It’s fair to say that when most visitors think about Hawaii, cattle ranching isn’t the first thought that comes to mind.  Believe it or not, however, ranches in Hawaii were operating long before those of the American West, and the Parker ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 336 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Takahiro H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

This was an excellent tour for a first-time Big Island visitor like my girlfriend and I. We thoroughly enjoyed every part of this tour. Our guide Hank was extremely knowledgeable and knew the entire place and route like the back of his hand. Driving up the rocky mountain side in a 4-wheel drive van, I knew that it wasn't something I wanted to try myself! He expertly guided us to the best spot, and gave a great star show. The stars were amazing, even though there were clouds in the sky, they were unnoticeable because the stars were so bright. I would recommend this tour to anyone who really loves star gazing.

Doing what: Mauna Kea Summit and Stars Small-Group Adventure Tour

Spanish name

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

This tour gave me the opportunity to view the entire island ina luxurious bus with a knowledgeable guide who was fun and entertaining.

Doing what: Big Island Grand Circle Island Tour

Carol S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Highly recommend this tour. Nate our guide was a wealth of knowledge and very professional. The sunset was amazing and the stargazing left one speechless!
Bucket List........Check!

Doing what: Mauna Kea Summit and Stars Small-Group Adventure Tour

Victor M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Great trip and very knowledgeable guide Nate. We had a wonderful clear night at the summit and learned a great deal about our galaxy.
Very much recommended.

Doing what: Mauna Kea Summit and Stars Small-Group Adventure Tour

Sandra

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Absolutely amazing! Summit and sunset spectacular. Guide entertaining and knowledgeable. Dinner left much to be desired, only negative. That aside, this was a must do, so glad we did it!!

Doing what: Mauna Kea Summit and Stars Small-Group Adventure Tour

Mark N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

It was a really good tour. I learned a lot about the Island...

Doing what: Big Island Grand Circle Island Tour

Robert S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Brent was our tour guide. Awesome. Knowledgable. Friendly.
Would highly recommend this tour and Bent as a tour guide

Doing what: Mauna Kea Summit and Stars Small-Group Adventure Tour

Marlene R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

A wonderful experience at 13,000 ft, with great views weather permitted, fun meal and stargazing. Was a bucket list item I was thrilled to check off. Recommend to anyone who loves astronomy or astrology.

Doing what: Mauna Kea Summit and Stars Small-Group Adventure Tour

skeeter

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

We had a very interesting and informative tor guide. It is a time to remember all of the sights that we saw on this tour. He let us have time to look around and take photos.

Doing what: Big Island Grand Circle Island Tour

Jim R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

We thoroughly enjoyed this tour. It is timed just right so that you have enough time to have a good look around the summit before sunset but not too long that you get really cold.

Our guide Brett was excellent. He was very safety conscious whilst we were up at the summit checking that no one was feeling the effects of the high altitude. Also he was very knowledgable about Mauna Kea and the Stars. He made it all very interesting and we learnt a lot.

We highly recommend this tour.

Annette and Jim, Australia

Doing what: Mauna Kea Summit and Stars Small-Group Adventure Tour

kkat1910

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

If you have not been to the Big Island before, this trip was very helpful to see what sites and activities there are to enjoy. Long day but worth it

Doing what: Big Island Grand Circle Island Tour

Cassandra L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Not only was the view from the summit spectacular, our guide, Nate, was so knowledgeable about the night sky that we had an amazing time with his explanation of space. My husband had a hard time with the high altitude, but Nate was prepared to accommodate him with oxygen readily available, which allowed him to enjoy the experience. This tour was not only a must do, we also felt safe and was well taken care of throughout.

Doing what: Mauna Kea Summit and Stars Small-Group Adventure Tour

Judi P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Dominic made this a wonderful and informative trip!

Doing what: Big Island Waterfall Tour from Kona: Waipio Valley, Hamakua Coast and Akaka Falls

Gav

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

great trip

Doing what: Big Island Grand Circle Island Tour

Karen R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

This was not just a sightseeing tour, it was a journey into the heart of the Hawaiian people. Our guide, Kolaa, please forgive if I misspelled was young and at first impression far too practiced. But as we traversed the primal Hawaiian landscape, he unveiled with unexpected wisdom, and a depth of passion only found when one is connected to the land as he is, secrets of the Hawaiian culture and heritage. We truly had no expectations other than to see a few island landscapes not ventured on previous trips, but this was an adventure extraordinaire with this interesting savant as our interpreter. Do not expect to be taken on drive-bys of purged and plumaged tourista attractions. Instead, try to empathize with a history of cultural and ecological interference and dominance, all related without malice but rather as historical fact. Not only were we enlightened to these waves of ways in which the Islands have changed, but we were treated to the stories, the myths, and the rich heritage of the Hawaiian culture. He also treated us to demonstrations of useful and medicinal plants and explained how, with careful planning, one could live completely self-sufficiently on this beautiful, mysterious and volatile rock. I could see how our young guide lived the Hawaiian way his reference to his family was always so tender and sincere. I would especially recommend our guide and this adventure to those who have an interest in anything ecologically related to the Islands. He has a depth of knowledge that you will find challenging and insightful.

