Halong Bay, located 103 miles (165 kilometers) from the capital city of Hanoi, is made up of more than 1,600 limestone islands and islets, creating a drowned Karst landscape of immense beauty. Visiting this UNESCO World Heritage Site has become the ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 91 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Joanna Z

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

This was definitely one of the best highlights of our trip to Vietnam with only three nights in Hanoi. The views of Halong Bay are overawing. Our tour guide, Cong, was very insightful, funny, patient and went above and beyond to make the trip an enjoyable one. Lunch was fresh and delicious we feasted on prawns, salt and pepper pork, marinated fish fillets, squid salad and vege spring rolls. We felt safe and comfortable during the entire journey. The minibus and cruise boat were clean and well maintained. Make sure you include it in your itinerary for Hanoi - you won't regret it!

Doing what: Halong Bay Small Group Adventure Tour including Cruise from Hanoi

Mark M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Amazing experience to sail around Halong Bay and see this unique part of the world. Tour guide, Mr. San, was very friendly and knowledgeable and able to answer all questions. He also took a lot of pics for the tour members He really made the trip more enjoyable! The seafood lunch served on board the boat was actually delicious with many more options that you would expect. The excursion off the boat into the caves was unexpectedly awesome. Be aware that the day trip takes a full day- traffic can be heavy and very slow there and back- return trip took about 5 hours but the trip was worth it. The bus is modern, air-conditioned and very comfortable and it offered wifi ! There is a stop on the way there and the way back for a potty break and a chance to purchase local crafts. I'd recommend this trip and try to ask for Mr San.

Doing what: Halong Bay Small Group Adventure Tour including Cruise from Hanoi

Salema K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Our tour guide Ahn was brilliant. Energetic and informative. Full knowledge of everything and made it nicer as we weren't just taught about the sights but got so much info in general about Vietnam and the culture. She was very attentive and caring and made sure we had the best experience. A wonderful guide who made the experience all the more better. Halong bay tour was great, visit to cave, boat ride and boat lunch were included. As I didn't eat meat Ahn made sure the chef made me something else so I didn't go hungry, always thoughtful : an enjoyable day, I would do it again. Thank you

Doing what: Halong Bay Small Group Adventure Tour including Cruise from Hanoi

Sam B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Would highly recommend this trip to anybody staying in Hanoi and wanting to squeeze in Halong Bay for the day. Don't let the 3 hour coach trip put you off - the time goes by very quickly in the air conditioned van and the beautiful Vietnam scenery passing by the window.

The boat trip itself was perfect with a great lunch and plenty of photo opportunities of the bay as well as the visit to the spectacular cave!

Many thanks to our fantastic tour guide Ching who was friendly, enthusiastic, provided us with a lot of interesting information along the way and all in all looked after us well. The small tour group size ours was a group of 6 also made it even more special.

Doing what: Halong Bay Small Group Adventure Tour including Cruise from Hanoi

Richard M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Excellent tour, really could have done the 2 day as it is a long day to see Halong in one day. Despite this the tour guide was excellent and knowledgeable. Would recommend highly.

Doing what: Halong Bay Small Group Adventure Tour including Cruise from Hanoi

Brandon A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Tour started by picking us up at our hotel in the Old Quarter. Air Conditioned Van was comfortable and sat 12 people, but there were only 7 of us on this tour. The drive to Halong wasn't too long, I suggest bringing some headphones for the drive. You make one stop along the way to use the facilities or purchase food/souvenirs. Once arriving our Guide, San, took us to our boat for the day. It was a very large boat, and was extra roomy with our small group. Lower deck inside was set up as a dining area with bench seating facing the dining tables. There is also a restroom on the boat which is great. The top deck is quite bare, but perfect for picture taking. There are a few places to sit upstairs. We boated to our first stop where we went inside a cave. The 'hike' up, wasn't more than just a few flights of stairs. Inside the cave was beautiful, although a few other groups made the space loud at times. We then went back to boat, to cruise along the bay while having lunch. The seafood lunch was incredible! Shrimp, rice, vegetables, whole grilled fish, squid, etc. My wife and I chose to quickly eat lunch so that we could be on the top deck of the boat while cruising, since seeing the Bay was higher priority than lunch. Beverages on the boat are excluded, but we still chose to buy a few beers to drink on the top deck. We cruised the bay for probably 2-3 hours, and our driver took us to several areas where there were no other boats around which was wonderful. The photos just don't do this area justice, it's quite spectacular. After we finished cruising, we made our way back to the dock, and loaded back into the van. Again, one stop on the way back to use the facilities. We arrived back at our hotel in Hanoi before 7pm, giving us plenty of time that night back in the city. I would recommend this trip to anyone looking to do a day trip to Halong Bay.

