Formed by a 5,400-foot volcano, Kohala is dominated by lush valleys, laid-back plantation towns, verdant pastures and ancient Hawaiian religious sites. The area is an outpost of cowboys and hippies with its beaches, valleys and architecture, the ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 90 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Gary H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

What a great experience! Our pilot, Troy was exceptional in telling the story of the Big Island. He took us up close and personal with the volcano and its amazing history. The flight into the green caverns was amazing. Absolutely the best way to start your stay on the Big Island.

Doing what: Volcano and Kohala Landing Helicopter Tour on the Big Island

ks135bm

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Great tour and tour guide! They took care of the little things like extra water, snacks, back packs, towels. Would love to do the waterfall again!

Doing what: Kohala Waterfalls Small Group Adventure Tour

Jennifer C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

We really enjoyed this luau! We had grandparents, teens, kids, even a five year old, they all loved the show. The dancing and music from all the islands and cultures was amazing. Food was good, lots of variety, plenty of it, even had mac n' cheese for the kids which made my boys happy.

Doing what: Gathering of the Kings Luau on the Big Island

kathleen g

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Had a great trip. Well worth time and money. Lots of fun, interesting, and beautiful sights.

Doing what: Volcano and Kohala Landing Helicopter Tour on the Big Island

Markus

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Great trip Great people!

Doing what: Big Island Kohala Canopy Zipline Adventure

Jeff Brown

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Excellent. Tour guide was the best. Highly recommend.

Doing what: Private Tour: Hawaii Island Adventure

Carie M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

This tour was the highlight of our trip! Great experience. Would highly te come d this experience!

Doing what: Viator VIP: The Sunset Experience Helicopter Tour from Kona

James C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

The Zipline was awesome. The guides were great. Definitely recommend this one. We had a disappointing Zipline experience on our Norwegian cruise and this one was as good as we had hoped!

Doing what: Big Island Kohala Canopy Zipline Adventure

Rose M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Josh was awesome! Such a great day filled with one thing after another!! We were lucky to see the sea turtles at the black sand beach. We got to have the best donuts ever a local bakery, lunch at a local place too! Best Mocha Iced Coffee! Got to see the volcanoes! Volcano tube! Volcano steam vents! Waterfalls! One beautiful scene after another while Josh gave us the history of the Big Island! Too much to list them all! I would highly recommend this to EVERYONE!!! WE LOVED EVERY second of this 12 hour tour!!

Doing what: Private Tour: Hawaii Island Adventure

Rose M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Ryan our pilot was AWESOME!! This was our first time in a helicopter and have to admit we were a little nervous! No reason to be nervous at all! Such a smooth ride! Got to see so much of the island from a totally different view which was breathtaking! I think this was our favorite thing that we did all week and we did a lot! If you can do this one while you are there... DO IT!

Doing what: Volcano and Kohala Landing Helicopter Tour on the Big Island

Anita H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

We all enjoyed the guided tour and of course the view was excellent. We were lucky with a very clear day. My husband 85 had this on his bucket list. Well worth the cost. Thank you.

Doing what: Volcano and Kohala Landing Helicopter Tour on the Big Island

Samantha B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Friendly staff, smooth ride, and gorgeous views. What more could we ask?

Doing what: Volcano and Kohala Landing Helicopter Tour on the Big Island

Ronald J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

This was a wonderful tour. Josh was an excellent host. He was very knowledgeable had all the best things to tell you about this island. Was very in tune to your wants and places to see and gave plenty of time, to be sure you got to enjoy the island.
We highly recommend using this tour, it was superior

Doing what: Private Tour: Hawaii Island Adventure

Michael F M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

Excellent tour. Very informative and interesting. Very knowledgeable tour guide Mateo.

