Whale watching in Hawaii is such a thrill it’s the type of activity that ends up on bucket lists. Every winter, over 10,000 acrobatic humpbacks make the journey from Alaska to Hawaii to give birth and mate in the warm tropical waters. Even though ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 342 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Bonnie H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

This is a chance of a lifetime to be a part of nature. Snorkeling and seeing the dolphins and sea turtles was breath taking. We were lucky enough to see the humpback whales. The staff made everything perfect. Would do it again in a heartbeat!!

Doing what: Waianae Coast Snorkel Cruise with Dolphin and Seasonal Whale Watching from Oahu

Nicolas N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

Up close and personal with whales, dolphins and sea turtles. very personal and fun staff. The day itself was not as dolphin-packed as the last one, but that's not the tour company's fault but we had more whales. Nice very fast boat. very well organized. I live here and it's incredibly worth it to go on this tour, unforgettable.

Doing what: Waianae Coast Snorkel Cruise with Dolphin and Seasonal Whale Watching from Oahu

Robert S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

What a fantastic experience! Our boat was not out of the harbor 5 minutes before we started to see the blows of the humpback whales. Our crew was great and the commentary from CJ was extremely informative. Best part was having 3 whales swim right up to our boat! I was so excited that I didn't get a picture with my camera, but lucky for me, my husband did! Great trip...well worth the money spent.Thank You!

Doing what: Maui Whale Watch Cruise

Willam G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

Had a great Time!!! No whales but enjoyed the cruise. Crew was friendly and boat was clean..

Doing what: Oahu Whale-Watching Excursion

William K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

It was windy with a choppy sea the day we went but still enjoyed seeing the whales. Also had two sightings of dolphins swimming near the whales which according to the guide annoy the whales and is uncommon to see this even once.

Doing what: Maui Whale Watch Cruise

David K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Fantastic trip, heard whale sounds, and several several whales. Very good guides

Doing what: Maui Whale Watch Cruise

Nicholas B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

We Had an amazing day. We swam with the Dolphins and seat turtles and so lucky to get up close to the whales. The tour operators, in particular Brooke were fantastic and very knowledgable. The lunch afterwards was really good as well. Would highly recommend this tour and definitely do it again.. Kylie- Sydney Australia

Doing what: Waianae Coast Snorkel Cruise with Dolphin and Seasonal Whale Watching from Oahu

Paul A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

We joined the cruise as a family of four 2 kids, 8yo and 10yo and all four of us had an amazing time. We would highly recommend this cruise. The staff were really knowledgeable and really friendly and accommodating. They paid attention the kids to ensure they were getting the most out of the experience. Everything was very relaxed. The equipment was all good. The boat was smaller and faster than other cruises we saw going around the same time, for me this was great as I felt we were a lot closer to what we were seeing in the water. We saw lots of whales and bottlenose dolphins. We were in the water with spinner dolphins although they didn't come too close. We were in the water with Green Back Turtles and loads of tropical fish. And the bonus, as the boat was preparing to leave a snorkelling spot we were paid a visit by an inquisitive, but apparently very rare, Monk Seal.

Doing what: Waianae Coast Snorkel Cruise with Dolphin and Seasonal Whale Watching from Oahu

Kevin L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

This was a fun trip and was aided by dolphins that continued to swim near the boat. The snorkeling was good and crew very accommodating.

Doing what: Leeward Coast Dolphin and Snorkel Half-Day Cruise

John N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Absolutely perfect! The crew was great, very knowledgeable and skilled. We saw turtles, whales tails only but it was still amazing and two species of dolphins. I would absolutely recommend them and use them again.

Doing what: Waianae Coast Snorkel Cruise with Dolphin and Seasonal Whale Watching from Oahu

Oscar R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Can't rate this high enough. On the day we went we happened upon a huge pod of dolphins that swam alongside the boat for awhile and then witnessed a struggle between three male whales trying to win the affection of a female. The males were pushing each other aside while the female wagged her tail above the water occasionally. There is no justice even among whales! Had a great time with a wonderful crew.

Doing what: Maui Whale Watch Cruise

Cassondra E

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Great activity! Whales, dolphins, and sea turtles! Amazing crew. Photographer was happy to do special pics. Included lunch at the cafe following the trip was really good. We ordered our food before we left and it was ready when we returned.

Doing what: Waianae Coast Snorkel Cruise with Dolphin and Seasonal Whale Watching from Oahu

AlyssaLoren

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

We saw HUNDREDS of dolphins, two wales, a sea turtle, and lots of tropical fish. TAKE ANTI-NAUSEA MEDS. I got very sea sick, but never did before this tour. It was SO AMAZING, it was still worth it! The guides are awesome, Especially Emanuelle. Paulfin Photography takes great photos that you buy.

Doing what: Waianae Coast Snorkel Cruise with Dolphin and Seasonal Whale Watching from Oahu

Mark W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

We went on a whale watching tour and even though it was the beginning of watching season, we saw four whales! The crew members were very friendly and informative. The tour was wonderful and I would highly recommend it!

