History is alive in Granada's narrow streets, riotous gardens and spectacular monuments, reverberating with echoes of the city's grand Islamic past and its medieval Renaissance. With the majestic Sierra Nevada as its backdrop and the mighty ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 2011 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Martha H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Tour was terrific. Our guide was waiting at arranged point prior to our meeting time. She was very pleasant and knowledgable.

Doing what: Alhambra and Generalife Small-Group Guided Tour in Granada

floss

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

The tour of the Alhambra was just fantastic. The tour guide effortlessly conversed in English and was wonderful. A fascinating place where we learned so much and loved every minute of the tour. Well done!

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Priority Access to Alhambra and Generalife Gardens in Granada

floss

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

How could you not love this tour! The passion of the Flamenco, and the sights and sounds of the Albaicin were truly a wonderful experience, would definitely recommend, you have to go!!

Doing what: Granada Flamenco Show in Sacromonte and Walking Tour of Albaicin

Roger R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

A very enjoyable trip. Prior to the walk I wasn't looking forward to a guided tour, having visions of trying to keep the guide in sight among crowds of people, and then struggling to get close enough to hear what was being said. This wasn't at all like that, we all had headphones and could easily hear the guide's commentary. The walk was well-paced, allowing time for people to admire the view. The commentary was informative, and the guide handled questions with friendliness and humour.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Priority Access to Alhambra and Generalife Gardens in Granada

ALAN E

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

This was a very good tour lasting 3 hours. Due to the small number we had an English/Spanish language tour which was not a problem. Our pick-up location was Plaza Nueva. A person came to get us and we walked a short distance to the bus which took us to the tour office near Alhambra. There is a lot of walking on this tour - about 3-4 km. After the tour we had lunch at the parador on the terrace.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Alhambra and Generalife Gardens Half-Day Tour

kowie55

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Tickets to the Alhambra are restricted and get sold out in advance there is apparently a limited daily quota, but the queues are long and tiring. It is a big place and a local expert is necessary for meaningful navigation and understanding the history and tradition of the monument. Therefore, booking this guided tour with Viator in advance was not only a smart thing we did, it was also good value for money.
Our Guide, Juan Jesus Sanchez of Amigo Tours had the authority of one who has done his homework well. Moorish history is long, rich and complex and can be confusing to a newcomer. But Juan handled it smartly he did not overburden us with minute details, but covered all the key highlights. His authority was without arrogance and he had a nice sense of humour too. Once we got accustomed to his Spanish accent that was easy we found that he spoke fluently and answered all our queries patiently. He knew where the best photo opportunities were and introduced small photo-breaks at those spots. At our request he took good photos of us in the scenic spots. My only disappointment was that he didn't show us the Lions of Nasrid Palace.
Alhambra/Genaralif is a huge area, so it is better to plan some personal time after the guided tour . The Guide has to follow a certain path at a certain speed to cover everything of mass interest. Invariably there are certain spots you would like to revisit ---and soak in the ambience slowly. So, budget some time after the official tour ends, to do this. You cannot revisit the place once you exit mandatorily, it has to be done immediately after the guide concludes!
Do visit Sacromonte in the evening and enjoy a Flamenco show. But there is more to it. After sunset, you can see a beautifully lit up Alhambra from the heights of Sacromonte. Do ensure that you budget time for this at Sacromonte. You don't need to book the Flamenco tickets in advance unlike the Alhambra and your Hotel Reception can recommend a good Flamenco show. Many hotels sell tickets for certain shows price around 30- 40 Euros. You can also buy tickets at the downtown area of Pueblo Nuevo which is just 10-15 minutes walk from Alhambra.
You can also buy a hop-on-hop-off toy train ticket to go around Granada. he train has a station at the entrance to Alhambra and you can easily purchase a round trip ticket there That gives a lovely rounded view of the culture of the town and complements the Alhambra trip.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Priority Access to Alhambra and Generalife Gardens in Granada

julie.jordan

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

We weren't sure what to expect at the Arabian Baths -never having been there. From the moment we stepped into the reception we were in a different culture totally. So atmospheric with low lighting, candles and mint tea in big kettles. We were taken downstairs to the changing room which is very dim and I needed help to see the number pads on the lovely wooden lockers! Then you go through to the baths - each one a different temperature including an ice cold one at the end. We had a 15 minutes massage with our choice of oils, which was very relaxing. There was an area where you could sit and have tea again. You can just wander at your leisure but the atmosphere is a hushed one and you are encouraged to speak very quietly. You do not need to take a towel. We finished before our allocated time was up so there is no rush. An amazing experience which was perfect after a long busy day walking around the Alhambra!

Doing what: Arabian Baths Experience at Granada's Hammam Al Ándalus

David L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Incredible, a must see in Granada, this is not just a palace but it is classed as a city. Guided tour was well worth it, highly recommended, she was well informed, you need someone to steer you through this place as there is so much to see and benefit- no lineups. It was good to learn about the city rather than just look at it, the fortress is worth the climb. Lots of visitors even in November. Book early a month or two ahead as tickets sell out quickly, we were in an afternoon tour, light was an issue for photos towards the end. Photos do not do this place justice. Happy travels.

