Hangzhou ATTRACTIONS See all

Meijiawu Tea Village

Located 30 minutes outside of Hangzhou in the rural foothills of the West Lake district the Meijiawu Tea Village is an entire township devoted to the cultivation and heritage of Xihu Longjing Tea. Also known as “Dragon Well Tea,” everything ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 118 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Helen H

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2016

The guide was very helpful and informative. The travelling by bus from and to Shanghai took more than half the time. The boat cruise on the lake was pleasant. I would have liked more time to walk around the park by the lake despite the weather being hot.

Doing what: Hangzhou: Heaven on Earth Day Trip from Shanghai

Pat Canada

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Excellent tour. The scenery at West Lake is breathtaking the stone carvings at Feilai Feng and the Buddhist figures at Lingyin Temple are very interesting. Our tour guide, Bonnie, is very knowledgeable about the area and told us many interesting stories about the background of these sights. Thanks to Bonnie, we had a great time in touring these world class sights in Hangzhou.

Doing what: Private Tour: Ultimate Hangzhou Sightseeing Tour

Simonne D

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2016

Nice tour, very friendly guide!

Doing what: Hangzhou: Heaven on Earth Day Trip from Shanghai

irinaus97

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
June 2016

It was ok, the lake was beautiful, everything was very well organized, but I would have liked to hear more about history of the city. It's way overpriced.

Doing what: Hangzhou: Heaven on Earth Day Trip from Shanghai

jose w

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
June 2016

The driver was reckless and the trip was unsafe.
The guide explained very little, his English was good but did not seem to know enough, he slept on the way back.
The trip should be done by bullet train and not by bus, it takes 3 hours.
We payed for a tour, not a drive back and for plus lunch!/

Doing what: Hangzhou: Heaven on Earth Day Trip from Shanghai

ZHANG W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

The Hangzhou private tour made us very relaxed. We were not in haste, we had enough time to visit the attractions. Drivers and tour guides picked us up at 9:30, not very early, so we had a good rest that we had enough energy for a day of tourism activities. This itinerary includes all the top attractions in Hangzhou,we could visit the most famous scenic spots in Hangzhou, walk from the remote retreat of the Lingyin Temple to the traditional Chinese Hamlet of Amanfayu village,particularly ,we could chose lunch at a local restaurant or learn how to prepare an authentic dish at a tea farmer 's home own expense,it was so distinctive from other tours. Our guide explained so carefully , we enjoyed the life of the people of Hangzhou,that we felt we have integrated into one .Besides,Hangzhou private tour provided water supply along this trip,so we could prepared without water, save a lot of things .Thanks to this trip, so that we had a profound understanding of the city of Hangzhou .

Doing what: Private Tour: Ultimate Hangzhou Sightseeing Tour

chabh

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Beautiful city. Well organized tour

Doing what: Hangzhou: Heaven on Earth Day Trip from Shanghai

ZHANG W

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
April 2016

The Hangzhou private tour made us very relaxed. We were not in haste, we had enough time to visit the attractions. Drivers and tour guides picked us up at 9:30, not very early, so we had a good rest that we had enough energy for a day of tourism activities. This itinerary includes all the top attractions in Hangzhou,we could visit the most famous scenic spots in Hangzhou, walk from the remote retreat of the Lingyin Temple to the traditional Chinese Hamlet of Amanfayu village,particularly ,we could chose lunch at a local restaurant or learn how to prepare an authentic dish at a tea farmer 's home own expense,it was so distinctive from other tours. Our guide explained so carefully , we enjoyed the life of the people of Hangzhou,that we felt we have integrated into one .Besides,Hangzhou private tour provided water supply along this trip,so we could prepared without water, save a lot of things .Thanks to this trip, so that we had a profound understanding of the city of Hangzhou .

Doing what: Private Tour: Ultimate Hangzhou Sightseeing Tour

Yujia L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

We booked a last minute tour of Hangzhou with Hangzhou privatetour. They provided us a wealth of options.They provided us the traffic can not only meet in the hotel,If we were at the station, they would pick us up at the station, so we could avoid a lot of traffic problems.And they were Very rich in tourist attractions, we could visit the most famous scenic spots in Hangzhou, walk from the remote retreat of the Lingyin Temple to the traditional Chinese Hamlet of Amanfayu village,particularly ,we could chose lunch at a local restaurant or learn how to prepare an authentic dish at a tea farmer 's home own expense,it was so distinctive from other tours,in the process of cooking, we can feel the pleasure of the manual, and understand the production process of traditional Chinese cuisine. The tour enhanced the feelings between our families.

Doing what: Private Tour: Ultimate Hangzhou Sightseeing Tour

CLAYTON F USA

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
November 2015

Do not waste your money and more important your valuable vacation time in this tour. It is a 3 hour ride to and from Hangshou. When you get there you get about a 45 minute boat ride, lunch and then spend about 10-15 minutes at the pagoda. No tea ceremony. What a waste of a valuable day.

