One of the sites most visitors encounter when they enter the South Rim is Mather Point. It’s an astonishing, breathtaking glimpse into the Grand Canyon. Best of all, you’re a short walk to the Canyon View Information Plaza, where you can pick up ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 1456 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

NITEEN N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Professional Drivers.
Enough time to See Hoover Dam and Two Grand Canyon Points.

Doing what: Grand Canyon South Rim Bus Tour with Optional Upgrades

NITEEN N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Professional Drivers.
Enough time to See Hoover Dam and Two Grand Canyon Points.

Doing what: Grand Canyon South Rim Bus Tour with Optional Upgrades

mtvanbeek

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

It was a very long day but there were enough stops plus informational videos and movies on the coach to make it enjoyable. I recommend the upgrade Pink Jeep afternoon tour/IMAX/lunch. We got to visit incredible lookouts with our special guide taking us to his favorite spots! Loved it.

Doing what: Grand Canyon South Rim Bus Tour with Optional Upgrades

Lita.plaza899

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

The pick-up time was accurate. Lunch was included and it was excellent, there were so many choices. We also selected the tour with 3D movie and were not disappointed. On the way back to Las Vegas, we stop for a bite to eat. I would recommend this tour to anyone who does not want to spend a lot of money.

Doing what: Grand Canyon South Rim Bus Tour with Optional Upgrades

Miss Jo L S United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

This trip was well organised and the included lunch was delicious. We opted for the 2-hour jeep hour which was brilliant, the tour guide took us to the best locations for photos. I wish I could do it all again, one day isn't enough at this awesome place.

Doing what: Grand Canyon South Rim Bus Tour with Optional Upgrades

Keith A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

the bus trip was good. Driver was full of anecdotes kept the trip interesting. there was also a tape? about the history of Vegas as well to keep you entertained. They did encourage you to buy a helicopter ride or jeep exploration. we didn't bother there is plenty to see just walking around.
the only bad experience was the lunch stop before seeing the canyon, you are given vouchers for a meal at the stop, pizza hut outlet, you only have a limited time there but when you have 6 or 7 coach loads of people descending on a place built to accommodate 2 coach loads you end up in a massive queue and when you get to the food service your choice is limited to what's left, then there is no seats available to sit and have your food as they cannot cope with the amount of people, And there are places across the road empty, as the vouchers are only valid for the one place.
the grand canyon is fantastic and its a fantastic day out.

Doing what: Grand Canyon South Rim Bus Tour with Optional Upgrades

Jenjen Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Loved this trip. It was about 18 hours in total for the day, but didnt really feel that long at the time. They first picked us up at 6am and stopped at a few other hotels to pick more people up. We then got to the bus terminal and they checked us in, there was a coffee shop and bathroom at terminal so we got to get breakfast and use the bathroom if needed.
We then got to the bus, found our seats and we were off. The bus had a bathroom too, not that many people used it as we stopped at lot but it was good to know it was there incase of an emergancy. After about 1 and a half hours we stopped at the hoover dam, we got 20 mins here. Got to see the dam then back on the bus. There was bathrooms here too but the line was crazy.
About 2 hours of driving we stopped again at McDonalds. The time betwneen these stops went really fast. The driver spoke a lot and tbere was little videos about the towns we were passing. After this was another 2 hours. At this place we got lunch, there was a few options for lunch including pizza, sandwiches and chicken and rice. We watched an imax video too. I thought that was stupid, we were 15 mins from the GC and we werre watching a movie about it. After an hour here we made our first stop at the GC, it was amazing here, we didnt stay long becuase the altitude was low. But the views here werre awesome. We then went to another point were the lodges were. We watched the sunset here, i loved the views here and we had about 2 hours, it was nice to just sit and watch the views. We got back on the bus after that and they put a movie on. We only had 1 stop on the way home, it went pretty fast. I brought a tablet with my own movies and some snacks so i was pretty comfortable. When we got back to the strip we had to get on anothed bus. This was anouying at the time becuase we had to get off our bus, but they did this to split up the hotels so it was good becuase there wasnt as many stops. We got dropped off at 10pm.
We had a 3 week holiday in the states and this was probably the best day we had. Would recomend it for sure, i am not someone who likes long drives either and i was very comfortable.

Doing what: Grand Canyon South Rim Bus Tour with Optional Upgrades

yhlu

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2017

I wish we could stop at Coulee Dam for a complete viewing of the Dam instead of just parking in the back of the Dam.
We didn't get chance to walk on the Dam.

