Hawaii ATTRACTIONS See all

Thurston Lava Tube

Set inside of Hawaii Volcanoes National Park, the Thurston Lava tube is the most accessible lava tube on the Big Island of Hawaii. Discovered in 1913 by newspaper publisher Lorrin Thurston, this dark recess is the result of subterranean lava which ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 1023 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Jaime H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Great fun!! Highly recommend, the day flew by!!

Doing what: Big Island Day Trip: Volcanoes National Park from Oahu

Bhagwan B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Actually got to see the crater and the red hot lava coming out of the volcano

Doing what: Hilo Shore Excursion: Volcanoes National Park and Rainbow Falls

tmcfadzen

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

My sister and I did this tour in November 2016 and Captain Rob was our guide - it was an amazing tour. We saw turtles at the black sand beach, stopped at the Shinmachi tsunami sight, visited the Japanese Gardens at Liliuokalani Park and Gardens, stopped at Rainbow Falls which were flowing and we could see the rainbow, the orchids were beautiful - and the free samples at the Macadamia farm were a bonus. We went into the Volcano Park for lunch at Volcano House which was pretty awesome as we had a view of the caldera - that was our first sighting of the volcano. After lunch we had some time to look around and walk down to the Sulphur Banks and then we got back on the bus and started going around and looking at different spots in the volcano park. We went everywhere - across old lava fields, into the Thurston Lava Tube, into holes in the ground. Our guide was really knowledgeable which made a huge difference. We drove down along the Chain of Craters Road with quite a few stops which was really interesting and ended up at the Holei Sea Arch on the coastline. From that point it is a 10 mile/16 kilometre hike to where the lava flows into the ocean - and there's no time on this tour to do that. From here we headed back up to the Jaggar Museum with a few more stops on the way back - and it also took us to the closest point to the volcano all day. The closest you get to the active part of the volcano is about a kilometre away at the Jaggar Museum at the end of the day - and that's for your own health and safety. It was worth the wait because as the sun is setting it is really pretty and better to see the lava bubbling away.
It is a long day - we had to be ready at 5am and were back at our hotel at 10pm. I would definitely recommend taking some insect repellant for the stop at the waterfall there were mosquitoes and a jumper/jacket as it was freezing by the time we got to Jaggar Museum. There is a domestic flight to get to the island and the rule regarding liquids being less than 100ml applies - for all liquids including sunscreen, insect repellant, etc. Anything bigger than that was confiscated or thrown away.
Overall, we would recommend this tour - it's whet our appetite to go back and see more!

Doing what: Big Island Day Trip: Volcanoes National Park from Oahu

Charlene A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Loved it. Highly recommend . Our tour guide was knowledgable and friendly and kept us entertained. Don't forget to pack for rainy weather though.

Doing what: Big Island in One Day: Volcanoes, Waterfalls, Sightseeing, and History Small Group Tour

Takahiro H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

This one-day trip was incredible! We were extremely lucky to have such perfect weather, very little rain, and even got to see TWO giant sea turtles up close! Fantastic views. Perfection. Me and my girlfriend had a fantastic time, but what really made the trip perfect was our guide. Darian our tour guide was not only knowledgeable, but so friendly that we felt like we had a close friend giving us the entire tour. He was an expert on the history, geography, nature, and biology of the entire island. I was so impressed by his courtesy and kindness, particular when offering to take pictures of me and my girlfriend together. He really made a huge effort to make sure every single person on the tour felt special and taken care of. He went above and beyond my expectations, and really wish him well! Anyone with limited time on the Big Island should not hesitate. The tour goes quick, but you really do get a taste of the best things the Big Island has to offer.

Doing what: Big Island in One Day: Volcanoes, Waterfalls, Sightseeing, and History Small Group Tour

Spanish name

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

This tour gave me the opportunity to view the entire island ina luxurious bus with a knowledgeable guide who was fun and entertaining.

