Hawaii ATTRACTIONS See all

Thurston Lava Tube

Set inside of Hawaii Volcanoes National Park, the Thurston Lava tube is the most accessible lava tube on the Big Island of Hawaii. Discovered in 1913 by newspaper publisher Lorrin Thurston, this dark recess is the result of subterranean lava which ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 977 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

John C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Awesome is the word that describes both the tour and the guide. He added such a rich experience to the day. He was able to share the tradition and culture of the native Hawaiian people that enhanced the outing for our family. With grandparents, parents and children ranging in age from 9 to 70 is a challenging task for any guide but he was able to turn a long day to a fun filled experience.

Doing what: Big Island in One Day: Volcanoes, Waterfalls, Sightseeing, and History Small Group Tour

CHARLES MICHAEL L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

GUIDE REALLY CARED. EXTREMELY KNOWLEDGEABLE OF FLORA. GREAT TRIP.

Doing what: Big Island Day Trip: Volcanoes National Park from Oahu

Sureen D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

The bike tour is pretty cool, a great way to get an overview of the national park. After the tour, we were able to spend some time exploring the park in greater detail with suggestions from the tour.
The guides are very knowledgeable about the park and Hawaiian folklore, and quick to tell a good story. The ride itself is quite easy so suitable for all fitness levels.

Doing what: Kilauea Volcano Bike Tour

Arlene K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

5 star. It was the best small group sight seeing experience I have ever had. Our guide, Kai was wonderful. He was informative, interesting, and kept all of us interested in so many stops at different locations.

Doing what: Big Island in One Day: Volcanoes, Waterfalls, Sightseeing, and History Small Group Tour

Wendy Dee L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

We thoroughly enjoyed our trip to the Big Island. Loved all of the stops. The best part of the tour was our guide, Jane. She was awesome! We loved her commentary. I learned so much about The Big Island. It was like a classroom on wheels. The highlight was her stories about Pele. She was kind, thoughtful, funny and informative.

Doing what: Big Island Day Trip: Volcanoes National Park from Oahu

Gav

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

great trip

Doing what: Big Island Grand Circle Island Tour

Frank D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Our Tour Guide 'Kawiki' was very professional. We learned a lot about the history of the Sites and local attractions. Thank you for making a 12 hour Tour so memorable and relaxing !

Doing what: Big Island in One Day: Volcanoes, Waterfalls, Sightseeing, and History Small Group Tour

Germano M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

great way to see the island and the tour guide was great and informative

Doing what: Big Island in One Day: Volcanoes, Waterfalls, Sightseeing, and History Small Group Tour

Nancy B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Wonderful tour of the Big Island for these first time visitors. The island has quite an eco system and it was very interesting to experience some of it. Our tour guide John was very knowledgeable and made sure we were always comfortable.

Doing what: Big Island in One Day: Volcanoes, Waterfalls, Sightseeing, and History Small Group Tour

MARY M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

I was a little bit disappointed that we didn't get to see the lava flowing as that was what we thought we would see when we booked the tour. otherwise the trip was very nice and educational. the lunch was real good too
the tour guide was good too

Doing what: Big Island in One Day: Volcanoes, Waterfalls, Sightseeing, and History Small Group Tour

Danielle T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

My husband and I have never been to Hawaii and this was the BEST way to explore the entire island! Our guide, Nathan, was fantastic and was very knowledgable about the island. Definitely recommend this tour!!

Doing what: Big Island in One Day: Volcanoes, Waterfalls, Sightseeing, and History Small Group Tour

Kimberly S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

This was my first visit to the Big Island but it won't be my last! I flew over from Oahu for the day to do this tour. Our guide Kai was very knowledgable about the island having growing up here. The small group size was perfect and we were all able to ask questions along the way. I didn't know what to expect when I booked this tour but it exceeded my expectations. We learned about the different types of lava, the volcanoes, and a good working history of the island. We visited many sights and learned a lot about the local flora with many opportunities for photos, of which I got many good shots! Kai even brought along snacks, drinks and provided a delicious bento box lunch from a local restaurant. I def plan to visit the Big Island again and hit up some of the beautiful sights we visited. This was a great way to get an overview of the island. I couldn't have asked for more from a guide. Kai was very considerate of our group and went out of his way to make sure we got the most from the tour. I def recommend this tour even if you've visited the Big Island.