Doing what: Grand Canyon South Rim Bus Tour with Optional Upgrades

A M

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2017

Grand Canyon was awesome. Our bus driver was miserably irritable all day, and considering we were on the bus for almost 10 hours in total, it really dampened what was otherwise a great experience. We were informed by staff at the Grand Canyon Visitor Centre that our bus driver has a reputation for being irritable. Why is he still driving for the tour company? I'd recommend the additional Jeep tour if you can afford it.

Doing what: Grand Canyon South Rim Bus Tour with Optional Upgrades

Dave P

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2017

The tour was a standard Gray bus Line tour which was OK, but it was a long trip to get to the South side. Most of the travel time was filled with watching Christmas themed DVDs. Our driver was very professional and our bus comfortably new. The brief stop at the Dam site was a bit of a disappointment, but the Canyon was my reason for the trip. Staff at the National Geographic and IMAX were expedient and the simple included lunch was sufficient. I was the only person from my bus who opted for a pink Jeep tour and only one of 3 In the the Jeep which allowed me to see a bit more off the beaten track scenic sites, some assisted photo ops. I would recommend both the IMAX and Jeep upgrades or possibly some more personalized tour options.

Doing what: Grand Canyon South Rim Bus Tour with Optional Upgrades

Sandra P

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
January 2017

If you don't upgrade to the extra 100 per person limo van, then don't do this. Better yet, do the Hoover Dam Tour and the Red Rock Canyon Tour instead. This South Rim Tour was way too long on a cramped, crowded bus stopping at spots where other crowded buses are stopping - the only thing I remember about this experience was just wanting it to end.

Doing what: Grand Canyon South Rim Bus Tour with Optional Upgrades

dlewis33

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
January 2017

There was too much waiting around, especially waiting at a visitor center for 1.5 hours while about 20 of the group watched an IMax movie. 15 hour trip and only about two hours at the Grand Canyon. Next time I'll rent a car and drive myself.

Doing what: Grand Canyon South Rim Bus Tour with Optional Upgrades

bentes a

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
January 2017

People of Gray line treat you like cattle, No courtesy at all !!
The rude driver picks you up at the hotel and takes you to the company headquaters to pay a US 10,00 fee?!! You stay there in lines and waiting for the bus at 6:00 in the morning for about 45 minutes!
Only after that, you start the trip. Two unecessary stops. One at Mcdonalds to get a snack one hour and half before luch and one hour for lunch. The luch is awful and the place is incredibly crowded. You stand there with your plate on your hand for 10 min to finally get a table. And they also ofer a 3D film about Grand Canyon. EVERYTHING BUT THE GRAND CANYON!
On the way back, they stop for bathroom and snack in a filthy and tiny place, with lines and people everywhere, The restrooms are filthy and the food... well nobory had to guts to eat it.
They must get money to stop at that horrible place, only reasonable explanation.
Well, only two hours at the Grand Canyon in a 14 hours trip!
If there were no stops at the headquaters, no 3D film and a quick stop for luch and bathroom in a decent place, we would have almost 4 hours at Grand Canyon. And this math took me 5 minutes. Imagine how better the trip would be if they made a real effort to improve it.
My advice, Go with another company.

Doing what: Grand Canyon South Rim Bus Tour with Optional Upgrades

Gary W

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
January 2017

We were given a pickup time of 6.15am but the shuttle was 30mins late.They then took us to the main ticket office where the staff presented more upgrade options which simply ate into the tour time. We did not leave the the ticket office until 9.00am. Once on the bus, we were then told by the driver that we would not be stopping at Hoover Dam which is one of 2 main attractions on this tour reason given was that we were running late .This was extremely disappointing given that it was the reason for booking this tour.With the scheduled lunch stop we didn't get to Grand Canyon until 3.00pm. Then given 2 hours at the canyon and it was back on the bus.The driver drove over the Hoover Dam bypass as if this was an acceptable alternative but bearing in mind it was December , it was already dark so couldn't even get a decent picture.Got back to the hotel at 11.30pm. In summary we went on a very long drive for lunch and 2 hours at the canyon.
I appreciate it is a long drive out from Vegas but this tour can be managed better to allow more time at the sights.

Doing what: Grand Canyon South Rim Bus Tour with Optional Upgrades

misudad629

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

The Grand Canyon Tour was unbelievable! I was picked up from my hotel, on time, and from there it was fun. We stopped at the Hoover Dam, for 15 min, took pictures, and we were on our way. I upgraded to the pink jeep tour, and our guide Brady was friendly, informative and the real deal! It was a long day, and worth every moment of it. The Grand Canyon is spectacular!