Doing what: Big Island Grand Circle Island Tour

KINAM S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Our tour guide - Kai was wonderful - so much knowledge of the Island's history! Thank you! Kinam

Doing what: Big Island in One Day: Volcanoes, Waterfalls, Sightseeing, and History Small Group Tour

Kathryn Ann F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Amazing Day! Well worth it if you can spare the extra time 15 hr day and expense. Our tour guide, Jane, did an outstanding job showing us everything she could with the time we had together. We visited parks, black sand beaches saw giant sea turtles!, macadamia nut factory, orchid farm, several craters, several lava fields, waterfalls, steam vents, and visited the active volcano day and returned at dusk. WOW! We were lucky enough to witness bubbling lava! Simply amazing!

I cannot say enough good things about Jane. She even took a photo or two of us together, something hard to get sometimes while on vacation. She was extremely accommodating and pleasant. Jane never rushed us but kept us on schedule at the same time....there is no way we could have experienced, learned and witnessed what we did on our own!

Jane alerted us when we approached the last rest stop for a while, she also alerted us to snack/souvenir opportunities, and gave us information/history about the island.

My only minor complaint is I feel the lunch should be included in the price. Lunch was served at the Volcano House and while tasty with ample serving size, a bit pricey at 17 for a burger.

DO NOT miss the opportunity!!!

Doing what: Big Island Day Trip: Volcanoes National Park from Oahu

Michelle M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

The best way to see the island is a short amount of time. Our tour guide Darian was extremely knowledgeable and friendly and went out of his way to make sure everyone on the bus was happy! We got to see waterfalls, and volcanos, and sea turtles, and we were very lucky with the fantastic weather!
I would highly recommend this tour to anyone visiting the big island!

Doing what: Big Island in One Day: Volcanoes, Waterfalls, Sightseeing, and History Small Group Tour

Bond V

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

My partner and I booked a tour with Mauka Makai tour named Hawaii Volcanoes National Park and Big Island Highlights Small Group Tour through Viator. The entire experience was excellent! They offered very personalised service from confirmation of booking through hotel drop-off. Joshua our guide was very nice and knowledgeable. Being a native born Hawaiian, he offered very unique insight throughout the entirety of the tour. Josh allowed us to personalise the tour based on our interests i.e., seeing more of the volcanoes. He also offered to stop at anytime along the journey for us to take pictures which we took advantage of. Furthermore, we were staying near Kona and our guide made the trek out from near Hilo to pick us up and drop us off at our hotel. I definitely recommend this tour for anyone visiting the Big Island for the first time or someone who is familiar with the Big Island and is looking to learn new things.

Doing what: Hawaii Volcanoes National Park and Big Island Highlights Small Group Tour

Lorelle F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

As a local born on the island, our guide was very knowledgeable. The waterfalls were amazing and walking through the rainforest was unreal. So beautiful!

Doing what: Big Island in One Day: Volcanoes, Waterfalls, Sightseeing, and History Small Group Tour

William R W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

This was a great experience for my husband. He especially enjoyed the fantastic views of the volcanoes. Unfortunately they didn't have bike small enough for my short stature. I rode in the van which was great talking to Driver Pretty. Mike was great at explaining volcano facts. He even gave a great hint for watching the sunset and seeing the colors in the crater. Great trip!

Doing what: Kilauea Volcano Bike Tour

jwate03

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

This is an excellent tour. Lasts a full day, around 11 hours from time of pickup to drop off. Great opportunity to experience the entire island in one day, with time to see everything without feeling rushed. Great experience.

Doing what: Big Island in One Day: Volcanoes, Waterfalls, Sightseeing, and History Small Group Tour

David M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

The tour was amazing and the guide was very informative.

Doing what: Big Island in One Day: Volcanoes, Waterfalls, Sightseeing, and History Small Group Tour

Kathy

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Great way to see the Island in one day Wow!! Gives you a full view of what the Island has to offer in one day! Tour guide Kevin was friendly, fun and knowledgeable! He provided suggestions/recommendations of other things to do and so for those with more days to explore. I requested a gluten free meal for lunch and they provided and it was hot and delicious! Tour. Tour included 13 plus driver and guidelines said under 12 ppl. But it was enough room in van. My only compliant for a full day of tour was they did not offer any gluten free snack options - they had snacks for other travelers. So be sure to pack your snacks if you have food allergies - it is a long day. They have plenty of water and juice!