Doing what: Oahu Whale-Watching Excursion

meganhannahrolfe

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

The best thing I have ever done! Swam with so many dolphins - so close you could touch them (but don and #39;t) baby dolphin doing flips in the air and swam with 2 turtles! Staff super friendly and knowledgable, helped with my first time snorkel nerves! Want to do again, really recommend!

Doing what: Waianae Coast Snorkel Cruise with Dolphin and Seasonal Whale Watching from Oahu

samanthawilding686

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

This was fantastic we saw Humpback whales, loads of Dolphins, turtles amazing. Was worried about the small boat but seeing these amazing creatures in their natural habitat made it extra special. This is a must do when in Oahu.

Doing what: Waianae Coast Snorkel Cruise with Dolphin and Seasonal Whale Watching from Oahu

Angie USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

What an incredible experience! Captain Collin and Sharon were great. We saw two types of dolphins and some whales along the way. The snorkeling was impressive too. We got waaaaay more for our money! Highly recommend Zodiac tours!

Doing what: Zodiac Raft and Snorkel Adventure

Aisling Ash G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Lovely day. Great staff, our bus driver had some time up his sleeve so took us to a local cave that isn't listed in the itinerary. Great drinks, even though the snorkling area was empty of fish, the sail and dolphins were breathaking.

Doing what: Leeward Coast Dolphin and Snorkel Half-Day Cruise

Toshikazu S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

It was a really great experience!! Kids are so excited to swim with dolphins and a turtle. In addition we could swim with a big manta. Staffs are also excited that there are very few chance to see wild manta!! All of staffs are so kind. When I come to Oahu next time I would like to join this tour again!! Thanks to all of the excursion staffs!!

Doing what: Waianae Coast Snorkel Cruise with Dolphin and Seasonal Whale Watching from Oahu

Jason Charles L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

I was about 30 ft from the dolphins. When you are under water, you can sometimes hear the noises and sounds of the dolphins communicating to each other. After swimming with some dolphins, we headed over to another section of the ocean and snorkeled for a good 45 minutes is crystal clear water. There were a variety of fish and sea life we observed. The lunch was also very good when we returned back.

Doing what: Waianae Coast Snorkel Cruise with Dolphin and Seasonal Whale Watching from Oahu

sylvia d

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

This was the highlight of our trip! it was amazing my group had 9-12-21-23 -43 yrs of age and everyone loved it!the crew was really nice and the photographer was great! highly recommend this .Dolphins were everywhere.and we also saw sea turtles and fish.

Doing what: Waianae Coast Snorkel Cruise with Dolphin and Seasonal Whale Watching from Oahu

Sarah L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Such a great experience! We saw a pod of spinner dolphins not three minutes into the trip. We jumped in and spent a good 30 minutes with them. Amazing to be so close. We then went up the coast to a reef and saw colorful fish and a handful of sea turtles. The last stop was a few miles out to sea. I sat that one out but the folks that jumped in had a great time and swam with spotted dolphins. We saw bottle nosed dolphins on the way back in to shore. Three types in one trip was a treat. The crew and photographer were wonderful!

Doing what: Waianae Coast Snorkel Cruise with Dolphin and Seasonal Whale Watching from Oahu

Danielle C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Well organized, friendly crew. About twenty of us on a large catamaran, didnt feel crowded. We saw a couple of turtles, a couple of pods of dolphins and lots of fish. Had a great time, and would definitely go thru Hawaii Nautical again for this or one of their other tours. The ONLY thing that they could have done better but again, we had a great time and this would be if I was really trying to come up with one bit of constructive feedback was remember that for those new to snorkeling, especially with small children, a little more time on the front end explaining putting on the mask or making sure the kids get fitted right would prevent any hold ups when getting folks into the water. Highly recommend!

Doing what: Leeward Coast Dolphin and Snorkel Half-Day Cruise

Steve M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

A great day out with a friendly and knowledgeable crew. We arranged for hotel pickup, and from the time we left to the time we got back, had an excellent day.
There is no rushing and all the crew made sure that all guests were looked after and got the most out of the trip and are very experienced in finding both dolphins and turtles for you to swim with. The day we went, the waters were crystal clear and blue, and was one of the best days we had on Oahu.

Doing what: Waianae Coast Snorkel Cruise with Dolphin and Seasonal Whale Watching from Oahu

Danielle T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Wow this was amazing! We were told to go early in the morning, which was a great idea because it was sunny and the water was clear. By the time we left, it was cloudy and the water was rocky. Definitely recommend going on the early trips. We had Jamal, who lives in the area and gave us a fantastic history lesson about Kealakekua Bay. We saw dolphins, beautiful fish, and we were surrounded by magnificent culture. Loved this experience!

Doing what: Snorkel, Kayak and Dolphin Experience in the Big Island’s Kealakekua Bay

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message