The Li River’s reputation as the most beautiful in all China rests on a stretch totaling less than a quarter of its length; the 60-odd miles (100 kilometers) starting in Guilin and heading south. Here dramatic karst outcrops, dense vegetation and ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 55 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Christa J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

The boat was extremely nice and comfortable with a great local buffet. Lots of room on top for taking pictures of the beautiful scenery. Gary was our tour guide and was wonderful. We added on the silver caves excursion as well (however if you already did reed flute then no need....go enjoy Yangshuo)

Doing what: Li River Cruise Full Day Tour of Guilin and Yangshuo

Ana Filipa R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

It was amazing go through the Li river in a beautiful boat, with an amazing guide - Gary - that was very kind with me and my friends and was always with us. Highly recomended tour.

Doing what: Li River Cruise Full Day Tour of Guilin and Yangshuo

Al M

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2016

Worthwhile trip, too bad it was so hazy, don't know if that is unusual or not.
The passengers tend to be segregrated, English speakers all at the same table, might be a good idea, but if you want to sample other culture's food not so good. Cabin's excellent

Doing what: Li River Cruise Full Day Tour of Guilin and Yangshuo

ALESSANDRO B

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
September 2016

The boats are motorized ferries with at least 100 people on each of them. On top of that there are at least 10 of these ferries leaving almost at the same time. This create a situation where ferries are travelling like in a queue with a distance between each other of about 50m. So you never have the feeling to be immersed inside the nature and the noise from motors of your ferry and of the ferries in front and behind you is not nice. The quality of the meal is not good. Although we had a private tour the guide would spend 90 of her time on her own inside while we were outside and the level of information given was little and at the same level of the information given by the guides for group tours. They were giving mainly statements about how the different mountains look likes rather than information of historical/geographical nature. After that we visited the village very nice for half an hour and then a tiny hold house with an old lady who pretended to live there. Finally the guide took us to see very shortly 5-10 minutes some areas around the village where we could take beautiful pictures. So, considering the cost 290 Euros for 2 people the quality and the content of the service offered was not satisfactory . Fortunately the places are so beautiful that compensate most of the other aspects. In addition, as positive point, the car was nice and both the guide and the driver were very nice and kind people.

Doing what: Private Tour: Guilin Li River Cruise and Yangshuo Day Tour

Mirela R

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
September 2016

Han Tang Tour China is terrible. They didn't pick me up at the hotel as said in 5 previous emails. I almost lost the cruise. The bus on the way back had no air conditioning while outside was 92 F. They overcharged to visit a sort of Disney sort of park called Shagri-La right there in Yangshuo. Viator has to drop this agency if there is no improvement.

Doing what: Li River Cruise Full Day Tour of Guilin and Yangshuo

Suchirana S

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2016

All these tours are very large group tours. would have liked doing in a small group if i had known.

Doing what: Li River Cruise Full Day Tour of Guilin and Yangshuo

Chris H

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2016

The sights were stunning. Han Tang Tours was awful. Late. Poor English. This comes from someone who teaches Chinese students.

Doing what: Li River Cruise Full Day Tour of Guilin and Yangshuo

Marcia W

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2016

Very nice tour. Relaxing and views all around. Tour guide was exceptional and made sure all the highlights of the cruise were pointed out.

Doing what: Li River Cruise Full Day Tour of Guilin and Yangshuo

Alejandra Janet C

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2016

The landscapes are amazing, and also the silver caves in Yangshuo, but you have to pay extra money to go there. The food and the boat are regular.

Doing what: Li River Cruise Full Day Tour of Guilin and Yangshuo

Marlene Mei Lin H

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
March 2016

When we made the booking with Viator, we had assumed that we will be on a VIP boat with better toilet facilities, safety etc etc The cruise offered from our hotel with the newer white boats was only a fraction of the price we paid to Viator. I would recommend future travellors to book the local tour for this cruise for much better value.

Doing what: Li River Cruise Full Day Tour of Guilin and Yangshuo

G P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Great trip and the scenery is stunning

Doing what: Li River Cruise Full Day Tour of Guilin and Yangshuo

Laurie N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Gary was a fabulous guide. He was friendly, informative and funny. Gary's English was very good. I would highly recommend.

Doing what: Li River Cruise Full Day Tour of Guilin and Yangshuo

Emel S

3 star rating: Worth doing
October 2015

The tour was good but in talking to other people who booked through other websites, I overpaid on Viator. Also, although lunch was a buffet and I noted that I don't eat pork, there were not a lot of non-pork options. Even the noodles and the green beans had bits of pork in them. We ate lunch on the boat so there wasn't really an alternative. I chose to take the optional tour in the afternoon which wasn't really worth it except for the bamboo raft ride. However, if you're staying in Yangshuo you can easily do this on your own at a later time.

