It’s all about the beach on the Overseas British Territory of Grand Turk, a tiny patch of paradise in the Atlantic Ocean, less than 7 miles long and 2 miles wide (11 km by 3 km). Donkeys and chickens wander the quiet roads, the colonial buildings ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 154 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Bonnie B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

This was an awesome experience! The guides were a lot of fun. It was a small group with hands on attention. Because of the tours that were booked we also did the conch dive and had conch salad for lunch. I would have never! ever! have eaten Conch but he keep talking me into it and it was very good. the stingrays were way cool!!
Thank You!!!

Doing what: Gibbs Cay Stingray and Snorkel Adventure in Grand Turk

Carol W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

We signed up for a 2-snorkel experience, and ended up with 2 snorkel sites, diving for conch, getting a fresh conch salad and swimming with the manta rays! Only 8 people on our boat besides the crew, so plenty of room.
Lots of beautiful fish to see up close during the snorkels. The crew gave us bread in a bottle to feed them, so they were right at our fingertip! The Wall was amazing, I wish we could have been diving instead. Next time.
I loved swimming with the rays. They were fairly friendly and came up close.
Our crew was great!! Can't remember the captain's name sorry!, but he and Tony were a big help to this old lady . : Thanks, guys!
Would definitely do it again!!!

Doing what: Caribbean Snorkel Tour in Grand Turk's Coral Reef

Christine Y

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2017

We took this tour after getting off for the day from our cruise ship. If you want to see the island this is a good overview. Driver was very informative and friendly. As it was hot water was also provided. A few stops were made to get out and stretch, bathroom break, and provide eating and shopping opportunities from the locals. What I was disappointed in was the fact that I purchased this tour ahead of time and paid more that what others paid when they bought their tickets that day at the beach. The other small disappointment was the fact that you had to walk a bit to pick up the tram. For many older people in the group this was a big inconvenience.

Doing what: Grand Turk Historical Sightseeing Tour by Tram

Isaac J

3 star rating: Worth doing
February 2017

My husband and I booked the land and sea tour ..on trip advisor we paid and booked the land and snorkel combo..when we arrived we had a rush land tour and no snorkeling ...they gave us the swim with stingray instead...my husband was very disappointed ..he was looking field to snorkeling...I just felt papa j tours was a lil unorganized ...if you decide to book tour..make sure you get what you are paying for and note the tour time and cruise ship time are a hour different ..

Doing what: Land and Sea Tour in Grand Turk

Robert I

3 star rating: Worth doing
February 2017

I was expecting a catamaran but was placed on a small motorboat. The crew members were very helpful in getting us on the boat and offering water, soda, etc. When full throttle was used we bounced up and down so hard I received bruises on my backside and thigh. I wasn't going to snorkel as I am a poor swimmer, but the captain suggested I try with a flotation device. I spent less than 2 minutes in the water mostly because I had trouble breathing. I learned later that people with asthma probably should not snorkel. No medical questions were asked by the crew. My husband enjoyed the snorkel. The man guiding him around was very patient. Gibbs Cay was a good experience. We petted the stingray and had time to walk around. Not much information shared about the stingrays. There were only my husband and myself which may explain the smaller boat, but it wasn't as advertised.

Doing what: Gibbs Cay Stingray and Snorkel Adventure in Grand Turk

Daniel G

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
February 2017

We booked and paid for a TRAM ride and got an old enclosed school bus ride! We were told our tour would start in 40 minutes and waited one hour and twenty minutes while the owner/manager tried hawking more passengers off the ship to join the tours. A tour guide with 30 or so customers was given priority placement for the next tram, even though they came in well after my group of four. We had to walk about 1/3 mile to get to the bus. The tour itself was a complete waste of money. Shame on you Viator for associating yourself with this tour!

Doing what: Grand Turk Historical Sightseeing Tour by Tram

Suzanne C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Wonderful experience! Rum punch, snorkeling, stingrays, and an experienced guide who took very good care of us newbies!

