Of the Hawaiian islands, Oahu, Maui, and Big Island are best known for stellar whale watching. During high season the whales migrate to Hawaii, and you're likely to spot whales on any one of our cruises from November to May!

Click here for more details

Viewing All 452 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Willam G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

Had a great Time!!! No whales but enjoyed the cruise. Crew was friendly and boat was clean..

Doing what: Oahu Whale-Watching Excursion

Angel R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

Amazing

Doing what: Maui Whale Watch Cruise

Robert S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

What a fantastic experience! Our boat was not out of the harbor 5 minutes before we started to see the blows of the humpback whales. Our crew was great and the commentary from CJ was extremely informative. Best part was having 3 whales swim right up to our boat! I was so excited that I didn't get a picture with my camera, but lucky for me, my husband did! Great trip...well worth the money spent.Thank You!

Doing what: Maui Whale Watch Cruise

Walter W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

Absolutely amazing! The breachings were further away, but still great for pictures. The highlight was when we approached two juveniles and they became curious. After the captain shut down the engines, they circled the boat and rolled on their sides and popped their heads up to have a look at us several times. Lots of tail and fin slaps. The crew said that was the best mugging they ever seen. We were lucky. Thank you Lahaina Cruise Company!
Oahu resident

Doing what: Maui Whale Watch Cruise

Nicolas N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

Up close and personal with whales, dolphins and sea turtles. very personal and fun staff. The day itself was not as dolphin-packed as the last one, but that's not the tour company's fault but we had more whales. Nice very fast boat. very well organized. I live here and it's incredibly worth it to go on this tour, unforgettable.

Doing what: Waianae Coast Snorkel Cruise with Dolphin and Seasonal Whale Watching from Oahu

Richard H

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2017

Good people running the show. We saw whales but at a great distance.

Doing what: Oahu Whale-Watching Excursion

Jeanene H

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2017

We did see whales, but it is hard to see if you are not on top of the boat. I think it would have been more successful if they allowed less customers at one time on this tour. Not everyone could fit on the top of the boat at once.

Doing what: Maui Whale Watch Cruise

ascachong

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2017

we were lucky, a humpback whale calf came close to our boat!

Doing what: Zodiac Raft Whale Watching Adventure

lois m

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
February 2017

The Captains on the boat were very friendly and funny. We saw 1 whale breach about a mile ahead of us, saw 2 tail fins, and a couple spouts When we saw the 2 tail fins, we were told that was going to be a deep dive for the whales and it would probably be 10 minutes before they re-appeared, but that the whales could be anywhere, so the boat stopped for 10 minutes, and we saw nothing!! Our trip was scheduled to leave at 1:30 for a couple hours. We were not boarded onto the boat until 1:35, which meant we left the marina at 1:55, but by golly we were back in the marina by 3:30. Can't recommend this one at all!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Doing what: Oahu Whale-Watching Excursion

John N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Absolutely perfect! The crew was great, very knowledgeable and skilled. We saw turtles, whales tails only but it was still amazing and two species of dolphins. I would absolutely recommend them and use them again.

Doing what: Waianae Coast Snorkel Cruise with Dolphin and Seasonal Whale Watching from Oahu

Kevin L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

This was a fun trip and was aided by dolphins that continued to swim near the boat. The snorkeling was good and crew very accommodating.

Doing what: Leeward Coast Dolphin and Snorkel Half-Day Cruise

Paul A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

We joined the cruise as a family of four 2 kids, 8yo and 10yo and all four of us had an amazing time. We would highly recommend this cruise. The staff were really knowledgeable and really friendly and accommodating. They paid attention the kids to ensure they were getting the most out of the experience. Everything was very relaxed. The equipment was all good. The boat was smaller and faster than other cruises we saw going around the same time, for me this was great as I felt we were a lot closer to what we were seeing in the water. We saw lots of whales and bottlenose dolphins. We were in the water with spinner dolphins although they didn't come too close. We were in the water with Green Back Turtles and loads of tropical fish. And the bonus, as the boat was preparing to leave a snorkelling spot we were paid a visit by an inquisitive, but apparently very rare, Monk Seal.

