For those visiting the Grand Canyon in winter, there are some essential planning tips and recommendations you should keep in mind. During winter the North Rim is closed, although the South Rim is still an excellent option full of scenic hiking ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 219 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Mary K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Ted was our guide and we did the longer tour - he was so knowledgeable and fun to be with, he helped with photos and pointed out tips for other places in the area. October was also a great time of year to go.

Doing what: Grand Canyon East Rim Drive by Jeep and IMAX Movie

pbodovinac

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Had an Amazing trip....train ride was a lot of fun.....our train guide amber was awesome....lots of info and and had fun...took my parents on this trip to the grand canyon along with my gf and her son....we all had a blast...Highly recommend going

Doing what: Grand Canyon Railway Adventure Package

Stephen A K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

THE FOOD AT LUNCH WASN'T VERY GOOD...UCK...

Doing what: Grand Canyon Railway Adventure Package

Graeme H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Two hour each way highly entertaining train trip. Saw a lot, laughed a lot, relaxed a lot.

Doing what: Grand Canyon Railway Adventure Package

Eugenia C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

This trip was well worth the ride. 2 hours to the train, 2 hours to the Grand Canyon.....The bus tour to the Canyon overlooks was great. A little more time would have been better, we should have stayed over night. I wish there had been a bathroom on the bus or at each overlook spot. Its a lot drier there than at home, so I was trying to stay hydrated....
The train ride to and from was great. Good family fun! Kathy with a K was fantastic! Very friendly and accommodating. We played some interesting games on the way back to pass the time. The roving Singers were very talented. I'm a bit old to believe in gunslingers robbing the train, however, it was a fun diversion! Had a wonderful time!
I'm thinking of a fun job for retirement...hmmm :

Doing what: Grand Canyon Railway Adventure Package

Elverita T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Great fun. Everyone was helpful and polite. Cowboys were lots of fun. Train ride enjoyable.

Doing what: Grand Canyon Railway Adventure Package

James R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Fun, educational, beautiful, uncomparable to other parks. Loved it, will go back again. Loved our PSA
Kathy K. Full of energy and creative ways to keep us entertained.

Doing what: Grand Canyon Railway Adventure Package

Alice B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

This was the best way to see the Grand Canyon. They treated you first class from the time you arrived. They had a Wild West show to start off the morning. The train ride was full of entertainment and history as we ventured through to the Canyon. The train let you off right inside the Canyon. No need to try and find a parking place. Our tour bus was waiting for us and gave us a nice 1-1/2 hour tour throughout the Canyon. On the way home the outlaws from our western show held up the train. Very entertaining.

Doing what: Grand Canyon Railway Adventure Package

Larry K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

One of the best tours every taken! The sunset tour provided excellent information about the canyon, nature and the animals that call it home. Our guide was entertaining, as well as, informative. The grouping was just right..not too may piled into the jeep. The views were amazing!

Doing what: Grand Canyon East Rim Drive by Jeep and IMAX Movie

Mary B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

The train ride was great. Even in the rain we had a good time. Didn't see a lot because of the rain but still a lot of fun.

Doing what: Grand Canyon Railway Adventure Package

Thelma P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

This was a good tour to take. Our tour guide, Chris, did a great job. He had a lot of information and stopped frequently for us to take pictures. He even spoke German to the two ladies from Germany that were on the tour. The ride on the train was okay, but it is not very scenic.

Doing what: Grand Canyon Railroad Excursion

James B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

This train trip to the Grand Canyon was the best of all vacations! An old West skit with real cowboys starts it all off and then a trip of a lifetime ride on a train, and of course that is just the beginning I won't ruin the surprise but you just have to book this for your family....you and your family will be thrilled. Even if we had not got to the Grand Canyon the train ride was the best of it all. Great trip, great service, great value for the money.

Doing what: Grand Canyon Railway Adventure Package

Pascal L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Entertainment provided. Great scenery. Easy to board, great service, rigid schedule and on time departures.

