Guangzhou ATTRACTIONS See all

Temple of the Six Banyan Trees (Liurong Temple)

One of the oldest and most famous historic sites in Guangzhou, the Temple of the Six Banyan Trees (Liurong Temple) was originally built in 537 AD to serve as a shrine for Buddhist relics from India. The temple grounds suffered from a series of fires ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 333 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

jg2829

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

This is a tour we thoroughly enjoyed. Our guide, who was with us throughout, was informative, friendly and helpful. We also had another guide join us for the mainland China portion of the trip. Be prepared to absorb a lot of information.
Its an early start. We needed to be at the pickup point at 7.30am. It was a hotel about 10 minutes walk from ours in Causeway Bay. We joined 11 others and proceeded in a coach to the ferry terminal. here we had an opportunity to grab a coffee and bite to eat before the catamaran left at 9am. Warning, do have breakfast or eat at this point as we didn't get lunch until after 3pm ! The journey to Shenzhen gives some amazing views of Hong Kong from the water and takes about an hour. The visit to the kindergarten was special ! The pandas were asleep but the whole experience there at the zoo was interesting. I found the terracotta exhibition fascinating but maybe too much time spent here. The drive to Guangzhou took around two hours but it was a great insight into life bordering the fast road. On arrival we enjoyed a Dim Sum lunch in the old part of the city before embarking on a walking tour of the area including the markets. Fascinating to say the least. Further stops at a temple and memorial hall as well as a drive around this major, very dynamic, city.
The day ended with us catching an express train back into Hong Kong taking just under two hours before a coach pickup back to our original departure point. We got back to our hotel at 9pm.
I wouldn't have missed this tour for anything. Informative and insightful I had to pinch myself at times that I was actually there.
Its a long day and yes we could have done with a 'coffee stop' and yes lunch is mid afternoon. But hey what an opportunity to visit a tiny but significant part of China in a day.

Doing what: Guangzhou (Canton) China Day Trip from Hong Kong

Paul G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

In a small group of 9 which was ideal.Extremely well organised with very little waiting about and walking amazing considering the logistics involved. Kindergarten kids were enchanting and we arrived as they were doing their daily 10 min of PE. Both HK and China reps full of facts and figures and tended to get info overload at times. Did not enjoy the Dim Sum meal at all but this would be the case anywhere. Back to hotel at 11.30pm satisfied and contented.

Doing what: Guangzhou (Canton) China Day Trip from Hong Kong

Antonio M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Amazing! Highly recommended. Good organization. A great day!

Doing what: Guangzhou (Canton) China Day Trip from Hong Kong

ANGELA TERESE W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

I thoroughly enjoyed this tour! Michelle, our guide was really lovely and very knowledgeable as well as our guide in China. The lunch was great and walking through the local markets in Guangzhou was a real eye opener. I recommend this tour to anyone visiting Hong Kong and wanting a taste of Chinese culture.

Doing what: Guangzhou (Canton) China Day Trip from Hong Kong

Lukas S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

I would recommend this trip to everyone!

Doing what: Guangzhou (Canton) China Day Trip from Hong Kong

Lukas S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

I would recommend this trip to everyone!

Doing what: Guangzhou (Canton) China Day Trip from Hong Kong

Katherine S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

It is a good trip to China and you do see Panda bears in the safari park. Excellent Guide and Tour leaders. One suggestion is to take plenty of drink and food because you don't get a lovely Chinese lunch until 2.45pm in Guangzhou. The total mileage traveled in China one way is 190kms on motorways. The fast ferry to China and return Train travel to Hong Kong are excellent. Its a really a good day trip into China and we really enjoyed it.

Doing what: Guangzhou (Canton) China Day Trip from Hong Kong

Ioan C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Brilliant, great experience thank you very much, highly recommended

Doing what: Private Historical Tour: Guangzhou City Sightseeing Including Lunch

Beverly P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Pleasant and knowledgable guide. This tour is a very good way to see the scattered sightseeing spots in Guangzhou. I arranged tour online while still in US and all went smoothly

Doing what: Private Historical Tour: Guangzhou City Sightseeing Including Lunch

Jean T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

We enjoyed our historical tour of Guangzhou very much. Our tour guide was very informative and very interesting. The dim sum lunch was delicious! Thank you to Jack for taking us and being so helpful.

