One of the sites most visitors encounter when they enter the South Rim is Mather Point. It’s an astonishing, breathtaking glimpse into the Grand Canyon. Best of all, you’re a short walk to the Canyon View Information Plaza, where you can pick up ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 1468 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Edward J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

Great trip out to the Grand Canyon from Las Vegas, the whole day exceeded our expectations, we are just so pleased we booked this trip and we will remember it always.

Doing what: Grand Canyon South Rim Bus Tour with Optional Upgrades

Thomas P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

An incredible trip! The tour guide was informative and the bus was comfortable. The only downside was that we only stayed at the canyon for 2 hours. Overall, it was a great experience!

Doing what: Grand Canyon South Rim Bus Tour with Optional Upgrades

sumit.talwar

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

If this is a first time visit to Las Vegas or anywhere close, definitely take out time to go to Grand Canyon. Its a natural wonder like which I have never seen such anywhere in the world. Now, if you have decided to go to Grand Canyon, do go to South Rim as this is the most scenic of all the Grand Canyon viewing points. Would rate the trip as below:
Plan as described on the website
Pricing as describerd on the website.
Timing as described on the website: started at 6 AM pickup from The Venetian and got dropped at 10:30 PM at the hotel. It is definitely tiring
Friendly driver
The only areas of improvement are:
- Comfort of the bus: Could have been more spacious seats to accommodate a bulky guy like me
- Pick up from the hotel takes almost 1.5 hours to complete in the morning

All in all - a definite recommendation. !

Doing what: Grand Canyon South Rim Bus Tour with Optional Upgrades

Araceli H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

The tour was excellent and our tour guide was funny and punctual. I loved that! Be on time people or we will leave you!

Doing what: Grand Canyon South Rim Bus Tour with Optional Upgrades

Tracey S

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2017

Long Coach journey but worth the view at the end. Be prepared for helicopter flight to be cancelled due to weather especially in January and February, this can be quite a disapointment. Didn't stop at the hoover dam only on way back for a photo graph in the dark from the coach window. If the weather was good I suspect this trip would be a whole lot better.

Doing what: Grand Canyon South Rim Bus Tour with Optional Upgrades

Vicky B

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2017

The Grand canyon can not be described in words. Amazing is all I can say. The bis driver was excellent. Although a very long day it was worth it.

Doing what: Grand Canyon South Rim Bus Tour with Optional Upgrades

Jason P

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2017

Since there are multiple companies that do tours to the Grand Canyon, l will focus on that aspect of the experience. I think a good driver can make or break the experience. In our case, we had Thomas, and Thomas did not disappoint. He was informative and funny the entire trip. It did not feel like it was 2.5-3 hrs both ways.

I should mention that because the south rim tour bus was so full, they offered 2 seats to anyone who wanted to go on the West rim bus instead. So glad we piped up first!!! Instead of getting back at 8pm or later, we were back at 5pm. This leaves 3 hours to do what you want at the Grand Canyon. More than enough time for us.

Now for the not so great. It started with a reminder call at 440am. As most people know, hotel phones ring crazy loud. Since we were up late, we set at our timing to be up at 515am for a 6am pickup. All this call accomplished was pissing us off. If someone is too irresponsible to get to the bus on time then that is on them.

Anyway, up we were and firmly stationed at the agreed to bus stop. My thought was if they can wake me up early to be on time then they should be on time. Over 15 minutes later, the bus arrived. This driver was rude and hateful. To the point that we and other couples were going to just get off. Until almost the end of the hotel pickups, we had no idea they were picking us up from one location, just to shuttle us off to a different one to be processed and upsold before being corralled onto another bus. Maybe the guy was having a bad day. I'd give his name but he conveniently decided to not announce it.

In the end, the beauty of the canyon and the personality of Thomas made for a great combo.

Doing what: Grand Canyon South Rim Bus Tour with Optional Upgrades

NITEEN N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Professional Drivers.
Enough time to See Hoover Dam and Two Grand Canyon Points.

Doing what: Grand Canyon South Rim Bus Tour with Optional Upgrades

NITEEN N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Professional Drivers.
Enough time to See Hoover Dam and Two Grand Canyon Points.

Doing what: Grand Canyon South Rim Bus Tour with Optional Upgrades

mtvanbeek

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

It was a very long day but there were enough stops plus informational videos and movies on the coach to make it enjoyable. I recommend the upgrade Pink Jeep afternoon tour/IMAX/lunch. We got to visit incredible lookouts with our special guide taking us to his favorite spots! Loved it.

