Hamburg ATTRACTIONS See all

Church St Michaelis (Michaeliskirche)

The baroque Protestant Church of St. Michaelis (Michaeliskirche) is a Hamburg landmark. Its famous clock tower soaring above the city roofs has been a beacon for sailors since the 1680s. The copper dome and gold clock of St. Michaelis’ ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 60 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Olympia G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

I loved the trip around the pier and the boat trip on Lake Alster. It is a great combination and one learns a lot about Hamburg.

Doing what: Essential Hamburg Combo: Hop-on Hop-off Tour, Cruise and Lake Alster

Karen S

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2016

We enjoy Hop-ON Hop-OFF bus tours in about every city we have traveled to. These tours are excellent for providing an quick overview of the highlights of the city. This combination also included a Harbor cruise which was good. We didn't get to the Lake Alster cruise due to a wrong turn and walked around about half of the lake so we did get to see it - and then ran out of time.

Doing what: Essential Hamburg Combo: Hop-on Hop-off Tour, Cruise and Lake Alster

Keith M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Fun and interesting overview of a great city, Philip very engaging.

Doing what: Small-Group Hamburg City Walking Tour

Susan D

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2016

The hop-on-hop-off bus was in German. They provided a headset to plug into the English or other languages but from the aisle seat it kept becoming unplugged and was very intrusive on the person sitting in the window seat. I finally gave up. It was disappointing. The lake cruise and the river cruise were worth it and very enjoyable. If you speak German, this is a great tour for you. Other languages, you should look elsewhere.

Doing what: Essential Hamburg Combo: Hop-on Hop-off Tour, Cruise and Lake Alster

Susan D

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2016

The hop-on-hop-off bus was in German. They provided a headset to plug into the English or other languages but from the aisle seat it kept becoming unplugged and was very intrusive on the person sitting in the window seat. I finally gave up. It was disappointing. The lake cruise and the river cruise were worth it and very enjoyable. If you speak German, this is a great tour for you. Other languages, you should look elsewhere.

Doing what: Essential Hamburg Combo: Hop-on Hop-off Tour, Cruise and Lake Alster

Martin D

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2016

Great tour but the hop on hop off bus was inadequate English tour was very sketchy and the guide was rude.
Lake Alster cruise was poorly organised and the English tour was very sketchy.
The crew smoked on board.

Doing what: Essential Hamburg Combo: Hop-on Hop-off Tour, Cruise and Lake Alster

Michaela S

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2016

The tour was great. Very informative. Just need clearer instructions on how to get the tickets for rhe hop on bus as there are a couple of companies.

Doing what: Hamburg City Pass Including Hop-On Hop-Off Bus and Skip-the-Line Hamburg Dungeon

Glenda P Australia

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
June 2016

A little worry as the bus did not stop at all the stops. Are you supposed to ring the bell? Also the commentary was in German ONLY and there was no Headsets provision for other languages.
The guide made jokes that we could not understand. All this was very poor.

Doing what: Essential Hamburg Combo: Hop-on Hop-off Tour, Cruise and Lake Alster

Ronald B

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
November 2015

We found the 2 boat trips were translated in German not English so this was annoying and the buses again were mainly translated in german

Doing what: Essential Hamburg Combo: Hop-on Hop-off Tour, Cruise and Lake Alster

Michael K

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2015

We were disappointed with this tour. I think we were the only English speaking people on the bus and thus very little dialog was given for us. In another language we heard Princess Kate and Prince William as part of the dialong on the bus, not Lake Alster and never heard the story in English. So we were knew we were missing stories. The Cruise and Lake Alster parts were fine.

Doing what: Essential Hamburg Combo: Hop-on Hop-off Tour, Cruise and Lake Alster

Lars D

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
October 2015

The trip itself was good, with harbour cruise, bus tour and visits to museums. The setup with Viator was not very good. WE did not get our Hamburg City Pass in our inbox. After my second call to the local agent, she mailed med the Pass's. We spent a lot of time figuring out how it worked!!
Next time I will by my City Pass on location.

Anyway, Hamburg is a very nice place - and friendly people.

Doing what: Hamburg City Pass Including Hop-On Hop-Off Bus and Skip-the-Line Hamburg Dungeon

yhuskey

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2015

Phillip took us all over Hamburg and let us in on secrets ie: the rosary elevator...VERY interesting.

