Heraklion ATTRACTIONS See all

Palace of Knossos

The best place to capture the mystery and magic of Crete’s ancient Minoan civilization is the ruins of Knossos, just outside Heraklion. The secrets of this enigmatic civilization were only unraveled in the 20th century, by the man who would go on to ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 63 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Ronald M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

This tour is really awesome! They had a cab pick us from our hotel to the port and back to our hotel after! They even had our name printed on a sign! We saw the main parts of santorini and had enough time to take plenty of pictures and eat lunch. It was a great experience overall

Doing what: Santorini Island Day Trip

Derrick C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

This was the most adventurous and truly amazing experience. The guides were amazing and so very friendly. The tour began with some pre-drive instructions and an overview of what to expect and then we hit the trails through the vineyards and mountainous trails to amazing altitude with spectacular views. About halfway through the tour we stopped for a wonderful lunch with our guides and the other members of the tour. This is an experience that would like to recreate over and over. Thank you to the guide and to the great staff of the tour operation.

Doing what: Off Road Buggy Adventure in Crete

GEORGIA P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

This tour was amazing!

Doing what: Off Road Buggy Adventure in Crete

Avery K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

This was a fabulous tour! Our tour guide knew all about the island of Crete, Aghios Nikolaos, and Spinalonga. She was constantly giving us information about where we were at the time of the tour. It was great to spend the morning in Aghios Nikolaos to explore the main roads, the cathedral and the lake which our guide told us all about Next we were on our way to Spinalonga. You can get beautiful pictures of the outside of the island while the ferry goes around before dropping you off. We then had a guided tour around the inhabited part of the island and had a little time to ourselves to explore the island. We then went to a protected beach where you can swim while the ferry crew prepares lunch my suggestion would be to swim off the boat and not bother with going to the beach. The beach is very small, you have to climb over some large rocks to get there and the sand stops where the water is so its all small slippery stones The lunch was delicious and I love how it was included in the price of the tour. Overall a fantastic day out in the sun, beautiful views for pictures and you get to learn some history of the island of Crete.

The only things I would change would be to have at least another half hour on the island to explore we didn't get to see everything without risking missing the ferry and I would have loved to have been able to see it all The other thing would be to include the admission ticket to Spinalonga into the price so you aren't wasting time waiting in line to buy a ticket and can have more time exploring the island instead.

Doing what: Full Day Tour to Spinalonga Island with BBQ Lunch

Avery K

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2016

The tour and our guide were great! We learned a lot about the history of the ancient palace and then had an hour to explore and take pictures on our own time. 1.5 hours guided tour and 1 hour on our own it was the perfect length of time to fully experience Knossos.

The museum was also wonderful to see. You can get a better understanding of the daily life and culture.

I had a few problems with the tour.
1 I found the group was way to big for the guided tour it took forever for people to pay the entrance fee we ended up waiting at least 20 minutes just to collect everyone to start the tour, it took a long time to move from one section to another. The last tour I went on had about 20 people and this one was at least 35 people. It would have been better if it was a smaller group of max 20 people.
2 There was a wine tasting between the palace of Knossos and the museum which isn't mentioned anywhere in the tours description so I wasn't expecting it. It was ok, but I would have rather spent the time it took to drive there and the 45 minutes at the tasting to explore the city of Heraklion instead.
3 Since we had the wine tour we only had an 1.75 hours to view the museum and get something to eat so we had to go through the museum faster than I would have liked to to make sure we had enough time to eat and get back to the bus on time.
4 I don't understand why they don't include the price to get into the palace and museum into the cost of the tour, I find you waste so much time paying for tickets that could be better spent enjoying exhibits.

Doing what: Ancient Palace of Knossos Tour

Maria M

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
June 2016

Not worth the cash.

The trip by itself is really nice, the island is lovely and it is really worth visiting and spending some time there. However, the only thing that is actually included in the price is the bus trip. Boat trip fee was collected in the bus 18 and not 15 as advertise 1 on getting on the boat for nature preservation. Food is not not included, neither are beach umbrellas. Visitors would be better off just renting a car and getting the boat tickets by themselves. For 4 people we played 220 for a bus ride. We have done the Jeep Safari tours, which are full day with almost everything included, same price range.

I have booked a couple of great trips over Viator really happy with the platform, so I was expecting this one to be matching the overall really good level of the offers. However, this one was a bit of a disappointment.

Doing what: Chrissi Island Day Trip

Dan D

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
June 2016

The port on the booking is wrong! No text or call to tell me where and when picking up time was! I phoned them only got a answer on the day! They then rebooked me and again didn and #39;t email or text as they said they would. Didn and #39;t have a boot trip this holiday ruined this for me not happy

Doing what: Chrissi Island Day Trip

Sheila G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Really enjoyable day. The tour was well organized and efficiently run. The cruise was lovely and our barbecue meal was delicious. The area is stunningly beautiful.

Doing what: Full Day Tour to Spinalonga Island with BBQ Lunch

Katherine E

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

really interesting tour, beautiful island with a very sad past, the tour guide was really good and the bbq and swim afterwards was lovely.

Doing what: Full Day Tour to Spinalonga Island with BBQ Lunch

Rodger G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

our guide was excellent...she was able to highlight the best in a museum filled with artifacts and then bring it all the together as we explored the old ruins of the palace...well done

Doing what: Ancient Palace of Knossos Tour

davidjciardi

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
November 2015

shocking tour
shame that the tour of the museum you have to do by yourself!!!

plus you have to pay entry for the museum for yourself on top of the 100 aud

worst tour guide ever only concerned about being able to have her cigarette!!!!

