The Alhambra is not only Spain’s greatest architectural treasure, but one of the world’s wonders. It might not wow you right up front like a Taj Mahal or a Great Pyramid, but soon enough that austere exterior reveals a wonderland of musical ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 691 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

bossmyer

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

We took the tour to get a good explanation of everything at Alhambra. Daniel was outstanding and we felt the tour was worthwhile.

Doing what: Alhambra and Generalife Small-Group Guided Tour in Granada

William W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

The Alhambra is an amazing place - not to be missed if you are anywhere near Granada. Our tour guide, Igone, made it even more amazing! Despite the frigid temperatures she kept our group fully engaged for four hours. She was not only knowledgeable but fun and fun to be with. It's clear that she is a favorite with the Alhambra staff. Igone's english is excellent thanks to the Irish nuns at the school she attended growing up in Bilbao. I know that on this type of tour that the guide makes or breaks the experience. You may not get Igone but if your guide is half as good you will have a good time.

Doing what: Alhambra and Generalife Small-Group Guided Tour in Granada

Elizabeth B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Alhambra tour was fantastic. Excellent guide and very enthusiastic about everything Alhambra .
Alberto was our guide ... wonderful job.Would highly recommend him.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Alhambra and Generalife Gardens Half-Day Tour

Rosane

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

This is the must do tour in Granada! It is definitely worth it the early morning start, we avoided all crowds and it was a lovely and relaxing experience. The Alhambra is stunning and by being the first ones to get in, meant we were able to enjoy it a lot more (and take much better pics). The tours was really well organised and the guide was very friendly. Couldn't recommend this tour higher!

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Priority Access to Alhambra and Generalife Gardens in Granada

Deborah H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

This was a great tour. The Alhambra by foot is amazing, and to see it from the air was fantastic. Our pilot was great - he took time to explain where we were going and what we were seeing and, because it was a private flight, we could ask to circle again around anything we wanted to look more closely at. We had perfect weather too, which meant that the snowy mountains looked wonderful. Highly recommended.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Alhambra Walking Tour and Private Sightseeing Flight

Simona B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

This tour was fantastic! Paying a bit more to get a 3-hr guided tour with a fantastic tour guide was probably the most efficient way to see the Alhambra Alcazaba and Nasrid Palaces and Generalife. We got to skip the general lines and appreciate the major highlights of Alhambra in a timely manner. I'd highly recommend this as I don't think I would have appreciated half as much if I had tried to see the Alhambra on my own. And I'm definitely a budget traveler! Highly worth it.

Doing what: Alhambra and Generalife Small-Group Guided Tour in Granada

Ruth D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Fantastic. Victor our guide was extremely patient with questions, and gave us tons of insight in a sweetly droll and endearing way. Also liked the fact Viator paid for our taxi ride from our Airbnb to the welcome center next to the entrance to the Alhambra. Would choose to pay the extra again, to go on a night tour. This tour inspired me to do more research on this priceless world treasure. Be prepared to take lots of pics without a lot of time to dawdle. Wear your most substantial walking shoes. Wished I'd taken a hiking stick with a rubber tip.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Alhambra and Generalife Gardens Half-Day Tour

Margaret B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

AAlberto, our guide, was so knowledgeable about the Alhambra and Generalife. We enjoyed the tour very much. There were a couple locations that I would have liked to stay longer for photo ops but due to the many tour groups coming through that wasn't possible. Overall, it was a great experience and Alberto was an excellent personable guide.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Alhambra and Generalife Gardens Half-Day Tour

kowie55

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Tickets to the Alhambra are restricted and get sold out in advance there is apparently a limited daily quota, but the queues are long and tiring. It is a big place and a local expert is necessary for meaningful navigation and understanding the history and tradition of the monument. Therefore, booking this guided tour with Viator in advance was not only a smart thing we did, it was also good value for money.
Our Guide, Juan Jesus Sanchez of Amigo Tours had the authority of one who has done his homework well. Moorish history is long, rich and complex and can be confusing to a newcomer. But Juan handled it smartly he did not overburden us with minute details, but covered all the key highlights. His authority was without arrogance and he had a nice sense of humour too. Once we got accustomed to his Spanish accent that was easy we found that he spoke fluently and answered all our queries patiently. He knew where the best photo opportunities were and introduced small photo-breaks at those spots. At our request he took good photos of us in the scenic spots. My only disappointment was that he didn't show us the Lions of Nasrid Palace.
Alhambra/Genaralif is a huge area, so it is better to plan some personal time after the guided tour . The Guide has to follow a certain path at a certain speed to cover everything of mass interest. Invariably there are certain spots you would like to revisit ---and soak in the ambience slowly. So, budget some time after the official tour ends, to do this. You cannot revisit the place once you exit mandatorily, it has to be done immediately after the guide concludes!
Do visit Sacromonte in the evening and enjoy a Flamenco show. But there is more to it. After sunset, you can see a beautifully lit up Alhambra from the heights of Sacromonte. Do ensure that you budget time for this at Sacromonte. You don't need to book the Flamenco tickets in advance unlike the Alhambra and your Hotel Reception can recommend a good Flamenco show. Many hotels sell tickets for certain shows price around 30- 40 Euros. You can also buy tickets at the downtown area of Pueblo Nuevo which is just 10-15 minutes walk from Alhambra.
You can also buy a hop-on-hop-off toy train ticket to go around Granada. he train has a station at the entrance to Alhambra and you can easily purchase a round trip ticket there That gives a lovely rounded view of the culture of the town and complements the Alhambra trip.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Priority Access to Alhambra and Generalife Gardens in Granada

ALAN E

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

This was a very good tour lasting 3 hours. Due to the small number we had an English/Spanish language tour which was not a problem. Our pick-up location was Plaza Nueva. A person came to get us and we walked a short distance to the bus which took us to the tour office near Alhambra. There is a lot of walking on this tour - about 3-4 km. After the tour we had lunch at the parador on the terrace.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Alhambra and Generalife Gardens Half-Day Tour

floss

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

The tour of the Alhambra was just fantastic. The tour guide effortlessly conversed in English and was wonderful. A fascinating place where we learned so much and loved every minute of the tour. Well done!