Doing what: Kohala Waterfalls Small Group Adventure Tour

Brenda B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

Josh at Mauka Makai Adventures is AWESOME!! In less than 20 minutes I knew the 12 hour adventure was going to be the best. Within 2 hours I felt like I had grown up on the island. We stopped for a real Hawaiian lunch that was big enough one plate served 2 and we like to eat! Josh loves his island and loves his job and I can't simply tell you enough how much we got for our money! This tour made the whole trip worth it and it was just one day out of 9!!

Doing what: Private Tour: Hawaii Island Adventure

Ruchit N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

We had a great time!!! I would highly recommend this tour. FIVE STAR.

Doing what: Big Island Kohala Canopy Zipline Adventure

Michael J A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

SPECTACULAR!! AMAZING!! SUPERB!! Add about 30 more adjectives and you will get an idea of how fun this was. Our pilot, CHRIS, was a Marine helicopter pilot for a couple of decades, and took us up close and personal into the narrowest of canyons, with 4 waterfalls each a few hundred feet high flowing heavily, and we were right next to them. He landed us in the remote valley where King Kamehameha was hidden when he was a child from the rulers who were trying to kill him before he could claim the throne. We spent an hour having a picnic and hiking around. We made alot of memories on this flight, and cannot thank Chris and Paradise Helicopters enough. I would absolutely recommend everyone do this. There is a point where you are looking at the cost and going Thats a helluva lotta money for three hours but trust me, just do it. The money will come and go but the memories from this ride will last forever.

A note of caution, this is a weather dependent thing - the island has almost daily rain on one side, and I would really recommend getting a clear understanding how it will work if you need to reschedule. We drew very lucky, huge rains the day before and after our ride, but spectacular clear skies were what we got. Sometimes you just get lucky, as I said. Also, my wife experienced nausea because she got the seat facing backwards in the copter. If anyone in your party is prone to sea/air sickness or motion sickness, let them know so they can do their best to minimize anything in that regard.

Doing what: Volcano and Kohala Landing Helicopter Tour on the Big Island

Stephanie h

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Very fun and a great staff!

Doing what: Big Island Kohala Canopy Zipline Adventure

Michael C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Great zip line. Guides were fun and safe. Thanks guys.

Doing what: Big Island Kohala Canopy Zipline Adventure

RONALD P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

This tour was everything we expected and more. Josh was on time, courteous, considerate of our needs and wishes. He not only gave us much information but shared a lot about local life on the Big Island. He was born and raised here so he knew every good place to go and seemed like everyone as well.

Doing what: Private Tour: Hawaii Island Adventure

Allison

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

This was alot of fun!!! Our ziplining guides - John and Ashley - were really wonderful, helpful and entertaining. I felt totally safe with the two of them at either end of the zip line. The views of the forest floor were quite beautiful and not too blurry, considering that we could reach speeds of up to 60km/hr. The scariest part, for me, was the 5 suspension bridges and being able to see the ground below my feet as I stepped from board to board - even though I was securely clipped onto the line - I took my time - my teenage daughter traversed the bridges like a little monkey. John was the photographer for our group - but you can bring your GoPro along as long as you can strap it to yourself securely and don't mind letting go of the handle bar of your steering gear to take a video of your zipping.

Doing what: Big Island Kohala Canopy Zipline Adventure

Mary G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Great! Especially for someone who hasn't ziplined before. Great guides!

Doing what: Big Island Kohala Canopy Zipline Adventure

Phillip H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Great zipline experience. The staff and guides were fantastic. They were fun but most importantly very attentive to safety and helped each individual in the group as required. Pretty setting and a very local feel to the town.

Doing what: Big Island Kohala Canopy Zipline Adventure

LeRoy C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

The helicopter tour was absolutely fantastic. The staff was excellent and professional - very helpful from start to finish. Our pilot gave us great information, made us feel safe and gave us a smooth, beautiful ride. This was certainly the most exciting and memorable experience of our trip to Hawaii.

Doing what: Volcano and Kohala Landing Helicopter Tour on the Big Island

Kevin H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

It was a,great trip.

Doing what: Kohala Waterfalls Small Group Adventure Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message