Apart from swaying palms on white sand beaches, nothing says 'tropical paradise' like a crystal-clear cascade falling into a serene pool, surrounded by lush vegetation. Hawaii is renowned for its beautiful falls, and each of its four biggest ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 401 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Kathryn Ann F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Amazing Day! Well worth it if you can spare the extra time 15 hr day and expense. Our tour guide, Jane, did an outstanding job showing us everything she could with the time we had together. We visited parks, black sand beaches saw giant sea turtles!, macadamia nut factory, orchid farm, several craters, several lava fields, waterfalls, steam vents, and visited the active volcano day and returned at dusk. WOW! We were lucky enough to witness bubbling lava! Simply amazing!

I cannot say enough good things about Jane. She even took a photo or two of us together, something hard to get sometimes while on vacation. She was extremely accommodating and pleasant. Jane never rushed us but kept us on schedule at the same time....there is no way we could have experienced, learned and witnessed what we did on our own!

Jane alerted us when we approached the last rest stop for a while, she also alerted us to snack/souvenir opportunities, and gave us information/history about the island.

My only minor complaint is I feel the lunch should be included in the price. Lunch was served at the Volcano House and while tasty with ample serving size, a bit pricey at 17 for a burger.

DO NOT miss the opportunity!!!

Doing what: Big Island Day Trip: Volcanoes National Park from Oahu

tzuliani70

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2016

This tour was very well organised from the pick ups to the plane travel. Our driver was very friendly and knowledgeable. We got to see the black sand beaches and while walking along there some sea turtles were swimming on the edge of the water next to us. The parks were lovely and to see the old lava flows was totally amazing. It was a very hot day when we were there and the aircon on the bus wasn't working and was very uncomfortable, we stopped to look at the waterfall and a new bus was waiting for us when we finished there, it made the trip a lot better. The volcano was so amazing to see, it was also very interesting to see a lot of the information in the museum there. The only downfall of this tour was we didn't get to see the lava flowing into the sea, we were so disappointed as the was one of the main reasons we did this tour. The driver said we didn't have enough time to go there, but if the time was shortened at the park InTown perhaps it could have been fitted in. As for the rest of the tour it was amazing, we loved it. Lunch was great, walking around the sulphur areas in the national park was so interesting. Our only disappointment from this tour as I said was not seeing the lava flows into the sea otherwise it was a fantastic day.

Doing what: Big Island Day Trip: Volcanoes National Park from Oahu

Michelle P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

We really enjoyed this adventure. Elvis the guide made it very enjoyable! He not only was very patient in instructing us how to use a kayak but he also made me a walking stick which really helped me be more comfortable with the slippery footing on the hike. This was the best adventure we went on during our trip to Kauai. Elvis is a valuable asset to your company. My only complaint is with the description for this adventure. The description stated it included an opportunity to swim in a pool with a waterfall. This was not accurate. The waterfall is small and no swimming is offered if the small pond it feeds.

Doing what: Hidden Valley Falls Kayak and Kauai Hike Adventure

GinnyB United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

The sights we saw on the Big Island were astounding and our tour guide did a great job of explaining the sights while blending in interesting stories of the Hawaiian gods and myths. We had great weather and were able to see the lava bubbling out and shooting high into the air. There were people from a variety of countries on our tour and we enjoyed talking to them and sharing our experience with them.

Doing what: Big Island Day Trip: Volcanoes National Park from Oahu

Steven G S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

All the other reviews I read before booking this trip said it was excellent. Those people didn't lie, and it was even better than I imagined it would be. Thank you!

Doing what: Big Island Day Trip: Volcanoes National Park from Oahu

binary

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Fantastic trip, and awesome views. We could've probably dealt with a few less scrambles over previous lava flows, but to end the day looking at the active crater was amazing.

Doing what: Big Island Day Trip: Volcanoes National Park from Oahu

Joanne T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

A once in a lifetime opportunity and so glad we took the tour. Saw beautiful scenery and waterfalls and very interesting volcano sights.

Doing what: Big Island Day Trip: Volcanoes National Park from Oahu

Sarah B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Wonderful trip. I would recommend it to anyone looking for a day trip.

Doing what: Big Island Day Trip: Volcanoes National Park from Oahu

Matthew Aaron M

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
September 2016

Not worth the money.morning was ok but after first stop at volcano it went down hill.saw no real volcanic activity just a few steam vents and views from top of craters.saw lots of trees and rocks but very little else.would recommend from speaking to other people doing helicopter flight over volcano instead.ended up being a long boring day.

