Located in El Peten, Tikal is the crown jewel of Mayan ruins in Guatemala. Though it has many of the same beautiful temples as its well-known counterparts in Mexico, Tikal stands apart because of its location deep in the jungle. Trekking like ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 43 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Beth P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

If you want the most experience out of the shortest time, this is the perfect day trip. You are very well taken care of from the time you are picked up until you are delivered back to your hotel. Everyone is professional and friendly. Our Tikal guide, Elder, was personable and knowledgeable and obviously cared about Mayan history. He was eager to share his knowledge. If possible, read up on your Mayan history to get the most of your experience here. There is quite a bit of walking on some rough terrain so wear appropriate shoes. Also, if possible, be prepared with mosquito repellent and sun protection. At the first stop on the way to Tikal you will be shown a small cultural exhibit then have a bit of free time to shop. But beware, the prices are very steep, so choose wisely.

Doing what: Tikal Day Trip by Air from Antigua with Lunch

Clive B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

This was an excellent all day tour from Guatemala City. Be prepared for a long day! Collected from hotel at around 5am, then a 7am flight of around 45 minutes in a tiny plane to Flores. Meal box on the plane was an unexpected bonus, even if nothing special. Then taken by mini bus to Tikal - about an hour and a quarter drive, plus a 20 minute stop at a shop with souvenirs and provisions. No pressure to buy anything. Tikal itself very impressive. Lots of different buildings in various states of repair, but managed to walk up about six of them which offered a different perspective and some great views across the jungle. The guided walk around the site was quite relaxed, and lasted about 5 hours 9.30am to 2.20pm with a very knowledgeable guide. As someone who hates being rushed and not seeing most of the site this was really good - although some on the tour seemed to want their lunch earlier. Lunch was provided on the way out of the site - not the greatest of meals, but did provide some much needed food and drink, and there was a reasonable choice of dishes. On the way back we also had time to stop for half an hour in Flores itself, by the lake, which was pleasant.

Highly recommended if you have a full day to spare in Guatemala.

Doing what: Tikal Day Trip by Air from Guatemala City with Lunch

Aleia V

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

This tour was incredible and worth every penny! It and #39;s a long trip but made easier by the friendliness and timeliness of the drivers and plane staff. Our tour guide was very knowledgable and friendly. Tikal itself was unreal and is a must see. It was great to see Flores too. Highly recommend!!

Doing what: Tikal Day Trip by Air from Antigua with Lunch

Lawrence C

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2016

Amazing trip, so glad to have gotten to Tikal for the day all the way from Antigua. The place was amazing and the time spent was sufficient.

I knocked off 1 star for the following issues. I understand with flights involved, timelines need to be a bit loose, but I did find that it was a bit too loose with many many hours spent at airports waiting for the flights. The other issue of annoyance was that this all inclusive tour failed to mention that I had to pay departure airport tax out of Flores airport. They wouldn't even accept USD so that was quite annoying. Ended up having to use credit card just to get the flight home!

Otherwise, the guide was good, the transfers were good and Tikal itself was spectacular!

Doing what: Tikal Day Trip by Air from Antigua with Lunch

Donna W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Our guide was knowledgeable and accommodating. I would definitely recommend it to anyone wanting to go to Tikal.

Doing what: Tikal Day Trip from San Ignacio

John D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Excellent tour. Pickup was on time and well organized. We had ample time to explore all parts of Tikal while learning very interesting facts about the history of the ancient city and seeing a variety of wild animals throughout the park. The lunch was very good as well at the end. I highly recommend going on this tour! Thanks again!

Doing what: Tikal Day Tour from Flores

K. Alison H

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
April 2016

In our opinion, the English Tour guide lacked English vocabulary and mispronounced several English words which would have made it difficulty to understand by non-native English speakers. As an example, he talked about the site of Tikal being surrounded by condominiums. In addition, his tour lacked continuity and his presentation lacked any enthusiasm or passion.
I recommend, based on 30 years of management experience, that this tour guide would benefit greatly by improved training, guidance and feedback from his supervisor. In most cases of poor performance, the supervisor/management is at fault.

Doing what: Tikal Day Trip by Air from Guatemala City with Lunch

tanyaewilliams

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

Awesome experience and worth the money.

