Apart from swaying palms on white sand beaches, nothing says 'tropical paradise' like a crystal-clear cascade falling into a serene pool, surrounded by lush vegetation. Hawaii is renowned for its beautiful falls, and each of its four biggest ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 395 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Joanne T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

A once in a lifetime opportunity and so glad we took the tour. Saw beautiful scenery and waterfalls and very interesting volcano sights.

Doing what: Big Island Day Trip: Volcanoes National Park from Oahu

Sarah B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Wonderful trip. I would recommend it to anyone looking for a day trip.

Doing what: Big Island Day Trip: Volcanoes National Park from Oahu

Matthew Aaron M

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
September 2016

Not worth the money.morning was ok but after first stop at volcano it went down hill.saw no real volcanic activity just a few steam vents and views from top of craters.saw lots of trees and rocks but very little else.would recommend from speaking to other people doing helicopter flight over volcano instead.ended up being a long boring day.

Doing what: Big Island Day Trip: Volcanoes National Park from Oahu

Mark S United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

This excursion to the Big Island to see the volcanoes and area around Hilo was very enjoyable despite the weather from a passing tropical depression and the resulting closed roads limiting what we could see. It is a very long day and we traveled with an infant who was probably better than most teenagers. The departure time is about 5:00 AM from the Waikiki area and return is about 9:30 PM. It is a shame Viator does not include these sorts of times in their advertising. Of course, if booking directly with Polynesian Adventure Tours would have made questions easier to answer before booking.

Doing what: Big Island Day Trip: Volcanoes National Park from Oahu

Sandra V

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

The waterfall hike was fabulous. Dawn provided a lot of detail about local plants, history, and showed us some amazing spots. A great time was had by all!

Doing what: Kayak and Snorkel - Waterfall Hike and Paddle Tour

Steve R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

My wife and I enjoyed the tour very much, we wish we would have had more time to visit the Big Island. The tour guide was FANTASTIC! We loved it.

Doing what: Big Island Day Trip: Volcanoes National Park from Oahu

Wendy Dee L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

We thoroughly enjoyed our trip to the Big Island. Loved all of the stops. The best part of the tour was our guide, Jane. She was awesome! We loved her commentary. I learned so much about The Big Island. It was like a classroom on wheels. The highlight was her stories about Pele. She was kind, thoughtful, funny and informative.

Doing what: Big Island Day Trip: Volcanoes National Park from Oahu

CHARLES MICHAEL L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

GUIDE REALLY CARED. EXTREMELY KNOWLEDGEABLE OF FLORA. GREAT TRIP.

Doing what: Big Island Day Trip: Volcanoes National Park from Oahu

Christine A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

excellent tour -- we saw so much and the tour guide Aki was great.
everything handled perfectly and very comfortable transportation.

Doing what: Big Island Day Trip: Volcanoes National Park from Oahu

Katina P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

a LONG day but an enjoyable and informative one

Doing what: Big Island Day Trip: Volcanoes National Park from Oahu

Richard M

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2016

It was a good tour. The driver/guide was knowledgeable and entertaining and we covered the interesting areas of the park. If I could redesign it, I would skip a couple of the stops and allow more time for exploration in others. The group was fairly worn out by the end of it.

Doing what: Big Island Day Trip: Volcanoes National Park from Oahu

Jaime D

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2016

A great way to check out the big island from Honolulu. You do have to wake up really really early because of the flight. but you're supported all the way to check-in. You get to see Hilo town east side of the island, its black sand beaches, the Japanese gardens, Rainbow Falls, the Mauna Loa macadamia factory, and the star of the trip, volcano national park. Unfortunately, it was raining most of the time we were there but it only dampened our spirits a bit. Strongly recommended - Hawaii island is beautiful. Next time, we plan to do the Kona west side.

Doing what: Big Island Day Trip: Volcanoes National Park from Oahu

PATRICIA M

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2016

Great trip overall. Started off a little slow with stops at the Nut Factory and Orchid garden which were not as I expected as well as the food at the Volcanoes Restaurant over priced and food not soo good and I am not a picky eater but being able to walk the black sand beach, walk upon old lava rocks, walk through the lava tube and see the Caldera with smoke and Lava spiting out made up for the whole trip. It was amazing. I wish the tour was designed to filter out the less enchanting stops and give more time at the Volcano and lava rock stops.

