It’s all about the beach on the Overseas British Territory of Grand Turk, a tiny patch of paradise in the Atlantic Ocean, less than 7 miles long and 2 miles wide (11 km by 3 km). Donkeys and chickens wander the quiet roads, the colonial buildings ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 140 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Suzanne C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Wonderful experience! Rum punch, snorkeling, stingrays, and an experienced guide who took very good care of us newbies!

Doing what: Gibbs Cay Stingray and Snorkel Adventure in Grand Turk

Elizabeth S Canada

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

This was a wonderful experience - there were only 8 of us on the boat compared to through the cruise line with 50 people! We got a personalized experience with two guides. They took us through the reef in two locations. They were friendly and well preprared, brought bread to feed the fish! One of the guides swam down to a cave and brought up a nurse shark no teeth! that was about 4 ft long -- they fed the shark while we got to touch it. Wow! Our group was 4 people - included two teens. All of us felt this was the highlight of our cruise. How many people can get to pet a shark! We went on a tour a few days before with the cruise line at another port also snorkelling and it was nothing like this. No personalized attention or experience -- people were on their own in a group of about 60 people. Will use Viator again for all future excursions. Grand Turk was beautiful! Will go back for sure.

Doing what: Caribbean Snorkel Tour in Grand Turk's Coral Reef

Elizabeth A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

We had a wonderful time snorkeling grand turk. The water is absolutely beautiful and the guides were fantastic. They went above and beyond to give us a great experience. Our group was very small, which was great. Especially compared to the overcrowded boats with people who booked through the cruise ship. We went to the best sites and saw some great wildlife. Would definitely do again.

Doing what: Caribbean Snorkel Tour in Grand Turk's Coral Reef

Chris S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

This was a great, great, GREAT excursion. The mangroves are a beautiful site to see. While we kayaked through them we saw baby lemon sharks and other wildlife. The mangroves are very shallow so you can see right to the bottom. Part of the excursion was to iguana island which was really neat as we saw lots and lots of wild iguanas. The guide I had from Big Blue Unlimited was quite personable and very knowledgeable about the islands, the wildlife, and history. You don't need to be super strong or an expert kayaker to do this excursion. I highly recommend this excursion and this company.

Doing what: North Creek Kayak Adventure in Grand Turk

raymond b

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
January 2017

BUT BOOK ON SHORE IT WAS ONLY 20.

Doing what: Grand Turk Historical Sightseeing Tour by Tram

Mary C

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
January 2017

We booked a tram ride. When we arrived, there weren't enough people to warrant them taking a tram, so we were loaded into a bus with very small windows at the top that we could stand up in a moving bus and open to take pictures. As a result, I took fewer pictures. The info provided by the guide was nice, but the experience was not what I paid for.

I would not recommend this tour.

Doing what: Grand Turk Historical Sightseeing Tour by Tram

george h

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
January 2017

tour ok, but this operator could not pull into parking area, long walk to get to his vehicle unlike other tours who were in parking lot right outside of terminal area.

Doing what: Grand Turk Historical Sightseeing Tour by Tram

Tina O

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

This tour showed us most of the island. It was great! One thing that we did not realize when booking this tour was that we would have to walk a pretty good way to get on the tram. This was fine for us but the couple we were with had trouble walking so far.

Doing what: Grand Turk Historical Sightseeing Tour by Tram

nnidget

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2016

The trip was good. Caveat: It is a long walk from the ship out the gate to reach the tram. Where you originally meet is close. We waited over 1 hour for the tram and we were there at 8:30 local time and some of the first ones there. They told us to stay in the area and they would let us know when it was time to go. We noticed some of the people were gone and went and asked. They were ready to go and never told us and we were right there behind them on the beach! They told us to go out the gates. I told him that they should have told us before as I had a 75-year-old woman with me that has trouble walking long distances. I thought we would miss the tram and have to wait for the next one which would have upset me after waiting so long already. The man brought us in his vehicle so we could make the bus which was very kind. We had to sit in the back and it was difficult to understand the tour guide between the noise of the AC and the tinny speakers esp. with hearing aids. We told the driver at the first stop and we were able to change seats. Tony, our guide was very good. We enjoyed the donkeys at the lighthouse. There is a 3 admission to the lighthouse and the bathroom but they will give it back as credit if you buy something there. We had a bonus drive-by photo op at the flamingo flats.

Doing what: Grand Turk Historical Sightseeing Tour by Tram

nnidget

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2016

The tour was good. We arrived at 9:30 local time and were some of the first ones there. We waited over an hour for the 1st tram. We were told to wait and they would let us know when it was time to go. We waited and waited on the beach chairs behind them. Eventually, we saw that there were no people there as we were talking and enjoying ourselves looking for shells, etc. They never told us it was time! I went up and asked and they said that the bus was nearly ready to go and that we had to walk outside the gates to catch it. I told them it would take 15 min for us to walk there as I had a 75-year-old companion who is very slow walking distances. I feared we would have to wait for another hour min. The man said that he would take us in his car. He was very kind. It is a long walk from the ship out the gates FYI. We got seats in the back of the bus and could only hear every third word because of the tinny speakers and the sound of the AC unit over our heads...esp with hearing aids. We told our driver and we were able to change seats at the next stop. We enjoyed the donkeys at the lighthouse. You have to pay a 3 admission to the lighthouse if you want to us the bathroom and go on the grounds. They will give you 3 back in credit towards a purchase if you buy something at the gift shop or a drink. You can see nearly everything without going in. Tony, our tour guide, was very good and loves the island, He took us by the flamingo flats not on the regular tour for a photo op. We had a chance for some quick local shopping.

