Hawaii ATTRACTIONS See all

Thurston Lava Tube

Set inside of Hawaii Volcanoes National Park, the Thurston Lava tube is the most accessible lava tube on the Big Island of Hawaii. Discovered in 1913 by newspaper publisher Lorrin Thurston, this dark recess is the result of subterranean lava which ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 1066 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Jayne W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

Definitely needed the expertise of our tour guide,Kawicka, to do all the driving and provide us with all his knowledge about the island and its history - he was kind, courteous, and very attune to our group's needs from getting a car seat to changing the location of our delicious lunch so that we would all be able to have seats and be covered from the impending rain! and to providing rain jackets for passengers that needed them!!...the van was comfortable and the lunch boxes we were given were quite unique! Long, memorable day but well worth it!! The only negative thing to mention has absolutely nothing to do with our guide he really was wonderful - I would highly recommend that the tour company be more careful in adding any passengers with children under the age of 2 to do this very long day trip to a van full of adults - it was hard to hear Kawicka talking to us over the noisy, and sometimes crying, toddler sitting behind us.

Doing what: Big Island in One Day: Volcanoes, Waterfalls, Sightseeing, and History Small Group Tour

JAMES R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

Great itinerary to see many of the major attractions on the Big Island. What made the tour especially great was a very knowledgeable and enthusiastic tour guide, Darian Basaldua.

Doing what: Big Island in One Day: Volcanoes, Waterfalls, Sightseeing, and History Small Group Tour

Kenia V

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

Our guide had such a dry yet hilarious sense of humor. My family and I had a great time touring the island and getting to know the local spots.

Doing what: Big Island Grand Circle Island Tour

Linda Wardell W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

Our tour was wonderful. E was our guide and did a great job. We took this tour our first day on the big island so we could get an idea of what we wanted to see and do on our own. The last time we took this tour, the only negative was - there were no sea turtles on the beach. This trip is worth every penny!!
Linda
Blair, Nebraska

Doing what: Big Island in One Day: Volcanoes, Waterfalls, Sightseeing, and History Small Group Tour

Ingrid O Venezuela

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

a very complete tour and an exciting of one of the most wonderful sightseen: Volcano activity. We had a great guide
that made a real nice trip!

Doing what: Big Island Day Trip: Volcanoes National Park from Oahu

Judith O

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

We actually ended up taking the Summit Tour since there were not enough people for this one. They did their best to accommodate us but the alternate date did not work. Gwendolyn was very helpful in getting the change made. The organizers provided everything we needed including rain gear - a must for the day we went. They also gave good attention to safety and sustenance for the ride. Mike was an entertaining and informative tour guide while on our bikes. Pretty drove the support vehicle and also information about some of the sites. We would highly recommend this tour. The group was small - only ten in ours with a max of twelve - the staff was very personable.

Doing what: Kilauea Volcano Bike Tour

Annette L F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Our guide, Jonathan, was a walking encyclopedia of Hawaiin knowledge. He knew everything! Our island tour was more than we expected and I highly recommend wasabi tours

Doing what: Big Island in One Day: Volcanoes, Waterfalls, Sightseeing, and History Small Group Tour

Bob H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

This tour is an all day tour so be rested and ready. Pack some goodies to snack on as it is a long day but well worth it. I loved seeing the volcanos and the guide was SUPERB!!! What a great tour after I saw How Volcanos are Formed on TV. It's one of those WOW tours.

Doing what: Big Island Day Trip: Volcanoes National Park from Oahu

roger United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

We had an outstanding time. All our questions that we had prior to arriving on the Big Island were answered by Kala Holiday, our Tour Guide, in the first 20 minutes of our day. Kala was outstanding as he explained the history of the Hawaiian Islands, the Chiefs and Cheiftess', the arrival Captain Cook and how the King brought one rule of law over all the Islands. The sight seeing was tremendous. Not only did we get to see the Sea Turtles, the Black Sand beach, the Volcano, Rainbow Falls, Akaka Falls, Kahuna Falls, but all the information of where the Jurassic movies and Waterworld were made, but the information shared by Kala made our day. Thank you - well worth the money. Kala also provided us tips and directions for the rest of our vacation so we could venture out on our own.

Doing what: Big Island in One Day: Volcanoes, Waterfalls, Sightseeing, and History Small Group Tour

Charles V

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Really had a great time on the bike tour. Tour guide was exceptional. He took time will all level of riders which we had. We had a great time and would recommend to anyone.

Doing what: Kilauea Volcano Bike Tour

Sheri G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

The private tour was outstanding because Scott, our tour guide was one of the best tour guides we have experienced. He was very knowledgeable clearly enjoys guiding and was very flexible in terms of the itinerary - he told us about options, we collectively decided where to go next and off we went. And of course the volcanoes and history themselves was superb to learn about and see first hand.

Doing what: Volcanoes National Park Private Tour

Angela M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

We took the Big Island in a day tour and were so glad we did! There is no way we could have seen so much of this wonderful island in one day had we tried on our own. We went through cattle country, lush valleys, saw high waterfalls, molten lava and steam vents, lava tubes and black sand beach, as well as acres of macadamia nuts and coffee trees! All in a well-paced flow that didn't wear out the older members of our party. And our guide, Kai, was exceptional in his knowledge of the local history and stories, explaining the Hawaiian language and words to us, and making sure all our needs were met. This was the highlight of our trip!!!

