It’s all about the beach on the Overseas British Territory of Grand Turk, a tiny patch of paradise in the Atlantic Ocean, less than 7 miles long and 2 miles wide (11 km by 3 km). Donkeys and chickens wander the quiet roads, the colonial buildings ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 113 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Roby

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

As a Travel Agent, I experience quite a few tours but have never experienced a tour as GREAT as this one. Narration began as soon as Tracy started up the Tram. We all learned so much about the Island and his personality shone through for the whole trip. I will highly recommend this tour to my clients over any that Carnival Cruise Line offers. There is absolutely NO comparison. I was happy when we also met the Owner and her son and they guaranteed we were going to enjoy this to the ultimate, and we did. Reserve this tour through Viator - no doubt - THE BEST!!!

Doing what: Grand Turk Historical Sightseeing Tour by Tram

Jessica F

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2016

It was just my family on the tour so it was great! The guides caught conch right from the boat and cleaned up the shells as souvenirs which was a pleasant surprise. The stingray encounter was really cool and the area where we were taken to was beautiful, however all the tours went to the same exact spot so I think it scared some of the fish away for snorkeling. Still worth taking the tour though, had a great time.

Doing what: Gibbs Cay Stingray and Snorkel Adventure in Grand Turk

Meghana S

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
July 2016

First of all, we paid for the tour but did not go on it. We sent our hotel information for the pick up but never received any communication as to how/when we would be picked up. I called the company no less than 10 times the morning of the tour to no avail - nobody answered the phone. Money wasted.

Doing what: Caribbean Snorkel Tour in Grand Turk's Coral Reef

James S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

My family had a wonderful time on this trip. The beach was beautiful and our group of 6 was the only one participating in this excursion. It was an intimate experience and ours kids absolutely loved it.

Doing what: Gibbs Cay Stingray and Snorkel Adventure in Grand Turk

Mary-Jo P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

They were great...didn't nickle and dime you for extras like pictures or video, helpful, and caught conch, made conch salad fresh and gave us the shells....amazing experience

Doing what: Gibbs Cay Stingray and Snorkel Adventure in Grand Turk

Mary-Jo P

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2016

informative, great for older people with mobility issues...otherwise much better and active things to do and see

Doing what: Grand Turk Sightseeing Tour

sisul623

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2016

I enjoyed the tour. I would have paid more just so I wouldn't had to walk as far to get to the tram and back. The price to just to get on the grounds of the lighthouse should be included in the tour price.

Doing what: Grand Turk Historical Sightseeing Tour by Tram

Constance A

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2016

The tour was good but we ran out of gas on our way back to the ship and if the ship hadn and #39;t alotted extra we would have missed boarding. The tour guide knew his business and took care of things except the gas.

Doing what: Gibbs Cay Stingray and Snorkel Adventure in Grand Turk

Alton B

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2016

Needs work done on PA system.

Doing what: Grand Turk Historical Sightseeing Tour by Tram

Larry L

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
May 2016

I recently went on the excursion to Gibbs Cay in Grand Turk with Frankie and Cal. I am very disappointed in this tour, and I feel that your description does not at all reflect the experience we had. The tour was supposed to be two hours. Our tour was only one hour. Frankie showed us one stingray and then spent the rest of the time smoking on the boat with the Cal. In the description that I paid for, it states, Bob in the water with your knowledgeable guide to learn about the stingrays habitats, breeding patterns and life alongside humans. There was virtually no interaction with your guides and any of us on this tour. In fact, the only way we could pet the stingray and learn anything about them was to pretend that we were on the tour with the other group who had wonderful guides that were very involved with all of the customers. There was no offer to hold up the stingrays so we could take photos with them. It was complete involvement.

The description also reads, enjoy stops along the reef to dive into the warm Caribbean water, which teems with sea life. There were no stops along the reef to dive into the water. We went straight to Gibbs Cay and then back all within 60 minutes.

With only one day in Grand Turk, we spent a lot of time deciding how to spend our valuable day there. We were terribly disappointed with this day which did not measure up to your description by any means. I hope you will find better tour guides who actually want to be there and interact with your customers so that no one else wastes their time and money on this tour.

Doing what: Gibbs Cay Stingray and Snorkel Adventure in Grand Turk

Karen F

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
May 2016

The tour was good, BUT it did not include any bird watching. It was grossly misrepresentation of what we got. We specifically asked if it was the bird tour and were told yes and given a bird guide folder. Then we did a town and country tour. The only birds we saw were a couple of flamingos at the salt ponds. No birds were pointed out and we made no stops to see any. I have already sent information on our experience to both the museum and your company. I museum replied you didn't. The museum said that our experience certainly did not align with what you had told them you would be doing. We were very disappointed.

