There are plenty of things to do in Guatemala City, but it’s what is nearby that truly offers an opportunity to fall in love with the country. In fact, three days in the area is likely not enough time, especially when, there are so many magical ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 111 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Anthony F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

a facinating insight into the mayan way of life and the beauty of Antigua city, reastaurant was charming iff a little expensive

Doing what: Iximché Ruins and Antigua City Tour from Guatemala City

puayyork Singapore

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

The trip was amazing with a journey through the jungle to experience the steps of the Mayans. Upon reaching the pyramids, you get a breathtaking view of the gigantic structures which are the largest in Central America. A once in a lifetime experience, up close and personal with the Mayan culture.

Doing what: Tikal Day Trip by Air from Guatemala City with Lunch

martha g

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

This was an excellent tour from beginning to end.we were picked up at our hotel, easy check in and flight with TAG airline. Our guide was knowledgable and did a great job of accommodating people with different levels of language and physical stamina. The half day walking among the ruins was magical.luncha at the end was excellent
Would highly recommend this one day tour

Doing what: Tikal Day Trip by Air from Guatemala City with Lunch

Joel M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

The tour guide was very knowledgeable and entertaining. The bus driver was great,

Doing what: Antigua City Tour from Guatemala City

dudleym

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

First I want to start off saying that our tour guide Juan Pablo, and driver Juan were excellent! They were the ones that really made the tour worth it. Juan picked us up from the hotel 10 minutes early and was a safe and skilled driver. We took this tour on our first day during our trip to Guatemala, although the other two couples were on the last day of their trip. In total our tour group had 7 people. I must say that Juan Pablo was one of the best tour guides I have ever had. Not only was he friendly and knowledgable, but he was also extremely accommodating and gracious, especially towards my elderly mother. He even picked up her ring which had to be sized at the jade factory during our lunch! Antigua itself was beautiful and Guatemala City was bustling just like any other city. Would definitely recommend as an introduction to Guatemala!

Doing what: Guatemala City and Antigua Full-Day Sightseeing Tour

Krystle M

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2017

The quality of hotels on this trip were amazing for the price. If we had booked separately, the hotels would have cost more than the whole tour which is pretty great. The guides were generally good and informative. This isn't a tour specifically geared towards younger people or backpackers, so if you're looking for a little more of an alternative experience, this might not be for you. We were able to add a volcano climb to the afternoon in Antigua which I would recommend. I think it would be possible to arrange Parasailing in the afternoon of Lake Atalain, but you would want to arrange that in advance. Also, if you have the time, the other main thing that visitors tend to do is visit Tikal. We ended up doing this on our own, but I believe the 6 day version of this tour includes this.

Doing what: 5-Day Tour from Guatemala City: Antigua, Chichicastenango, Panajachel and Santiago Atitlán

Mark C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

It was a great experience. I was nervous before the trip wondering if anyone would really show up to get us, but everything went exactly as planned. The tour guide and driver were very helpful. We had a great time and the lunch was very good as well. Be prepared to not eat until about 2pm though. So you might want to bring water and snacks.

Doing what: Tikal Day Trip by Air from Guatemala City with Lunch

Jorge M G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Excellent trip, excellent service, our tour guide Miguel Angel was such a nice person the whole time, I would totally recommend him and Guatemalan Adventure anytime.

Doing what: Lake Atitlán Sightseeing Cruise with Transport from Guatemala City

Enrique B

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2016

Muy buen tour!! pasan puntual por el hotel, el chofer de muy buena calidad y el guía del tour excepcional, la caminata no es tan fácil como la hacen sonar, pero vale 100 la pena, recomiendo que lleven efectivo por que en la cima del volcán hay una tiendita y es casi que obligatorio que comprar en ella.
El tour estuvo fantástico.

Doing what: Pacaya Volcano Day Trip from Guatemala City

peter s

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
October 2016

While Guatemala is a stunningly beautiful country with a rich Mayan cultural tradition and amazing architectural sites the capital
Guatemala City is unremarkable. Before the organized tour I took the local bus into downtown - a sprawling network of shabby little
streets. Apart from the historic square in Sixth Avenue with its neglected looking cathedral and presidential palace, there is really little
in the way of architecture, parks or fine squares so typical of Spanish speaking nations. So while the tour guide was very pleasant
if you have more than just a few hours between flights to fill, you may as well just get the local green busses to downtown - as most
hotels are a few miles out from the centre.

Doing what: Guatemala City Sightseeing Tour

Ira-Marina R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

I had an excellent time with my guide, who told me so much about the history and the culture of Guatemala. I was able to choose in which language the tour was, either of the languages were very easy to understand and we had a lot of fun. I would absolutely recommend it!

