Hangzhou ATTRACTIONS See all

Six Harmonies Pagoda (Liuhe Pagoda)

A seven-story structure which looks deceivingly like 13 stories, the Six Harmonies Pagoda was constructed in 970 AD as part of an effort to ward off evil spirits believed to be responsible for the Qiantang River’s tidal bore. Though times of warfare ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 113 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

ALOK K

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
November 2016

It was supposed to be a day trip with bullet train to maximise time efficiency and enhance experience of travel in the famed bullet trains.
It was a surprise to learn that the travel to Hangzhou from Shanghai was arranged in a A/C coach in which travel time was 3 hrs one way. No where in the voucher was this aspect mentioned and the rates charged talked about transportation in A/c coach which typically would be understood to mean within city travel.
Even for the lunch - which is a part of the package - the tie up is not with any quality restaurant but with a group booking eating place that serves limited quality irrespective of number of guests 1 plate of each item to be shared between the tourist having lunch. Pointed out about the same ,extra was being offered at add on costs- which is a complete rip off.Not seen it happening anywhere else.
Overall charge for the package and its delivery there is a huge gap and a feeling of being taken on a ride. Caution for other who trust that benefit of tourist is being protected and there is honest transparency in the packages being created. I have seen Bullet train package being offered at 138 wherein I had paid 169 and still got trapped on 6 hours of commute on 1 day trip.

Doing what: Hangzhou: Heaven on Earth Day Trip from Shanghai

JOHN B

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2016

It was a rainy day and we were the only two on the tour but our guide Frank and the driver gave us a good trip in a new Buick van. Hangzhou is a beautiful city in the tea growing region and it was impressive to see the new highways and rail lines along the way. Did the West Lake boat trip in the rain and stopped at an impressive pagoda built by an emperor around the year 950.

Doing what: Hangzhou: Heaven on Earth Day Trip from Shanghai

Helen H

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2016

The guide was very helpful and informative. The travelling by bus from and to Shanghai took more than half the time. The boat cruise on the lake was pleasant. I would have liked more time to walk around the park by the lake despite the weather being hot.

Doing what: Hangzhou: Heaven on Earth Day Trip from Shanghai

Simonne D

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2016

Nice tour, very friendly guide!

Doing what: Hangzhou: Heaven on Earth Day Trip from Shanghai

irinaus97

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
June 2016

It was ok, the lake was beautiful, everything was very well organized, but I would have liked to hear more about history of the city. It's way overpriced.

Doing what: Hangzhou: Heaven on Earth Day Trip from Shanghai

jose w

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
June 2016

The driver was reckless and the trip was unsafe.
The guide explained very little, his English was good but did not seem to know enough, he slept on the way back.
The trip should be done by bullet train and not by bus, it takes 3 hours.
We payed for a tour, not a drive back and for plus lunch!/

Doing what: Hangzhou: Heaven on Earth Day Trip from Shanghai

chabh

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Beautiful city. Well organized tour

Doing what: Hangzhou: Heaven on Earth Day Trip from Shanghai

CLAYTON F USA

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
November 2015

Do not waste your money and more important your valuable vacation time in this tour. It is a 3 hour ride to and from Hangshou. When you get there you get about a 45 minute boat ride, lunch and then spend about 10-15 minutes at the pagoda. No tea ceremony. What a waste of a valuable day.

Doing what: Hangzhou: Heaven on Earth Day Trip from Shanghai

wallercj

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2015

this tour takes you to some beautiful places - tour guides need to slow down so international tourists can enjoy the sights better

Doing what: Hangzhou: Heaven on Earth Day Trip from Shanghai

Tentay L

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
October 2015

My family and I had a great experience during our Hangzhou tour. Our tour guide Frank gave us an overview of Hangzhou. He was on time and was patient with explaining and giving all the facts about the tour. Overall, it was a really great tour. I recommend this agency very much. High five.

Doing what: Hangzhou: Heaven on Earth Day Trip from Shanghai

Jennifer M USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

The lake in Hangzhou is very beautiful and on the day I was there it was misty and gave the impression of a Chinese painting. The tour was well-designed, and the travel agency you use is excellent with very well-informed guides and very safe drivers. The only downside is the long time sitting in a bus - it takes 3 hours there and 3 hours back.

