It’s fair to say that when most visitors think about Hawaii, cattle ranching isn’t the first thought that comes to mind.  Believe it or not, however, ranches in Hawaii were operating long before those of the American West, and the Parker ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 318 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

James C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Our tour guide was very knowledgable about the Island flora and fauna as well as Astronomy. The Bus was clean and comfortable. The meal, ok. A very nice group of people and an amazingly star filled night. I highly suggest going on the new moon. An experience to remember!

Doing what: Mauna Kea Summit and Stars Small Group Adventure Tour

Brian K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

This tour is awesome. Our guide Brett was friendly and so knowledgeable. The sunset was beautiful. The food was very good. Brett set up a telescope after sunset and showed amazing night sky objects including the moons of Jupiter, the rings of Saturn, Mars, binary stars. Awesome trip. Thanks Brett.

Doing what: Mauna Kea Summit and Stars Small Group Adventure Tour

Elise H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

It was amazing. I decided to go on this tour primarily because of the sunset yet the stargazing was mind blowing. Nate knew so much and showed us so many constellations, big and Little Dipper, southern cross and actually we saw three planets. I definitely recommend this tour.

Doing what: Mauna Kea Summit and Stars Small Group Adventure Tour

Anne Katharina B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

This tour was just great.Our tour guide Marcus was one of the best tour guides I ever had.He gives lots of information about the Island and everything else you want to know.Lunch was very good as well.The hotel pick up and drop off worked without any problems.Although it and #39;s a long day its worth it!

Doing what: Big Island Waterfall Tour from Kona: Waipio Valley, Hamakua Coast and Akaka Falls

Karen F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

I can't think of a better way to tour the entire island. Loved the scenic views from the tour bus. Great tour guide. I also enjoyed the stops on the way around the island. Karen S. from Chicago

Doing what: Big Island Grand Circle Island Tour

Stephen P United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Great tour and great guide. Well paced tour with enough time at each stop. Marcus was very knowledgeable and kept everyone engaged during the tour. The bento box lunch was tasty, we really enjoyed the tour. Highly recommended.

Doing what: Big Island Waterfall Tour from Kona: Waipio Valley, Hamakua Coast and Akaka Falls

Gail V

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Guide was very knowledgeable able the island and took great cate of us. The small group size made for a quality experience.

Doing what: Big Island Waterfall Tour from Kona: Waipio Valley, Hamakua Coast and Akaka Falls

Troy F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

For a person who lived on the island of Oahu all my life and never vacationed on the Big Island this tour was amazing and educational. The Grand Island Circle Tour is a great jump start to see a large part of the island. Our tour guide was entertaining, informative, and fun.

Doing what: Big Island Grand Circle Island Tour

SHEILA M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Exhilarating!! One of the BEST things we've ever done by far! We were well prepared for this by Hawaii Forest and Trail and they even called the day before. Our tour guide Maka, was extremely knowledgeable and entertaining. The drive up was fun as he invited each of us to ask him a question. We stopped half-way for a decent dinner so we could acclimate to the elevation too. He even stopped again at 10,000 ft -- above the clouds -- so we could take photos! The Summit was amazing with all the telescopes. Freezing - 28 degrees!! We were dressed right and they gave us parkas and gloves too. After we watched the sunset, Maka took us back down to a private place along the road not the crowded observation level where he gave us an amazing astronomy lesson and viewing with his telescope as we enjoyed hot chocolate and brownies. The road was very rough going up and very dark coming down, so I would NOT recommend trying this yourself unless you're experienced and have a 4-wheel drive vehicle. Overall an experience I will remember forever! I cannot recommend this tour enough -- do it! You'll never regret it! :

Doing what: Mauna Kea Summit and Stars Small Group Adventure Tour

cielle92

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Both tour guides were very knowledgeable and very entertaining. The views were incredible!

Doing what: Big Island Waterfall Tour from Kona: Waipio Valley, Hamakua Coast and Akaka Falls

Michael K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Hilary was very knowledgeable and kept the ride fun with his stories

Doing what: Big Island Grand Circle Island Tour

Alan L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

I recommend doing this tour on your first full day on the island for two reasons: first, it will give you a good overview of what's there so you'll know where to go on the rest of your vacation, and second, it starts early, and if you're coming from the mainland USA, you're going to be at least two hours ahead so you'll be up early anyway.
I was told the bus would be at my hotel at 7 am, we got to the pick up point about 6:45 and he was already there. Lunch is at Hawaii Volcanoes National Park, if you choose to eat there the other option is to bring your own lunch, you'll be given a menu on the bus, make your selection and it's called ahead and your table is ready for you when you get there.
Our driver, Kala, seemed to know everything there is to know about the island, its history, and Hawaiian culture, and freely shared it.

Doing what: Big Island Grand Circle Island Tour

James C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

This was a very well done tour. I especially appreciate having been guided by a native Hawaiian who speaks both English and Hawaiian and knows a lot of the native culture of the islands.

Doing what: Big Island Grand Circle Island Tour

Craig V

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Fantastic tour, great sunset and the stars just unbelievable
Great tour guide

Doing what: Mauna Kea Summit and Stars Small Group Adventure Tour

GRAMMIE

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

EVERYONE REALLY ENJOYED THE TOUR..FOR WHAT IT WAS...THE GUIDE DID A SUPER JOB EXPLAINING EVERYTHING....
.I WAS VERY, VERY, DISAPPOINTED THAT THEY NEVER GOT TO ENTER THE BUILDINGS TO SEE THROUGH THE TELESCOPES...THAT IS THE IMPRESSION I WAS GIVEN WHEN I SPENT 1,300.00 ON A GREAT TOUR THAT INCLUDED THE OBSERVATORY BUILDING BEING ENTERED and THEN GETTING TO LOOK THROUGH THEIR HUGH TELESCOPES....JANET HILL

Doing what: Mauna Kea Summit and Stars Small Group Adventure Tour

Thomas S United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Tour was amazing . Our guide Chris was fantastic. Would do this again .

Doing what: Big Island Waterfall Tour from Kona: Waipio Valley, Hamakua Coast and Akaka Falls

Jean Luc M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Very impressive! fantastic guide, highly redommended!

Doing what: Mauna Kea Summit and Stars Small Group Adventure Tour

John M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Enjoyed the views on this tour while the tour guide did the driving!

Doing what: Mauna Kea Summit and Stars Small Group Adventure Tour

Chantale C Canada

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

It was our first time in Big Island so we booked the Grand Circle Island Tour to see most of it. We enjoyed every stops.

Doing what: Big Island Grand Circle Island Tour

Jesse E F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

Great tour. Very enjoyable.

Doing what: Big Island Grand Circle Island Tour

glees

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

great time

Doing what: Big Island Grand Circle Island Tour

brittonrex

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

It was a perfect way to see the highlights of the whole island. We enjoyed our tour leader and meeting other tourists. We would definitely recommend it!

Doing what: Big Island Grand Circle Island Tour

Thomas W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Our driver was very knowledgeable and made our experience one to remember. He had a lot of interesting facts and kept our tour bus engaged the whole trip. The stops were also very informational and showed the best sites on the island!

Doing what: Big Island Grand Circle Island Tour

Marie L Pucel P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

Incredible! Informative guides. A must do. There was plenty of time at the summit. So many stars in the sky. Everyone had time looking through the telescope

Doing what: Mauna Kea Summit and Stars Small Group Adventure Tour

Cora G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

not to be missed. Spectacular! Well informed guide. Delicious dinner!

Doing what: Mauna Kea Summit and Stars Small Group Adventure Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message