For those visiting the Grand Canyon in winter, there are some essential planning tips and recommendations you should keep in mind. During winter the North Rim is closed, although the South Rim is still an excellent option full of scenic hiking ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 208 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Mary B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

The train ride was great. Even in the rain we had a good time. Didn't see a lot because of the rain but still a lot of fun.

Doing what: Grand Canyon Railway Adventure Package

Thelma P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

This was a good tour to take. Our tour guide, Chris, did a great job. He had a lot of information and stopped frequently for us to take pictures. He even spoke German to the two ladies from Germany that were on the tour. The ride on the train was okay, but it is not very scenic.

Doing what: Grand Canyon Railroad Excursion

James B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

This train trip to the Grand Canyon was the best of all vacations! An old West skit with real cowboys starts it all off and then a trip of a lifetime ride on a train, and of course that is just the beginning I won't ruin the surprise but you just have to book this for your family....you and your family will be thrilled. Even if we had not got to the Grand Canyon the train ride was the best of it all. Great trip, great service, great value for the money.

Doing what: Grand Canyon Railway Adventure Package

Pascal L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Entertainment provided. Great scenery. Easy to board, great service, rigid schedule and on time departures.

Doing what: Grand Canyon Railway Adventure Package

james s

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

The tour guide was very patient and very knowalgeable I would give it a 5 star

Doing what: Grand Canyon East Rim Drive by Jeep and IMAX Movie

Alice Jo W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

We were extremely happy with this tour, both on the train up to the Grand Canyon and on the return trip with our tour guide, Tye. We saw much more than we anticipated. Tye was not only knowledgeable but saw to all our needs. He went way beyond when one of the ladies in the tour group left a package back on the train. Many thanks!

Doing what: Grand Canyon Railroad Excursion

John C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

The best time ever.

Doing what: Grand Canyon Railway Adventure Package

Edwin J N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Absolutely phenomenal experience. If you are somewhat flexible with timing, do what you can to get scheduled with Ted Riley. Has many years there and it is personal for him. This was NOT a tour...It WAS a wonderful life experience! Ted knows the best views and takes pictures of you and your family. The pics he takes are truly award winning quality

Doing what: Grand Canyon East Rim Drive by Jeep and IMAX Movie

Susan W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Excellent experience ! The train ride was fun and something different. Our guide picked us up at the designated spot at the Canyon. She drove around the South Rim and East Rim and stopped at numerous overlooks. She was very knowledgeable and knew the best ones to stop at. She also explained a lot of the science and history of the Canyon how it was formed, how old the rocks were, etc. Well worth the price.

Doing what: Grand Canyon Railroad Excursion

sjc1962

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Our tour guide Frank was amazing! I would not have wanted to see the Grand Canyon any other way. He was so informative and his delivery was spot on. He wasn and #39;t like other guides who try and be all cutsy. He was a wealth of knowledge from research and experience. He took us to the best look outs!

Doing what: Grand Canyon East Rim Drive by Jeep and IMAX Movie

Robert K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Although this tour is a long drive to/from the Grand Canyon/Las Vegas, our driver Tom was very knowledgeable, informative, and interesting, and made the drive enjoyable. This tour provided several amazing vantage points to view the South Rim. We really enjoyed the tour and would highly recommend it.

Doing what: Grand Canyon South Rim by Tour Trekker

christopher e g

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Excellent tour, good hotel, great breakfast, nice weather, thankyou.

Doing what: Grand Canyon IMAX Movie

Joyce D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

This tour was A1 because of our tour guide, Gerry. From the time he picked us up at the hotel exactly on time, to the informative drive to Williams to board the train, which he purchased the tickets for us. He met us when the train arrived at the Grand Canyon with bottled water and a fantastic picnic lunch which we ate on the scenic south rim. He then drove to various spots we would have never been able to find on our own, to experience different views of the Canyon. We then went to the Navajo Indian Reservation which had beautiful hand made jewelry, rugs etc. Our ride back to the hotel seemed to take no time as Gerry held our attention by telling us wonderful exciting stories of the area...thank you Gerry, you made the tour 5s.

Doing what: Grand Canyon Railroad Excursion

Vasu N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

It was an awesome experience. Everything worked just as expected. Sean our guide was superb. His explanation of various things added to the program. And the movie was exceptional.
I would highly recommend this item to be added to anyone visiting GC.

Vasu

Doing what: Grand Canyon East Rim Drive by Jeep and IMAX Movie

Linda M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Staff was extremely nice and very entertaining. Train trip had a lady playing accordion and singing, and on the way back we had a guitarist who played whatever songs you wanted him to. Lots of fun humor to make the trip seem shorter. The Train attendant took time to get to know everyone. Train had a cafe that offered chips, sodas, ice-cream at nominal charges. Bus tour guide was very informative and bus took us places only hikers and cyclists were allowed to go. He showed us a 30 year old agave that blooms only once every 30 years off the beaten track. We saw beautiful sights of the Grand Canyon with the green Colorado River below.Trip was very organized and well planned. We opted for no lunch and had an hour and a half to eat at restaurant of our choosing. Bus guide pushed the Arizona Room which had good service but mediocre food 2 tacos, Caesar Salad, Turkey sandwich 11-12 each. The whole thing started at 9 am and we didn't get back to train station until 5:30 or 6, so it was a long day but worth it.

Doing what: Grand Canyon Railway Adventure Package

Brian E

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Excellent film! Very educational.

Doing what: Grand Canyon IMAX Movie

clbarenchi13

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

We had so much fun on this train, the time flew by. All of the people working on train that day had so much information and knowledge. We would recommend it to anyone including familys.

Doing what: Grand Canyon Railway Adventure Package

Helen M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Great sunset trip with the local tour operator even though sun refused to shine!
Very accomodating as changed date at short notice due to onset of bad weather.
Blankets and heater kept us warm.
Andrew, our guide, very friendly and knowledgable. Took us slightly off main path on a few occasions to get better views.

Doing what: Grand Canyon East Rim Drive by Jeep and IMAX Movie

copax7

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

The train ride was very relaxing and enjoyable even though the terrain isn't much to see. The combination of the train excursion, the village at the Grand Canyon and then the Canyon views tour was a great balance of sightseeing. A safe and convenient way to see a lot without doing any driving!

Doing what: Grand Canyon Railroad Excursion

Chris V

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

It familiarized the person with such an immense place

Doing what: Grand Canyon Railway Adventure Package

William S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

We had a great time

Doing what: Grand Canyon Railway Adventure Package

Donald L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

We had a great time.

Doing what: Grand Canyon Railway Adventure Package

Michaela D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

Beautiful scenes, and a great guide!

Doing what: Grand Canyon Railway Adventure Package

Bobby C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

The Train adventure was great. We six put it at the top of the list for our enjoyment. The trip is wel worth the money, and we will bring grandchildren back to experience the train ride, and Grand Canyon beauty.

Doing what: Grand Canyon Railway Adventure Package

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message