Doing what: Ancient Palace of Knossos Tour

ozcat

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2015

It was along day for me as I got picked up from Heraklion, other than that it was quite enjoyable. The island was interesting and I enjoyed lunch. It was too cold for swimming but some people did go in. The only drawback for me was that the entire tour bus had only German tourists on it and I was the only english speaker so I couldn't chat to my fellow travellers. Other than that I enjoyed it.

Doing what: Full Day Tour to Spinalonga Island with BBQ Lunch

Robyn S

3 star rating: Worth doing
October 2015

The boat trip itself and tour of spinalonga were lovely, as was the lunch. The two and a half hour coach journey to get there and two more hours to get back made me question whether this was really worth the money, probably could have booked something better through my hotel to be honest.

Doing what: Full Day Tour to Spinalonga Island with BBQ Lunch

Aparna J United States of ... 

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
October 2015

Knossos is not a very interesting artifact and our tour was horrible! Tour was in German and English. She seemed annoyed at questions and sounded like she was reciting from a memorize script. We left early to make better use of the day.

Doing what: Ancient Palace of Knossos Tour

Nany

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
October 2015

We paid a high price for this tour of the Palace at Knossos and a tour of the city of Heraklion. This tour consisted of a bus trip to the site as short 6 km trip we could have taken by taxi or bus from next to our hotel and a TERRIBLE guided tour of the palace. The guide was absolutely awful. All she was worried about was her next cigarette. She forgot her photographs of the palace and simply went through the motions of the guided tour. We had studied the site quite a bit before the tour or we would have not gotten anything out of it. The tour of Heraklion was just to drop us off in the middle of town. A TAXI to Knossos is 8 Euros. We could have hired a private guide for so much less than we paid. We have traveled a lot in Europe and have taken this type of tour before, but this one was the worst ever.

Doing what: Ancient Palace of Knossos Tour

Linda B

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
September 2015

They say on the websit you can use an E-Ticket, it was a real problem for us at the port! Do not go for lunch at the first stop, which was the beautiful town of Oia! You WILL NOT have enough time to shop or see anything! I was VERY upset being hearded to The Blue Sky restaurant, the food was just okay and slow. We were not left with enough time, only 25 mins to see what we came for which was Oia not a Greek salad!!!. There is time to eat at Fira! I would recommend this trip but heed my warnings and you'll have a great time!

Doing what: Santorini Island Day Trip

Barbara

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Book the morning tour and avoid some of the crowds and heat. A great start to our vacation. Tour included wine and olive oil tasting at a nearby town. Delicious and informative.

Doing what: Ancient Palace of Knossos Tour

Kevin K

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
August 2015

We have been booking with Viator for many years but have never been so disappointed with one of their tours. This was not the tour as advertised by Viator. Specifically -
- the tour lasted some 8 hours even ignoring the pickup time etc of which only 1.5 hours was at Knossos - we didn't even get to see the full site.
- we spent an hour and a half at a winery which isn't mentioned by Viator - we had no desire to pay money to see a film about wine making!
- there was no bus tour of Heraklion - we were escorted into the city centre and then left to our own devices.
In addition, the coach was very old with almost no air conditioning. It was genuinely unpleasantly hot. Also worth noting the tour was bilingual with half the tour being Russian. Many of the English speaking folks just wandered off at Knossos because they lost interest waiting for the guide to finish talking to the Russian guests.
Overall, it seems Viator just haven't done their due diligence here. Would not recommend this tour.

Doing what: Ancient Palace of Knossos Tour

mindasemail

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

This is a great one day excursion. I was skeptical about the leper colony island, but it was a lot of fun. You can hike wherever to the very top to see the ruins, or stick at the bottom with the tour guide. Then for lunch they stop at a private island where people swim while the crew grills up lunch.

Doing what: Full Day Tour to Spinalonga Island with BBQ Lunch

edsyfalcon2 Taiwan

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2015

satisfactory. barbecue lunch, the amount is too small. both tour guide is nice and helpful

Doing what: Full Day Tour to Spinalonga Island with BBQ Lunch

Thomas J F

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2015

The guided tour to Knossos was very good. We could have spent more time there and there were a few too many people on the tour.

Doing what: Ancient Palace of Knossos Tour

Kara B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

What an excellent trip. The guide was friendly and informative and the visit to Spinalonga was interesting and enjoyable although the time on the island is quite short and by the time you have had the tour you do not have much time to explore on your own - if you already know the history of Spinalonga you should probably just leave the tour and spend the time exploring on your own. The bay swim and bbq was absolutely wonderful. We would definitely recommend this tour and will definitely do it again next time we are in Crete.

Doing what: Full Day Tour to Spinalonga Island with BBQ Lunch

Kristofer A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Excellent tour and very fun and informative. I highly recommend it.

Doing what: Full Day Tour to Spinalonga Island with BBQ Lunch

Vicki F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

It was very well organized and fun and easy to purchase and negotiate. I have no complaints other than more time in a day! The tour company worked with our resort to arrange for pick-up.

Doing what: Santorini Island Day Trip

Charlotte Turner

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

Was picked up on time and the trip was well worth it. I would have given five stars but from our hotel in Elounds to Knossos took over two hours due to picks ups along the way and back. Seeing history in the making when you discover the palace was built over 400 years ago only to be discovered by an Englishmen in the 1900's

Doing what: Ancient Palace of Knossos Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message