Considered to be one of the most beautiful lakes in the world, Lake Atitlán, located in the Guatemalan Highlands, is the deepest lake in Central America and surrounded by three volcanoes. Created from a volcano (the lake fills a caldera which ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 45 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Craig P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Excellent tour, with an excellent guide. Mirko made sure to explain everything along the way.

Doing what: Lake Atitlán Sightseeing Cruise with Transport from Antigua

Pamela S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

I loved my visit to Guatemala. Guatemalan Adventures had everything planned and their tourguides - such as Michelangelo and drivers such as Henry were always prompt and very informative. They provided ample time to visit the mayan ruins and the accommodations were great!

Doing what: 8-Day Best of Guatemala Tour: Antigua, Pacaya Volcano, Lake Atitlan and Tikal Ruins

Jorge M G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Excellent trip, excellent service, our tour guide Miguel Angel was such a nice person the whole time, I would totally recommend him and Guatemalan Adventure anytime.

Doing what: Lake Atitlán Sightseeing Cruise with Transport from Guatemala City

Steven W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

This was the second day we had Miguel as a guide, and we were looking forward to another great adventure. The previous day we had discussed the traffic situation on the way to the lake, and we decided to get an earlier start. Miguel picked us up promptly, and we were on our way. He made sure to tell us the history of a lot of the towns we drove through as well as the cultural significance of many of the locations we drove by. We stopped for breakfast at a local restaurant at about the halfway point in the drive to sample some of the local dishes and the excellent Guatemalan coffee. After a breakfast of fresh fruit and freshly made tortillas with an excellent jam, we were back on the road. We took in some breathtaking views while driving into the mountains surrounding the lake, even stopping to get an excellent panoramic picture of the lake with two of the volcanoes towering over it.

Miguel again did a great job of telling us the history and culture of some of the small Mayan towns we drove through on the way to the lake. Once there, we boarded a boat to head out to San Juan La Laguna. The boat ride was a nice change of pace, and we really enjoyed crossing the lake while taking pictures of the volcanoes on the shore. On the way out, Miguel told us the history of the lake as well as some of the surrounding countryside.

San Juan La Laguna did not disappoint. There were several local Mayan artisans selling their artwork and textiles, and it was a very pleasant shopping experience. Miguel pointed out several of the murals painted on the walls, and we even got to meet one of the artists that painted some of them as well as shop in her gallery. We wandered into a local church and marveled at the architecture, and strolled the cobblestone streets while constantly looking around. We watched local artists spun cotton into different colored yarn to make several textile products you could buy right there in the shop. After picking up some Guatemalan coffee grown in the town and roasted the night before, it was time to head back across the lake.

The ride back was a little bumpier as the winds had kicked up, but it was still a fun experience. Once back on the other shore, we at lunch at a restaurant overlooking the lake. It was a beautiful view and one we'll remember for the rest of our lives. Miguel drove us back, we returned to the hotel, and we've been talking about our trip ever since.

I can't recommend the tour with Guatemalan Adventures enough, and I'm really happy with the service as well as the communication. Miguel was excellent, and the 2 year old that traveled with us loved him as well. If you're planning a trip to Guatemala, check them out.

Doing what: Lake Atitlán Sightseeing Cruise with Transport from Antigua

Mary G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

This was an excellent excursion. Los Elementos, Elaine and Lee, are great hosts. Our guide Alex was Mayan and got us into Mayan villages while hiking. We actually went in homes and saw first hand how the villagers live. He was an excellent guide, quite helpful to us on the hikes and kayaking. we are 59 and 60, you have to be physically fit to do the kayak and hiking, it is beautiful but strenuous. Alex helped all the time and adapted the second day to our capabilities. Cliff diving into the cool clear water, hiking unbelievable trails along the lake, and kayaking the clear blue waters. We have already made plans to return next year. I recommend staying at least 3 days, 9 villages to explore, hiking galore, swimming, kayaking, reading a book.