Doing what: Grand Canyon South Rim Bus Tour with Optional Upgrades

Lita.plaza899

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

The pick-up time was accurate. Lunch was included and it was excellent, there were so many choices. We also selected the tour with 3D movie and were not disappointed. On the way back to Las Vegas, we stop for a bite to eat. I would recommend this tour to anyone who does not want to spend a lot of money.

Doing what: Grand Canyon South Rim Bus Tour with Optional Upgrades

Miss Jo L S United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

This trip was well organised and the included lunch was delicious. We opted for the 2-hour jeep hour which was brilliant, the tour guide took us to the best locations for photos. I wish I could do it all again, one day isn't enough at this awesome place.

Doing what: Grand Canyon South Rim Bus Tour with Optional Upgrades

Keith A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

the bus trip was good. Driver was full of anecdotes kept the trip interesting. there was also a tape? about the history of Vegas as well to keep you entertained. They did encourage you to buy a helicopter ride or jeep exploration. we didn't bother there is plenty to see just walking around.
the only bad experience was the lunch stop before seeing the canyon, you are given vouchers for a meal at the stop, pizza hut outlet, you only have a limited time there but when you have 6 or 7 coach loads of people descending on a place built to accommodate 2 coach loads you end up in a massive queue and when you get to the food service your choice is limited to what's left, then there is no seats available to sit and have your food as they cannot cope with the amount of people, And there are places across the road empty, as the vouchers are only valid for the one place.
the grand canyon is fantastic and its a fantastic day out.

Doing what: Grand Canyon South Rim Bus Tour with Optional Upgrades

Jenjen Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Loved this trip. It was about 18 hours in total for the day, but didnt really feel that long at the time. They first picked us up at 6am and stopped at a few other hotels to pick more people up. We then got to the bus terminal and they checked us in, there was a coffee shop and bathroom at terminal so we got to get breakfast and use the bathroom if needed.
We then got to the bus, found our seats and we were off. The bus had a bathroom too, not that many people used it as we stopped at lot but it was good to know it was there incase of an emergancy. After about 1 and a half hours we stopped at the hoover dam, we got 20 mins here. Got to see the dam then back on the bus. There was bathrooms here too but the line was crazy.
About 2 hours of driving we stopped again at McDonalds. The time betwneen these stops went really fast. The driver spoke a lot and tbere was little videos about the towns we were passing. After this was another 2 hours. At this place we got lunch, there was a few options for lunch including pizza, sandwiches and chicken and rice. We watched an imax video too. I thought that was stupid, we were 15 mins from the GC and we werre watching a movie about it. After an hour here we made our first stop at the GC, it was amazing here, we didnt stay long becuase the altitude was low. But the views here werre awesome. We then went to another point were the lodges were. We watched the sunset here, i loved the views here and we had about 2 hours, it was nice to just sit and watch the views. We got back on the bus after that and they put a movie on. We only had 1 stop on the way home, it went pretty fast. I brought a tablet with my own movies and some snacks so i was pretty comfortable. When we got back to the strip we had to get on anothed bus. This was anouying at the time becuase we had to get off our bus, but they did this to split up the hotels so it was good becuase there wasnt as many stops. We got dropped off at 10pm.
We had a 3 week holiday in the states and this was probably the best day we had. Would recomend it for sure, i am not someone who likes long drives either and i was very comfortable.

Doing what: Grand Canyon South Rim Bus Tour with Optional Upgrades

Roy R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

It was a long trip going to grand canyon but definitely worth it! for those who want to see more of the canyon i suggest getting the pink jeepney tour:

Doing what: Grand Canyon South Rim Bus Tour with Optional Upgrades

yhlu

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2017

I wish we could stop at Coulee Dam for a complete viewing of the Dam instead of just parking in the back of the Dam.
We didn't get chance to walk on the Dam.

Doing what: Grand Canyon South Rim Bus Tour with Optional Upgrades

A M

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2017

Grand Canyon was awesome. Our bus driver was miserably irritable all day, and considering we were on the bus for almost 10 hours in total, it really dampened what was otherwise a great experience. We were informed by staff at the Grand Canyon Visitor Centre that our bus driver has a reputation for being irritable. Why is he still driving for the tour company? I'd recommend the additional Jeep tour if you can afford it.

Doing what: Grand Canyon South Rim Bus Tour with Optional Upgrades

Victoria M

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2017

This was a really long day - but we were well and truly looked after and the canyon was as breathtaking as you could ever imagine. We upgraded to the VIP service and got to do three lookout points. It was just about enough time to get some photos - an extra 15 mins in two of the locations wouldnt have gone amiss but overall we got enough photos and saw everything we wanted to. The driver was friendly and knowledgable. I think the IMAX viewing could be better - its a little old school and am sure with modern tech you could make it more of an experience considering its an upgrade. I also think there could be more in the way of objects from the ages from the canyon in the museum section just to give a bit more of a feel for the history and things found over time. But overall and incredible day and considering the distance covered its all extremely well organised in terms of the commentary and timings. Grayline are superb - the coaches and buses are lovely and the terminal is extremely well maintained and organised. Super professional team - Id definitely do a tour with them again.