Doing what: Gibbs Cay Stingray and Snorkel Adventure in Grand Turk

Elizabeth S Canada

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

This was a wonderful experience - there were only 8 of us on the boat compared to through the cruise line with 50 people! We got a personalized experience with two guides. They took us through the reef in two locations. They were friendly and well preprared, brought bread to feed the fish! One of the guides swam down to a cave and brought up a nurse shark no teeth! that was about 4 ft long -- they fed the shark while we got to touch it. Wow! Our group was 4 people - included two teens. All of us felt this was the highlight of our cruise. How many people can get to pet a shark! We went on a tour a few days before with the cruise line at another port also snorkelling and it was nothing like this. No personalized attention or experience -- people were on their own in a group of about 60 people. Will use Viator again for all future excursions. Grand Turk was beautiful! Will go back for sure.

Doing what: Caribbean Snorkel Tour in Grand Turk's Coral Reef

Elizabeth A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

We had a wonderful time snorkeling grand turk. The water is absolutely beautiful and the guides were fantastic. They went above and beyond to give us a great experience. Our group was very small, which was great. Especially compared to the overcrowded boats with people who booked through the cruise ship. We went to the best sites and saw some great wildlife. Would definitely do again.

Doing what: Caribbean Snorkel Tour in Grand Turk's Coral Reef

Chris S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

This was a great, great, GREAT excursion. The mangroves are a beautiful site to see. While we kayaked through them we saw baby lemon sharks and other wildlife. The mangroves are very shallow so you can see right to the bottom. Part of the excursion was to iguana island which was really neat as we saw lots and lots of wild iguanas. The guide I had from Big Blue Unlimited was quite personable and very knowledgeable about the islands, the wildlife, and history. You don't need to be super strong or an expert kayaker to do this excursion. I highly recommend this excursion and this company.

Doing what: North Creek Kayak Adventure in Grand Turk

Madonna C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Lovely tour great people. A young couple ran concession. Saw many fish. Nurse shark. Pointed out sites on shore. Well kept equipment, both boat and all snorkel.

Doing what: Gibbs Cay Stingray and Snorkel Adventure in Grand Turk

mitchl1221

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Excellent tour. Our guide was knowledgeable and friendly. Totally enjoyed it, but I do wish we had more than 20 minutes in town to visit the vendors to shop and/or eat. By the time we got off the tram and used the restroom, it was time to leave. Also, we had NO clue where to go when we disembarked from the ship. No signs pointing us to where to catch the tram, which was located outside the main parking area and up a narrow, 2-lane road with no dedicated sidewalk area. Thank god there were plenty of vendors who could direct us or we would never have found it. It was a lot of walking to get to/from the tram, but manageable for those who are used to walking. However, I would not recommend for someone with mobility problems or the elderly.

Doing what: Grand Turk Historical Sightseeing Tour by Tram

Stanley S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Excellent family run tour. They also own a Guesthouse in town. We drove 2-3 hours through the entire island which is only 7 miles by 1.5 miles. Very informative. Bring your questions, they have answers. The tram pickup is on the OUTSIDE of the Carnival Port. You have to exit via the parking lot!

Doing what: Grand Turk Historical Sightseeing Tour by Tram

Wintermom61

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Had a great time with Jesus we seen so much for a low price he was very knowledgeable and friendly would definitely do it again

Doing what: Grand Turk Historical Sightseeing Tour by Tram

Tatiana S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

It's a provide tour, 2 of us jointed 2 others. Our guide local guide was great and very knowledgeable. You can see that he cares a lot about wales and not just a paid person who talks about them. He took us to several places to see wales and we were lucky to see some too.

Doing what: Whale Watching Adventure from Grand Turk

dcombs

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2017

It was enjoyable riding around the island, and learning the history. Take cash with you, as there will be a stop for souvenirs and food and they only accept cash. I was disappointed that you couldn't even get close to the lighthouse without paying an entrance fee. It was cheap enough I just didn't have enough cash on me.