Doing what: Guatemala City Sightseeing Tour

francine.coyne1

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

We loved every part of the tour- completely exceeded our expectations. El Captain tour drive and Roberto tour guide were first class and so very knowledgeable about the area. It was a gorgeous day and perfect weather too. Roberto took us on the longer trail which allowed us to walk on side of the volcano crater and truly experience the magnificent beauty of the area. I recommend this tour group and ask for both El Captain and Roberto. You won't be disappointed!!

Doing what: Pacaya Volcano Day Trip from Guatemala City

John B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

I give this trip a 5 star rating. It met and exceeded all expectations. Very proud of you guys handling trip from start to finish. Commend everyone's involvement with this tour from start to finish. Booking process, drivers, airline personnel, guides, etc. This is the way to run a professional business! I speak for a total of six travelers.
Sincerely?
John Borges, Retired, Lieutenant Colonel, Army
Louisiana, USA

Doing what: Tikal Day Trip by Air from Guatemala City with Lunch

Julie R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

The your guide was very knowledgeable and entertaining.

Doing what: Tikal Day Trip by Air from Guatemala City with Lunch

Leah C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Tour was fantastic! Juan Pablo and Luis picked me up at my hotel and took me on a driving/walking tour of many different parts of Guatemala City. Juan Pablo's knowledge of Guatemala's history and geography was exceptional. I felt safe the entire time and it was a wonderful experience that I would recommend to all travellers to Guatemala City.

Doing what: Guatemala City Sightseeing Tour

Clive B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

This was an excellent all day tour from Guatemala City. Be prepared for a long day! Collected from hotel at around 5am, then a 7am flight of around 45 minutes in a tiny plane to Flores. Meal box on the plane was an unexpected bonus, even if nothing special. Then taken by mini bus to Tikal - about an hour and a quarter drive, plus a 20 minute stop at a shop with souvenirs and provisions. No pressure to buy anything. Tikal itself very impressive. Lots of different buildings in various states of repair, but managed to walk up about six of them which offered a different perspective and some great views across the jungle. The guided walk around the site was quite relaxed, and lasted about 5 hours 9.30am to 2.20pm with a very knowledgeable guide. As someone who hates being rushed and not seeing most of the site this was really good - although some on the tour seemed to want their lunch earlier. Lunch was provided on the way out of the site - not the greatest of meals, but did provide some much needed food and drink, and there was a reasonable choice of dishes. On the way back we also had time to stop for half an hour in Flores itself, by the lake, which was pleasant.

Highly recommended if you have a full day to spare in Guatemala.

Doing what: Tikal Day Trip by Air from Guatemala City with Lunch

Jean Katherine G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

We had a wonderful day seeing the great temples. We hiked about three hours, and had a wonderful lunch.

Doing what: Tikal Day Trip by Air from Guatemala City with Lunch

Douglas P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Unbelievable place, great tour guide, very worth it all around.

Doing what: Tikal Day Trip by Air from Guatemala City with Lunch

Diane B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Awesome tour! Our tour guide Winston was very informative. He picked us up from our hotel in Guatemala city and shared information all the way to Antigua. His van was clean and safe. Great experience!

Doing what: Pacaya Volcano Day Trip from Guatemala City

analia s

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

This tour was amazing!

Doing what: Guatemala City Sightseeing Tour

Maite A

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2016

Very good experiencia
Very good frienly and good speaker guise tour

Doing what: Antigua City Tour from Guatemala City

Caroline G

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2016

Beautiful place, Nice trip.
The only thing was that the driver was really unsafe in driving. We didn't feel comfortable in the car with him.

Doing what: Lake Atitlán Sightseeing Cruise with Transport from Guatemala City

Song H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

I got a private tour! The day is packed with activities and plenty of chances to shop and taking photos. Highly recommended if you want the best of two worlds Mayan ruins and Spanish history in one short period of time. I had only one day and this tour is ideal.

Doing what: Iximché Ruins and Antigua City Tour from Guatemala City

Margareta M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

This day trip will give you a taste of the rich historical surroundings - our guide was fluent in english and knew a lot :- highly recommended

Doing what: Tikal Day Trip by Air from Guatemala City with Lunch

Helen B

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
May 2016

Tour guide was rude and had no interest in giving you time to have a proper look around - it was almost a march around the town. Then left us at the most expensive restaurant in Panachal - when asking the staff it turned out that the guide got free lunch if he brings customers in. Poor organisation and wouldn't recommend to people

Doing what: Chichicastenago and Panajachel Day Trip from Guatemala City

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message