Doing what: Waianae Coast Snorkel Cruise with Dolphin and Seasonal Whale Watching from Oahu

Nicholas B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

We Had an amazing day. We swam with the Dolphins and seat turtles and so lucky to get up close to the whales. The tour operators, in particular Brooke were fantastic and very knowledgable. The lunch afterwards was really good as well. Would highly recommend this tour and definitely do it again.. Kylie- Sydney Australia

Doing what: Waianae Coast Snorkel Cruise with Dolphin and Seasonal Whale Watching from Oahu

David K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Fantastic trip, heard whale sounds, and several several whales. Very good guides

Doing what: Maui Whale Watch Cruise

William K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

It was windy with a choppy sea the day we went but still enjoyed seeing the whales. Also had two sightings of dolphins swimming near the whales which according to the guide annoy the whales and is uncommon to see this even once.

Doing what: Maui Whale Watch Cruise

molly.griffis

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

This was an amazing trip and is on my to do list for our next visit!

Doing what: Waianae Coast Snorkel Cruise with Dolphin and Seasonal Whale Watching from Oahu

Vivian F

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2017

The cruise out to the sea was amazing as we got a good view of Honolulu city. We did not get to see any whale so we were offered to cruise out again without extra charge, but unfortunately we still could not spot any whale the second time. We were offered the third time but we had to fly back then.

Doing what: Oahu Whale-Watching Excursion

Cathy S

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2017

The Captain did his best to find whale sightings. It was a slow day initially, but turned out fabulous. He took extra time to allow us to listen to a whale singing that ended up very close. The Captain didn't always have his facts straight, but overall was a good adventure.

Doing what: Zodiac Raft Whale Watching Adventure

Charles W

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2017

A great tour. Friendly and knowledgeable staff conducted a well-rounded tour.
The lunch was nothing to brag about, but that's not what we came for.

Doing what: Waianae Coast Snorkel Cruise with Dolphin and Seasonal Whale Watching from Oahu

Dov R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

This was the highlight of our vacation, highly recommended
everybody involved were great.

The picture package, a little bit too expensive to what you get, however great underwater pictures.

Doing what: Waianae Coast Snorkel Cruise with Dolphin and Seasonal Whale Watching from Oahu

samanthawilding686

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

This was fantastic we saw Humpback whales, loads of Dolphins, turtles amazing. Was worried about the small boat but seeing these amazing creatures in their natural habitat made it extra special. This is a must do when in Oahu.

Doing what: Waianae Coast Snorkel Cruise with Dolphin and Seasonal Whale Watching from Oahu

meganhannahrolfe

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

The best thing I have ever done! Swam with so many dolphins - so close you could touch them (but don and #39;t) baby dolphin doing flips in the air and swam with 2 turtles! Staff super friendly and knowledgable, helped with my first time snorkel nerves! Want to do again, really recommend!

Doing what: Waianae Coast Snorkel Cruise with Dolphin and Seasonal Whale Watching from Oahu

Mark W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

We went on a whale watching tour and even though it was the beginning of watching season, we saw four whales! The crew members were very friendly and informative. The tour was wonderful and I would highly recommend it!

Doing what: Oahu Whale-Watching Excursion

AlyssaLoren

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

We saw HUNDREDS of dolphins, two wales, a sea turtle, and lots of tropical fish. TAKE ANTI-NAUSEA MEDS. I got very sea sick, but never did before this tour. It was SO AMAZING, it was still worth it! The guides are awesome, Especially Emanuelle. Paulfin Photography takes great photos that you buy.

Doing what: Waianae Coast Snorkel Cruise with Dolphin and Seasonal Whale Watching from Oahu

Cassondra E

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Great activity! Whales, dolphins, and sea turtles! Amazing crew. Photographer was happy to do special pics. Included lunch at the cafe following the trip was really good. We ordered our food before we left and it was ready when we returned.

Doing what: Waianae Coast Snorkel Cruise with Dolphin and Seasonal Whale Watching from Oahu

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message