Doing what: 2-Day Kayak and Hike Adventure Package from Antigua

Haylie S

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
October 2016

Was underwhelmed with my experience, I wouldn and #39;t recommend it for a day trip! The driver was an hour late to collect me with no apology and then I was shoved on a bus packed with people in the middle seat at the back with no seat belts. masssge was ok, was someone and #39;s house basically!

Doing what: Rest and Relaxation at Lake Atitlan

Judith M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Miguel was our Guide and he is so knowledgeable. From our pickup and drop-off in Antigua all aspects of this excursion were excellent. The drive to Panjachel was beautiful.The boat ride on Lake Atitlan was a wonderful experience and the visit to the village of Santiago de Atitlan was very exciting.
My husband and I give this excursion 5 STARS.

Doing what: Lake Atitlán Sightseeing Cruise with Transport from Antigua

Caroline G

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2016

Beautiful place, Nice trip.
The only thing was that the driver was really unsafe in driving. We didn't feel comfortable in the car with him.

Doing what: Lake Atitlán Sightseeing Cruise with Transport from Guatemala City

Chaka D

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
June 2016

If you want to spend time at the lake, see the villages and enjoy spending a bit of time on the water, you should NOT take this tour. The tour guide was nice and the ride was clean and safe. However, we only spent about 30 minutes in Panajachel, which was very disappointing. We did not see anything else at the lake. The lake portion of the tour was basically walking to see the lake and that was it. We spent way more time at the Chicicastenango market.

Doing what: Full Day Tour: Chichicastenango Maya Market and Lake Atitlan from Antigua

Helen B

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
May 2016

Tour guide was rude and had no interest in giving you time to have a proper look around - it was almost a march around the town. Then left us at the most expensive restaurant in Panachal - when asking the staff it turned out that the guide got free lunch if he brings customers in. Poor organisation and wouldn't recommend to people

Doing what: Chichicastenago and Panajachel Day Trip from Guatemala City

sbowenlane

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

This was a fantastic tour with a wonderful guide. I had so many great experiences on this tour like riding the small tut tut vehicles, taking the boat to the other small town, visiting the large Catholic Church built in 1549, visiting the Idol of Mayans, eating a great meal and seeing how the people live and work. This tour is magnificent and my guide, Hiemi was the best.
Susan Lane, Maine in USA

Doing what: Lake Atitlán Sightseeing Cruise with Transport from Guatemala City

Laura U

3 star rating: Worth doing
February 2016

This trip was wonderful, the driver was the best one we could have! He told us a lot of the history about Guatemala. He was an expert on driving besides it is a difficult road. The only thing we miss was our walk through Santander Street, we just went to it by car and that was it! We wonder why?

Doing what: Chichicastenango and Panajachel Day Trip from Antigua

y_kchin Malaysia

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2016

k.raghuveer007

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
December 2015

This tour from Guatemalan adventure is ok. Market and Lake are a long drive from Antigua. Market I believe is almost 3 hrs and lake is around 1 - 1:30 hr from the Market and drive back from lake is around 3 hrs. Roads are windy and you might get sick driving up and down the hills. Traffic jams can be expected too. Market itself is nice and colorful. You can find lot of stuff to buy and you can negotiate the prices too. Our guide Ramirez I believe was a nice guy and very informative and kept us engaged throughout the trip. Lake is beatuiful surrounded by volcanoes but you wont have much time to spend at the lake. We had lunch near a lake side resturarant and spent around 15-20 mins and headed back. We couldn't find good place to walk around lake. More of resturants where we were stopped and it was dirty to walk.

Doing what: Chichicastenango and Panajachel Day Trip from Antigua

Eric G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

We really enjoyed this tour the driver gave us lots of information about the region and the markets and plenty of time to explore and have lunch at our leisure, recommended.

