Stroll through the Old Quarter of Hanoi, Vietnam's northern hub, and you'll quickly find yourself allured by aromas wafting from street food stalls and storefronts cooking up a variety of cheap and delicious eats. The cuisine in Hanoi tends to be ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 107 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Allannah S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Lucy was an absolutely fantastic host who not only took us for an extra two hours, but also helped us find snacks for our night train journey the next day! We had a lovely small group of only 6, and Lucy made sure to ask us all questions and make us feel like a 'food family'. She was very knowledgeable and friendly, answered any questions we had, and introduced us to some delicious food that we wouldn't have otherwise known how to eat. The tour was great value for money and gave us a good foundation for the rest of the trip. Cannot recommend the tour enough!

Doing what: Half-Day Hanoi Old Quarter Food Tasting Tour

David M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Wonderful, enlightening experience in Hanoi. Lovely guide who introduced us to typical street food all of which was delicious. Lots of information was provided as well as the plentiful delicious food. Highly recommended.

Doing what: Hanoi Street Food Walking Tour

Steven P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

We enjoyed this tour and the food was delicious. Definitely recommend if you want to eat what the locals eat.

Doing what: Hanoi Street Food Walking Tour

Bernd W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Nice guide telling about food, restaurants and scams. Nice selection of food and drinks. Pleasant tour visiting Hanoi at night.

Doing what: Hanoi Street Food Walking Tour

Maarten

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Had a great time with Tony our tour guide and our small group of 4 persons. Got to taste different kinds of Vietnamese food and ended with a nice egg coffee. We had bad luck with the weather heavy rain, but Tony bought us some ponchos and arranged a taxi to bring us back to our hotel after the coffee. Would certainly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Half-Day Hanoi Old Quarter Food Tasting Tour

Anna M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Great tour covering snacks, meals, fruit, desert and local drinks! Good variety of seeing the area and enjoying some food. Would definitely recommend to anyone new to Hanoi!

Doing what: Hanoi Street Food Walking Tour

MICHAEL E

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Great guide. Great time. Great food. Would gladly do again with another first-timer in Hanoi.

Doing what: Hanoi Street Food Walking Tour

FRANCES N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

an absoleute fabulous experience the family we visited were so friendly the food was wonderful their house was lovely and they didn't mind showing us all around it the gave us home made rice wine which my husband enjoyed and the gentleman of the house kept filling hais glass up my husband commented he liked jasmin tea and the lady went missing and came back from a little shop with a packet all tied with ribbons for us to take home with us really first class and our guide for the evening was a credit to your company

Doing what: Hanoi Dinner Experience in a Local Home

Gabriela W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

The best way to experience the street food in Hanoi, especially in old quarter area. Our guide, Nguoc was really funny and informative. He even treated us free beer! One of the best experience. Really recommended!

Doing what: Hanoi Street Food Walking Tour

Sandrajw Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Absolutely Brilliant!
I booked this just before leaving Australia, being our first night in Hanoi, it was wonderful introduction in experiencing the Vietnamese food and culture
Our guide Anh was amazing, and as well as the food tour she should us extra sights and shared information along the way
A definate do

Doing what: Hanoi Street Food Walking Tour

Tyrone G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Excellent tour! Our guide, Anh, was very knowledgeable, friendly and funky. She was able to answer all our questions really well.

Great way to eat a bucketload of good, local food and see what the locals do.

Doing what: Hanoi Street Food Walking Tour

Whyhaveone United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

We thoroughly enjoyed this walking/eating tour of Old Hanoi.

Lee our guide spoke pretty good English and was knowledgeable and informative. We tried more than we would have on our own - Vietnam's street food is more 'street' than Thailand's where we were happy to eat. We were also given the opportunity to try some unusual food but all bar one we declined much to the amusement of all. :-

We ended up at a coffee shop with a rooftop terrace overlooking Lake Ho Hoan Kiem. We would not have found this on our own and it was a treat.

All in all this was a great intro to the old quarter of Hanoi and some of the Vietnamese street culture.

