Granada ATTRACTIONS See all

Generalife Gardens

The Generalife was built as a summer palace for the Muslim emirs, a place of retreat where they could kick back with their harems and take some time away from the world. Its charming gardens – undoubtedly the highlight of the Generalife - are ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 125 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Sarah B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

It was sooo worth it! Our tour guide was Juan J. Sanchez. He's really knowledgeable! I'm amazed by the amount of history he knows. He walked quite fast but at the same time, he waited for others too. Made sure we were there and asking whether we were fine and alright. Answered most of the questions well and even helped us with the photographing. I'm glad I took the guided tour as compared to roaming around the whole palace and gardens without really knowing and understanding the stories behind it. I wish the tour was longer and covered more place, but all in all, highly recommended.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Priority Access to Alhambra and Generalife Gardens in Granada

Robert M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

This is an absolutely amazing visit. Even though it's late summer, the gardens are amazing. It's a must do in Granada. Eduardo is such a good guide. He is very knowledgeable and friendly and considerate of the slower members of the group. He made sure we had a drink and toilet break. I am confident to make this a highly recommended tour. Go do it!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Alhambra and Generalife Gardens Half-Day Tour

mhmyrah Canada

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

The Alhambra and the gardens is a site to not be missed.
With this tour we were able to get into the site and start our tour by about 8:30 am and avoided some of the crowds. Our guide was good I don't remember the young lady's name and paced the tour well.
There is a lot of walking up and down stairs and inclines, so be prepared by wearing good walking shoes and even taking water with you. No flipflops or high heels which we did see on some younger women as the ground is often uneven due to cobblestones and wear and tear.
This site was awesome.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Priority Access to Alhambra and Generalife Gardens in Granada

Bill B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Our tour guide, Alberto, was excellent...very informative and easy to listen to. We briefly were got separated from the group It was crowded that day. and he came and found us. Amazing ceilings ...carvings looked like snow with blue highlights falling but stopped in mid flight. Beautiful gardens and surroundings.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Alhambra and Generalife Gardens Half-Day Tour

Charles M

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2016

Expected to see the palaces but saw mostly the Gardens had to book another tour to see the palaces

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Priority Access to Alhambra and Generalife Gardens in Granada

Linda U

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
September 2016

We booked a tour to experience Alhambra because there were no other tickets available when planning our trip. We thought the tour would include the entire complex, and were very disappointed when we found out we would not be able to access the palace. There were also 31 of us with one tour guide, for some reason we expected a more intimate experience. Our guide was congenial and did his best to keep us engaged, but some of his information, though interesting, was more about the Spanish culture and not focused on the actual environment we were visiting. At times, it was a challenge to hear and understand what he was saying. In addition, the woman who met the confused people at the meeting point was not obviously present. Once our taxi dropped us off at the meeting place, we had to search inside a café to inquire if we were in the correct place. She was inside having coffee, and not outside greeting confused guests. We were told to wait outside for the bus and so we did for over fifteen minutes and then realized the bus was across the street....she never ventured outside to organize or confirm the routine with instructions.
Once the group tour was finished, we decided to return to the gardens and different areas in order to get a better understanding of the area and to enjoy the moment, however, re entry into all areas accept the gardens was prohibited.
Ideally, we would have preferred to visit Alhambra independently, but the tour was our only choice to gain access.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Priority Access to Alhambra and Generalife Gardens in Granada

Carol Ann United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

You can't go to Granada without seeing the Alhambra. The tour company's meeting point is up the hill and a set of steps from the main entrance and the guards there can point you in the right direction. Our guide was pleasant and had many tales as you would expect. He was pleasant and considerate. My last visit was 44 years ago and the gardens are vastly improved.

Doing what: Private Tour: Alhambra and Generalife

LoveTravelling

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Tarek, our tour guide was amazing! He gave us so many info about Alhambra and all the places there, in a way that he made us live the experience! We booked the group tour, but we eventually were only4 persons with him so we had the chance to ask questions etc! It was like a private tour and that helped us see and understand more!
Alhambra, the gardens and generally the area up there is priceless! You can't miss it if you go to Granada!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Alhambra and Generalife Gardens Half-Day Tour

Janis O

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2016

Interesting and informative tour of the Alhambra Palace and Generalife Gardens. Worth the extra money to skip the queues and learn the history from the informative guide.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Alhambra and Generalife Gardens Half-Day Tour

JoAnne B

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2016

To be honest, this was a little long. A lot was wandering around the gardens which I found a little underwhelming. Hot and tiring.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Alhambra and Generalife Gardens Half-Day Tour

Linda R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Well worth a private tour to find out about this stunning palace and gardens. No waiting in line to get tickets etc and would not have learned about the history

Doing what: Private Tour: Alhambra and Generalife

dickweiss

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

one of the great architectural wonders of Europe. pickup on time. our guide miguel was excellent, very knowledgeable about palaces and gardens, made this beautiful place more special. had dinner that night overlooking the alhambra. great experience.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Alhambra and Generalife Gardens Half-Day Tour