A driver picked us up from our San Ignacio hotel and took us to the border where he handed us off to their Guatemalan counterpart who then drove us 2 hours to Tikal. We picked up our guide, Elmer, on the way. Elmer asked if we prefer a tour in Spanish or in terrible English. Since we don't speak Spanish we opted for terrible English : And to our surprise Elmer spoke English perfectly! He was so knowledgable about the site and Guatamala in general, fun to listen to and spend time with. He has a great eye and spotted almost all of the wildlife he had told us about on the drive over! It was a fun perk to see them all.

Tikal is phenomenal, mind-blowing! We are so glad we opted for a longer tour to visit the most impressive ancient Mayan site in the area.

We were also fed a snack of green mango and oranges with pumpkin powder. A fun native treat! Lunch was also served on the way back at a restaurant. Fajitas were on the menu.

Doing what: Tikal Day Trip from San Ignacio

Mychal United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

Super cool trip from Guatemala City. You fly up to Flores early in the morning. About an hour drive up to the park. The trails are fairly easy to walk, but climbing the different temples could be challenging if you're not in some decent shape. You don't have to climb the temples if you don't want to. The Tikal ruins are absolutely amazing and are truly a sight to see. I highly recommend this tour. The guide for the day was Abel, he was fantastic, spoke perfect English and had so much knowledge to share. The lunch in the park after the tour was good as well. Be prepared to pay a few bucks for beverages at lunch as they're not included. Overall, was a great day and would have loved to spend more time at the ruins.

Doing what: Tikal Day Trip by Air from Guatemala City with Lunch

david k

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

Everything worked out quite well on this tour. We were picked up on time at our hotel. On the way to Tikal a stop was strategically provided for coffee and snacks. The itinerary was very organized and well thought out. The guide was very knowledgeable, professional and interesting. He provided an appropriate amount of free time to explore the area. The lunch that was included was excellent. I recommend this day tour of Tikal.

Doing what: Tikal Day Tour from Flores

Randall D

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2016

Tikal is beautiful and well worth the early morning departure. A side trip to the lake near Flores was very nice. However, we arrived at the airport for return to Guatemala City several hours early. This was a disappointing and boring ending to an otherwise great adventure.

Doing what: Tikal Day Trip by Air from Guatemala City with Lunch

Elise D

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
February 2016

While the actual experience of being in Tikal is extraordinary and an unbelievable sight, our guide was nothing thrilling. It seemed as though we were interrupting his day and although he was knowledgeable he seemed completely uninterested in guiding us. The free lunch was decent.

Doing what: Tikal Day Trip from San Ignacio

floryglazer

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

The guide, the food, and all the people was great, I am from Guatemala and is my 4th time to Tikal but I learned so much from Alex and Marlon our guides, They accommodate my husband to see the magnificent temples since he fell at the airport and couldn't walk that well. Great Job, I will give 10 stars but you only have 5. I will recommend viator and this trip 100, THANK YOU GUYS

Doing what: Tikal and Yaxha Overnight Trip by Air from Guatemala City

Kyle V

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

This trip was amazing. We were in Guatemala for 12 days and this was probably the highlight of the trip. The guide was great and seemed to really be enthusiastic about what he did. He was very knowledgeable about bird species, plants, animals, and the history of the sites. All of the tour buses were very clean, the food was excellent, the flight was great on a regional carrier.

The hotel we stayed at was unbelievable! It was located on the shore of a large lake in the jungle and seemed like the type of place James Bond would stay. There were howler monkeys, birds, etc. right near the premises so you really felt like you were on an adventure.

The ruins themselves are worth a trip to Guatemala alone. Tikal was great, but we really liked Yaxha as there were only a few other tourists there and it felt very, very adventurous. The views were the best there as well.

Doing what: Tikal and Yaxha Overnight Trip by Air from Guatemala City

Stephen H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

The trip to Tikal was comfortable and well worth it. Our guide, Elmer, knew so much about the flora, history and culture of the Mayas. He was fabulous! San Ignacio was the perfect spot to stay to get to the jungle.

Doing what: Tikal Day Trip from San Ignacio

JAM

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Excellent trip, you get picked up at your hotel, move to the airport, at landing they are waiting for you to take you to Yaxha or Tikal, good lunches, the tour guys are kind and they know a lot about mayan civilization.

They take you to your hotel on Peten in the afternoon with enough time for a drink, pool, beach walk or whatever other activity you want to do yourself.