Doing what: Big Island in One Day: Volcanoes, Waterfalls, Sightseeing, and History Small Group Tour

Donald S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

We flew over from Oahu so had to leave the North Shore at 3am. Got to the airport at 4 and was met by an agent from Polynesian Adventures. She gave us our tickets and got us to the counter. Our flight landed at 5:45am but no one was there to meet us. A call was made to the Polynesian office where we were informed that they don't pick up that early but would send someone in 15 min. hmmm? Aside from that the trip was fantastic!. Tommy our guide and bus driver was knowledgeable, funny and talked for 12 hours God bless him He drove that big bus like a pro!! Give that guy a raise :.The big island is so different from Oahu we were awestruck. A few recommendations if you are flying over take an empty water bottle as there is no place to buy water except lunch, which is on you . Also if you are a coffee person bring an empty container as you can refill it at your first stop free. I think a cooler on the bus with water would be a good addition that Polynesian could implement especially considering the cost of the tour All in all this is a tour that I highly recommend even if you are staying on the big island. Tommy got us to the airport in plenty of time for our flight home walked in the door at 9:30 pm exhausted but so glad we did this.

Doing what: Big Island Day Trip: Grand Circle Island from Oahu

Mark S United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

This excursion to the Big Island to see the volcanoes and area around Hilo was very enjoyable despite the weather from a passing tropical depression and the resulting closed roads limiting what we could see. It is a very long day and we traveled with an infant who was probably better than most teenagers. The departure time is about 5:00 AM from the Waikiki area and return is about 9:30 PM. It is a shame Viator does not include these sorts of times in their advertising. Of course, if booking directly with Polynesian Adventure Tours would have made questions easier to answer before booking.

Doing what: Big Island Day Trip: Volcanoes National Park from Oahu

Trevor K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

A really worthwhile overview of the and #34;big island and #34; and best to do soon after arriving in my opinion. Our guide, Kai, was remarkable in his breadth of knowledge and Wasabi Tours should know that he represents them well.

Doing what: Big Island in One Day: Volcanoes, Waterfalls, Sightseeing, and History Small Group Tour

charles w

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Josh was a great source of info on history, customs, legends as well as the highlights of the national park sites. He always had a little extra to add whether it was about the local flora or where to get great chocolate.

Doing what: Hawaii Volcanoes National Park and Big Island Highlights Small Group Tour

gsracer58

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Tour guide was excellent. Seeing lava actually coming out of the dome was a spectacular experience. Actually being on a black sand beach was amazing. Quite a long day so be prepared!

Doing what: Big Island Hawaii Volcano Adventure

Shlomo A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

An amazing tour and time wellsoent. Kala was an amazing guide. He was a plethora of information and was patient and entertaining as well. I highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Big Island in One Day: Volcanoes, Waterfalls, Sightseeing, and History Small Group Tour

Maryann S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Kai was amazing! We saw and learned a lot. Worth every cent.

Doing what: Big Island in One Day: Volcanoes, Waterfalls, Sightseeing, and History Small Group Tour

Antonio M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Tour guide John P was well informed and had many funny stories. He allowed us enough time at each stop and still stayed on scheduled. I would like to visit again and explore some of these places further.

Doing what: Big Island in One Day: Volcanoes, Waterfalls, Sightseeing, and History Small Group Tour

Jodi M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Tour guide was engaging, well informed, friendly and patient - especially with our group of 13. Itinerary was very well planned and timed - really spectacular locations. Food was great - bento boxes with enough variety for meat eaters and vegetarians alike. All in all very enjoyable. Would highly recommend and commend Viator and their selection of Wasabi Tours.

Doing what: Big Island in One Day: Volcanoes, Waterfalls, Sightseeing, and History Small Group Tour

John W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Our guides, Mike and Pretty were awesome! We had a small group, about 12. We felt safe and comfortable the whole time. The upright bikes were easy to ride. We learned a lot too! A great way to see the park!

Doing what: Kilauea Volcano Bike Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message