Hawaii ATTRACTIONS See all

Thurston Lava Tube

Set inside of Hawaii Volcanoes National Park, the Thurston Lava tube is the most accessible lava tube on the Big Island of Hawaii. Discovered in 1913 by newspaper publisher Lorrin Thurston, this dark recess is the result of subterranean lava which ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 1048 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Hector G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

The entire day was an amazing experience. Every site that we visited was well worth it. There was no dead time during the day because our guide, Darian Dreu Basaldua, kept us entertained with stories about the island. He is very knowledgeable and can speak for hours about the history and sites of the island. I can't say that I have a favorite place, but the volcano craters, waterfalls, and black sand beaches are a breathtaking scene.

Doing what: Big Island in One Day: Volcanoes, Waterfalls, Sightseeing, and History Small Group Tour

Merrick J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Our drivers name was Fred. From the minute we boarded his bus, he made us feel comfortable and was very organized in his thoughts an communication. He is a 21 year Coast Guard retiree and was organized in his timing of the trip, the answering of questions, the knowledge of the Hawaiian island of Oahu and it's history and culture, etc., etc. There was not a single question that he was asked that he couldn't answer. He was very polite, orderly, kept us on time in getting to our destinations and making sure that our breaks were timely. I would highly recommend Fred for your guide.

Doing what: Big Island Day Trip: Grand Circle Island from Oahu

Richard C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

We had one day off from playing golf during our time on Big Island and decided to use this tour to learn as much as we could about the island and its past in the limited time available. We were not disappointed. We saw active though not very active volcanoes, spectacular waterfalls, deserts, rain forests and even green turtles resting on a black sand beach. Our guide was extremely knowledgeable and very passionate about his island home, its folklore, history and ecology and kept up a very entertaining and informative commentary throughout the tour. I came away from the tour feeling that I had a much greater understanding of the changes to the island and its life caused by earthquakes and volcanic activity, the resourcefulness and achievements of the native Polynesian peoples, the effects caused when 2 differing societies Polynesian and Western first encounter each other and the effect that Man has had on this island ecology. All this in one day!

I can thoroughly recommend this tour to anyone who wants to spend an entertaining day gaining a fuller understanding of Big Island, its history and ecology.

Doing what: Big Island in One Day: Volcanoes, Waterfalls, Sightseeing, and History Small Group Tour

marlys m

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

IT was a very good trip our guide did a great job of telling our group of all the sites he took us to.

Doing what: Big Island in One Day: Volcanoes, Waterfalls, Sightseeing, and History Small Group Tour

Fang X

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

The tour to Volcanoes National Park is amazing. Before we get to the park, we visited a black sand beach and watched sea turtles, then we visited a Japanese Garden with Hawaii King's status. We had a short stop at a cold spring. We visited a rainbow water fall with a tropical rainforest. The tour guide is very nice and very experienced. On the way to the Volcanoes National Park, she explained many Hawaii and big island specialties. The Volcanoes Park is huge, there are so many amazing sites need to see. The tour guid knows where is the best part to see. Volcanoes National Park is a must to see park in a life time. We saw the endless cold lava, the nature arts of the cold lava, the lava tube, ..., the active volcanoes in the park. We saw the Volcanoes burst from the smoke during the day time and we came back before sunset to see the bigger volcanoes during night time. It was a long day, but tour guide had proper stops for food and drink. Our whole family were very happy.

Doing what: Big Island Day Trip: Volcanoes National Park from Oahu

Katherine B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Mike was a wonderful guide. He loved biking on the volcanoe, had great stories and knowledge of the area. We went from the top to the ocean where we had lunch. Gwen the owner drove the back up van, was very gracious and loved the business and the people she served.

Doing what: Kilauea Volcano Bike Tour

Katherine B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Mike the tour guide for great. He loved biking on the volcano. He had wonderful stories and knowledge of the area. Went from the top of the volcanoe down to where we had lunch by the ocean. He also was very safe and looked after the group very well. Gwen the owner drove the back up and was so gracious, loved her business and the people she served.

Doing what: Kilauea Volcano Bike Tour

Cassondra E

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Excellent trip! Great guide. Perfect way to see all the island highlights.

Doing what: Big Island Day Trip: Volcanoes National Park from Oahu

John P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Excellent full day tour. The dawn pickup from our resort was on time and the driver was delightful. The first helicopter segment gave excellent views of the volcanoes and the pilot made sure we saw the current lava flows. In Hilo the transfer to the tour van was easy and on time. The guide on the van tour of Volcanoes N.P. was extremely knowledgeable and encouraged questions. The tour covered several highlights of this huge park. The sandwich lunch was good, about as expected. Transfer to the helicopter in Hilo was easy. The second helicopter flight was truly spectacular. We spotted breaching whales in the ocean and the pilot circled at a safe height so all could see. We flew into a narrow, Jurassic Park like valley and looked up at a 2,000 foot waterfall. Again the pilot the same one who flew our morning segment was knowledgeable and informative. After we landed just before sunset in Kailua-Kona, they sent us back to our resort in a cab at no added cost to us except tip. From end to end this was a fantastic tour. Very well organized and well-executed.

Doing what: Volcano by Air and Land: Helicopter, Coach, and Walking Tour of Volcanoes National Park from Kona

Daniel C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Was amazing, especially our tour guide Kala. Highly recommend.

Doing what: Big Island in One Day: Volcanoes, Waterfalls, Sightseeing, and History Small Group Tour

Lu Z

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

This tour was amazing!

Doing what: Big Island Day Trip: Volcanoes National Park from Oahu

Harsh S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Tour was amazing and our Guide Justin was very knowledgable. We saw a lot of great stuff in one day.