Tara W

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
July 2016

The Alhambra is a beautiful and great place to visit if in Granada. The tour though, was very disappointing. The tour guide seemed new and inexperienced although she did have to speak in both Spanish and English through the entire tour which was done well. Unfortunately, the tour was very rushed. At times we had to run after the tour guide as she did not wait to allow people to take pictures, nor did she notice that 1/2 of her group was missing at times! This tour was also misleading. The tour included a ticket into the Alhambra city and the Gardens but it only gave us access to walk around outside. At the end of the tour, we were told we could pay extra money in order to visit the Nasrid Palaces but we would also miss the bus back to Granada in which we would have to find a different way back. The Palace was supposed to be a highlight of the tour but we didn't stay, as we had paid a lot of money for transportation and access to what we thought was all of the Alhambra. This was a bit of a rip off in our opinion and very misleading of a tour. I was under the impression that all of Alhambra was included in this, but it is not. We have done a few tours with Viator around the world and this was by far the most disappointing.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Priority Access to Alhambra and Generalife Gardens in Granada

Geraldine C

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2016

The gardens are fabulous but our guide Maria was dire. She managed to make it do boring .

Doing what: Skip the Line: Alhambra and Generalife Gardens Half-Day Tour

Margaret G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Great tour-lots of info. Gus was a funny guide. We really enjoyed the Palace and gardens and Gus pointed out much that we would not have known about

Doing what: Skip the Line: Alhambra and Generalife Gardens Half-Day Tour

Cynthia M

3 star rating: Worth doing
February 2016

The tour was comprehensive in terms of viewing each area of the site. It was not comprehensive in terms of history--the combination of Moors, Jews, and Catholics in Spain is both exciting and intriguing but little of this was given any attention in the tour. I think tours in Toledo do a much better job. I also think that Córdoba has much to offer in terms of gardens and Moorish architecture. I am glad that we went and if you haven't seen the Alhambra it is definitely a must in Granada.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Alhambra and Generalife Gardens Half-Day Tour

Katie C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

We got picked up and dropped off by bus, completely stress free. The palace and gardens are absolutely beautiful and our tour guide was fantastic!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Alhambra and Generalife Gardens Half-Day Tour

Paula F

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
December 2015

The tour was a waste. And the sign-up was deceptive. We thought we were having a private tour. Instead, we were part of a group of 30 their maximum that were herded through the buldings and gardens by an unenthusiastic guide. It would have been much less expensive and more informative to rent an audioguide and do it on our own. The subcontractor Granavision was unresponsive to emails and phone calls prior to our trip. Viatour let us down on this one.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Alhambra and Generalife Gardens Half-Day Tour

Griselda A M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

We were picked up at our hotel in s timely manner and tour of thr Alhambra and Generalife Gardens was very thorough and interesting.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Alhambra and Generalife Gardens Half-Day Tour

Steven K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

I'm so glad we selected this private tour even though the cost was high the value was well worth it. Our guide Eduardo was very familiar with the Gardens and the Palace, so we learned about everything. This historic site was incredible to see first hand, our tour lasted 3 hours with several breaks to rest and shop while inside the grounds. We thought that going at the beginning of the off season it would be less crowded but all the tours were booked for the day and the crowds were everywhere. We drove up from Malaga in the morning for our 2:00pm tour, we should have stayed the night in Granada so we could see more of the city.

Doing what: Private Tour: Alhambra and Generalife

Katherine R

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2015

We are glad that we purchased this Viator tour as we would not seen half as much if we had attempted to tour on our own. The Alhambra and Gardens are huge and you need a minimum of 4 hours to do it justice. Our guide William was lovely and most informative. Would recommend this Tour.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Alhambra and Generalife Gardens Half-Day Tour

GI Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Our guide Antonio was wonderful, informative and passionate about the Palace and gardens.
Super tour one not to miss, lots of history and interesting facts, we learnt lots.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Alhambra and Generalife Gardens Half-Day Tour

Kenneth V

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

This is a long tour - very informative, interesting. At the end you can continue the tour in town or head to the Generalife Gardens. We chose to go back in to town. We walked back to town much closer than you think and thought our guide was terrific Bea.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Alhambra and Generalife Gardens Half-Day Tour

Eurotrip

3 star rating: Worth doing
October 2015

The Alhambra was AMAZING. The staff at Granavision and the Alhambra...not so much. Incredible lack of communication and direction. We were all given ONE ticket and we ALL asked the tourguide if he was giving the tour of the Gardens. He said that he didn't work for the gardens, only the Alhambra and that we could go back to the tour office after the tour to find out about the gardens. After the Alhambra tour we went ALL the way back to the Granavision tour office only to find out there was a mistake and that we needed separate tickets for the gardens and palace there. We hoofed it ALL the way back to the gardens where two people collecting tickets only spoke Spanish, refused to let us in, and kept pointing for us to return to the Alhambra Palaces. Frustrated we walked ALL the way back to the entrance to ask a lady how the tickets work. She began yelling at us telling us that the tickets we had DID work for the entrance to the gardens. We walked ALL the way back to the gardens where miraculously the tickets worked. This dampened an experience that should have been great. Lots of NO COMMUNICATION and DIRECTION forcing you to ask for direction and communication only to be yelled at for asking. We found this to be very common in Spain altogether. Alhambra AMAZING! Granavision and staff at Alhambra Get your act together. Communicate! Give clear directions! Do better!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Alhambra and Generalife Gardens Half-Day Tour

Siegfried K

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2015

An amazing trip along the spanish history. Great buildings and garden. A competend guide, spoken very well german.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Alhambra and Generalife Gardens Half-Day Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message