Doing what: Halong Bay Small Group Adventure Tour including Cruise from Hanoi

Alex G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

Dien, our tour guide, picked us up from our hotel at 630am. We were the first of the 10 people in our tour group to be picked up and Dien kept us engaged with some interesting information about Vietnam for about the first half of the 3 hour ride. There isnt a whole lot during the ride in terms of sight-seeing but we got go see some smaller towns, factories, and rice planting along the way. About halfway through the trip we stopped for about 15 minutes for a restroom break. Of course we got the opportunity to purchase some items at the location. There are some pricey art items there from the hundreds to thousands of USD, but if you look around towards the back there are some more reasonably priced items.

On arrival at Halong Bay we had a wonderful lunch and got to try out a variety of Vietnamese dishes. It was late January, a bit chilly with no sunshine, and I needed a light jacket. We were still able to experience the beauty of Halong bay and everyone was awed. The overcast conditions gave it a very majestic feel. We also stopped off at the limestone cave, which I thoroughly enjoyed. After about 3.5 to 4 hours it was time for the return trip.

I feel like the 1 day trip was sufficient and that I had not necessarily missed out on anything. The downside is it is a lot of time spent traveling in a bus. However, I would do this tour again. Thanks to Dien for helping to make this a wonderful trip!

Doing what: Halong Bay Small Group Adventure Tour including Cruise from Hanoi

Anish P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Very nice tour and boat ride around Halong Bay. Hotel pick was on time and the journey to Halong Bay from centre of Hanoi was a nice comfortable journey. Very interesting and funny guide. Great English too which makes a big difference. Boat ride was nice and relaxed. Lunch was very nice too. Overall a very nice tour

Doing what: Private Tour: Deluxe Halong Bay Day Cruise including Seafood Lunch from Hanoi

Kriszti

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Halong Bay is a beautiful natural beauty. Everybody needs to see it once in his/her life.

Doing what: Halong Bay Small Group Adventure Tour including Cruise from Hanoi

Kelly K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Halong Bay is beautiful- can't really take a bad photo there :
We didn't have a long time in Hanoi area so going to Halong Bay via bus and returning that same day was perfect! It's fun to see the landscape shift from the city to rural to coast. Our tour guide San was GREAT! Very friendly, knowledgeable, conversant and easy to be around. The boat tour and lunch great food, great scenery. It's a fun stop at the big cave on one of the islands- like some kooky Disney film meets early Star Trek. A bit crowded with boats and people but all part of the experience.

Doing what: Halong Bay Small Group Adventure Tour including Cruise from Hanoi

Raylee E

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

So worth the day trip if you don't have a lot of time. The drive its self is worth it just to experience and observe the countryside, then arriving at Halong Bay is so beautiful. Excellent

Doing what: Halong Bay Small Group Adventure Tour including Cruise from Hanoi

Stephanie L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

I highly recommend this tour. Not only was the boat luxurious, clean and well-kept, but the staff were extremely accommodating and could not do enough to help us. The excursions were great fun and the scenery was out of this world. Do not leave Vietnam without taking a tour of Halong Bay particularly on this boat - from what I could see, it was the only one with a balcony for each room!!