Doing what: Private Historical Tour: Guangzhou City Sightseeing Including Lunch

Frederick A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

We enjoyed this well-organised day tour into China. Overall, it was an highly informative and stimulating day. Prior details re visas and border crossings were handled efficiently we were picked up as arranged by our friendly guide, taken aboard the high-speed catamaran to Shenzhen where we boarded a bus with a well-informed local guide who told us all about the history and development of the area. Highlights were the pandas, the terracotta warriors, the authentic old market and artisans in Guangzhou, the impressive dim sum lunch at a restaurant you won't eat it all and the Sun Yat-sen Memorial Hall. All finished off with a restful high-speed rail trip back to HK. Excellent value for money.

Doing what: Guangzhou (Canton) China Day Trip from Hong Kong

ALAN M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

BRILLIANT DAY TRIP EVERYTHING AS EXPECTED

Doing what: Guangzhou (Canton) China Day Trip from Hong Kong

Tanya O

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Very organized tour...eveything was explained ..why what how where and when every step of the way...would have liked to spend more time at the farmers markets and surrounding street shops....just to purchase some goods and give something back to the community :-)

Doing what: Guangzhou (Canton) China Day Trip from Hong Kong

Donna B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Enjoyed this trip however felt it was a bit rushed.
Tour guide was very good and knowledgeable would definitely recommend.

Doing what: Guangzhou (Canton) China Day Trip from Hong Kong

Darrell L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Exelant ,good value. Knowagable and friendly staff

Doing what: Guangzhou (Canton) China Day Trip from Hong Kong

Joan W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

A very interesting trip. It was a long day but very enjoyable. The guides Michelle and Richard were excellent.

Doing what: Guangzhou (Canton) China Day Trip from Hong Kong

Nicole S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

A long day but totally worth it

Doing what: Guangzhou (Canton) China Day Trip from Hong Kong

David C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

This tour was fantastic! From the start on the ferry to Shenzen to the fast train back from Guanzhou was top notch. The tour guide Michelle was very friendly and want out of her way to help us and everyone on the tour. The local guide Albert either knew or made up every fact there was about China. The panda was highlight of the tour.

Doing what: Guangzhou (Canton) China Day Trip from Hong Kong

Adam C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

This was a Great Tour, would thoroughly recommend if you have not been to Gunagzhou before or never scene the sites we had but just for business. It takes you round all the places in the city there is to see and you feel you have a real flavor of what the place has to offer. In all honestly the city only really has heritage wise what is on this tour, as a lot the place is new. By doing this tour you will see all you need to and feel you have discovered what there is to see. You also get a good flavor of the downtown, and the 20th Century part of the city as well. Our guide Katrina a local university student was great, she had good knowledge and buckets of enthusiasm, her English was also very good. So all in all if you don't know the city or were to start this is the tour for you!

Doing what: Private Historical Tour: Guangzhou City Sightseeing Including Lunch

Kevin S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

Our Guangzhou China Day trip was amazing. Our guide was so professional and helpful. The sights were incredible along with some very nice people. Clean bus, boat and trains too. It is a very long day but 100 worth it. Would do it again and would recommend it to anyone.

Doing what: Guangzhou (Canton) China Day Trip from Hong Kong

Tony H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

Very well organised trip and everything went very smoothly. The Guide Alex was very well informed and the local guide Bill was full of facts and figures. An excellent lunch in a local restaurant was included . For me the highlight was definately seeing the Pandas. My only citisism is that because they have a minimum requirement of people for this trip the confirmation that it was going to take place was only received 24hrs before despite me having booked, paid and received confirmation weeks before.

Doing what: Guangzhou (Canton) China Day Trip from Hong Kong

Dennis M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

Very full on day but well worth it. Tour leaders were both very good and informative and driver Bill did a excellent job in the traffic. Great inside into the people and culture of China.

Doing what: Guangzhou (Canton) China Day Trip from Hong Kong

Ana C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

We had a wonderful trip! We enjoyed all the sites that we visited including the kindergarten, zoo we saw Pandas! and the temple. The lunch was delicious and we had quite a variety of different foods. Our short visit to the market was interesting since we saw different products such as snakes, turtles, scorpions, etc. Our bus ride to Canton gave us the opportunity to see the countryside. We had a great tour director/guide. He was very knowledgeable and funny. He gave us a very informative lecture on our way to China and was responsive to all our questions. We highly recommend this trip. A long day but worth every second that we visited China. D and A

Doing what: Guangzhou (Canton) China Day Trip from Hong Kong

taylorxx6

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

i enjoyed the complete tour and guides
thank you shaun

Doing what: Guangzhou (Canton) China Day Trip from Hong Kong

John B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Very good day if very long. The 2 hr coach trip to Canton was, to me, the best bit, as one saw so much of rural china.

Doing what: Guangzhou (Canton) China Day Trip from Hong Kong

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message