Doing what: Hangzhou: Heaven on Earth Day Trip from Shanghai

Hayley K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Excellent tour. Very beautiful lake, boat tour was stunning, pagoda was interesting and miss joy was very informative. Would be good if the tour was slightly longer as its a 3 hour drive each way but worthwhile nonetheless.

Doing what: Hangzhou: Heaven on Earth Day Trip from Shanghai

C G

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2015

The service is great and my guide tom was great too, but i think that everything was made with a little rush and i couldn't enjoy the city as i wanted to.

Doing what: Hangzhou: Heaven on Earth Day Trip from Shanghai

Karmen M

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2015

Little bit expensive and unfortunately very crowded.

Doing what: Hangzhou: Heaven on Earth Day Trip from Shanghai

John C

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
July 2015

A Long drive to see not very much. The guide was very good

Doing what: Hangzhou: Heaven on Earth Day Trip from Shanghai

Cynthia H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

This was the first time I took a tour anywhere. The tour was great. Our guide, Rita, was full of great information and incite. We were able to see various sites in one day but never felt rushed.

I would recommend this tour for anyone who wants to see a glimpse into green tea growing, West Lake, and a neat Pagoda.

Doing what: Hangzhou: Heaven on Earth Day Trip from Shanghai

Seraphina E

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2015

Hangzhou is a long drive from Shanghai - about 3 hours, but it is worth the trip. The West Lake was lovely and whilst it would have been nice to walk around, time was constricted, so going on a boat ride instead was a quick, nice and convenient way to view the lake and the stunning scenery. Lunch was OK - not the best. The trip to the China National Tea Museum was good fun - tasting green tea! Visiting Liuhe Pagoda was a nice way to end the day.

Doing what: Hangzhou: Heaven on Earth Day Trip from Shanghai

Meaghan A

3 star rating: Worth doing
May 2015

Good, not great. Joy, our guide, was Fantastic and really friendly! But the tour itself felt rushed. We had barely any time to look around the lake, just on the boat then off. No time to explore. No time to look around the tea fields, just time to be sold tea. Felt like the hard sell. Nice enough...

Doing what: Hangzhou: Heaven on Earth Day Trip from Shanghai

Holly G

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
May 2015

The majority of the day was spent in the bus. The scenery was pretty and I'm glad that we saw it, but it would have been much better over a couple of days.

Doing what: Hangzhou: Heaven on Earth Day Trip from Shanghai

Kim S

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
April 2015

Hangzhou is BEAUTIFUL, we loved the gardens, pagoda, and thought seeing the tea fields and area was beautiful. However, it is a 3 hour drive each way and our van had no air conditioning. It was miserably hot and there were times we had to ask the guide to stop so we could get water at a local rest stop. The tea stop felt more like a sales pitch, and I would've loved to spend more time seeing the fields and walking around. However, all things considered, if it's the only way you get to see Hangzhou, I'd highly recommend the tour. However, you could get there on the Bullet Train from Shanghai much quicker and likely with AC!

Doing what: Hangzhou: Heaven on Earth Day Trip from Shanghai

bryan f

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2014

Very good tour, a little long

Doing what: Hangzhou: Heaven on Earth Day Trip from Shanghai

Galina G

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2014

The national park is breathtaking, the scenery is beautiful
Our guide Jackie was pleasant and well informed.
We had lunch in a hotel, the food was bland and boring. I suggested to Jackie that he should find another restaurant with more authentic cuisine.
On the way back the road was extremely uneven and bumpy. These were minor details compared to the overall wonderful experience

Doing what: Hangzhou: Heaven on Earth Day Trip from Shanghai

Michael H

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2014

Yes I would recommend this trip. The guide was very good and was happy to explain life in China in general I thought his base knowledge was excellent. Tea tasting very commercial

Doing what: Hangzhou: Heaven on Earth Day Trip from Shanghai

kritz

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2014

The guide Frank was very articulate and knowledgeable. The sights were worth the cost.

Doing what: Hangzhou: Heaven on Earth Day Trip from Shanghai

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message