven year old granddaughter along but I'm glad I did not, I would say that this is a trip for grown-ups, she would have become bored with the sight-seeing and would have wanted to spend all day on the beach.
Overall, highly recommended

Doing what: Stradbroke Island Day Trip from Brisbane

Linda R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

It was a very nice tour that any ability level would enjoy. Beautiful scenery and great tour guide.

Doing what: Stradbroke Island Day Trip from Brisbane

Anita W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

It was great fun - guide had a great sense of humour

Doing what: Stradbroke Island Kayak and Snorkeling Tour

Lindsay B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

It was an amazing day. We're locals but had never been to Stradbroke Island so this was a terrific way to be introduced. Had a marvellous time and would recommend this to everyone.

Doing what: Stradbroke Island Day Trip from Brisbane

Siyuan Z

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

This was a fantatic tour, I couldn't thought of seeing so many great views if I was not with a tour. Our guide Brian was very nice and knowledgable. Just a hint for everyone who wants to have ice cream by the beach, there is a ice cream van so don't hurry to rush to any shops. :

Doing what: Stradbroke Island Day Trip from Brisbane

DaveRay

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

The guides were great, the amount of time at each location was great, the size of the group was great and most importantly, I don't think this trip was doable for us without Viator. I prefer to do things on my own if possible, but this is unlike a tour at a museum, we would have had to have a car, know exactly when the ferries come and go, and where to go on the islands. For example, we showed up 2 minutes before the ferry departed and about the same on the way back, and it was perfect. If I had done it on my own, I would have arrived 30 minutes early.

Doing what: Stradbroke Island Day Trip from Brisbane

Tina K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Awesome day, the crew are great, friendly, helpful and funny.

Doing what: Gold Coast Tall Ship Cruise to South Stradbroke Island

Lorraine B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Really good tour and highly recommended. Good crossing on the ferry to Stradbroke Island. Our guide, Shane was very informative. Fantastic scenery and we saw wild koalas and kangaroos and a brown snake slivering across the road so worth going just for that!

Doing what: Stradbroke Island Day Trip from Brisbane

Katherine S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

The weather didn't cooperate fully, but it was still a blast! Our guide was great and took us to some great locations. We saw wild koalas and kangaroos and had a great lunch with an absolutely amazing view. I would highly recommend this day trip!

Doing what: Stradbroke Island Day Trip from Brisbane

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message