Halifax ATTRACTIONS See all

Prince Edward Island

Spend a bit of time here, and you’ll understand why PEI is known as the “gentle island.” This itty-bitty island in the middle of the Atlantic was the birthplace of Canadian confederation, and despite its small stature and population, it packs a big ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 23 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Sandra E

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

So much fun to see the house and tour. I read Anne of Green Gables as a kid and enjoyed this visit as an adult. I would highly recommend this tour. Driver and guide as very informative and friendly. Easy to find bus at start of tour.

Doing what: Green Gables Shore Tour from Charlottetown

judith b

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

We loved the tour. Clif was a great guide and kept us entertained throughout the trip.
Our only suggestion is better instructions on finding the tour. Not sure how we were supposed to know that Grey Line would handle the reservation.

Doing what: Green Gables Shore Tour from Charlottetown

Edward B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Wonderful trip to Green Gables. Also had the opportunity to see the country side of this beautiful island. Would strongly reccomend!

Doing what: Green Gables Shore Tour from Charlottetown

Lee D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

We loved our guide! It was an intimate view of the island and the people. We highly recommend it!

Doing what: Green Gables Shore Tour from Charlottetown

Madison H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

This tour was EXCELLENT! We booked it separately from our Holland America cruise line and I'm so glad we did. This tour takes you by the cutest preserve company where you MUST take the 20 minutes to purchase some of the black current jam and sample their salsas as well. It also has these beautiful trails through the Garden's of Hope that is great for picture taking and very romantic. You get about an hour at the Green Gables location which goes by very quickly and can tend to be crowded so I would recommend heading straight for the house tour and then lover's lane. The gift shop is spendy and you can buy lots of the same things in the Charlottetown tourist stores for less expensive. Our tour guide knew everything about the economy and the types of animals and much more about PEI. Ask lots of questions! He also took us to a great lookout point over the ocean which is another beautiful place for pictures. It was an unforgettable opportunity to see almost the whole island in just over 3 hours on an air conditioned comfortable van. This tour is a must! We really enjoyed it.

Doing what: Green Gables Shore Tour from Charlottetown

Noriko G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Roddy was a wonderful driver guide because he knew this area and history very well just like a history teacher. Especially, I loved his voice tone when he explained the things because it is clear, comfortable, and calm. I enjoyed it a lot. Thanks!

Doing what: Green Gables Shore Tour from Charlottetown

Shelley E

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Great way to see the island. Tour guide was excellent.

Doing what: Green Gables Shore Tour from Charlottetown

Kathleen B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

tour was great! Comfortable bus, engaging guide and perfect stopping points along the way
the best guided tour we took on our nine day cruise.

Doing what: Green Gables Shore Tour from Charlottetown

james.myra

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Excellent trip driver and guide very Informative

Doing what: Green Gables Shore Tour from Charlottetown

Sandra M USA

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2016

A very enjoyable trip. We enjoyed the guide and all of the stops. It was the right amount of time. We would definitely recommend this trip to anyone.

Doing what: Green Gables Shore Tour from Charlottetown

Billyboy

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2016

Good tour through the countryside with good guide

Doing what: Green Gables Shore Tour from Charlottetown

Edistowildcat

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2016

Good tour - small group - getting off the ship was a disaster - be prepared to wait.

Doing what: Green Gables Shore Tour from Charlottetown

Harvey R

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2016

Lovely short excursion 1 hour longer would have made it much more enjoyable.

Doing what: Green Gables Shore Tour from Charlottetown

cmcclure1949

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2016

Comfortable coach bus. Guide was nice and informative. Very low key. Nice tour!

Doing what: Green Gables Shore Tour from Charlottetown

Karen P

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2016

We had a beautiful day and a great guide named Roddie. It was a great way to see the island and get to know more about the history, culture and literature.

Doing what: Green Gables Shore Tour from Charlottetown

Samuel A

3 star rating: Worth doing
October 2016

Beautiful island tour with great attractions. Only drawback was far too much time at the numerous gift shops. Due to gift shop delays we didn't have any time to enjoy ourselves in town.

Doing what: Green Gables Shore Tour from Charlottetown

ucla75

3 star rating: Worth doing
October 2016

If you are a fan of the Green Gables books it's a five star tour. Otherwise, just a three hour bus ride through PEI. The visit to seashore and the rugged coast was the highlight of the trip. We didn't really need a stop at the jelly factory, where everybody was clamoring for a free sample of jelly on a cracker. Lunch at a seafood restaurant or diner would be a better option.

Doing what: Green Gables Shore Tour from Charlottetown

Philip S

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2016

We had a lovely time would have enjoyed longer at Green Gables to enjoy the wooded paths.

Doing what: Green Gables Shore Tour from Charlottetown

Gloria G

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
October 2016

The tour guide, Bill mumbled a lot, told us more than we wanted to know about grocery stores and other stores and restaurants while driving thru Charlottetown. Green Gables was wonderful for a fan of the books, but the rest of the tour was nonsense. Wasn't worth the money that day. With a different guide it might have been much better. Gloriag

Doing what: Green Gables Shore Tour from Charlottetown

Armin W India

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
June 2013

I am sorry to say, but a disappointing trip. The place itself was awesome, hotels chosen also very good, but, it was just not value for money, and almost all guests on the trip felt they were taken for a ride! First of all, it was NOT 5 days! the trip itself was just about two days, really! Also, because there were very few persons, instead of a large bus, we were taken around in a small van. Now this I would take as an advantage, as a small group, in a small van is always better. Problem was, the services of a Tour Director too were dispensed with, and we were `in the charge' of a driver. Now that again, would not really be a problem, but our problem was with the person driving, who was also designated `Tour Leader'. She was just not interested in anything, including her passengers, and more concerned about reaching everywhere in time for meals, rather than anything else ... She also seemed not to have much of a clue and was way off with timings, etc when it came to walks / excursions ... but, was rigid on timings herself, when it suited her. What could have been a fabulous tour was thus far less than that! And yes, as said, to call this a 5 day tour is totally misleading. In fact, the tour operator itself doesn't call this a 5 day tour! Merely organizing for hotel stays for 4 nights does NOT make this a 5 day tour of Prince Edward Trip - yes, the word (approximately) is very cleverly inserted in - but, you need to be more candid with your guests. I have used Viator often, in the past, first time I have returned with a feeling of disappointment, and worse, being let down.

Doing what: 5-Day Prince Edward Island Trip from Halifax Including Green Gables Heritage Place

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message