Doing what: Grand Turk Historical Sightseeing Tour by Tram

Wayne H Canada

3 star rating: Worth doing
December 2016

The tour itself was very interesting but we were disappointed with having to walk a long distance from the pier to locate our tram. The tram driver had difficulty with a leaking radiator on our return trip to the pier and had to cut our tour short to deal with the problem.

Doing what: Grand Turk Historical Sightseeing Tour by Tram

Patricia H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Great tour - guide very knowledgable

Doing what: Grand Turk Historical Sightseeing Tour by Tram

Scott R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

The weather was a little rough when we went out and out of 6 people who went on this tour I was the only one who snorkeled there were 2 to 3 foot waves. If you want to go conch diving it would help if you have some experience snorkeling as the place they take you to is 25 to 30 feet deep. There are lots of conch there, but you will have to dive down a ways to get them. I got 3 myself. They clean the conch out and take out the meat to make conch salad which is very good. Although, they let you take the conch home with you, you will not be able to pass customs unless the conch is sparkling clean, like you seem them in the shell stores. They do clean them somewhat for you but not good enough to pass thru customs, as they confiscated ours on the cruise ship. You will need to take a wire brush with you and maybe some cleaning solution to get the conchs crystal clean. After the conch dive they take you to a nearby reef where there a lot of tropical fish. Then you go to an island that you can explore and come in contact with a stingray. All in all, a nice trip. I would do it again, but make sure to bring cleaning instruments next time.

Doing what: Conch Snorkeling Adventure in Grand Turk

Bradley W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Amazing experience! Our boat captain took us to a reef to snorkel first,he gave us bottles of food to attract the fish. Beautiful! He then took us to Gibbs Cay and got in the water,the stingrays came up to him. As he put his arms in the water they swam up for hugs. We got in one at a time for kisses from the stingray and some really Awesome pictures! It's an experience you won't forget! We can't wait to go back!

Doing what: Gibbs Cay Stingray and Snorkel Adventure in Grand Turk

lamaremmaj

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

The snorkeling was amazing and the guides were accommodating and knowledgeable. Keep in mind the time difference between boat time and island time if your cruising. We accidentally arrived late because we did not take the time difference in account but the guides were kind and came back for us.

Doing what: Caribbean Snorkel Tour in Grand Turk's Coral Reef

Jan G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Dwight was an excellent tour guide. Having grown-up on the Island, he was a historian as well as knew all the locals! He was courteous, helpful, friendly and a wonderful tour guide. His wife was an excellent host as well. I highly recommend to see the Island of Grand Turk!!

Doing what: Grand Turk Sightseeing Tour

Kristen C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

This excursion was EXCELLENT!! I would highly recommend it to everyone! We arrived in Grand Turk on a Cruise, and it was only a short 5 minute walk down the beach until we arrived at their boat. Our two tour guides were SO nice and very personable. There was about 12 people total. It was a very intimate excursion not like the one's we saw that were booked through the cruise line that had over 100 people. On our boat ride to our first stop, the guides gave us some history about the island which was very interesting! Our first stop was snorkeling at the coral reef, and we saw tons of fish, and a little shark!! It was harmless, and the guides fed it. Next we went snorkeling at the drop off. We were given water bottles with bread by the guides to feed the fish out of. When you opened the top, there must have been a hundred fish swarming you to try and eat! AND we saw Harry the Barracuda!! What an experience! Next, we went diving for conch so we could feed the stingrays at our next stop. When we arrived at Gibbs Cay, there was about 10 stingrays swimming around us. At first I was nervous, but the guides made you feel extremely safe, and the stingrays were very gentle. Each of us got to hold and kiss the stingray! Our amazing guides also took the fresh Conch, and made each of us Conch and salsa salad! It was delicious!! This excursion is one you absolutely cannot miss!! I promise you will not be disappointed!!

Doing what: Gibbs Cay Stingray and Snorkel Adventure in Grand Turk

Lynda F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Amazing. A must do when in Grand Turks! Thanks to the Captain and his mate for a great day!

Doing what: Gibbs Cay Stingray and Snorkel Adventure in Grand Turk

John W

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2016

Our tour guide was Tracy and he was Awesome!! Grand Turk is a small island with not a lot to see but he did give a great tour. Luckily we were on a air conditioned bus and not the open air team as it was hot and working on roads which created a lot of dust. Tracy was very professional and had quite a sense of humor. A bit of
Confusion on were to meet. Also, they should have
More specific times set up as we had to wait an hour before our tour left. However Tracy kept us company during that time. That
Wasn't his fault as i think other guests were confused on were to meet as well.

Doing what: Grand Turk Historical Sightseeing Tour by Tram

Jennifer J

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2016

The guides were great, added additional time onto the trip. Only issue was I had an infant and choose excursion based on 2.5 hour period however the added time was a great perk, just little longer than was planning with a 1 year old child and did not pack for a 5 hour trip.

Doing what: Gibbs Cay Stingray and Snorkel Adventure in Grand Turk

Richard W

3 star rating: Worth doing
October 2016

The driver was very knowledgable, and enjoyed hearing about Grand Turk.

Doing what: Grand Turk Sightseeing Tour

George M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Jolene did a great job!

Doing what: Grand Turk Sightseeing Tour

chris.clark

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2016

You have to walk outside the Carnival Gate to get there and wait for others but compared to the ship excursions this is the best deal.

Doing what: Grand Turk Historical Sightseeing Tour by Tram

Donna P

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2016

Everything ran on time. Guide was good. They gave us a bus instead of tram because of dust from road construction. That was nice. Grand Turk just doesn't have much to offer in terms of history and sightseeing.

Doing what: Grand Turk Historical Sightseeing Tour by Tram

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message