Doing what: Grand Canyon Railway Adventure Package

james s

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

The tour guide was very patient and very knowalgeable I would give it a 5 star

Doing what: Grand Canyon East Rim Drive by Jeep and IMAX Movie

Alice Jo W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

We were extremely happy with this tour, both on the train up to the Grand Canyon and on the return trip with our tour guide, Tye. We saw much more than we anticipated. Tye was not only knowledgeable but saw to all our needs. He went way beyond when one of the ladies in the tour group left a package back on the train. Many thanks!

Doing what: Grand Canyon Railroad Excursion

John C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

The best time ever.

Doing what: Grand Canyon Railway Adventure Package

Edwin J N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Absolutely phenomenal experience. If you are somewhat flexible with timing, do what you can to get scheduled with Ted Riley. Has many years there and it is personal for him. This was NOT a tour...It WAS a wonderful life experience! Ted knows the best views and takes pictures of you and your family. The pics he takes are truly award winning quality

Doing what: Grand Canyon East Rim Drive by Jeep and IMAX Movie

Susan W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Excellent experience ! The train ride was fun and something different. Our guide picked us up at the designated spot at the Canyon. She drove around the South Rim and East Rim and stopped at numerous overlooks. She was very knowledgeable and knew the best ones to stop at. She also explained a lot of the science and history of the Canyon how it was formed, how old the rocks were, etc. Well worth the price.

Doing what: Grand Canyon Railroad Excursion

sjc1962

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Our tour guide Frank was amazing! I would not have wanted to see the Grand Canyon any other way. He was so informative and his delivery was spot on. He wasn and #39;t like other guides who try and be all cutsy. He was a wealth of knowledge from research and experience. He took us to the best look outs!

Doing what: Grand Canyon East Rim Drive by Jeep and IMAX Movie

Robert K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Although this tour is a long drive to/from the Grand Canyon/Las Vegas, our driver Tom was very knowledgeable, informative, and interesting, and made the drive enjoyable. This tour provided several amazing vantage points to view the South Rim. We really enjoyed the tour and would highly recommend it.

Doing what: Grand Canyon South Rim by Tour Trekker

christopher e g

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Excellent tour, good hotel, great breakfast, nice weather, thankyou.

Doing what: Grand Canyon IMAX Movie

Joyce D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

This tour was A1 because of our tour guide, Gerry. From the time he picked us up at the hotel exactly on time, to the informative drive to Williams to board the train, which he purchased the tickets for us. He met us when the train arrived at the Grand Canyon with bottled water and a fantastic picnic lunch which we ate on the scenic south rim. He then drove to various spots we would have never been able to find on our own, to experience different views of the Canyon. We then went to the Navajo Indian Reservation which had beautiful hand made jewelry, rugs etc. Our ride back to the hotel seemed to take no time as Gerry held our attention by telling us wonderful exciting stories of the area...thank you Gerry, you made the tour 5s.

Doing what: Grand Canyon Railroad Excursion

Vasu N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

It was an awesome experience. Everything worked just as expected. Sean our guide was superb. His explanation of various things added to the program. And the movie was exceptional.
I would highly recommend this item to be added to anyone visiting GC.

Vasu

Doing what: Grand Canyon East Rim Drive by Jeep and IMAX Movie

Linda M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Staff was extremely nice and very entertaining. Train trip had a lady playing accordion and singing, and on the way back we had a guitarist who played whatever songs you wanted him to. Lots of fun humor to make the trip seem shorter. The Train attendant took time to get to know everyone. Train had a cafe that offered chips, sodas, ice-cream at nominal charges. Bus tour guide was very informative and bus took us places only hikers and cyclists were allowed to go. He showed us a 30 year old agave that blooms only once every 30 years off the beaten track. We saw beautiful sights of the Grand Canyon with the green Colorado River below.Trip was very organized and well planned. We opted for no lunch and had an hour and a half to eat at restaurant of our choosing. Bus guide pushed the Arizona Room which had good service but mediocre food 2 tacos, Caesar Salad, Turkey sandwich 11-12 each. The whole thing started at 9 am and we didn't get back to train station until 5:30 or 6, so it was a long day but worth it.

Doing what: Grand Canyon Railway Adventure Package

Brian E

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Excellent film! Very educational.

Doing what: Grand Canyon IMAX Movie

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message