Doing what: Grand Turk Bird-Watching Tour by Tram

Robert W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Great Trip, walking on the small island was wonderful, snorkeling with the stingrays was wonderful, our guides were very accommodating, and helpful.

Doing what: Gibbs Cay Stingray and Snorkel Adventure in Grand Turk

michael g

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Our cruise ship arrived late and the boat was still waiting for us. Great service, very friendly crew and a wonderful experience. I would recommend this to anyone visiting Grand Turk. Worth every penny! They kept us up to date via email and were very professional.

Doing what: Gibbs Cay Stingray and Snorkel Adventure in Grand Turk

jmikuska

3 star rating: Worth doing
April 2016

We caught up to this tour on the beach just outside the cruise port. Easy to find. They were selling lots of tickets in cash at 25 USD so we actually overpaid in CAD. It was an open air tour and we had a knowledgeable guide/owner. Since we are not into laying on the beach or swimming it was a nice way to see the island including the many donkeys roaming wild.

For those planning to take the tour, be aware that there is about a five minute walk to get to the tram from the cruise port, and that the steps up to be seated are quite steep.

Doing what: Grand Turk Historical Sightseeing Tour by Tram

rausin.pam

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

We had an excursion booked but they had a problem with their boat. They work tandem with White Sands charters and tours so they took us on one of their excursions to Gibbs Cay. The owner of White Sands was awesome and we really enjoyed the excursion, our captain and crew were wonderful!!! Great experience with some great underwater video with the stingrays!

Doing what: Gibbs Cay Stingray and Snorkel Adventure in Grand Turk

Lynna B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

Island Tram is great. You not only get to see the island and hear the history, but get to stop for shopping and touring the lighthouse. This is my second time using this company myself and as a travel agent, recommend it to my clients. Doug, Raymond, Tina and the crew are very warm and friendly and do everything they can to make your visit a good experience.

Doing what: Grand Turk Historical Sightseeing Tour by Tram

Cheryl O

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

Grand Turk was our favorite! Relaxing. The beach and Margaritiville is right off the pier from the ship. The tour was very educational and interesting. The island is small, 7 miles long. My son was visited by several donkeys as he was eating chips! The tour guide was very personable and knowledgeable. I would recommend this tour if you want to know more about this beautiful island named Grand Turk.

Doing what: Grand Turk Historical Sightseeing Tour by Tram

Bradley D T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

We had a very nice time. Staff was fun, personable, laid back and helpful! Just make sure to clarify the meeting time - cruise boat time vs. island time.

Doing what: Caribbean Snorkel Tour in Grand Turk's Coral Reef

Kenneth A

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2016

we were there on a Sunday which meant it was very quiet on the Island. The tour guide did a very nice job of explaining the history of the Island and the various sites. The Lighthouse is a bit of a disappointment.

Doing what: Grand Turk Sightseeing Tour

Kathy M

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2016

Had a good tour guide and got a good look at the island.

Doing what: Grand Turk Historical Sightseeing Tour by Tram

Janice F

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2016

Very good trip. Would recommend the tour. Just wish we could have spent more time at the lighthouse.

Doing what: Grand Turk Historical Sightseeing Tour by Tram

Shannon H

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2016

This was a great way to learn about Grand Turk and get a look at everything. The tour guide we had was very knowledgeable and had grown up there so kept us entertained with stories about his childhood and the island. This is a family owned business and they were great!

Doing what: Grand Turk Historical Sightseeing Tour by Tram

Linda R

3 star rating: Worth doing
February 2016

The guide for the tour was very good! The tour itself was rushed and things you wanted to see you didn't have time to see, like the museum or the lighthouse. Overall it was a good tour of the island for information.

Doing what: Grand Turk Historical Sightseeing Tour by Tram

Patricia R

3 star rating: Worth doing
February 2016

It was just OK, they did not show up at our scheduled time, but in their defense they could not get ahold of us on our ship. The stingray part was great. The snorkeling not so great, the water was way to rough, some of us did not get in the water.

Doing what: Gibbs Cay Stingray and Snorkel Adventure in Grand Turk

Clint T

3 star rating: Worth doing
February 2016

Not a lot to see, but this tour gave a good insight to island life. Our driver was knowledgeable and eager to make the trip enjoyable. We enjoyed the time we spent on the tour.

Doing what: Grand Turk Sightseeing Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message