Hangzhou ATTRACTIONS See all

Meijiawu Tea Village

Located 30 minutes outside of Hangzhou in the rural foothills of the West Lake district the Meijiawu Tea Village is an entire township devoted to the cultivation and heritage of Xihu Longjing Tea. Also known as “Dragon Well Tea,” everything ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 124 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Paul S

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2016

Bonnie my tour guide was just great. Her personality is just right for the job. It was easy to spend the day with her as she is engaging and knowledgeable about Hangzhou. I highly recommend this tour and Bonnie. Hangzhou is a beautiful city rich in history and culture and this private tour is the best way to learn about it. Go Bonnie!!

Doing what: Private Tour: Ultimate Hangzhou Sightseeing Tour

ALOK K

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
November 2016

It was supposed to be a day trip with bullet train to maximise time efficiency and enhance experience of travel in the famed bullet trains.
It was a surprise to learn that the travel to Hangzhou from Shanghai was arranged in a A/C coach in which travel time was 3 hrs one way. No where in the voucher was this aspect mentioned and the rates charged talked about transportation in A/c coach which typically would be understood to mean within city travel.
Even for the lunch - which is a part of the package - the tie up is not with any quality restaurant but with a group booking eating place that serves limited quality irrespective of number of guests 1 plate of each item to be shared between the tourist having lunch. Pointed out about the same ,extra was being offered at add on costs- which is a complete rip off.Not seen it happening anywhere else.
Overall charge for the package and its delivery there is a huge gap and a feeling of being taken on a ride. Caution for other who trust that benefit of tourist is being protected and there is honest transparency in the packages being created. I have seen Bullet train package being offered at 138 wherein I had paid 169 and still got trapped on 6 hours of commute on 1 day trip.

Doing what: Hangzhou: Heaven on Earth Day Trip from Shanghai

Dawn B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

I can't say enough positive things about my experience touring Hangzhou for the day with Bonnie, it was simply, one of my best tours ever.

I booked a private day tour off the Viator app with only about 16 hours notice, and everything went more than smoothly. As soon as I booked the tour, I called Bonnie directly to ask her the best way to meet I was coming on the train from Shanghai and she told me that she would be at the train station waiting for me with a sign she was, and she even recommended specific train numbers and times from Shanghai - that was incredibly helpful, as China's high-speed rail schedules are daunting for foreigners. Moreover, Bonnie and the driver picked me up in a very comfortable and nice car, and gave me bottled water.

I also told her over the phone specifically which attractions I wanted most to see I was most interested in seeing pagodas, temples and Buddha mountain carvings, along with shopping, and what my priorities for the day were.

Bonnie and the driver were incredible, to say the least, at one point pulling over and re-routing our day when I saw yet, another pagoda, in the distance that I wanted to experience first hand. Not only can you not get that treatment on a group tour, but many private tours are not that accommodating. Also, when I mentioned to Bonnie that I wanted to buy yet another silk dress, but that I was running out of money, she suggested taking me to a store that specialized in silk and was off the tourist path, which would save me money. We squeezed this in to the very end of our day, and she was right, and I managed to spend only US150 on a dress that I saw the following day in Shanghai for 250 - that was a great bonus!

In addition to being a great tour guide, Bonnie was incredibly nice, always happy and smiling. Her English is fluent, and talking to her was a pure delight. I truly loved my day with her, and I believe that I gained a new friend in the process. I highly recommend touring with Bonnie.

Doing what: Private Tour: Ultimate Hangzhou Sightseeing Tour

Angela D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Great tour! Davi, our tour guide was very informative, friendly and personable. I would highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Private Tour: Ultimate Hangzhou Sightseeing Tour

JOHN B

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2016

It was a rainy day and we were the only two on the tour but our guide Frank and the driver gave us a good trip in a new Buick van. Hangzhou is a beautiful city in the tea growing region and it was impressive to see the new highways and rail lines along the way. Did the West Lake boat trip in the rain and stopped at an impressive pagoda built by an emperor around the year 950.

Doing what: Hangzhou: Heaven on Earth Day Trip from Shanghai

Brendan O

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2016

Great scenery and experiences and a helpful guide Anna who was warm and friendly. Just need to lose the blatant selling at the tea house.

Doing what: Private Tour: Ultimate Hangzhou Sightseeing Tour

Helen H

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2016

The guide was very helpful and informative. The travelling by bus from and to Shanghai took more than half the time. The boat cruise on the lake was pleasant. I would have liked more time to walk around the park by the lake despite the weather being hot.

Doing what: Hangzhou: Heaven on Earth Day Trip from Shanghai

Pat Canada

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Excellent tour. The scenery at West Lake is breathtaking the stone carvings at Feilai Feng and the Buddhist figures at Lingyin Temple are very interesting. Our tour guide, Bonnie, is very knowledgeable about the area and told us many interesting stories about the background of these sights. Thanks to Bonnie, we had a great time in touring these world class sights in Hangzhou.

Doing what: Private Tour: Ultimate Hangzhou Sightseeing Tour

Simonne D

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2016

Nice tour, very friendly guide!

Doing what: Hangzhou: Heaven on Earth Day Trip from Shanghai

irinaus97

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
June 2016

It was ok, the lake was beautiful, everything was very well organized, but I would have liked to hear more about history of the city. It's way overpriced.

