Grenada ATTRACTIONS See all

Grand Etang National Park

The hikers’ favorite, Grand Etang preserves the nutmeg groves and tropical rainforest of Grenada’s central highland. At the park’s heart is the crater lake that gives the park its name, Grand Etang Lake. A network of walking trails meanders away ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 11 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Theodore E

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2017

Dexter did an amazing job of giving us a tour and the history of Grenada! It was a jam packed day filled with lots of sites and information! Pick up and drop off at our hotel was great! Although we were very satisfied with our tour and felt it was a good value for what we paid, we had two major issues. Full disclosure-we had a very rainy day for our tour which slowed things down so that may have contributed to our issues. The first issue was that my husband really wanted to go for a swim at the waterfall. Although it is featured as an activity, when we stopped, Dexter asked if anyone wanted to, but then didn't really check for responses just said meet in 20 minutes which was not long enough to hit the bathroom, walk to the waterfall, take pix and take a swim, and make it back in time to the van. The second issue was that my husband also wanted to see the Carib Leap Memorial. Although Dexter gave us the history while sitting at the distillery waiting for the rain to let up, we never saw this site...even from the van...let alone got out. We did see a chocolate factory which was not in our tour description which was interesting and tasty, but we really missed out on the two items which were featured, but not delivered. Again, due to the weather and some special requests to see some plants/trees by two of our passengers, our tour ran an hour long as it was, but if there was time to accommodate these ladies, shouldn't there have been time to do/see what was to be included in the tour? Generally, we love and book Viator tours because they deliver what they promise for a reasonable rate. This tour fell somewhat short.

Doing what: Grenada Island Tour: Concord Waterfall, Gouyave Nutmeg Station and Grand Etang Lake

Javier L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

This tour was great and i would recommend to everybody who is travelling to Grenada to take the Island Tour. Our guide named Sewyn Victor was excellent and very well informed, aside from being a great driver. All places visited were excellent, particularly lunch at the Beatmont Estate.

Doing what: Grenada Island Tour: Concord Waterfall, Gouyave Nutmeg Station and Grand Etang Lake

TRAVIS T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Al earned the easiest five stars I could give a tour guy. He made the tour such a memorable experience for both Janae and I. This trip was our first trip together and he made our last day on the island the best by far. He gave us such a warm greeting and made sure to ask for our input as to what activities we wanted to do for the day. We loved that because we didn't want to repeat activities we already did the previous days. Janae really wanted to go to Concord Waterfalls, which was one of many stops. We noticed he spoke to the vendors at every stop to make each stop that more entertaining and special. Janae's favorite part had to be his camera skills lol but I can't complain because our first photo album will be started off the right way. Not only did we enjoy the experience as a couple, we also feel as though we made a friend in Grenada. There is not one thing we can complain about or even want to change. He has set the bar very high for the other tour guides on the island. We plan to keep in contact and hey, we never know what that will hold for us in the future. Al, if we didn't thank you enough, we once again would like to extend our deepest appreciation. You made Janae's birthday and our first trip together magical, fun and definitely full of laughs. For anyone who is considering a trip to Grenada, I strongly recommend you book with Al. And when I say strongly...I strongly recommend you add chaser to the Rum Punch. When you go, you will understand :D. It truly was the best tour ever!

Doing what: Full Day Pure Grenada Tour

Johanna J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Dexter was a great driver and a wealth of information. We thoroughly enjoyed the day!

Doing what: Grenada Island Tour: Concord Waterfall, Gouyave Nutmeg Station and Grand Etang Lake

Robin S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

Dexter our guide was amusing and a font of local knowledge. He gave a thorough and interesting tour.

Doing what: Grenada Island Tour: Concord Waterfall, Gouyave Nutmeg Station and Grand Etang Lake

Jasmine C

3 star rating: Worth doing
October 2015

Chosen for its accessibility, this is not the most spectacilar fall, but a pleasant visit nonetheless.

Doing what: Grenada Island Tour: Concord Waterfall, Gouyave Nutmeg Station and Grand Etang Lake

David N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

A perfect day out. The people of Grenada are some of the nicest in the Caribbean. It is also one of the nicest islands and this gives you a great look at day to day life as well as scenery. One of our best trips from 6 weeks in the Caribbean

Doing what: Grenada Island Tour: Concord Waterfall, Gouyave Nutmeg Station and Grand Etang Lake

Gail C

3 star rating: Worth doing
March 2015

Grenada is beautiful, national park very nice, when we arrived someone was waiting for us, our guide was smart, and knowledgeable about everything. But he was not particularly friendly . We got the feeling he did not want to be doing this or some how we had offended him. If we did , we're sorry. We still enjoyed the Experience, the beauty of the island, and the park. The stop at the waterfall was a highlight. The tour was worth it I would recommend it if you want to do something outside, walk /hike in the rainforest was great. And we did see monkey's!

Doing what: Grand Etang National Park Tour

Patsy M

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2014

This was great! We were lucky, it was just me and a friend so we were able to go out at our pace. Our guide was very knowledgeable and keen to share his knowledge with us. There were some tricky bits to negotiate but this is very doable. In fact, if it was a longer, that would have suited us and got 5*.

Doing what: Small-Group Hiking Adventure through Grand Etang National Park in Grenada

James T

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2014

Our personal guide, Davidson, courteous, friendly and informative, drove my wife and I to the Rainforest and took us through a section which involved a fairly long and steepish descent to a large and impressive waterfall where a local young man entertained us by diving from the top into the pool below. At this stage we were virtually on our own. As we returned we came across a tour from a cruise ship, possibly 100+ people descending the same (narrow) path (which was wet and slippery), apart from slowing us up, it was not a major problem. However, the viewing area by the waterfall was not that large, so we were glad we got away before this large number of people arrived, it would have been very crowded! The forest itself was attractive and Davidson pointed out one or two features of interest and was always willing to answer questions. A drink was provided on return to our transport. An enjoyable half day tour, a little challenging due to the wet ground but you can't expect anything else in a Rainforest! It would be worth trying to find out if large (cruise) parties are taking this trip when you intend to go to avoid a very crowded excursion!

Doing what: Small-Group Hiking Adventure through Grand Etang National Park in Grenada

linda b

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2013

Although we didn't see any rainforest animals on our tour, the flora was amazing and the waterfalls were as beautiful to behold as the pools were to swim in. Our guide, Tony, was knowledgeable about both the flora and fauna, as well as Grenadan history. He stopped frequently during our hike to point our specific flowers and trees, and on the drive to Grand Etang Park he stopped several times along the road to point out things we would have missed on our own, such as a rainbow eucalyptus tree, and to allow us to take photos of sites such as the harbor in St. George. The hike was not overly difficult, especially using a walking stick, but part of the path was steep and you had to be careful there. Tony stopped several times on the way back to allow me to catch my breath (I'm 59 and not in the best of shape!), and he lent a hand when I needed it. We ended our hike muddy and tired, but thoroughly enthralled with our rainforest trek!

Doing what: Small-Group Hiking Adventure through Grand Etang National Park in Grenada

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message