DINNER IS NOT INCLUDED, I thought it was, i was surprised it was not, i guess i read wrong.

The order of the places you visit can change and the will tell you al pick up time, we booked Tikal first but we went Yaxha first, not big deal.

You return to Guatemala City around 7:30pm.

Tour guys physical and by phone are very open and always willing to help and answer questions.

We had a lot of fun, highly recommended!

Doing what: Tikal and Yaxha Overnight Trip by Air from Guatemala City

Anonymous

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Amazing day trip from Guatemala city to Tikal. Our driver picked up us nice and early from our hotel to the airport. At Mundo Maya Airport our guides were waiting for us to start the tour. It was a day full of history, archaeology, a lot of walking and fun!! It rained for few hours in the afternoon but this place is still amazing under the rain. I highly recommend it. Sandra C.

Doing what: Tikal Day Trip by Air from Guatemala City with Lunch

Ann L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Smooth travel arrangements, 2 delicious lunches, and 2 excellent guides. My only concern was that I would have liked to stay in Flores rather than in a hotel on the lake, a long distance away -- nonetheless, that hotel was lovely and relaxing after a strenuous day walking through Tikal.

Doing what: Tikal and Yaxha Overnight Trip by Air from Antigua

John M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

We had a great day trip to Tikal. Our guide, Juan Sandoval, was fantastic! He made the day extremely enjoyable. He was knowledgeable and presented all of the information he shared in a fun and entertaining way. It is a long day since you have to get up at the crack of dawn, but well worth the investment. If you have more time, you could definitely spend more time, but if you only have one day, it's well worth doing. And if you are physically able, definitely climb to to the top of the temples that you are allowed to, especially Temple 5. The view from there is surreal!

Doing what: Tikal Day Trip by Air from Guatemala City with Lunch

Mary R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Tikal was awesome! Also our your guide for the Tikal part was very knowledgable.

Doing what: Tikal Day Trip from San Ignacio

Lane L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Tikal offered one of the most awe-inspiring days of my life! A powerful experience combining an expert Mayan guide with the sheer majesty of history, culture, architecture, nature and astronomy rpresented by this World Heritage site.This city was on my bucket list for many years, and, now, I only hope I am able to travel again through the Peninsula to sites in Mexico, Guatemala, Belize and Hinduras. Tikal amd Peten are not to be missed on any journey to Guatemala!

Doing what: Tikal Day Trip by Air from Guatemala City with Lunch

Rob S

3 star rating: Worth doing
April 2015

The tour was great and all the staff that we worked with were very helpful. I have only two complaints:

1. There was a long rest stop at a gift shop on the trip between the airport at Flores and Tikal National Park. We were there for at least thirty minutes. It felt like a huge waste of time.

2. The return flight from Flores to Guatemala City was delayed by 1.5 hours. The staff at the airport did not communicate this delay at all and offered no compensation.

Otherwise, the national park itself and the tour were great.

Doing what: Tikal Day Trip by Air from Antigua with Lunch

Carlos S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Awesome trip. A must do.
If you are staying in Antigua don't even think of driving or ride a bus.
A friend of ours did this trip a felt very sorry of his option.
The roads are narrow and not much safe and it is, at list, a 7 to 10 hours journey (one direction).
A little confusion at Tikal arrival airport and some delay, but all in all, everything went easy and smooth.
The guide (Vinicius) was nice, hellpfull and provided all the information we wanted to know.
The lunch is good and you can choose your prefered meal between meat, pasta, chicken or vegetarian.
Tikal is a awesome place. We couldn't be more amazed.
Recommended A+++

Doing what: Tikal Day Trip by Air from Antigua with Lunch

geneanddora

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Excellent tour. We had a terrific guide and enjoyed a delicious lunch among the jungles of Tikal. Highly recommended.

Doing what: Tikal Day Trip by Air from Antigua with Lunch

Amira B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

This was a very enjoyable tour. Our guide picked us up from the airport on time, took us in a nice bus and didnt stop giving us information for the next 4 hours. Highly recommended. The guides English was good and he was very knowledgeable. He took us all around the site, not only to see the Mayan ruins but also brought us to find howler monkeys and toucans. My boyfriend and I were being picked up at Tikal itself after the tour so we missed getting a mini-tour of the island which I can imagine wouldve been very enjoyable! Cannot recommend this enough.

Doing what: Tikal Day Tour from Flores

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message