Doing what: Li River Cruise Full Day Tour of Guilin and Yangshuo

pritisinha45669

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
August 2015

This place is absolutely beautiful. It is a must-see for anyone visiting China however, this tour is not very English-speaking tourist friendly. The initial tour guide that picked us up was very nice and tried very hard to communicate effectively in English and tried to keep things equal between the Chinese speakers and English speakers. After we got on the boat, though, the translator would state 1 sentence in English but then continue the rest of the narration for 10 minutes in Chinese. There were many sights and scenes with significance we would have liked to learn about but because the narration was so poor we missed those opportunities. Additionally when announcing for food, the Chinese were instructed to get food first and after some delay we were told that food was served. By the time we got to the buffet, most of the food was gone. Additionally, when we arrived at the bamboo river rafting, our group with english speakers was bypassed by all the groups with Chinese individuals only even though we were there first. I am not sure how the tour was organized but we were required to tell the tour guide about interests in the bamboo rafting by 10 AM so that she could make reservations early on and it seemed as if she waited till the end to make the reservation. It would be best if there was a separate tour for english speakers.

Doing what: Li River Cruise Full Day Tour of Guilin and Yangshuo

Bruce L

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
July 2015

We were quite disappointed with this tour. There were about 35 people in our group mostly Chinese. When we got onto the boat we joined with another group most probably of a similar size. Although our guide spoke English when we were on the boat the guides there only spoke in Chinese so we didn't learn anything of the history of this incredible scenery. Unfortunately at the time the river was in flood and it was raining at times. During the cruise the guide asked us about an optional tour which cost an additional 300 Yuan for the two of us. This was totally unexpected. We were even charged an extra 20 Yuan each for a can of soft drink with lunch. The Chinese lunch today wasn't very impressive. The little village of Yangshuo was worth seeing. The optional tour for those who didn't want to do any more shopping with English commentary was quite good with a visit to a historical village dating back about 600 years and also the village of Shangri la. From our experience I would not recommend this tour.

Doing what: Li River Cruise Full Day Tour of Guilin and Yangshuo

thysvisser

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
April 2015

Over crowded and un organised.

Doing what: Li River Cruise Full Day Tour of Guilin and Yangshuo

Merlene W

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2015

Cruise was good. Tour leader very good

Doing what: Li River Cruise Full Day Tour of Guilin and Yangshuo

Eileen F D

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2014

I was very impressed with the Li River Tour in Guilin. It was well organised and we had a very good tour guide by the name of Susie.
I like all Viator tours as they ensure pick up from the Hotel and return to the Hotel.
This is now my fourth tour taken with Viator and if I return to China I will always tour with Viator.
Your Sincerely,
Eileen Duron.

Doing what: Li River Cruise Full Day Tour of Guilin and Yangshuo

christina.fair

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

In my opinion, this trip was amazing. It was everything I hoped it would be. Initially when I found out I was the only person on the tour I thought it would not meet my expectations, however, Tanxi my tour guide was excellent and the people at Bike Asia were very helpful and accommodating. On top of the incredible bike tour I also took advantage of all the extra side activities. I was never disappointed. I will definitely use this service again.

Doing what: 5-Day Small-Group Yangshuo Bike Adventure with Rock Climbing, Hiking, Kayaking or Cooking Class

danishpastry

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

This was a terrific trip. It can be difficult to get away from city life in China, and these guys are experts at taking you out into the Chinese countryside, to explore a more traditional way of life.

The whole trip was very thoughtfully planned, from which routes we took, to where we stopped and ate, to the hostel we stayed in.

If you're not a regular cyclist, make sure you wear cycling shorts, as the roads can be bumpy. But the guides are brilliant at judging the pace of the group and adjusting things accordingly.

Looking forward to booking another biking trip soon.

Doing what: 2-Day Small-Group Biking Adventure from Guilin to Yangshuo including Li River Cruise

Diego D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

The boat trip on the Li River is maybe the best activity in Guilin. If the weather is good, the view is amazing. The boat ride takes all the morning. In the afternoon you will visit Yangshuo. Remember that if you decide not to take part in any of the optional activities, you'll have to stay in Yangshuo for 4 hours. However, this is not a big problem. In Yangshuo you can do some shopping or relax in some pub.

Doing what: Li River Cruise Full Day Tour of Guilin and Yangshuo

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message