Doing what: 2-Day Halong Bay Luxury Junk Boat Cruise Including Cooking Class and Morning Tai Chi

Sana Y

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Tour itself was great - great tour leader, safe driver, large sized boat to ourselves, beautiful tour of Halong bay. Had lunch on the boat while cruising past the islands which was amazing.

Just note that the drive to Halong Bay is long. Be prepared for a lot of sitting and waiting - bring a book, pillow, and snacks.

Doing what: Halong Bay Small Group Adventure Tour including Cruise from Hanoi

Crystal K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

This was great day long tour. You really see and learn a lot without having to spend days in Halong. I really enjoyed the boat ride and the seeing the cave.

Doing what: Halong Bay Small Group Adventure Tour including Cruise from Hanoi

Shu Jun N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

My friends and I were the only ones on the trip and we had a good time with our guide San. The visibility was not the best but nonetheless Halong Bay still looks very beautiful.

Doing what: Halong Bay Small Group Adventure Tour including Cruise from Hanoi

Erica C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

We had a great time in Halong bay. Our guide was so nice and informative. We had a beautiful boat to ourselves and a delicious meal. Highly recommend.

Doing what: Private Tour: Deluxe Halong Bay Day Cruise including Seafood Lunch from Hanoi

Nida P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

The tour was magnificent! If you want to see Halong Bay in one day, this is definitely the tour. Good food and knowledgeable tour guide.

Doing what: Halong Bay Small Group Adventure Tour including Cruise from Hanoi

Valerie d

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

If you only have one day to do Halong then this is a great way to do it. Breathtaking scenery! Be prepared for the long 4 hour driving journey there and back.

Doing what: Halong Bay Small Group Adventure Tour including Cruise from Hanoi

Anonymous

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

Halong Bay is beautiful. The cabin was spacious and very comfortable. We were lucky that the weather was perfect. The staff on the boat were excellent and a lot of fun. Visiting Halong Bay is one of our best travel experiences!!

Doing what: Private Tour: 4-Day Hanoi Highlights and Halong Bay Cruise

lottie799

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Excellent - a long day trip but well worth it. I would recommend if you have time to stay over but if you only have one day this is the perfect one day trip to see Halong Bay. It was beautiful and stunning, really amazing.

Doing what: Halong Bay Small Group Adventure Tour including Cruise from Hanoi

Yuen Sang C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

The tour guide was fabulous - for a Vietnamese his English is incredibly fluent and he was very friendly and knowledgeable. He was also very patient with everyone - whenever we requested a photo he would happily take it for us and his photo-taking skill was great! We did many jumping shots at Halong Bay. I also like that the tour was small in number.

Doing what: Halong Bay Small Group Adventure Tour including Cruise from Hanoi

RANBIR S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

An amazing excursion - Halong Bay is spectacular. Our guide was awesome.

Doing what: Halong Bay Small Group Adventure Tour including Cruise from Hanoi

Christine S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

Halong Bay is beautiful. Yes there are a lot of tourists and tourist boats but the area is so beautiful that everyone deserves the opportunity to see it. The cabin was spacious and very comfortable. We were lucky that the weather was perfect. The boat was not large so it gave us the opportunity to get to know some of the other tourists. The staff on the boat were excellent and a lot of fun. Visiting Halong Bay is one of our best travel experiences. Kayaking on the bay was hard work but has given us great memories.

Doing what: Halong Bay Overnight Junk Boat Cruise

Jackie J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

Very good trip to do if you do not have much time to spend in Halong Bay. Guide was very informative and friendly and the seafood lunch was very tasty.

Doing what: Halong Bay Small Group Adventure Tour including Cruise from Hanoi

Christine T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

This trip was an amazing experience for me and my daughter. The small group made it more personal and everyone on the trip shared an amazing experience. The food on board the boat was excellent and the rew could not have been nicer. Our tour guide did an amazing job. Would highly recommend this trip to anyone. I have made some new friends as a result and found Halong Bay to be mystical and magical.

Doing what: Halong Bay Small Group Adventure Tour including Cruise from Hanoi

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message