The enormous prehistoric Caves of Nerja boast extensive grottoes, archaeological remains and the world’s largest column, rising upwards for 32 meters (105 feet) central column. Entering the cave, you’ll see dramatically lit stalactites and ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 10 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Margaret F

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
October 2016

Our tour guide was the absolute worst! 1st-she could not seem to complete a sentence, 2nd-very heavy accent such that understanding what little she said in English was near impossible, 3rd-no tour in Frigiliani, just dropped off for 45 min on our own in a lovely town that we knew nothing about nor have any idea where to go or what to see, 4th-abrupt and dismissive when asked to repeat what she said she told me that I already told you. I told her to tell me again as I didn't hear her. The walking tour of Nerja was to lead us from the bus to the Balconies of Europe area, point to where we should go to see this and left us. That was the tour! Terrible!!!
One of the big problems is Julia Travel puts all the people of different languages on the same bus and the tour guide gives the information in two or more languages which shortens the amount of available time to tell us what we're looking at or for. Most of the time we had no idea what the guide was talking about or where to look to see it.
We were not the only ones complaining. English speaking folks that had booked the tour through the resort had the same problems we had.
On the positive side the Nerja Caves and the views from the Balconies of Europe in Nerja were great! Would have loved some free time in the Nerja Caves to explore. Really spectacular columns and cave formations of stalag!

Doing what: Frigiliana and Nerja Day Trip from Costa del Sol

mary h

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
May 2016

The coach was 20 minutes late to pick us up. Even if it had been on time there would not have been enough time at Nerja to have lunch, look around and do the caves. A lot of people who had booked the caves didn't go because of the time scale. The time at Frigiliana was also limited. If you wanted to use the road train to look round there would have been no time for a drink and/or shopping. The tour should have set off a lot earlier or returned later.

Doing what: Frigiliana and Nerja Day Trip from Costa del Sol

Farima S

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
August 2015

It did not worth the time of traveling to get to cave. The cave was nice but that was half an hour. The tour guide was the worst part. He spoke many language but I could not understand and he kept repeating everything as he did not have much knowledge or interesting knowledge so it became a really annoying experience. not recommended.

Doing what: Frigiliana and Nerja Day Trip from Costa del Sol

Bob

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

We enjoyed visiting both cities and the caves. We could have spent more time in each city.

Doing what: Frigiliana and Nerja Day Trip from Costa del Sol

Monica R

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2014

A great day to see areas east of Malaga! The views around Nerja wonderful and caves impressive- like huge caverns.

Doing what: Frigiliana and Nerja Day Trip from Costa del Sol

Amanda M

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2013

A fantastic trip. Frigiliana was a beautiful little village to visit and experience a more authentic Spain and the Caves were amazing. Unfortjunately we were not able to see the cave paintings as these were closed to the public but still a great expereince. Only could have been improved by having the audio guides to listen to as we wandered the caves.

Doing what: Frigiliana and Nerja Day Trip from Costa del Sol

Patricia H

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2012

The cave was fascinating. More information on the caves would have been good. I would have appreciated a recommendation for lunch. It would have been nice to have a bit more time at the first village shop, also would have been good to get there after the shops had opened, some were still opening as we left..

Doing what: Frigiliana and Nerja Day Trip from Costa del Sol

Sam

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
June 2011

We found nothing of any interest whatsoever in the town of Frigiliana... though situated in the mountains the views weren't impressive, the shops and cafe's very ordinary and we found the artwork on some of the temporary side-show rides extremely distasteful...had we any children with us we wouldn't have quite known how to answer why a popular ride had an image depicting a young man masturbating!!!
The caves were naturally amazing, however we didn't appreciate the bright flashes from the local souvenir photographers in the cave making it difficult to see in the dark afterward! Us tourists however were sternly warned NOT to take flash photography... go figure.
The town of Nerja was a surprise with it's two fair-looking beaches, however we'd wish we would have been told to bring our swimwear and towel as the rest of the town was just cafes, restaurants and souvenir shops.

Doing what: Frigiliana and Nerja Day Trip from Costa del Sol

Anonymous

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2009

This is a great trip, and the caves are awesome! I would recommend this trip to others.

Doing what: Frigiliana and Nerja Day Trip from Costa del Sol

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message