Hawaii ATTRACTIONS See all

Thurston Lava Tube

Set inside of Hawaii Volcanoes National Park, the Thurston Lava tube is the most accessible lava tube on the Big Island of Hawaii. Discovered in 1913 by newspaper publisher Lorrin Thurston, this dark recess is the result of subterranean lava which ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 956 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

gsracer58

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Tour guide was excellent. Seeing lava actually coming out of the dome was a spectacular experience. Actually being on a black sand beach was amazing. Quite a long day so be prepared!

Doing what: Big Island Hawaii Volcano Adventure

Shlomo A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

An amazing tour and time wellsoent. Kala was an amazing guide. He was a plethora of information and was patient and entertaining as well. I highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Big Island in One Day: Volcanoes, Waterfalls, Sightseeing, and History Small Group Tour

Maryann S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Kai was amazing! We saw and learned a lot. Worth every cent.

Doing what: Big Island in One Day: Volcanoes, Waterfalls, Sightseeing, and History Small Group Tour

Antonio M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Tour guide John P was well informed and had many funny stories. He allowed us enough time at each stop and still stayed on scheduled. I would like to visit again and explore some of these places further.

Doing what: Big Island in One Day: Volcanoes, Waterfalls, Sightseeing, and History Small Group Tour

Jodi M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Tour guide was engaging, well informed, friendly and patient - especially with our group of 13. Itinerary was very well planned and timed - really spectacular locations. Food was great - bento boxes with enough variety for meat eaters and vegetarians alike. All in all very enjoyable. Would highly recommend and commend Viator and their selection of Wasabi Tours.

Doing what: Big Island in One Day: Volcanoes, Waterfalls, Sightseeing, and History Small Group Tour

John W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Our guides, Mike and Pretty were awesome! We had a small group, about 12. We felt safe and comfortable the whole time. The upright bikes were easy to ride. We learned a lot too! A great way to see the park!

Doing what: Kilauea Volcano Bike Tour

Melissa B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Kawika did a great job of showing us the Big Island in one day! Small 14 person passenger van, not a big bus and able to stop at small places to show local finds and small interesting details. The volcano vents were a big hit for us, as were the waterfalls. Not too strenuous, a little too much sitting for us in one day, but a great tour we'd do again as a first time visitor to the Big Island.

Doing what: Big Island in One Day: Volcanoes, Waterfalls, Sightseeing, and History Small Group Tour

Norman W Canada

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

If you are in two minds as to whether or not to do this tour - DO IT! It's worth every cent! Extremely
well organised.

Doing what: Volcano by Air and Land: Helicopter, Coach, and Walking Tour of Volcanoes National Park from Kona

AMcClain

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Excellent!! Well worth the money. Kawika did an excellent job of explaining all the stops and sharing many points of the history of Hawaii. He was very personable and really seemed to make sure that everyone enjoyed themselves. You can tell Kawika is proud of this island and enjoys showing it off. We had just enough time at all the stops and we didn't feel rushed. The bus was large enough to accommodate all the tour guests and the air conditioning was great when we got back in the bus from each stop. We took the tour early in our week in Hawaii. We hoped that the tour would provide us with an overview of what the island had to offer and ideas of what we would want to do during our stay. The tour was perfect and met our need.

Doing what: Big Island in One Day: Volcanoes, Waterfalls, Sightseeing, and History Small Group Tour

Stuart Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Thoroughly enjoyed our tour of the Big Island. Our tour guide Kawika was literally a walking encyclopedia and he told us so much history about the island and answered many questions. I highly recommend doing this and ask for Kawika he is awesome!

Doing what: Big Island in One Day: Volcanoes, Waterfalls, Sightseeing, and History Small Group Tour

Rennie C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Whirlwind tour of the island but well explained and guided by the tour guide. He wasn't too militant about getting us in and out of places on time which was good. Its a good tour if you've only got a day in the big island and want to try and cover everything. My learning is I will need to come back again to do more exploration on my own - to do treks and explore lava caves in more detail. For a first time I'd recommend doing this tour. The highlight was seeing the turtles on black sand beach. Also Akaka falls was exquisite. The guide was very knowledgeable and went into the history of the island and how the various rulers fought for control. Also describing the various geological events that forced destiny on the people of the Big Island. Definitely a lot of knowledge and awareness of the place that you won't pick up from reading books - eg there was even a ghost tale told..from real life experience!

Doing what: Big Island in One Day: Volcanoes, Waterfalls, Sightseeing, and History Small Group Tour

Brett K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Our tour on July 3rd with Mike was awesome. He is very personable, knowledgeable , and did a great job as our guide on our Big Island tour. We went to some of the best parts of the island and my wife and I especially liked the volcano and lava tubes. This is a great way to see the island. Loved it!

Doing what: Big Island in One Day: Volcanoes, Waterfalls, Sightseeing, and History Small Group Tour

Nicole M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

This tour was well worth it! Our tour guide Kawika was very knowledgeable and nice. I loved the stops that were chosen and the fruit stand stop was a really nice extra touch, as well as the lunch spot we ate at - Liliuokalani Garden.

Doing what: Big Island in One Day: Volcanoes, Waterfalls, Sightseeing, and History Small Group Tour

Richard T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

A must see when in Hilo. Great experience. Well worth the cost,. Excellent narration along the way to and from both sites.

Doing what: Hilo Shore Excursion: Volcanoes National Park and Rainbow Falls

Katina P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

a LONG day but an enjoyable and informative one

Doing what: Big Island Day Trip: Volcanoes National Park from Oahu

Sarah O

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

This tour was great our guide Nick was very knowledgeable and friendly. Highly recommend this tour

Doing what: Big Island in One Day: Volcanoes, Waterfalls, Sightseeing, and History Small Group Tour

Karen F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

I can't think of a better way to tour the entire island. Loved the scenic views from the tour bus. Great tour guide. I also enjoyed the stops on the way around the island. Karen S. from Chicago

Doing what: Big Island Grand Circle Island Tour

Regina M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

This tour was great! Our tour guide, Josh of Mauka Makai Adventures is very knowledgeable and very nice and accommodating. He was flexible enough to adjust the pace and itinerary of our tour based on our interest and energy. It was like we had our very own private tour of the island. Thanks Josh!

Doing what: Hawaii Volcanoes National Park and Big Island Highlights Small Group Tour

Christine A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

excellent tour -- we saw so much and the tour guide Aki was great.
everything handled perfectly and very comfortable transportation.

Doing what: Big Island Day Trip: Volcanoes National Park from Oahu

Eric G USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Absolutely a fantastic way to see the island in a day. Our tour guide Chris was wonderful, we are still talking about him weeks later. I would highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Big Island in One Day: Volcanoes, Waterfalls, Sightseeing, and History Small Group Tour

Elizabeth Y

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

We had such a great trip with Pretty and Michael! It was definitely the highlight of our time on the big island.

Doing what: Kilauea Volcano Bike Tour

Troy F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

For a person who lived on the island of Oahu all my life and never vacationed on the Big Island this tour was amazing and educational. The Grand Island Circle Tour is a great jump start to see a large part of the island. Our tour guide was entertaining, informative, and fun.

Doing what: Big Island Grand Circle Island Tour

ornelashmimprstllc

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

It was awwwweesome !!!! It was the guide first time and we had fun with him you have to book this tour.
He was very knowledgeable about his surrounding. What really inperst me is that he would pick up any little trash he saw. These people are proud of there island and i would be too!!! So don't mess with Hawaii !!!!!

Doing what: Big Island in One Day: Volcanoes, Waterfalls, Sightseeing, and History Small Group Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message