Hawaii ATTRACTIONS See all

Koke'e State Park

When compared to the sun-drenched beaches of Poipu or Hanalei, Koke’e State Park is a brisk mountain outpost where bikinis and boardshorts are replaced by flannels and hiking boots. Located at 4,000 ft. in the uplands above Waimea Canyon, the air is ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 25 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Amanda W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Our family had a great time doing this. The guides were incredibly knowledgeable about the towns we passed on the way up, the flora and fauna, as well as the history of the area. The canyon is gorgeous. I would recommend this to anyone comfortable on a bike. It's all downhill. Practically no pedaling at all and the views are beautiful.

Doing what: Waimea Canyon Bicycle Downhill

Tara C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

This tour was AMAZING! It was the last tour we had scheduled and we definitely saved the best for last. The guides were very informative and added a great sense of humor to their stories. We would totally recommend it.

Doing what: Waimea Canyon Bicycle Downhill

Aaron H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

The guys were a lot of fun and it was a nice relaxing time coasting down the hill with beautiful scenery.

Doing what: Waimea Canyon Bicycle Downhill

Linda H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

This was AWESOME!! Our guides were fun, energetic, knowledgable, engaging and witty...we laughed the entire time. My boyfriend and I made some life long friends as well...

Doing what: Waimea Canyon Bicycle Downhill

Brian J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Great at to spend the early morning. Beautiful sights, Blake and Dan were awesome guides. Very personable. Lots of fun.

Doing what: Waimea Canyon Bicycle Downhill

cwo262

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

They took us to an outlook, and the view is breathtaking. Then we started biking. The guys were really friendly and showed us all the sights and told us about plants and Hawaiian legends. The ride down was fun and not difficult at all. I liked the bikes too. They were comfortable and appropriate for this ride.

Doing what: Waimea Canyon Bicycle Downhill

Delia M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

This was an awesome tour! Really enjoyed this activity. Scenery is breathtaking and bikes very comfy. Aaron, our tour guide, was very informative and gave us so much history. Our driver and Aaron made sure we had a safe and fun ride. Morning coffee, muffins and cookies were scrumtious. We saw so many rainbows, including double rainbows. I would do this again in a heartbeat!

Doing what: Waimea Canyon Bicycle Downhill

Philip D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

This was such a rush. The guides were wonderful and the trip was super safe and exiciting.

Doing what: Waimea Canyon Bicycle Downhill

Don M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Guides were fun and energetic. I appreciated the explanation of the demise of the sugar plantations and what has transpired since. Very knowledgeable of local fauna and flora, very safety conscious, and covered our backs (the van follows after the last rider and kept cars away). Nice views of the canyon - exhilarating ride! No pedaling! Excellent equipment.

Doing what: Waimea Canyon Bicycle Downhill

Thomas K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

A must tour for the family.

Doing what: Waimea Canyon Bicycle Downhill

Donna D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

This was a great tour. Downhill 12 mile ride. Scenery was stunning. The tour guides, Nick and Harold were absolutely great. Informative, funny and very professional at the same time. We loved it so much, we signed up for their zip lining tour two days later. A++++

Doing what: Waimea Canyon Bicycle Downhill

Susan C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

This was a trip we will always remember. The beauty of the canyon was breathtaking. Our guides made sure that safety was paramount. Our group was diverse with ages and we all had a great time together. The information our guides told us of the area and island was so interesting. We will always have fond memories of our ride down the mountain. It was exhilerating and a lot of fun. Mahalo

Doing what: Waimea Canyon Bicycle Downhill

Jess R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2013

Hadn't rode a bike in 50 years so was a little apprehensive about going on this tour. We have our son with us on this trip and this was his choice of things to do. It was fantastic. Harold and Travis were so friendly and nice and put safety first. I was the last in the group when they finally said we could go as fast as we wanted but I was thinking of getting to the bottom in one piece so they all left me in the dust (with Harold following behind me in the van). I would highly recommend this tour - especially if you want to get up close with the canyon. Well worth the money.

Doing what: Waimea Canyon Bicycle Downhill

Audrey M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2013

We definitely recommend this tour. The guides Kristen Andrew and Nate were great. The canyon was beautiful and the bike ride was amazing. Was scared at first but Kristen and Andrew made us feel very comfortable and safe

Doing what: Waimea Canyon Bicycle Downhill

Mike P USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2010

After a beautiful ride up to Waimea Canyon, in our van, we were struck breathless with the beauty of our surroundings! Our guides narrated the entire trip so that we could more fully enjoy the sights. They made us feel safe about our downhill biking experience--not a small thing for someone like me who has not been on a bike in forty years! We never felt rushed as we biked and stopped several times to take a closer look and enjoy a refreshing snack. Then we were allowed to go FASTER on the last stretch of road, if we chose to do so. And several of us did--what fun!!

Doing what: Waimea Canyon Bicycle Downhill

Terry M

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2016

Great to do for something different. Downhill so anyone that can get on a bicycle can do this. Gorgeous view. If you get cold quickly take a sweater or light jacket.

Doing what: Waimea Canyon Bicycle Downhill

James P

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2016

The canyon view was gorgeous and the bicycle ride was an easy one. We easily could have driven to the canyon lookout by ourselves. My wife and I had thought and hoped to actually get into the canyon and this trip does not accomplish this.
However, the guides were friendly and informative, and the trip itself was worthwhile. The trip is unique and worthwhile.

Doing what: Waimea Canyon Bicycle Downhill

sipkemac

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2016

Pretty good. Decent if your looking for something relatively relaxing to do in the afternoon. Nice views but just know that a lot of the biking route does not have a view of the canyon. You will stop at a couple lookouts for the views. Good tour guides, I enjoyed it.

Doing what: Waimea Canyon Bicycle Downhill

Jerry P

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2016

This was a fun activity. Beautiful scenery, easy ride.

Doing what: Waimea Canyon Bicycle Downhill

Jeanne P

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2016

Very fun! We're recommending to our friends. Beautiful scenery and good guides.

Doing what: Waimea Canyon Bicycle Downhill

William L

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2015

I was very thankful for Viator's response ( a full refund of my portion ) to my unexpected backing out from the bicycle trip; I panicked and couldn't go through with the downhill bike ride. The staff at Outfitters Kauai were super also; they didn't make me feel embarrassed, etc. Thanks, Viator, for your good will with my refund. I'll definitely recommend you to friends and will use you again in the future!

Doing what: Waimea Canyon Bicycle Downhill

Christine D

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2014

Beautiful scenery, awesome guides.

Doing what: Waimea Canyon Bicycle Downhill

Mark G USA

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2010

The views coming down the road are simply amazing! Cruising in the car just doesn't give you the same perspective that cruising on the bicycle does. The guides do a good job of stopping along the way and pointing out trees, fruits, etc., that are native to Kauai. The only downside is the cost for a not-that-long bike ride.

Doing what: Waimea Canyon Bicycle Downhill

Sharee C

3 star rating: Worth doing
April 2016

Nice tour guides. Van ride was long. Wish we could have seen more of the beautiful canyon from our bikes. Nice ride though.

Doing what: Waimea Canyon Bicycle Downhill

Kaija E

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
July 2015

Didn't go, but had to pay.

Doing what: Waimea Canyon Bicycle Downhill

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message