Samaria Gorge is legendary amongst hikers, with more than 1,000 walkers hitting the rugged river valley trail daily in summer. Europe’s longest gorge offers a wildflower-bedecked river trail with cliff-top views of Crete’s endangered wild goat, the ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 42 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Gay T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Beautiful day and amazing hike. And Irena was a wonderful guide who thoroughly prepared us. Would do it again. And make sure you follow the hike with a swim.

Doing what: Full Day Tour to Samaria Gorge

Mike E

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2016

This tour was amazing!

Doing what: Full Day Tour to Samaria Gorge

thebache

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2016

Tour was nice and worth waking up early. Still far from Heraklion ... Better take it from chania or stay there .... Gorge is clean, water available every 2 km so you walk light

Doing what: Full Day Tour to Samaria Gorge

Jennifer M

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2016

The hike itself is great. The tour company did a great job coordination get our complicated travel arrangements. However, the guide was a little short on info, and some basic info about what to bring would benefit other hikers less experienced than us. The guide did do that but at the last minute

Doing what: Full Day Tour to Samaria Gorge

Marion G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Absolutely stunning. It was run very efficiently, I booked online the day before, was told where and when to go to be picked up. The guide was helpful and informative. Really enjoyed my day

Doing what: Full Day Tour to Samaria Gorge

Sal M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Trip was well organized and the tour operator worked closely with us to make sure and pick us up and dropped off at a convenient location and on schedule.

Doing what: Full Day Tour to Samaria Gorge

Scott L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

We had a small group of only five so we had a lot of personal attention from the guide who was just terrific and we did not feel like we were part of a tour getting herded along. The gorge is magnificent. October was a great time to go because the weather was cooler and the crowds were not as great although there was still a pretty steady stream of hikers.

Doing what: Samaria Gorge Small-Group Hiking Day Trip from Chania

Jennifer Z W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Amazing natural environment! Really appreciated the opportunity to sit back and enjoy the ride without driving the steep, narrow switchbacks. Coffee and biological stops along the way were great especially on the return, the soulvaki cooked on the outdoor grill was delicious.

Barbara, our guide was nice and provided enjoyable information about the history of the area as we drove up the mountain. Altough she verbally told us a couple times about the hike and the important timing benchmarks it would have been helpful to have them written out or at least a recommendation for us to make note of them. She said she did the hike 58 times already for the season but for those whose first time it was there was alot to remember, one certainly does not want to miss the boat back.

Bit confusing as to where to go at the end but we figured it out. There was a shuttle bus to town at the second place that offered refreshments but this was not included in our tour. The walk into town is short and flat after this but we just weren't sure where to go. A sign or remindern of this would have been comforting. Again, didn't want to miss boat. Take into consideration the phenomonon of the vacation brain

Wearing hiking shoes with stiff soles makes the walk more enjoyable-6 hrs for us as you ate constantly walking over rocks of various shapes and sizes. My knees tend to hurt going down so my walking sticks were a savior. In order to make the ferry we needed to keep walking, stopping often for photos of the spectacular scenery.

Doing what: Full Day Tour to Samaria Gorge

Dennis A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

The Samaria Gorge hike was the highlight of our week on Crete! Our guide Linda was so enthusiastic and informative we learned a lot about the region and its history. Our group was fun and friendly, and the whole tour went smoothly from pick-up to drop-off. I would highly recommend this tour to adventure-seekers who appreciate nature and history.

Doing what: Samaria Gorge Small-Group Hiking Day Trip from Chania

Cindy C R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

The hike was extremely well organized, and the sites were beautiful!

Doing what: Full Day Tour to Samaria Gorge

Håkan K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

The trip is really recommended. Fantastic views and a pretty tough and varying walk. Do it!!

Doing what: Samaria Gorge Small-Group Hiking Day Trip from Chania

Despina I

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Was so much fun! Tour guide was very knowledgeable and helpful throughout the day! Had a great time.

Doing what: Samaria Gorge Small-Group Hiking Day Trip from Chania

Christopher S

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2015

Well worth doing - great achievement to complete the walk and great views along the way

Doing what: Full Day Tour to Samaria Gorge

Cynthia M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Pros: We were very impressed with this tour. Tour company was very organized, had on-time arrival to morning pick-up, a well-informed tour guide, and comfortable transportation. Tour had a great pace through the gorge, finishing with 2 hours at the end to enjoy swimming in the Libyan Sea and lunch in the beautiful and remote Agios Roumeli.
        Cons: If youre looking to stroll through the gorge at your own/slower pace, this tour moves a little more briskly than that. Some reviews noted pace was quicker than desired, however, we did not feel that way and, at 6 hours, we were tired from our journey so glad to for its pace, and did not feel rushed.