Doing what: Grand Canyon South Rim Bus Tour with Optional Upgrades

Dave P

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2017

The tour was a standard Gray bus Line tour which was OK, but it was a long trip to get to the South side. Most of the travel time was filled with watching Christmas themed DVDs. Our driver was very professional and our bus comfortably new. The brief stop at the Dam site was a bit of a disappointment, but the Canyon was my reason for the trip. Staff at the National Geographic and IMAX were expedient and the simple included lunch was sufficient. I was the only person from my bus who opted for a pink Jeep tour and only one of 3 In the the Jeep which allowed me to see a bit more off the beaten track scenic sites, some assisted photo ops. I would recommend both the IMAX and Jeep upgrades or possibly some more personalized tour options.

Doing what: Grand Canyon South Rim Bus Tour with Optional Upgrades

Sandra P

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
January 2017

If you don't upgrade to the extra 100 per person limo van, then don't do this. Better yet, do the Hoover Dam Tour and the Red Rock Canyon Tour instead. This South Rim Tour was way too long on a cramped, crowded bus stopping at spots where other crowded buses are stopping - the only thing I remember about this experience was just wanting it to end.

Doing what: Grand Canyon South Rim Bus Tour with Optional Upgrades

dlewis33

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
January 2017

There was too much waiting around, especially waiting at a visitor center for 1.5 hours while about 20 of the group watched an IMax movie. 15 hour trip and only about two hours at the Grand Canyon. Next time I'll rent a car and drive myself.

Doing what: Grand Canyon South Rim Bus Tour with Optional Upgrades

Jonathon S

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
January 2017

The trip to the West was great and the view was breathtaking. I would recommend all my friends to go to the West. I problem was that after we paid for our trip online there was an addition charge of 80 for extra services that was unclear to me. I would like to know why that was not included in the on price. So be aware of that my fellow travels.

Doing what: Grand Canyon South Rim Bus Tour with Optional Upgrades

bentes a

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
January 2017

People of Gray line treat you like cattle, No courtesy at all !!
The rude driver picks you up at the hotel and takes you to the company headquaters to pay a US 10,00 fee?!! You stay there in lines and waiting for the bus at 6:00 in the morning for about 45 minutes!
Only after that, you start the trip. Two unecessary stops. One at Mcdonalds to get a snack one hour and half before luch and one hour for lunch. The luch is awful and the place is incredibly crowded. You stand there with your plate on your hand for 10 min to finally get a table. And they also ofer a 3D film about Grand Canyon. EVERYTHING BUT THE GRAND CANYON!
On the way back, they stop for bathroom and snack in a filthy and tiny place, with lines and people everywhere, The restrooms are filthy and the food... well nobory had to guts to eat it.
They must get money to stop at that horrible place, only reasonable explanation.
Well, only two hours at the Grand Canyon in a 14 hours trip!
If there were no stops at the headquaters, no 3D film and a quick stop for luch and bathroom in a decent place, we would have almost 4 hours at Grand Canyon. And this math took me 5 minutes. Imagine how better the trip would be if they made a real effort to improve it.
My advice, Go with another company.

Doing what: Grand Canyon South Rim Bus Tour with Optional Upgrades

Gary W

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
January 2017

We were given a pickup time of 6.15am but the shuttle was 30mins late.They then took us to the main ticket office where the staff presented more upgrade options which simply ate into the tour time. We did not leave the the ticket office until 9.00am. Once on the bus, we were then told by the driver that we would not be stopping at Hoover Dam which is one of 2 main attractions on this tour reason given was that we were running late .This was extremely disappointing given that it was the reason for booking this tour.With the scheduled lunch stop we didn't get to Grand Canyon until 3.00pm. Then given 2 hours at the canyon and it was back on the bus.The driver drove over the Hoover Dam bypass as if this was an acceptable alternative but bearing in mind it was December , it was already dark so couldn't even get a decent picture.Got back to the hotel at 11.30pm. In summary we went on a very long drive for lunch and 2 hours at the canyon.
I appreciate it is a long drive out from Vegas but this tour can be managed better to allow more time at the sights.

Doing what: Grand Canyon South Rim Bus Tour with Optional Upgrades

ramhibane

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
January 2017

I ahve already sent mail about my worst experience..but no appropriate output is not given

Doing what: Grand Canyon South Rim Bus Tour with Optional Upgrades

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message