Doing what: Hanoi Street Food Walking Tour

kevin m

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

what a fantastic food tour,have done a few off these around the world and this has got be one off the best , helped by are great guide Thoa , there were only four off us on this tour which made it a bit more personal.
Thoa took us to some great street food vendors which we would not have found if we were on are own
and also would not off tried some off the great food we tried, my highlight was the street food bar b q, which was delicious, though i must admit i did not try the grilled frog, but a couple who were with us did try it.
at the end off the tour Thoa took us to a secret cafe overlooking the lake , which again we would never have found on are own , i tried the egg yolk coffee which was fabulous
if you are a foodie i would recommend this trip

Doing what: Hanoi Street Food Walking Tour

Jolanta J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

One of the many great attractions in experiencing Hanoi has to be it's wonderful variety of food. There are plenty of food tours around, but this one caught our eye because it was a half day tour, and you could nominate a morning or afternoon tour. We opted for the 11.30am start, great because it was well after breakfast. The reservation was simple and a courtesy follow up email and phone call to our hotel made the booking worry free.

We were met by our guide, Duy, at our hotel. Duy had a very good command of English and following a brief discussion was able to acertain our current Vietnamese food experience. This was an excellent way in tailoring our upcoming food discoveries.
The next three and a half hours turned out to be more than a food experience. Duy, gave us a cultural tour as well.

As we went from one food experience to the next Duy took the time to describe, explain and answer the many questions we had. His personable nature made for a relaxed atmosphere. We never once felt rushed or pressured for time.

All in all we had 9 different foods in a variety of locations. This gastronomic treat could have easily become a blur, except for the fact that an email of the Food Diary was sent to us after the tour. What a fantastic idea. The diary listed all the locations we visited and the foods we had. No need on relying on memory.

By the end of the tour we were sufficiently full, our senses of sight, smell, sound wonderfully exercised.
This food tour was well thought out and we felt that it was tailored for us. Not only was the food experience most satisfying it was our tour guide who truly made our time happy and memorable.

On returning to our hotel, we exchanged notes with other guests. It seems that our experience was the best.

If you are looking for a similar experience we'd suggest that you give this tour a go.

Based on our experience, definitely 5 star.

Doing what: Half-Day Hanoi Old Quarter Food Tasting Tour

Hyung Ran M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

The tour was great! Our guide, Ching, was friendly and knowledgeable. All the dishes we tried were delicious and very good value.

Doing what: Hanoi Street Food Walking Tour

robbe v

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

This tour was amazing!! I highly recommend taking it. Our guide/chef was terrific. We had a great little tour of the morning market. Then off to the very clean,well set up kitchen to prepare our Vietnamese dishes. After we completed our dishes we were then sat at a table to enjoy our creations.
If given the chance I definitely would do this again.

Doing what: Vietnamese Cooking Class at Hanoi's Cooking Centre

Susan H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

Good variety of places visited. Great final stop with view over lake.

Doing what: Hanoi Street Food Walking Tour

Gregory L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

great food, great guide, great value!

Doing what: Hanoi Street Food Walking Tour

Meghan A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

This was definitely a great experience and value. We got an incredible walking tour and so much delicious food and insight into the culture. I'd highly recommend!

Doing what: Hanoi Street Food Walking Tour

Stacey D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

I am Vietnamese American and I really enjoyed this tour. I brought my New Zealand, American, and Taiwanese friend, and they all loved it. We had banh mi delicious, rambutan yummy, banh cuon BEST, BBQ so much fun! decent, lots of meat, fruitcondensed milk desert sweet, delicious, and egg coffee super sweet, too late in the night for coffee, but fun to try. Would recommend to any of my friends. Best way to get an intro to the city, especially if you're shy about going to street food stands on your own. The food is well-prepared so no need to be afraid!

Doing what: Hanoi Street Food Walking Tour

Bengt J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Very knowledgeable and entertaining guide, good composition of the group. And the food was all the way through excellent. Took very good care of my spouse's dietary restrictions.

Doing what: Hanoi Street Food Walking Tour

Jay C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Elly walked us through the french quarter tasting local foods. We went places we would never have tried by ourselves and they were great.

Doing what: Private Hanoi Street Food Evening Tour

Jay C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

excellent. We enjoyed it so much that we went for a second day. The market tour was very informative. The cooking was very tasty, hands on. Good recipes. Very good english. Very friendly. My wife and I both loved it

Doing what: Vietnamese Cooking Class at Hanoi's Cooking Centre

Maureen M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Our guide was very good and knowledgeable. We got to eat in places we would not have tried on our own.

Doing what: Hanoi Street Food Walking Tour

Jennifer S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

This was a fantastic tour. Lee was a really generous and thoughtful guide. Really was a highlight of our tour.

Doing what: Hanoi Street Food Walking Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message