Doing what: Grand Turk Historical Sightseeing Tour by Tram

Cynthia M

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2017

The tour was very nice-we were able to see the entire island, which gave us a perspective outside of the beach area. Sorry we missed the salt vendor as that would have been a great take home memory!

Doing what: Grand Turk Historical Sightseeing Tour by Tram

ken r

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2017

everyone should try this one

Doing what: Caribbean Snorkel Tour in Grand Turk's Coral Reef

raymond b

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
January 2017

BUT BOOK ON SHORE IT WAS ONLY 20.

Doing what: Grand Turk Historical Sightseeing Tour by Tram

Mary C

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
January 2017

We booked a tram ride. When we arrived, there weren't enough people to warrant them taking a tram, so we were loaded into a bus with very small windows at the top that we could stand up in a moving bus and open to take pictures. As a result, I took fewer pictures. The info provided by the guide was nice, but the experience was not what I paid for.

I would not recommend this tour.

Doing what: Grand Turk Historical Sightseeing Tour by Tram

george h

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
January 2017

tour ok, but this operator could not pull into parking area, long walk to get to his vehicle unlike other tours who were in parking lot right outside of terminal area.

Doing what: Grand Turk Historical Sightseeing Tour by Tram

Tina O

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

This tour showed us most of the island. It was great! One thing that we did not realize when booking this tour was that we would have to walk a pretty good way to get on the tram. This was fine for us but the couple we were with had trouble walking so far.

Doing what: Grand Turk Historical Sightseeing Tour by Tram

nnidget

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2016

The trip was good. Caveat: It is a long walk from the ship out the gate to reach the tram. Where you originally meet is close. We waited over 1 hour for the tram and we were there at 8:30 local time and some of the first ones there. They told us to stay in the area and they would let us know when it was time to go. We noticed some of the people were gone and went and asked. They were ready to go and never told us and we were right there behind them on the beach! They told us to go out the gates. I told him that they should have told us before as I had a 75-year-old woman with me that has trouble walking long distances. I thought we would miss the tram and have to wait for the next one which would have upset me after waiting so long already. The man brought us in his vehicle so we could make the bus which was very kind. We had to sit in the back and it was difficult to understand the tour guide between the noise of the AC and the tinny speakers esp. with hearing aids. We told the driver at the first stop and we were able to change seats. Tony, our guide was very good. We enjoyed the donkeys at the lighthouse. There is a 3 admission to the lighthouse and the bathroom but they will give it back as credit if you buy something there. We had a bonus drive-by photo op at the flamingo flats.

Doing what: Grand Turk Historical Sightseeing Tour by Tram

nnidget

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2016

The tour was good. We arrived at 9:30 local time and were some of the first ones there. We waited over an hour for the 1st tram. We were told to wait and they would let us know when it was time to go. We waited and waited on the beach chairs behind them. Eventually, we saw that there were no people there as we were talking and enjoying ourselves looking for shells, etc. They never told us it was time! I went up and asked and they said that the bus was nearly ready to go and that we had to walk outside the gates to catch it. I told them it would take 15 min for us to walk there as I had a 75-year-old companion who is very slow walking distances. I feared we would have to wait for another hour min. The man said that he would take us in his car. He was very kind. It is a long walk from the ship out the gates FYI. We got seats in the back of the bus and could only hear every third word because of the tinny speakers and the sound of the AC unit over our heads...esp with hearing aids. We told our driver and we were able to change seats at the next stop. We enjoyed the donkeys at the lighthouse. You have to pay a 3 admission to the lighthouse if you want to us the bathroom and go on the grounds. They will give you 3 back in credit towards a purchase if you buy something at the gift shop or a drink. You can see nearly everything without going in. Tony, our tour guide, was very good and loves the island, He took us by the flamingo flats not on the regular tour for a photo op. We had a chance for some quick local shopping.

Doing what: Grand Turk Historical Sightseeing Tour by Tram

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message