Doing what: Big Island in One Day: Volcanoes, Waterfalls, Sightseeing, and History Small Group Tour

Hector G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

The entire day was an amazing experience. Every site that we visited was well worth it. There was no dead time during the day because our guide, Darian Dreu Basaldua, kept us entertained with stories about the island. He is very knowledgeable and can speak for hours about the history and sites of the island. I can't say that I have a favorite place, but the volcano craters, waterfalls, and black sand beaches are a breathtaking scene.

Doing what: Big Island in One Day: Volcanoes, Waterfalls, Sightseeing, and History Small Group Tour

Merrick J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Our drivers name was Fred. From the minute we boarded his bus, he made us feel comfortable and was very organized in his thoughts an communication. He is a 21 year Coast Guard retiree and was organized in his timing of the trip, the answering of questions, the knowledge of the Hawaiian island of Oahu and it's history and culture, etc., etc. There was not a single question that he was asked that he couldn't answer. He was very polite, orderly, kept us on time in getting to our destinations and making sure that our breaks were timely. I would highly recommend Fred for your guide.

Doing what: Big Island Day Trip: Grand Circle Island from Oahu

Richard C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

We had one day off from playing golf during our time on Big Island and decided to use this tour to learn as much as we could about the island and its past in the limited time available. We were not disappointed. We saw active though not very active volcanoes, spectacular waterfalls, deserts, rain forests and even green turtles resting on a black sand beach. Our guide was extremely knowledgeable and very passionate about his island home, its folklore, history and ecology and kept up a very entertaining and informative commentary throughout the tour. I came away from the tour feeling that I had a much greater understanding of the changes to the island and its life caused by earthquakes and volcanic activity, the resourcefulness and achievements of the native Polynesian peoples, the effects caused when 2 differing societies Polynesian and Western first encounter each other and the effect that Man has had on this island ecology. All this in one day!

I can thoroughly recommend this tour to anyone who wants to spend an entertaining day gaining a fuller understanding of Big Island, its history and ecology.

Doing what: Big Island in One Day: Volcanoes, Waterfalls, Sightseeing, and History Small Group Tour

marlys m

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

IT was a very good trip our guide did a great job of telling our group of all the sites he took us to.

Doing what: Big Island in One Day: Volcanoes, Waterfalls, Sightseeing, and History Small Group Tour

Fang X

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

The tour to Volcanoes National Park is amazing. Before we get to the park, we visited a black sand beach and watched sea turtles, then we visited a Japanese Garden with Hawaii King's status. We had a short stop at a cold spring. We visited a rainbow water fall with a tropical rainforest. The tour guide is very nice and very experienced. On the way to the Volcanoes National Park, she explained many Hawaii and big island specialties. The Volcanoes Park is huge, there are so many amazing sites need to see. The tour guid knows where is the best part to see. Volcanoes National Park is a must to see park in a life time. We saw the endless cold lava, the nature arts of the cold lava, the lava tube, ..., the active volcanoes in the park. We saw the Volcanoes burst from the smoke during the day time and we came back before sunset to see the bigger volcanoes during night time. It was a long day, but tour guide had proper stops for food and drink. Our whole family were very happy.

Doing what: Big Island Day Trip: Volcanoes National Park from Oahu

Katherine B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Mike was a wonderful guide. He loved biking on the volcanoe, had great stories and knowledge of the area. We went from the top to the ocean where we had lunch. Gwen the owner drove the back up van, was very gracious and loved the business and the people she served.

Doing what: Kilauea Volcano Bike Tour

Katherine B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Mike the tour guide for great. He loved biking on the volcano. He had wonderful stories and knowledge of the area. Went from the top of the volcanoe down to where we had lunch by the ocean. He also was very safe and looked after the group very well. Gwen the owner drove the back up and was so gracious, loved her business and the people she served.

Doing what: Kilauea Volcano Bike Tour

Cassondra E

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Excellent trip! Great guide. Perfect way to see all the island highlights.

Doing what: Big Island Day Trip: Volcanoes National Park from Oahu

John P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Excellent full day tour. The dawn pickup from our resort was on time and the driver was delightful. The first helicopter segment gave excellent views of the volcanoes and the pilot made sure we saw the current lava flows. In Hilo the transfer to the tour van was easy and on time. The guide on the van tour of Volcanoes N.P. was extremely knowledgeable and encouraged questions. The tour covered several highlights of this huge park. The sandwich lunch was good, about as expected. Transfer to the helicopter in Hilo was easy. The second helicopter flight was truly spectacular. We spotted breaching whales in the ocean and the pilot circled at a safe height so all could see. We flew into a narrow, Jurassic Park like valley and looked up at a 2,000 foot waterfall. Again the pilot the same one who flew our morning segment was knowledgeable and informative. After we landed just before sunset in Kailua-Kona, they sent us back to our resort in a cab at no added cost to us except tip. From end to end this was a fantastic tour. Very well organized and well-executed.

Doing what: Volcano by Air and Land: Helicopter, Coach, and Walking Tour of Volcanoes National Park from Kona

Daniel C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Was amazing, especially our tour guide Kala. Highly recommend.

Doing what: Big Island in One Day: Volcanoes, Waterfalls, Sightseeing, and History Small Group Tour

Lu Z

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

This tour was amazing!

Doing what: Big Island Day Trip: Volcanoes National Park from Oahu

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message