Hanoi ATTRACTIONS See all

Perfume Pagoda (Chua Huong)

The Perfume Pagoda located in a vast grotto on Huong Son mountain, in a national park where the scent of flowers lends the shrine its name. Enjoy the scenery as you are rowed up a winding river to the site. You can hike the 2 kilometers (1.25 miles) ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 9 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Cheryl S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

Great day. The Perfume Pagoda was very impressive. Since we went during Tet Festival time, when many Vietnamese make a pilgrimage here, it was very crowded. We were about the only non Asians so were quite the celebrities, but everyone was nice and yelling hello to us. Our guide, Frank, was very knowledgable, not only about what we were seeing, but about Vietnam, Vietnamese culture, and even world politics and economics as they relatd to and impacted Vietnam.

Doing what: Private Tour: Day Trip to Perfume Pagoda from Hanoi

Kay L R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

Need excellent hiking boots

Doing what: Perfume Pagoda Day Trip from Hanoi

Marla C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

This was an awesome tour and a great company to work with. Rose picked us up at the hotel bright and early. She made sure we had everything we needed and took us in a lovely air con van to where we needed to pick up the boat. The ride is about 2.5 hours and it goes very fast learning about her country and the places you drive thru. Once we arrived our row boat picked us up and took us on a 45 minute ride up the river to the Pagoda's . The water is like glass and the scenery is breathtaking . It was raining a bit so our guide made sure we had a covered boat to make our trip extremely pleasant. Once we arrive Rose took us thru each step giving amazing historical information and sharing old tales and myths aside of explaining the religion. We had a wonderful lunch between pagodas and honestly there was too much food you didnt know what to try first. Our guide really made the tour very special for us and I would highly recommend anyone going to the Perfume Pagoda to book with Rose if you want a real once in a life time experience.

Doing what: Private Tour: Day Trip to Perfume Pagoda from Hanoi

hegdearkal

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

The tour was very good. The guide was very nice. Very nice places were shown. The afternoon lunch was v. good. We were picked up from the hotel in time. Worth the money.

Doing what: Full-Day Perfume Pagoda Small-Group Tour

Annette K

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2016

Very interesting tour, lunch was great, could have been cushions on the seats on the boats we had a sore bum when we got off the boat.

Doing what: Full-Day Perfume Pagoda Small-Group Tour

Richard M

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2016

Really good tour, tour guide was knowledgeable.

Doing what: Perfume Pagoda Day Trip from Hanoi

Dr Barbara C

3 star rating: Worth doing
October 2016

Was great to get out of the city of Hanoi and see the rural scenery and agriculture and village life on this trip. Mountains were lovely and the rowing trip up the river was interesting although I wouldn't have wanted to do it in any weather warmer than the 30' we experienced!. But the trip had been described as having a cable car ride which would cut out a long steep trek and nothing prepared us for the hundreds of very steep steps we encountered to get to the two temples on the tour. We are nearer 70 than 60, and maybe not super-fit, but we are not decrepit and when warned about lots of steep stairs, we tend to choose another tour. There was no clear warning on this tour and yet the climb was very considerable. Even the younger tourists were gasping. We had to sit out of the tour group about 2/3 of the way up, as, even with cable car ride, we could not manage the remaining flights of steep stairs so we saw one temple and missed the other. Our guide Dong did all he could to assist us, but we had bitten off more than we could chew. I think a much more precise and accurate description of the tour is necessary and if you struggle with hundreds of steep stairs, don't choose this tour.

Doing what: Full-Day Perfume Pagoda Small-Group Tour

Ursula M

3 star rating: Worth doing
May 2016

Good solid tour. Food could have been better. Enjoyed the river boat ride to and from the perfume pagoda. Make sure you bring money to tip rowers...

Doing what: Full-Day Perfume Pagoda Small-Group Tour

Michael M

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
October 2016

I must explain the low review. The perfume pagoda, in and of itself, was an amazing experience. However, as other reviewers have noted, Viator does a poor job of explaining how physical this trip is. 2 1/2 hours in a bus, 1 hour in a very uncomfortable boat, and at least 2 hours of hiking to various areas total, plus a cable car ride. You'll survive, but this is a 'work' trip as opposed to a 'lazy' trip.

Now for the small group tour I'd hate to see the large group!. There were no seats on the bus, that's how small our tour was. We were the last stop to be picked up at the Opera House, 30 minutes late, only to find that the only four seats were the very front plus a jump seat only one of which has the actual space of a real seat!. We should have stopped there, but we wanted this tour. When I complained to our guide, he stated that four people had joined the tour that morning .... which means they oversold our seats. 5 HOURS of sitting like that total, and we paid for that? Further, the lunch place was horrible. Even the locals on our trip ate very little and we live in Hanoi, so we are well versed in what food should taste like at a good tourist place. Never again ... we would absolutely never book through Viator again. Waiting for our money to be returned, and we'll let you know if that happens!

Doing what: Full-Day Perfume Pagoda Small-Group Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message