Doing what: Big Island Waterfall Tour from Kona: Waipio Valley, Hamakua Coast and Akaka Falls

James C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Our tour guide was very knowledgable about the Island flora and fauna as well as Astronomy. The Bus was clean and comfortable. The meal, ok. A very nice group of people and an amazingly star filled night. I highly suggest going on the new moon. An experience to remember!

Doing what: Mauna Kea Summit and Stars Small-Group Adventure Tour

Brian K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

This tour is awesome. Our guide Brett was friendly and so knowledgeable. The sunset was beautiful. The food was very good. Brett set up a telescope after sunset and showed amazing night sky objects including the moons of Jupiter, the rings of Saturn, Mars, binary stars. Awesome trip. Thanks Brett.

Doing what: Mauna Kea Summit and Stars Small-Group Adventure Tour

Elise H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

It was amazing. I decided to go on this tour primarily because of the sunset yet the stargazing was mind blowing. Nate knew so much and showed us so many constellations, big and Little Dipper, southern cross and actually we saw three planets. I definitely recommend this tour.

Doing what: Mauna Kea Summit and Stars Small-Group Adventure Tour

Anne Katharina B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

This tour was just great.Our tour guide Marcus was one of the best tour guides I ever had.He gives lots of information about the Island and everything else you want to know.Lunch was very good as well.The hotel pick up and drop off worked without any problems.Although it and #39;s a long day its worth it!

Doing what: Big Island Waterfall Tour from Kona: Waipio Valley, Hamakua Coast and Akaka Falls

Karen F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

I can't think of a better way to tour the entire island. Loved the scenic views from the tour bus. Great tour guide. I also enjoyed the stops on the way around the island. Karen S. from Chicago

Doing what: Big Island Grand Circle Island Tour

Stephen P United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Great tour and great guide. Well paced tour with enough time at each stop. Marcus was very knowledgeable and kept everyone engaged during the tour. The bento box lunch was tasty, we really enjoyed the tour. Highly recommended.

Doing what: Big Island Waterfall Tour from Kona: Waipio Valley, Hamakua Coast and Akaka Falls

Gail V

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Guide was very knowledgeable able the island and took great cate of us. The small group size made for a quality experience.

Doing what: Big Island Waterfall Tour from Kona: Waipio Valley, Hamakua Coast and Akaka Falls

Troy F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

For a person who lived on the island of Oahu all my life and never vacationed on the Big Island this tour was amazing and educational. The Grand Island Circle Tour is a great jump start to see a large part of the island. Our tour guide was entertaining, informative, and fun.

Doing what: Big Island Grand Circle Island Tour

SHEILA M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Exhilarating!! One of the BEST things we've ever done by far! We were well prepared for this by Hawaii Forest and Trail and they even called the day before. Our tour guide Maka, was extremely knowledgeable and entertaining. The drive up was fun as he invited each of us to ask him a question. We stopped half-way for a decent dinner so we could acclimate to the elevation too. He even stopped again at 10,000 ft -- above the clouds -- so we could take photos! The Summit was amazing with all the telescopes. Freezing - 28 degrees!! We were dressed right and they gave us parkas and gloves too. After we watched the sunset, Maka took us back down to a private place along the road not the crowded observation level where he gave us an amazing astronomy lesson and viewing with his telescope as we enjoyed hot chocolate and brownies. The road was very rough going up and very dark coming down, so I would NOT recommend trying this yourself unless you're experienced and have a 4-wheel drive vehicle. Overall an experience I will remember forever! I cannot recommend this tour enough -- do it! You'll never regret it! :

Doing what: Mauna Kea Summit and Stars Small-Group Adventure Tour

cielle92

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Both tour guides were very knowledgeable and very entertaining. The views were incredible!

Doing what: Big Island Waterfall Tour from Kona: Waipio Valley, Hamakua Coast and Akaka Falls

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message