Doing what: Big Island in One Day: Volcanoes, Waterfalls, Sightseeing, and History Small Group Tour

Mark N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

It was a really good tour. I learned a lot about the Island...

Doing what: Big Island Grand Circle Island Tour

sandra s

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

What a great day! It was everything it promised to be! We saw all the major places and had plenty of time at each to get good pictures and walk around. We had some rain as we got to Akaka Falls but we were given rain jackets if we wanted. Mike was an amazing guide. He had lots of info and he absolutely loves waterfalls so we got to see an extra on the way back!! The best part is we saw all this and I didn't have to do all the driving myself!

Doing what: Big Island in One Day: Volcanoes, Waterfalls, Sightseeing, and History Small Group Tour

binary

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Fantastic trip, and awesome views. We could've probably dealt with a few less scrambles over previous lava flows, but to end the day looking at the active crater was amazing.

Doing what: Big Island Day Trip: Volcanoes National Park from Oahu

Steven G S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

All the other reviews I read before booking this trip said it was excellent. Those people didn't lie, and it was even better than I imagined it would be. Thank you!

Doing what: Big Island Day Trip: Volcanoes National Park from Oahu

GinnyB United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

The sights we saw on the Big Island were astounding and our tour guide did a great job of explaining the sights while blending in interesting stories of the Hawaiian gods and myths. We had great weather and were able to see the lava bubbling out and shooting high into the air. There were people from a variety of countries on our tour and we enjoyed talking to them and sharing our experience with them.

Doing what: Big Island Day Trip: Volcanoes National Park from Oahu

Olivia Z

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

This tour was AMAZING!! We were immediately impressed by the knowledge that was shared, even just in the first few minutes of the drive. Kala was our tour guide and we feel very lucky to have had him!! He kept the entire tour interesting with the little history lessons of the island! I highly recommend Kala for anyone looking for a thorough tour of the Island! Not only did we get to see some of our wish list places on this tour, but Kala was able to share information with us about other spots, which we were able to see on our own the next day!! I can't stress enough how amazing this tour was!!! Thank you Kala and Wasabi tours for the amazing experience!!

Doing what: Big Island in One Day: Volcanoes, Waterfalls, Sightseeing, and History Small Group Tour

Michael W. B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

My husband and I enjoyed this tour very much. We didn't have a lot of time on the Big island so this was a great way to see a lot of sights in one day. Tour guide Kevin was both very informative and entertaining. Even though the tour was long 11 hours from pick up to drop off, the time went by fast. The views of the waterfalls and valleys were amazing and going to the top of the volcano and into the lava tube was spectacular. Also saw lots of sea turtles resting on the black beach. Highly recommend!

Doing what: Big Island in One Day: Volcanoes, Waterfalls, Sightseeing, and History Small Group Tour

skeeter

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

We had a very interesting and informative tor guide. It is a time to remember all of the sights that we saw on this tour. He let us have time to look around and take photos.

Doing what: Big Island Grand Circle Island Tour

Patricia D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

My husband and I really enjoyed the Big Island in one day tour. We found it to be the best thing we did on this trip to Hawaii and we went parasailing, took a helicopter tour and went to a luau, too. Although we enjoyed each of our adventures, the tour of the island was the most outstanding because our guide, Kevin, was so very knowledgeable and interesting! It had been raining recently so the waterfalls were full and so beautiful. The small group made it easy to get around and to get to know each other a bit. Lunch was very good and not the typical boxed sandwich we had expected. We went to the volcano, the black sand beach, an orchid facility. The approximately 11-hour tour was everything we wanted and more! We could not be more pleased!

Doing what: Big Island in One Day: Volcanoes, Waterfalls, Sightseeing, and History Small Group Tour

vincent s

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Our guide Kia was great. He was very informative, entertaining, helpful, and concerned about passengers who were having some issues.

Doing what: Big Island in One Day: Volcanoes, Waterfalls, Sightseeing, and History Small Group Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message