There are plenty of things to do in Guatemala City, but it’s what is nearby that truly offers an opportunity to fall in love with the country. In fact, three days in the area is likely not enough time, especially when, there are so many magical ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 98 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Julie R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

The your guide was very knowledgeable and entertaining.

Doing what: Tikal Day Trip by Air from Guatemala City with Lunch

Leah C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Tour was fantastic! Juan Pablo and Luis picked me up at my hotel and took me on a driving/walking tour of many different parts of Guatemala City. Juan Pablo's knowledge of Guatemala's history and geography was exceptional. I felt safe the entire time and it was a wonderful experience that I would recommend to all travellers to Guatemala City.

Doing what: Guatemala City Sightseeing Tour

Clive B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

This was an excellent all day tour from Guatemala City. Be prepared for a long day! Collected from hotel at around 5am, then a 7am flight of around 45 minutes in a tiny plane to Flores. Meal box on the plane was an unexpected bonus, even if nothing special. Then taken by mini bus to Tikal - about an hour and a quarter drive, plus a 20 minute stop at a shop with souvenirs and provisions. No pressure to buy anything. Tikal itself very impressive. Lots of different buildings in various states of repair, but managed to walk up about six of them which offered a different perspective and some great views across the jungle. The guided walk around the site was quite relaxed, and lasted about 5 hours 9.30am to 2.20pm with a very knowledgeable guide. As someone who hates being rushed and not seeing most of the site this was really good - although some on the tour seemed to want their lunch earlier. Lunch was provided on the way out of the site - not the greatest of meals, but did provide some much needed food and drink, and there was a reasonable choice of dishes. On the way back we also had time to stop for half an hour in Flores itself, by the lake, which was pleasant.

Highly recommended if you have a full day to spare in Guatemala.

Doing what: Tikal Day Trip by Air from Guatemala City with Lunch

Jean Katherine G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

We had a wonderful day seeing the great temples. We hiked about three hours, and had a wonderful lunch.

Doing what: Tikal Day Trip by Air from Guatemala City with Lunch

Douglas P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Unbelievable place, great tour guide, very worth it all around.

Doing what: Tikal Day Trip by Air from Guatemala City with Lunch

Diane B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Awesome tour! Our tour guide Winston was very informative. He picked us up from our hotel in Guatemala city and shared information all the way to Antigua. His van was clean and safe. Great experience!

Doing what: Pacaya Volcano Day Trip from Guatemala City

analia s

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

This tour was amazing!

Doing what: Guatemala City Sightseeing Tour

Maite A

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2016

Very good experiencia
Very good frienly and good speaker guise tour

Doing what: Antigua City Tour from Guatemala City

Caroline G

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2016

Beautiful place, Nice trip.
The only thing was that the driver was really unsafe in driving. We didn't feel comfortable in the car with him.

Doing what: Lake Atitlán Sightseeing Cruise with Transport from Guatemala City

Song H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

I got a private tour! The day is packed with activities and plenty of chances to shop and taking photos. Highly recommended if you want the best of two worlds Mayan ruins and Spanish history in one short period of time. I had only one day and this tour is ideal.

Doing what: Iximché Ruins and Antigua City Tour from Guatemala City

Margareta M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

This day trip will give you a taste of the rich historical surroundings - our guide was fluent in english and knew a lot :- highly recommended

Doing what: Tikal Day Trip by Air from Guatemala City with Lunch

Helen B

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
May 2016

Tour guide was rude and had no interest in giving you time to have a proper look around - it was almost a march around the town. Then left us at the most expensive restaurant in Panachal - when asking the staff it turned out that the guide got free lunch if he brings customers in. Poor organisation and wouldn't recommend to people

Doing what: Chichicastenago and Panajachel Day Trip from Guatemala City

BORIS T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Simply Amazing!! They pick u up from hotel n after tour is over n go back to your destination they drop u off.. Tour guy was awesome, must dress for alot of trail walking n comfortable clothes... But just awesome seeing these treasures!

Doing what: Tikal Day Trip by Air from Guatemala City with Lunch

K. Alison H

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
April 2016

In our opinion, the English Tour guide lacked English vocabulary and mispronounced several English words which would have made it difficulty to understand by non-native English speakers. As an example, he talked about the site of Tikal being surrounded by condominiums. In addition, his tour lacked continuity and his presentation lacked any enthusiasm or passion.
I recommend, based on 30 years of management experience, that this tour guide would benefit greatly by improved training, guidance and feedback from his supervisor. In most cases of poor performance, the supervisor/management is at fault.

Doing what: Tikal Day Trip by Air from Guatemala City with Lunch

sbowenlane

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

This was a fantastic tour with a wonderful guide. I had so many great experiences on this tour like riding the small tut tut vehicles, taking the boat to the other small town, visiting the large Catholic Church built in 1549, visiting the Idol of Mayans, eating a great meal and seeing how the people live and work. This tour is magnificent and my guide, Hiemi was the best.
Susan Lane, Maine in USA

Doing what: Lake Atitlán Sightseeing Cruise with Transport from Guatemala City

Jane B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

Well organized, good guide

Doing what: Guatemala City Sightseeing Tour

Andrew S

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2016

Very enthusiastic and interesting tour guide. Unfortunately the city doesn't have a lot of sites.

Doing what: Guatemala City Sightseeing Tour

Mychal United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

Super cool trip from Guatemala City. You fly up to Flores early in the morning. About an hour drive up to the park. The trails are fairly easy to walk, but climbing the different temples could be challenging if you're not in some decent shape. You don't have to climb the temples if you don't want to. The Tikal ruins are absolutely amazing and are truly a sight to see. I highly recommend this tour. The guide for the day was Abel, he was fantastic, spoke perfect English and had so much knowledge to share. The lunch in the park after the tour was good as well. Be prepared to pay a few bucks for beverages at lunch as they're not included. Overall, was a great day and would have loved to spend more time at the ruins.

Doing what: Tikal Day Trip by Air from Guatemala City with Lunch

Randall D

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2016

Tikal is beautiful and well worth the early morning departure. A side trip to the lake near Flores was very nice. However, we arrived at the airport for return to Guatemala City several hours early. This was a disappointing and boring ending to an otherwise great adventure.

Doing what: Tikal Day Trip by Air from Guatemala City with Lunch

Randall D

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2016

Good tour, knowledgeable tour guide. A nice way to get to know the city.

Doing what: Guatemala City Sightseeing Tour

y_kchin

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2016

Nice tourguide and driver but terrible traffics

Doing what: Guatemala City and Antigua Full-Day Sightseeing Tour

KAREN M

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2016

The tour itself was amazing. Truly a GREAT experience. The ONLY issue I had was when we were checking in at the Flores airport to fly back to Guatemala city, they had the nerve to charge 20 quetzales each person as a tax fee. I told them that my tour had already been paid for and the clerk was rude and said talk to the tour company about it, but you are not boarding without paying for it. An advanced notice would have been appreciated. But, the food was GREAT and a wonderful experience.

Doing what: Tikal Day Trip by Air from Guatemala City with Lunch

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message