Doing what: Big Island Day Trip: Volcanoes National Park from Oahu

Mark S United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

This excursion to the Big Island to see the volcanoes and area around Hilo was very enjoyable despite the weather from a passing tropical depression and the resulting closed roads limiting what we could see. It is a very long day and we traveled with an infant who was probably better than most teenagers. The departure time is about 5:00 AM from the Waikiki area and return is about 9:30 PM. It is a shame Viator does not include these sorts of times in their advertising. Of course, if booking directly with Polynesian Adventure Tours would have made questions easier to answer before booking.

Doing what: Big Island Day Trip: Volcanoes National Park from Oahu

Sandra V

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

The waterfall hike was fabulous. Dawn provided a lot of detail about local plants, history, and showed us some amazing spots. A great time was had by all!

Doing what: Kayak and Snorkel - Waterfall Hike and Paddle Tour

Steve R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

My wife and I enjoyed the tour very much, we wish we would have had more time to visit the Big Island. The tour guide was FANTASTIC! We loved it.

Doing what: Big Island Day Trip: Volcanoes National Park from Oahu

Wendy Dee L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

We thoroughly enjoyed our trip to the Big Island. Loved all of the stops. The best part of the tour was our guide, Jane. She was awesome! We loved her commentary. I learned so much about The Big Island. It was like a classroom on wheels. The highlight was her stories about Pele. She was kind, thoughtful, funny and informative.

Doing what: Big Island Day Trip: Volcanoes National Park from Oahu

CHARLES MICHAEL L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

GUIDE REALLY CARED. EXTREMELY KNOWLEDGEABLE OF FLORA. GREAT TRIP.

Doing what: Big Island Day Trip: Volcanoes National Park from Oahu

Christine A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

excellent tour -- we saw so much and the tour guide Aki was great.
everything handled perfectly and very comfortable transportation.

Doing what: Big Island Day Trip: Volcanoes National Park from Oahu

Katina P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

a LONG day but an enjoyable and informative one

Doing what: Big Island Day Trip: Volcanoes National Park from Oahu

Richard M

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2016

It was a good tour. The driver/guide was knowledgeable and entertaining and we covered the interesting areas of the park. If I could redesign it, I would skip a couple of the stops and allow more time for exploration in others. The group was fairly worn out by the end of it.

Doing what: Big Island Day Trip: Volcanoes National Park from Oahu

Jaime D

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2016

A great way to check out the big island from Honolulu. You do have to wake up really really early because of the flight. but you're supported all the way to check-in. You get to see Hilo town east side of the island, its black sand beaches, the Japanese gardens, Rainbow Falls, the Mauna Loa macadamia factory, and the star of the trip, volcano national park. Unfortunately, it was raining most of the time we were there but it only dampened our spirits a bit. Strongly recommended - Hawaii island is beautiful. Next time, we plan to do the Kona west side.

Doing what: Big Island Day Trip: Volcanoes National Park from Oahu

PATRICIA M

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2016

Great trip overall. Started off a little slow with stops at the Nut Factory and Orchid garden which were not as I expected as well as the food at the Volcanoes Restaurant over priced and food not soo good and I am not a picky eater but being able to walk the black sand beach, walk upon old lava rocks, walk through the lava tube and see the Caldera with smoke and Lava spiting out made up for the whole trip. It was amazing. I wish the tour was designed to filter out the less enchanting stops and give more time at the Volcano and lava rock stops.

Doing what: Big Island Day Trip: Volcanoes National Park from Oahu

Charles B

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2016

The tour was okay. I know you don and #39;t always get to see lava but it would have been better to see some instead of a bunch of black rocks at all of destinations. They do not mention you have to pay additional money to see the $20,000 orchid. It took the them over an hour to get us home from the airport

Doing what: Big Island Day Trip: Volcanoes National Park from Oahu

Peter B

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
July 2016

Tour guide very knowledgeable, but was talking so much we could not absorb all he was saying. Trip said we See an orchid valued at 20,000 USD at Akatsuka Gardens, true but only if you paid extra when you got to gardens. Trip said you'll hike along the rim of a crater, not true, you could see from restaurant and from viewing points, but did not get at all close. All in all a good tour, but not one I would choose if I wanted to get up close and personal with the volcano's

Doing what: Big Island Day Trip: Volcanoes National Park from Oahu

Carolyn S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

The Big Island Trip was fantastic. A very long day but worth the sites. Sites I will probably never see again. The driver/guide was great and everything was wonderful.

Doing what: Big Island Day Trip: Volcanoes National Park from Oahu

rayfrozen_98

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

We loved this day trip. We loved black sand beach and hardened lava flows.

Doing what: Big Island Day Trip: Volcanoes National Park from Oahu

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message