Doing what: Full Day Tour to Samaria Gorge

Harriet C

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
July 2015

My review is not based on the Gorge itself, the Gorge was amazing and the tour guide was brilliant. My review is based on the service that Viator provide. We stayed in Elounda and despite the very early start we decided to go ahead and book based on the timings provided by Viator and were happy to accept that it may be around a 16 hour day all round. However this was not the case, if you stay in the Elounda area you will be going for just shy of 24 hours. It was too much for us in terms of exhaustion, we didn't think that the day would be that long. Having experienced this I would say that either Viator should offer a more direct travel service to those who pay extra and are further out, or they should not offer this day tour to people who are that far out if they can't be accommodated for within a reasonable timescale. We felt that 16 hours was a reasonable time. 24 is not.

Doing what: Full Day Tour to Samaria Gorge

Joseph M

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
July 2015

There are something's that can't be helped with tour guides and groups. However, the tour company Viator used for the tour of Samaria Gorge was abstract and lacked information provided. In addition, the stand that ALL the buses stopped at were sub-par. Make sure you pack food BEFORE the trip. All the places they stop to pick up food have no real options for food unless you like moldy bread.

Also, pack water. The tour guide will say bring a refillable water bottle and that there are spring on the way, but all the springs have algae accumulating around in the spring. Pack enough water to last the full 17 hour day. To help all the places you have to pay for additional things, have small bills and coins ready. Many of the small vendors have limited change and can't handle large bills.

You should listen closely to all the directions and instructions. There is no hand out, which would be better, of the information on the tour and where to meet back after the hike.

The hike is breath taking. No matter what people say, boots will help. Its all rocks and down hill. I'm a pretty fit guy and my knees were killing me at the end. It's about 16k all together, so be prepared.

That said, it's worth it.

Doing what: Full Day Tour to Samaria Gorge

Monica M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

It was great! The tour guide was nice and informative and the tour pick-up and drop-off ran smoothly.

Doing what: Full Day Tour to Samaria Gorge

Tamara L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Great experience but one must be in really good condition and hiking shoes would be best. Our tour guide Thomas was terrific and informative. Everything went smoothly and we had plenty of time.

Doing what: Full Day Tour to Samaria Gorge

Nathaniel F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Small bus picked us up, took us where we needed to go, and got us home quickly. Tour guy was funny and informative and had a great Austrian accent. This was more like a concierge service than anything else - would highly recommend over a large tour.

Doing what: Full Day Tour to Samaria Gorge

Nicholas E

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Excellent day! Highly recommend this tour

Doing what: Full Day Tour to Samaria Gorge

Kelly T

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

Very informative guide, I felt very safe with our bus driver, the logistics all worked out very well. Very good value for money and a worthwhile destination.

Doing what: Full Day Tour to Samaria Gorge

Ali Australia

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

Excellent tour. Date changed but all organization went smoothly. Would have like some history or information about the gorge on transit. Times suggested were underestimated by guide which encouraged us to rush and yet had 2 hours spare at beach.
Advertising said boat went to east, but went west

Doing what: Full Day Tour to Samaria Gorge

Laura D

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
June 2015

I thought it was going to be more informative. But it basically served as transportation.

Doing what: Samaria Gorge Small-Group Hiking Day Trip from Chania

Denis D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

This was the highlight of my visit to Crete. The gorge itself was amazing due to its sheer height and beauty. The herbal smells particularly over the first few Km were amazing. The guide was helpful providing some background to the gorge and the small number of buildings in the valley. The history of those who lived in the gorge is fascinating. This is a trip that I would highly recommend.The only negative that I would say about the day was the very poor quality of the coffee / food rest stop, which the bus stopped at the half-way stage on travelling too and from the gorge. Better to be well planned and bring your own food!

Doing what: Full Day Tour to Samaria Gorge

Jay W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

A stunning hike. The early start meant we were ahead of most other people which was appreciated. Our tour guide was knowledgeable about the area, friendly and approachable. However, there is no need to rush the hike; take time to enjoy the scenery. My hiking pace is brisk so I had 4.5 hours to wait for the ferry to leave from the village at the end. Bring swimming shorts and a towel for a swim in the Libyan Sea and also a book to read.

Doing what: Full Day Tour to Samaria Gorge

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message