Doing what: Big Island Day Trip: Volcanoes National Park from Oahu

Charles B

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2016

The tour was okay. I know you don and #39;t always get to see lava but it would have been better to see some instead of a bunch of black rocks at all of destinations. They do not mention you have to pay additional money to see the $20,000 orchid. It took the them over an hour to get us home from the airport

Doing what: Big Island Day Trip: Volcanoes National Park from Oahu

Peter B

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
July 2016

Tour guide very knowledgeable, but was talking so much we could not absorb all he was saying. Trip said we See an orchid valued at 20,000 USD at Akatsuka Gardens, true but only if you paid extra when you got to gardens. Trip said you'll hike along the rim of a crater, not true, you could see from restaurant and from viewing points, but did not get at all close. All in all a good tour, but not one I would choose if I wanted to get up close and personal with the volcano's

Doing what: Big Island Day Trip: Volcanoes National Park from Oahu

Carolyn S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

The Big Island Trip was fantastic. A very long day but worth the sites. Sites I will probably never see again. The driver/guide was great and everything was wonderful.

Doing what: Big Island Day Trip: Volcanoes National Park from Oahu

rayfrozen_98

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

We loved this day trip. We loved black sand beach and hardened lava flows.

Doing what: Big Island Day Trip: Volcanoes National Park from Oahu

Amy G United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

My husband and I were staying on Oahu for 10 days. We booked this day trip to Hilo to tour the volcanoes and I am so glad we did. I really think this was the highlight of our trip. You really have no idea until you see the National Park the magnitude of the volcanoes. It's amazing. Captain Rob was our guide and he was terrific. He was so knowledgeable and funny. Be prepared for a very long day from the time you are picked up at your hotel, until the time you are dropped back off but you will not be disappointed. The waterfall we saw was picture perfect, the black sandy beach we stopped at was quaint, and everything else in between. We really appreciated the fact that if you didn't want to do a lot of walking you didn't have to. The shuttle bus took you everywhere and really I think there was only one point that an older person in our group was not able to participate in. and it was not something that he was deprived of, believe me Captain Rob even made sure to lock the bus when we were off exploring, so you never had to worry about your stuff. The lunch stop was great too! You ordered your food once you are on the bus so that the restaurant was prepared for us. Very well organized. We had the bacon cheeseburger and it was awesome! I was even amazed at the airport in Hilo. The departure lounge was nothing like I have ever seen in an airport before. Definitely Hawaiian. Very laid back and comfortable! I highly recommend this tour! If you are thinking about a day trip... just do it! You will not regret it!

Doing what: Big Island Day Trip: Volcanoes National Park from Oahu

Terry K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

We had a great time on this tour! I really need to tell you how great Ari, Kelly and Julio are! They really make the trip fun. Bring bug spray and hiking shoes. Love the kayaking. Thank you Ari for your help, I would have had a hard time with out you
Terry Grandma

Doing what: Hidden Valley Falls Kayak and Kauai Hike Adventure

Rodney S

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2016

This was a most fascinating tour although some things could have been better. The huge day starts with an early morning flight from Honolulu to Hilo. The breakfast stop soon after boarding the bus was most welcome. The next stop at the black sand beach could have benefited from the guide walking to the beach with us and explaining the black sand etc. Other stops on the way were ok except I dont get the relevance of the orchid nursery visit. Once we hit the solid lava fields our minds were totally captivated. The scenery is simply stunning and breathtakingly beautiful. Amazing shapes and formations. The end of the day visit to the observatory looking out over the caldera was truely amazing. Hints of molten rock could be seen in the distance as the light faded. A magic end to a most magical day. The transfers all were on time and hassle free. Well done to all involved. I would do this again but would like more time to walk around the caldera.

Doing what: Big Island Day Trip: Volcanoes National Park from Oahu

Linda S

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2016

This was a very long day but well worth the effort. We were picked up on time and everything went according to plan. Lots of amazing sites to see. I must see for anyone who does not live with this kind of landscape.

Doing what: Big Island Day Trip: Volcanoes National Park from Oahu

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message