Doing what: Hangzhou: Heaven on Earth Day Trip from Shanghai

jose w

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
June 2016

The driver was reckless and the trip was unsafe.
The guide explained very little, his English was good but did not seem to know enough, he slept on the way back.
The trip should be done by bullet train and not by bus, it takes 3 hours.
We payed for a tour, not a drive back and for plus lunch!/

Doing what: Hangzhou: Heaven on Earth Day Trip from Shanghai

ZHANG W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

The Hangzhou private tour made us very relaxed. We were not in haste, we had enough time to visit the attractions. Drivers and tour guides picked us up at 9:30, not very early, so we had a good rest that we had enough energy for a day of tourism activities. This itinerary includes all the top attractions in Hangzhou,we could visit the most famous scenic spots in Hangzhou, walk from the remote retreat of the Lingyin Temple to the traditional Chinese Hamlet of Amanfayu village,particularly ,we could chose lunch at a local restaurant or learn how to prepare an authentic dish at a tea farmer 's home own expense,it was so distinctive from other tours. Our guide explained so carefully , we enjoyed the life of the people of Hangzhou,that we felt we have integrated into one .Besides,Hangzhou private tour provided water supply along this trip,so we could prepared without water, save a lot of things .Thanks to this trip, so that we had a profound understanding of the city of Hangzhou .

Doing what: Private Tour: Ultimate Hangzhou Sightseeing Tour

chabh

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Beautiful city. Well organized tour

Doing what: Hangzhou: Heaven on Earth Day Trip from Shanghai

ZHANG W

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
April 2016

The Hangzhou private tour made us very relaxed. We were not in haste, we had enough time to visit the attractions. Drivers and tour guides picked us up at 9:30, not very early, so we had a good rest that we had enough energy for a day of tourism activities. This itinerary includes all the top attractions in Hangzhou,we could visit the most famous scenic spots in Hangzhou, walk from the remote retreat of the Lingyin Temple to the traditional Chinese Hamlet of Amanfayu village,particularly ,we could chose lunch at a local restaurant or learn how to prepare an authentic dish at a tea farmer 's home own expense,it was so distinctive from other tours. Our guide explained so carefully , we enjoyed the life of the people of Hangzhou,that we felt we have integrated into one .Besides,Hangzhou private tour provided water supply along this trip,so we could prepared without water, save a lot of things .Thanks to this trip, so that we had a profound understanding of the city of Hangzhou .

Doing what: Private Tour: Ultimate Hangzhou Sightseeing Tour

Yujia L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

We booked a last minute tour of Hangzhou with Hangzhou privatetour. They provided us a wealth of options.They provided us the traffic can not only meet in the hotel,If we were at the station, they would pick us up at the station, so we could avoid a lot of traffic problems.And they were Very rich in tourist attractions, we could visit the most famous scenic spots in Hangzhou, walk from the remote retreat of the Lingyin Temple to the traditional Chinese Hamlet of Amanfayu village,particularly ,we could chose lunch at a local restaurant or learn how to prepare an authentic dish at a tea farmer 's home own expense,it was so distinctive from other tours,in the process of cooking, we can feel the pleasure of the manual, and understand the production process of traditional Chinese cuisine. The tour enhanced the feelings between our families.

Doing what: Private Tour: Ultimate Hangzhou Sightseeing Tour

CLAYTON F USA

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
November 2015

Do not waste your money and more important your valuable vacation time in this tour. It is a 3 hour ride to and from Hangshou. When you get there you get about a 45 minute boat ride, lunch and then spend about 10-15 minutes at the pagoda. No tea ceremony. What a waste of a valuable day.

Doing what: Hangzhou: Heaven on Earth Day Trip from Shanghai

wallercj

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2015

this tour takes you to some beautiful places - tour guides need to slow down so international tourists can enjoy the sights better

Doing what: Hangzhou: Heaven on Earth Day Trip from Shanghai

Tentay L

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
October 2015

My family and I had a great experience during our Hangzhou tour. Our tour guide Frank gave us an overview of Hangzhou. He was on time and was patient with explaining and giving all the facts about the tour. Overall, it was a really great tour. I recommend this agency very much. High five.

Doing what: Hangzhou: Heaven on Earth Day Trip from Shanghai

Jennifer M USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

The lake in Hangzhou is very beautiful and on the day I was there it was misty and gave the impression of a Chinese painting. The tour was well-designed, and the travel agency you use is excellent with very well-informed guides and very safe drivers. The only downside is the long time sitting in a bus - it takes 3 hours there and 3 hours back.

Doing what: Hangzhou: Heaven on Earth Day Trip from Shanghai

Hayley K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Excellent tour. Very beautiful lake, boat tour was stunning, pagoda was interesting and miss joy was very informative. Would be good if the tour was slightly longer as its a 3 hour drive each way but worthwhile nonetheless.

Doing what: Hangzhou: Heaven on Earth Day Trip from Shanghai

C G

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2015

The service is great and my guide tom was great too, but i think that everything was made with a little rush and i couldn't enjoy the city as i wanted to.

Doing what: Hangzhou: Heaven on Earth Day Trip from Shanghai

Karmen M

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2015

Little bit expensive and unfortunately very crowded.

Doing what: Hangzhou: Heaven on Earth Day Trip from Shanghai

John C

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
July 2015

A Long drive to see not very much. The guide was very good

Doing what: Hangzhou: Heaven on Earth Day Trip from Shanghai

Thomas C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

David was a great tour guide. He was well-informed and had smart suggestions on nearby places to see and conveniences along our tour. I would definitely recommend this tour to others.

Doing what: Private Tour: Ultimate Hangzhou Sightseeing Tour

Cynthia H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

This was the first time I took a tour anywhere. The tour was great. Our guide, Rita, was full of great information and incite. We were able to see various sites in one day but never felt rushed.

I would recommend this tour for anyone who wants to see a glimpse into green tea growing, West Lake, and a neat Pagoda.

Doing what: Hangzhou: Heaven on Earth Day Trip from Shanghai

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message