Doing what: Hangzhou: Heaven on Earth Day Trip from Shanghai

wallercj

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2015

this tour takes you to some beautiful places - tour guides need to slow down so international tourists can enjoy the sights better

Doing what: Hangzhou: Heaven on Earth Day Trip from Shanghai

Tentay L

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
October 2015

My family and I had a great experience during our Hangzhou tour. Our tour guide Frank gave us an overview of Hangzhou. He was on time and was patient with explaining and giving all the facts about the tour. Overall, it was a really great tour. I recommend this agency very much. High five.

Doing what: Hangzhou: Heaven on Earth Day Trip from Shanghai

Jennifer M USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

The lake in Hangzhou is very beautiful and on the day I was there it was misty and gave the impression of a Chinese painting. The tour was well-designed, and the travel agency you use is excellent with very well-informed guides and very safe drivers. The only downside is the long time sitting in a bus - it takes 3 hours there and 3 hours back.

Doing what: Hangzhou: Heaven on Earth Day Trip from Shanghai

Hayley K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Excellent tour. Very beautiful lake, boat tour was stunning, pagoda was interesting and miss joy was very informative. Would be good if the tour was slightly longer as its a 3 hour drive each way but worthwhile nonetheless.

Doing what: Hangzhou: Heaven on Earth Day Trip from Shanghai

C G

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2015

The service is great and my guide tom was great too, but i think that everything was made with a little rush and i couldn't enjoy the city as i wanted to.

Doing what: Hangzhou: Heaven on Earth Day Trip from Shanghai

Karmen M

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2015

Little bit expensive and unfortunately very crowded.

Doing what: Hangzhou: Heaven on Earth Day Trip from Shanghai

John C

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
July 2015

A Long drive to see not very much. The guide was very good

Doing what: Hangzhou: Heaven on Earth Day Trip from Shanghai

Thomas C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

David was a great tour guide. He was well-informed and had smart suggestions on nearby places to see and conveniences along our tour. I would definitely recommend this tour to others.

Doing what: Private Tour: Ultimate Hangzhou Sightseeing Tour

Cynthia H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

This was the first time I took a tour anywhere. The tour was great. Our guide, Rita, was full of great information and incite. We were able to see various sites in one day but never felt rushed.

I would recommend this tour for anyone who wants to see a glimpse into green tea growing, West Lake, and a neat Pagoda.

Doing what: Hangzhou: Heaven on Earth Day Trip from Shanghai

Pang Tian Y

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

The trip was excellent! Our guide was very attentive and was able to share with us a lot of background information about the area. He helped us to better appreciate the importance of hang zhou, the west lake, the tea plantation, the temples. On top of that, we love the lunch spot he brought us to - local food, and very tasty! One of the best part was the stroll across amanfayun - which was very pleasant! Would definitely recommend the guide and the trip for those who are looking at forming their on private tour for hangzhou. I only wished that we had more time!

Doing what: Private Tour: Ultimate Hangzhou Sightseeing Tour

Seraphina E

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2015

Hangzhou is a long drive from Shanghai - about 3 hours, but it is worth the trip. The West Lake was lovely and whilst it would have been nice to walk around, time was constricted, so going on a boat ride instead was a quick, nice and convenient way to view the lake and the stunning scenery. Lunch was OK - not the best. The trip to the China National Tea Museum was good fun - tasting green tea! Visiting Liuhe Pagoda was a nice way to end the day.

Doing what: Hangzhou: Heaven on Earth Day Trip from Shanghai

Meaghan A

3 star rating: Worth doing
May 2015

Good, not great. Joy, our guide, was Fantastic and really friendly! But the tour itself felt rushed. We had barely any time to look around the lake, just on the boat then off. No time to explore. No time to look around the tea fields, just time to be sold tea. Felt like the hard sell. Nice enough...

Doing what: Hangzhou: Heaven on Earth Day Trip from Shanghai

Holly G

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
May 2015

The majority of the day was spent in the bus. The scenery was pretty and I'm glad that we saw it, but it would have been much better over a couple of days.

Doing what: Hangzhou: Heaven on Earth Day Trip from Shanghai

Kim S

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
April 2015

Hangzhou is BEAUTIFUL, we loved the gardens, pagoda, and thought seeing the tea fields and area was beautiful. However, it is a 3 hour drive each way and our van had no air conditioning. It was miserably hot and there were times we had to ask the guide to stop so we could get water at a local rest stop. The tea stop felt more like a sales pitch, and I would've loved to spend more time seeing the fields and walking around. However, all things considered, if it's the only way you get to see Hangzhou, I'd highly recommend the tour. However, you could get there on the Bullet Train from Shanghai much quicker and likely with AC!

Doing what: Hangzhou: Heaven on Earth Day Trip from Shanghai

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message