Doing what: Chichicastenango and Panajachel Day Trip from Antigua

Daniel G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Awesome - Are tour guide Miguel was super knowledgeable, patient and everything else. The lake is stunning, the volcanos are super cool and the village that you visit with the church is very nice. Great tour!

Doing what: Lake Atitlán Sightseeing Cruise with Transport from Antigua

Liani S United States of ... 

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2015

It's a beautiful lake to visit. I recommend to visit during off season because you can enjoy a walk by the lake peacefully. But if you're members of younger crowds, perhaps July - August visit fits you better.

Doing what: Chichicastenango and Panajachel Day Trip from Antigua

Julie

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2015

Nice tour, our guide was very nice. He did the best he could with what there was to see. He was very informative.

Doing what: Lake Atitlán Sightseeing Cruise with Transport from Antigua

Denise S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

I had a fabulous day trip to Lake Atitlan and Santiago de Atitlan. The guide was extremely knowledgeable, solicitous, and went out of his way took extra time to stop in the leather-making village just north of Antigua on the way back. A great day - thank you!

Doing what: Lake Atitlán Sightseeing Cruise with Transport from Antigua

Mayesha A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

Absolutely beautiful but the boat ride back was very rocky. Mirko was a fantastic guide.

Doing what: Lake Atitlán Sightseeing Cruise with Transport from Guatemala City

maui_kazowee

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

Our guide Michelangelo was VERY knowledgeable and an absolute delight to spend the day with. He took great care of us, taught us a lot about the area, and left us wanting to book a longer stay at Lake Atitlan.

Doing what: Chichicastenango and Panajachel Day Trip from Antigua

DONALD S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

Very complete and enjoyable day. 2 hours each way from Antigua, but worth the drive. We had a very knowledgable and pleasant tour guide. We had a chance to see the lake and enjoyed the shops and other sights in Santiago.

Doing what: Lake Atitlán Sightseeing Cruise with Transport from Antigua

susanhanson

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

We had a wonderful day with Mike our tour guide. He took us to Chichicastenago first where we toured the town and the large market on a Sunday. Mike lead us through the very large crowded market and gave us a few tips on what items should sell for. Then he gave us some time to shop. Next we went to Panajachel for a late lunch and had fresh black sea bass. Then we explored the town, and went back to Antiqua with our treasures from the markets. Mike was an excellent guide with extensive knowledge of Guatamala and was an excellent driver.

Doing what: Chichicastenango and Panajachel Day Trip from Antigua

Jamie H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

We just got back from our trip and it was excellent, whoever organized and designed this trip did an excellent job, we got to see some of the most beautiful places in the country. When I first found this trip I was a little nervous because Viator doesn't have the best reviews so I did my research, called them a couple times to understand everything, and once I booked it I contacted the tour guides in Guatemala to be sure everything was arranged as planned and it was, everything went just as planned and we couldn't be happier. The hotels were way beyond what we expected, they were beautiful, romantic, had good food and great service. The tours were wonderful, we saw amazing things way beyond our imagination and it was nice not to have to worry about transportation. Our guides were wonderful, the one we had the most in Antigua was always on time, had a great personality, and was easy to work with. My only disappointment was the day in Tikal, it just wasn't enough time to explore and our guide talked way too much, he would stop us and give us a 5-10 minute lecture and then breeze by the structures when all I really wanted to do was see and explore as much as I could, I didn't want to feel like I was in school, so that was my only complaint. If you are interested in visiting Guatemala definitely book this trip, it was well worth it!!!

Doing what: 8-Day Best of Guatemala Tour: Antigua, Pacaya Volcano, Lake Atitlan and Tikal Ruins

Lauren

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2014

beautiful scenery. Boat ride is about 45 mins each way and relaxing if you have been on the go-go-go. The trip to the Mayan village is ok. Just like anywhere else, the same souveniers and gifts are repetitve in nature. Really nothing else to do there except for browsing and maybe have a cup of coffee.

Doing what: Lake Atitlán Sightseeing Cruise with Transport from Antigua

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message