Doing what: Small-Group Hamburg City Walking Tour

yvonne

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
September 2015

This tour was poor. We almost missed the only English cruise because of the bad directions. As for the bus, there was no English commentary.

Doing what: Essential Hamburg Combo: Hop-on Hop-off Tour, Cruise and Lake Alster

debasish_12345 India

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Excellent experience,enjoyed every moment of it.

Doing what: Hamburg Card

Maximiano F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

I booked online and did have any printed voucher. The lady inform us we need a paper voucher I requested to speak with her supervisor and they help us to get with our tour hassle free. Excellent customer service.

Doing what: Essential Hamburg Combo: Hop-on Hop-off Tour, Cruise and Lake Alster

Robin B

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2015

Overall good. Hop on hop of buss would be better if they used multi language head sets like lake Alster cruise used. The harbour cruise was magnificent,

Doing what: Essential Hamburg Combo: Hop-on Hop-off Tour, Cruise and Lake Alster

silvia q

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
May 2015

Bus tour was great.

Lake Alster tour was very disappointing. The tour was only in German, even though the commentator knew we only spoke English.

The other tour was also only in German and the only time they had an English speaking tour was at 12pm ONLY!

Doing what: Essential Hamburg Combo: Hop-on Hop-off Tour, Cruise and Lake Alster

busboy

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Mit der Hamburg Card sind wir meistens von unserem Hotel aus mit der S-Bahn zum Bahnhof gefahren. Von dort aus gab es viele Möglichkeiten in alle Richtungen weiter zu fahren. Wir benutzten auch die U-Bahn als auch die Busse. Mit der Card fühlt man sich völlig Unabhängig. Auch eine Fahrt mit die Fähre nach Finkenwerder wurde mit eingebaut. Wir saßen auf Deck und kamen sehr erfroren auf Hamburg Landungsbrücken wieder an.

Doing what: Hamburg Card

busboy

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

It was a great combination. We started with the hop-on hop-off tour, so we saw very much of the city on the first day. Next day we enjoyed the harbour cruise and the Lake Alster tour. As it was a bit colder we went below deck and you could warm up with drinks.
Each time its a joyful experience to be in possession of this combo card.

Doing what: Essential Hamburg Combo: Hop-on Hop-off Tour, Cruise and Lake Alster

Brenda C

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2014

We enjoyed the harbour cruise. It was a very good look at the shipping industry up close. We used the head set on the Lake Alster cruise but could still hear (loud and clear) the captain/guide doing the tour in German.. Maybe everyone should use the ear phones.
Otherwise, it was also pleasurable.
The hop on/hop off is always a great way to see any city, Hamburg included. I found the excessive graffiti a little off-putting, but, for a quick look at Hamburg, it did the trick.
My friend found it funny that people from Hamburg are indeed called Hamburgers!

Doing what: Essential Hamburg Combo: Hop-on Hop-off Tour, Cruise and Lake Alster

Diane L

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2014

Only fault was the Lake Alster tour which was only in German and we didn't know what or where were were looking at!

Doing what: Essential Hamburg Combo: Hop-on Hop-off Tour, Cruise and Lake Alster

Damian I

3 star rating: Worth doing
October 2014

The tour is pretty comprehensive and does what it says on the tin. The downside to this tour is that on the bus if you're lucky about 30% of the guided talk will be in English (as overheard by the guide themselves) and proved to be true. On the Lake Alster cruise there was no English guide. We also found the information from viator limited to locate the bus initially and once tickets obtained still insufficient information to readily identify either of the boats. A call to the 'emergency contact' number helped at the harbour and just choosing the right line of people worked for the lake. Worth doing but you may prefer to find a tour that has predominantly English guides for a more informative tour.

Doing what: Essential Hamburg Combo: Hop-on Hop-off Tour, Cruise and Lake Alster

Bryan V

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2014

We really enjoyed our tour of Hamburg with this package and the Hop on/Hop off bus tour guides were exceptional. However, were VERY disappointed with the supposedly "English" tour of the River Elbe. We checked even before we boarded the boat that this was, an English tour as advertised. The guide led the tour mostly in German, with a few English sentences thrown in here and there. A wonderful German couple, who were also surprised also at how very little English was spoken for the advertised tour, saw our confusion and provided translation for us which made the tour enjoyable.

Doing what: Essential Hamburg Combo: Hop-on Hop-off Tour, Cruise and Lake Alster

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message