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Priority Access to Alhambra and Generalife Gardens in Granada

Mary C M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Given the crowds at the Alhambra, having a tour guide is a practical necessity to get you through lines and to the best locations. And it definitely improves the experience to understand the history and art on the site, especially for those who are unfamiliar with Spanish history.

Doing what: Private Tour: Alhambra and Generalife

filedwards

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Very interesting trip around the Alhambra with our guide, Claudia. A good commentary with electronic earpieces to make sure you heard all the information even if you lagged behind for a photo and a sensible group size 15 to make sure that you could see everything. Ran like clockwork even when Claudia used her discretion to accommodate latecomers who were in touch with her by phone and to cope with a minor medical hiccup for one of the group halfway round the tour. A professional but informal commentary that seemed to be at exactly the right level.

Doing what: Alhambra and Generalife Small-Group Guided Tour in Granada

Mrs C M L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

We were supposed to join this trip in town but we went straight to the Alhambra which was our mistake though sensible for us as we were staying close by. The information staff were very helpful though and helped us find our tour. It was a small group and we were issued with headphones so we could clearly hear our guide all the time. The tour was informative and our young guide I think he was called Juan was clear and helpful. The tour started at 7:45 am which seemed very early but in fact I would recommend an early start before it gets too hot and before the crowds appear. There was time after the tour to go back and revisit some of the places the tour didn't cover. Fabulous place, fabulous tour and excellent guide.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Priority Access to Alhambra and Generalife Gardens in Granada

Antonio G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

The Alhambra is a must see in beautiful Granada. Our tour was wonderful and our guide Natasha was too!! She was quite knowledgeable and very sweet, we thoroughly enjoyed it all.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Priority Access to Alhambra and Generalife Gardens in Granada

Antonio G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

The Alhambra is a must see in beautiful Granada. Our tour was wonderful and our guide Natasha was too!! She was quite knowledgeable and very sweet, we thoroughly enjoyed it all.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Priority Access to Alhambra and Generalife Gardens in Granada

Cornelis Z

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Tour guide was great, very knowledgeable and informative. The Alhambra is amazing. Sound system could be better though. Suggest headset microphones for the guides!

Doing what: Alhambra and Generalife Small-Group Guided Tour in Granada

Bruce E

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Tour was great value. The small group made it much easier to interact with the guide and to see more than in a large group. The Alhambra is a must-see!

Doing what: Alhambra and Generalife Small-Group Guided Tour in Granada

INCI M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

A well organised guided tour. Alhambra is a magnificent place and wonderful gardens- the guide explained it well. My wifw is overweight she found the pace a little too fast at times given the strong sunshine. Otherwise an enjoyable your

Doing what: Alhambra and Generalife Small-Group Guided Tour in Granada

Sara H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

The Alhambra Tour was excellent due to our guide. He handled the logistics like a champ. Additionally he was knowledgeable and charming. Thanks for a lovely tour

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Priority Access to Alhambra and Generalife Gardens in Granada

mhmyrah Canada

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

The Alhambra and the gardens is a site to not be missed.
With this tour we were able to get into the site and start our tour by about 8:30 am and avoided some of the crowds. Our guide was good I don't remember the young lady's name and paced the tour well.
There is a lot of walking up and down stairs and inclines, so be prepared by wearing good walking shoes and even taking water with you. No flipflops or high heels which we did see on some younger women as the ground is often uneven due to cobblestones and wear and tear.
This site was awesome.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Priority Access to Alhambra and Generalife Gardens in Granada

Cynthia M. K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Excellent private guided tour. Alberto was knowledgeable, friendly and ez to be with. Highly recommend doing the Alhambra this way...we learned so much!

Doing what: Private Tour: Alhambra and Generalife

nazish K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

we took the tour on 24th September 2016 starting in the morning at 10am. looking back, this was the perfect time as by the time we finished at 2pm it was so hot. although the website states the tour is meant to last for 3 hours on average it actually went on for 4 hours. there were 18 of us in total and from what I could tell no one complained or felt irritable by it. in fact, I wish it was longer! there is just so much history and so much to see. we got a 15 minute break mid way and there were plenty of places to sit and just listen to what the guide had to say.

our tour guide, Egonne I hope I spelled and got the name right was absolutely fantastic! she was lively, energetic, patient, knowledgeable and most importantly kept us all interested. if you can be in her tour group go for it! I couldn't have asked for anyone better.

on a side note, to those that have yet to visit, be aware there is a lot of walking but the Alhambra is totally worth a visit.

thank you viator and most importantly thank you Egonne for the wonderful and memorable experience.

Doing what: Alhambra and Generalife Small-Group Guided Tour in Granada

Janice M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Excellent tour. All inclusive with pickup and drop off at hotel.
Our tour guide, Esther, was so full of information about the Alhambra. What a beautiful, historical place.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Alhambra and Generalife Gardens Half-Day Tour

Antony B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

I have visited the Alhambra a few times in the past, but this was the first time with a guide. The whole experience, from pick up at the hotel, the quality of our guide Antonio who was friendly knowledgeable and very efficient, was truly excellent and our whole party of 6 thoroughly enjoyed the trip. Would strongly recommend.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Alhambra and Generalife Gardens Half-Day Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message