Doing what: Grand Canyon South Rim Bus Tour with Optional Upgrades

Anelen H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

We enjoyed this tour so much.. The views was breathtaking. It is a must for everyone going to Vegas..

Doing what: Grand Canyon South Rim Bus Tour with Optional Upgrades

Rowena Quiambao Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Dream com true to see the Grand Canyon. I even met with my friend whom I haven't seen in years who lives in Vegas. A must do trip!!!

Doing what: Grand Canyon South Rim Bus Tour with Optional Upgrades

rafaelayala83

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2016

The tour was done by Grey LIne to the grand canyon south rim. To be honest, the bus should be more confortable due to the fact that you will be there around 9 hours. It is a modest bus, with seat not so confortables. This bus, is adequate for the west rim, but not for the south rim. The tour itself is very good orginized and the timing is very important. Should be a plus if the instructions and explanations across the travel were spoken in multi-language due to the different type of tourist. The driver plays an important role during the travel. Mine was ok, nothing extraordinary...They advertised to have WIFI in the bus all the way, but you only get connected for 15 minutes..The IMAX movie, well, not so good. In summary, the Grand Canyon itself is the very extraordinary thing of the travel!

Doing what: Grand Canyon South Rim Bus Tour with Optional Upgrades

Sharadhi S

3 star rating: Worth doing
December 2016

it took forever to reach and the guide was talking rubbish

Doing what: Grand Canyon South Rim Bus Tour with Optional Upgrades

dprabhudev

3 star rating: Worth doing
December 2016

Travelling from LAS VEGAS to Grand Canyon and back 900 kms 570 miles in one day, meaning you are spending most of your time travelling in the bus and very less time at the Grand Canyon.

First I would recommend the travelers especially first time travelers to travel during summer as the vibrant colors and the texture of the plateau can be seen and enjoyed while the sun is shining.

One needs to go on a hike in the valley too.

If possible for those who would like to explore the Grand Canyon even further, it would be better to have a two day tour with a night stay at the Canyon with some amount of planned activities.

Month of November the whether could start becoming harsh with snowing at times.

Doing what: Grand Canyon South Rim Bus Tour with Optional Upgrades

rosemary-pecoraro

3 star rating: Worth doing
December 2016

I personally wouldn't take again because we didn't get much time on our own before we had to head back. If you don't like driving from Las Vegas for 5 hours this is for you. Next time we will drive so we have more time

Doing what: Grand Canyon South Rim Bus Tour with Optional Upgrades

Jane B

3 star rating: Worth doing
December 2016

16 hour day but only 1.5 hours viewing Grand Canyon. Recorded tour guide so driver did nothing but drive and chastise passengers who weren and #39;t on time. Didn and #39;t play videos - when asked why not, told he didn and #39;t bother with those anymore. We didn and #39;t bother with a tip. Schedule should change for winter.

Doing what: Grand Canyon South Rim Bus Tour with Optional Upgrades

Natalie R

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
December 2016

Disappointing tour. The grand canyon itself is fantastic but we arrived too late to really see it. The bus picked us up at 6am but by the time we went to the depot etc we didn't leave till 8am and hence after the long bus drive, we arrived really late. The light was not good for photos due to the late arrival and we felt very rushed. The tour was not a lean process and needs some work. It could be organised much better. The meal stop on the way home was also atrocious and we are not picky about food. I would definitely drive there independently and avoid this tour in the future.

Doing what: Grand Canyon South Rim Bus Tour with Optional Upgrades

Shannon

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
December 2016

The Grand Canyon was fantastic, I wouldn't use this tour company again. I paid extra for a tour that was door to door and although my hotel was one listed, and it was supposed to be door to door... they didn't do that. In the morning at 5 when it was dark I had to walk a couple of blocks and wait for the bus in a convenient spot, and then coming home at ten the driver dropped me a few blocks away so he didn't have to go out of his way. Which meant I had to work out where I was and then walk home in the dark through a not so nice part of Vegas. I am female, young and travelling alone, specifically why I chose a tour that was door to door. I felt unsafe and that spoiled the whole thing.

Doing what: Grand Canyon South Rim Bus Tour with Optional Upgrades

JUSTYNE H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Wonderful tour! Got to see Hoover Dam with a picture taking stop. There were 2 different areas of the Grand Canyon we visited along with a stop with lunch included and where one can watch a movie or browse their gift shop. The only issue I had was at the end of the tour when they switched bus drivers. He seemed a little disorganized or not knowledgable with the route with getting back to the hotels so got back a little late after this long day.

Doing what: Grand Canyon South Rim Bus Tour with Optional Upgrades

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message