Doing what: Big Island in One Day: Volcanoes, Waterfalls, Sightseeing, and History Small Group Tour

Evan W K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Got a bird's eye view of the island, including exploring the volcano and our guide sharing interesting folklore about the island.

Doing what: Big Island in One Day: Volcanoes, Waterfalls, Sightseeing, and History Small Group Tour

Karen L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

We had a wonderful time! Jonathan was our tour guide and he kept us engaged for the entire tour. He was so knowledgeable and answered all questions. I learned so much about the island and knew what I wanted to see more of. I would definitely highly recommend this tour to anyone. A

Doing what: Big Island in One Day: Volcanoes, Waterfalls, Sightseeing, and History Small Group Tour

Stephen J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

I thought this was a very informative and interesting tour. My 16 year old was a little bored and my husband got a little car sick but other than that I thought it was a great tour. Our guide, Drew was SO knowledgeable and told so many great stories I felt like I really found out more about the Hawaiian culture than I ever did having visited all the other islands. I highly recommend.

Doing what: Big Island in One Day: Volcanoes, Waterfalls, Sightseeing, and History Small Group Tour

ledford

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

This is a full day. Our tour guide was very informative and we went places I wouldn't have known about, such as the lava tubes. Be aware that the environment is actually very uninviting, much like a weird isolated planet with little vegetation. If you're expecting something like Yellowstone steam vents, you'll be disappointed. This place is unique unto itself.

Doing what: Big Island Day Trip: Volcanoes National Park from Oahu

Zoya S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Love the trip. Tour guide, Kai, is very knowledgeable and pleasant. We had a great time.

Doing what: Big Island in One Day: Volcanoes, Waterfalls, Sightseeing, and History Small Group Tour

ccaz

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Fantastic trip. Well looked after. Guide very friendly and very informative. A great time had by all and our spirits were not dampened by the rain. THANKYOU...

Doing what: Big Island in One Day: Volcanoes, Waterfalls, Sightseeing, and History Small Group Tour

Jaime H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Great fun!! Highly recommend, the day flew by!!

Doing what: Big Island Day Trip: Volcanoes National Park from Oahu

Bhagwan B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Actually got to see the crater and the red hot lava coming out of the volcano

Doing what: Hilo Shore Excursion: Volcanoes National Park and Rainbow Falls

tmcfadzen

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

My sister and I did this tour in November 2016 and Captain Rob was our guide - it was an amazing tour. We saw turtles at the black sand beach, stopped at the Shinmachi tsunami sight, visited the Japanese Gardens at Liliuokalani Park and Gardens, stopped at Rainbow Falls which were flowing and we could see the rainbow, the orchids were beautiful - and the free samples at the Macadamia farm were a bonus. We went into the Volcano Park for lunch at Volcano House which was pretty awesome as we had a view of the caldera - that was our first sighting of the volcano. After lunch we had some time to look around and walk down to the Sulphur Banks and then we got back on the bus and started going around and looking at different spots in the volcano park. We went everywhere - across old lava fields, into the Thurston Lava Tube, into holes in the ground. Our guide was really knowledgeable which made a huge difference. We drove down along the Chain of Craters Road with quite a few stops which was really interesting and ended up at the Holei Sea Arch on the coastline. From that point it is a 10 mile/16 kilometre hike to where the lava flows into the ocean - and there's no time on this tour to do that. From here we headed back up to the Jaggar Museum with a few more stops on the way back - and it also took us to the closest point to the volcano all day. The closest you get to the active part of the volcano is about a kilometre away at the Jaggar Museum at the end of the day - and that's for your own health and safety. It was worth the wait because as the sun is setting it is really pretty and better to see the lava bubbling away.
It is a long day - we had to be ready at 5am and were back at our hotel at 10pm. I would definitely recommend taking some insect repellant for the stop at the waterfall there were mosquitoes and a jumper/jacket as it was freezing by the time we got to Jaggar Museum. There is a domestic flight to get to the island and the rule regarding liquids being less than 100ml applies - for all liquids including sunscreen, insect repellant, etc. Anything bigger than that was confiscated or thrown away.
Overall, we would recommend this tour - it's whet our appetite to go back and see more!

Doing what: Big Island Day Trip: Volcanoes National Park from Oahu

Charlene A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Loved it. Highly recommend . Our tour guide was knowledgable and friendly and kept us entertained. Don't forget to pack for rainy weather though.

Doing what: Big Island in One Day: Volcanoes, Waterfalls, Sightseeing, and History Small Group Tour

Takahiro H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

This one-day trip was incredible! We were extremely lucky to have such perfect weather, very little rain, and even got to see TWO giant sea turtles up close! Fantastic views. Perfection. Me and my girlfriend had a fantastic time, but what really made the trip perfect was our guide. Darian our tour guide was not only knowledgeable, but so friendly that we felt like we had a close friend giving us the entire tour. He was an expert on the history, geography, nature, and biology of the entire island. I was so impressed by his courtesy and kindness, particular when offering to take pictures of me and my girlfriend together. He really made a huge effort to make sure every single person on the tour felt special and taken care of. He went above and beyond my expectations, and really wish him well! Anyone with limited time on the Big Island should not hesitate. The tour goes quick, but you really do get a taste of the best things the Big Island has to offer.

Doing what: Big Island in One Day: Volcanoes, Waterfalls, Sightseeing, and History Small Group Tour

Spanish name

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

This tour gave me the opportunity to view the entire island ina luxurious bus with a knowledgeable guide who was fun and entertaining.

Doing what: Big Island Grand Circle Island Tour

KINAM S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Our tour guide - Kai was wonderful - so much knowledge of the Island's history! Thank you! Kinam

Doing what: Big Island in One Day: Volcanoes, Waterfalls, Sightseeing, and History Small Group Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message