Doing what: Alhambra and Generalife Small-Group Guided Tour in Granada

Margaret B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

AAlberto, our guide, was so knowledgeable about the Alhambra and Generalife. We enjoyed the tour very much. There were a couple locations that I would have liked to stay longer for photo ops but due to the many tour groups coming through that wasn't possible. Overall, it was a great experience and Alberto was an excellent personable guide.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Alhambra and Generalife Gardens Half-Day Tour

Anna T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

This was an excellent tour. Our guide Antonio Nono was brilliant - he was incredibly knowledgeable and had a great way of engaging with the participants. Nothing was too much of a problem for him. We had a great afternoon. I would highly recommend this tour!!

Doing what: Alhambra Guided Tour with Skip the Line Entrance in Granada

Ruth D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Fantastic. Victor our guide was extremely patient with questions, and gave us tons of insight in a sweetly droll and endearing way. Also liked the fact Viator paid for our taxi ride from our Airbnb to the welcome center next to the entrance to the Alhambra. Would choose to pay the extra again, to go on a night tour. This tour inspired me to do more research on this priceless world treasure. Be prepared to take lots of pics without a lot of time to dawdle. Wear your most substantial walking shoes. Wished I'd taken a hiking stick with a rubber tip.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Alhambra and Generalife Gardens Half-Day Tour

El Nino

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Great tour and worth every penny

Doing what: Skip the Line: Alhambra and Generalife Gardens Half-Day Tour

veronica3615

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Our driver was friendly and chatted with us along the way, providing GREAT recommendations for places to eat and visit.

Doing what: Granada Airport Private Arrival Transfer

Patricia M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Very pleasant and knowledgeable guide. Well balanced ability in dealing with all sorts of peoples and situations.

Doing what: Alhambra and Generalife Small-Group Guided Tour in Granada

Sarah B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

It was sooo worth it! Our tour guide was Juan J. Sanchez. He's really knowledgeable! I'm amazed by the amount of history he knows. He walked quite fast but at the same time, he waited for others too. Made sure we were there and asking whether we were fine and alright. Answered most of the questions well and even helped us with the photographing. I'm glad I took the guided tour as compared to roaming around the whole palace and gardens without really knowing and understanding the stories behind it. I wish the tour was longer and covered more place, but all in all, highly recommended.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Priority Access to Alhambra and Generalife Gardens in Granada

Anthony F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Just fantastic and our guide was both informative and fun !

Doing what: Skip the Line: Alhambra and Generalife Gardens Half-Day Tour

Gaby A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

very informative, great tour

Doing what: Skip the Line: Alhambra and Generalife Gardens Half-Day Tour

Robert C

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2016

Our guide was thorough and enlightning the driver deserves a medal for navigating so many switchbacks.

Doing what: Las Alpujarras Day Trip from Granada

Jane S

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2016

Good guide with good English
Large group so hard to keep control

Doing what: Alhambra and Generalife Small-Group Guided Tour in Granada

mark p

3 star rating: Worth doing
November 2016

the Alhambra is an amazing place but its hard to have it live up to the hype

I thought our price of about 80 per person was a bit steep and perhaps I am wrong since there were not many other options available by the time we booked.

our guide was very knowledgeable. he was more book trained and could have injected more of his personality in the tour but I would say he was good. it was mainly the price that II question

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Priority Access to Alhambra and Generalife Gardens in Granada

julie.jordan

3 star rating: Worth doing
November 2016

We were looking forward to the flamenco show and had booked the show with the meal and Albaicin walking tour afterwards.
We arrived at the venue and were greeted by a large surly man who ushered us round into a waiting area - no chairs. People walked around us and nobody advised what was happening, we weren't offered a drink or apology. After 20 minutes or so we were herded into a room with a stage at the far end and a table was quickly laid. The food was fine - Salad/pork/plastic cake however we couldn't see the dancing really at all - certainly not the footwork which was very disappointing. Non diners were on chairs laid cinema style through the room and those people, having paid less got a much better view! The first set of dancers were OK but not great, the second set comprised a dancer who played the castanets wonderfully and a younger dancer who also sang. Guitarists excellent. The show finished around 10.30 and we were once again rather unceremoniously led to the reception where a young Spanish girl was going to take the Albaicin tour. We walked a very short way up the road where we could see the Alhambra lit up where she gave some history and then we walked back to the restaurant to collect our taxis back to the hotel. This was NOT a tour or even a walk in the park - it lasted no more than 10 minutes. A disappointing evening highlighted by the rudeness and surliness of the reception staff and waiter. On walking round the following day there are other flamenco venues - wish we had gone elsewhere.

Doing what: Granada Flamenco Show in Sacromonte and Walking Tour of Albaicin

zainab y

3 star rating: Worth doing
November 2016

it was good to skip the line, had some general information about the place, but the tour was not as engaging as I thought it would be , I did not get much of the history and the stories behind Alhambra and I did not feel connected to the place.
also I thought for me it was too fast to absorb everything I was running behind the tour guide most of the time.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Alhambra and Generalife Gardens Half-Day Tour

Cynthia M. K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Excellent private guided tour. Alberto was knowledgeable, friendly and ez to be with. Highly recommend doing the Alhambra this way...we learned so much!

Doing what: Private Tour: Alhambra and Generalife

Robyn L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Thanks to our wonderful young guide Juan J S our tour was fantastic. Well worth the early start. Just a lovely experience.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Priority Access to Alhambra and Generalife Gardens in Granada

Elaine P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

I was very happy with the tour and also our tour guide. Very happy.
We covered all the sightseeing areas at a easy unrushed pace of walking. Seen more sights than I expected.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Alhambra and Generalife Gardens Half-Day Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message