For centuries the island of Spinalonga has been known for its Venetian fortress, and more recently it was the setting for the 2005 novel 'The Island' by Victoria Hislop. The now-abandoned island is the perfect place to lose yourself for half a day. ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 35 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Ronald M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

This tour is really awesome! They had a cab pick us from our hotel to the port and back to our hotel after! They even had our name printed on a sign! We saw the main parts of santorini and had enough time to take plenty of pictures and eat lunch. It was a great experience overall

Doing what: Santorini Island Day Trip

Derrick C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

This was the most adventurous and truly amazing experience. The guides were amazing and so very friendly. The tour began with some pre-drive instructions and an overview of what to expect and then we hit the trails through the vineyards and mountainous trails to amazing altitude with spectacular views. About halfway through the tour we stopped for a wonderful lunch with our guides and the other members of the tour. This is an experience that would like to recreate over and over. Thank you to the guide and to the great staff of the tour operation.

Doing what: Off Road Buggy Adventure in Crete

GEORGIA P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

This tour was amazing!

Doing what: Off Road Buggy Adventure in Crete

Avery K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

This was a fabulous tour! Our tour guide knew all about the island of Crete, Aghios Nikolaos, and Spinalonga. She was constantly giving us information about where we were at the time of the tour. It was great to spend the morning in Aghios Nikolaos to explore the main roads, the cathedral and the lake which our guide told us all about Next we were on our way to Spinalonga. You can get beautiful pictures of the outside of the island while the ferry goes around before dropping you off. We then had a guided tour around the inhabited part of the island and had a little time to ourselves to explore the island. We then went to a protected beach where you can swim while the ferry crew prepares lunch my suggestion would be to swim off the boat and not bother with going to the beach. The beach is very small, you have to climb over some large rocks to get there and the sand stops where the water is so its all small slippery stones The lunch was delicious and I love how it was included in the price of the tour. Overall a fantastic day out in the sun, beautiful views for pictures and you get to learn some history of the island of Crete.

The only things I would change would be to have at least another half hour on the island to explore we didn't get to see everything without risking missing the ferry and I would have loved to have been able to see it all The other thing would be to include the admission ticket to Spinalonga into the price so you aren't wasting time waiting in line to buy a ticket and can have more time exploring the island instead.

Doing what: Full Day Tour to Spinalonga Island with BBQ Lunch

Maria M

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
June 2016

Not worth the cash.

The trip by itself is really nice, the island is lovely and it is really worth visiting and spending some time there. However, the only thing that is actually included in the price is the bus trip. Boat trip fee was collected in the bus 18 and not 15 as advertise 1 on getting on the boat for nature preservation. Food is not not included, neither are beach umbrellas. Visitors would be better off just renting a car and getting the boat tickets by themselves. For 4 people we played 220 for a bus ride. We have done the Jeep Safari tours, which are full day with almost everything included, same price range.

I have booked a couple of great trips over Viator really happy with the platform, so I was expecting this one to be matching the overall really good level of the offers. However, this one was a bit of a disappointment.

Doing what: Chrissi Island Day Trip

Dan D

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
June 2016

The port on the booking is wrong! No text or call to tell me where and when picking up time was! I phoned them only got a answer on the day! They then rebooked me and again didn and #39;t email or text as they said they would. Didn and #39;t have a boot trip this holiday ruined this for me not happy

Doing what: Chrissi Island Day Trip

Sheila G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Really enjoyable day. The tour was well organized and efficiently run. The cruise was lovely and our barbecue meal was delicious. The area is stunningly beautiful.

Doing what: Full Day Tour to Spinalonga Island with BBQ Lunch

Katherine E

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

really interesting tour, beautiful island with a very sad past, the tour guide was really good and the bbq and swim afterwards was lovely.

Doing what: Full Day Tour to Spinalonga Island with BBQ Lunch

ozcat

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2015

It was along day for me as I got picked up from Heraklion, other than that it was quite enjoyable. The island was interesting and I enjoyed lunch. It was too cold for swimming but some people did go in. The only drawback for me was that the entire tour bus had only German tourists on it and I was the only english speaker so I couldn't chat to my fellow travellers. Other than that I enjoyed it.

Doing what: Full Day Tour to Spinalonga Island with BBQ Lunch

Robyn S

3 star rating: Worth doing
October 2015

The boat trip itself and tour of spinalonga were lovely, as was the lunch. The two and a half hour coach journey to get there and two more hours to get back made me question whether this was really worth the money, probably could have booked something better through my hotel to be honest.

Doing what: Full Day Tour to Spinalonga Island with BBQ Lunch

Linda B

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
September 2015

They say on the websit you can use an E-Ticket, it was a real problem for us at the port! Do not go for lunch at the first stop, which was the beautiful town of Oia! You WILL NOT have enough time to shop or see anything! I was VERY upset being hearded to The Blue Sky restaurant, the food was just okay and slow. We were not left with enough time, only 25 mins to see what we came for which was Oia not a Greek salad!!!. There is time to eat at Fira! I would recommend this trip but heed my warnings and you'll have a great time!

Doing what: Santorini Island Day Trip

mindasemail

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

This is a great one day excursion. I was skeptical about the leper colony island, but it was a lot of fun. You can hike wherever to the very top to see the ruins, or stick at the bottom with the tour guide. Then for lunch they stop at a private island where people swim while the crew grills up lunch.

Doing what: Full Day Tour to Spinalonga Island with BBQ Lunch

edsyfalcon2 Taiwan

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2015

satisfactory. barbecue lunch, the amount is too small. both tour guide is nice and helpful

Doing what: Full Day Tour to Spinalonga Island with BBQ Lunch

Kara B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

What an excellent trip. The guide was friendly and informative and the visit to Spinalonga was interesting and enjoyable although the time on the island is quite short and by the time you have had the tour you do not have much time to explore on your own - if you already know the history of Spinalonga you should probably just leave the tour and spend the time exploring on your own. The bay swim and bbq was absolutely wonderful. We would definitely recommend this tour and will definitely do it again next time we are in Crete.

Doing what: Full Day Tour to Spinalonga Island with BBQ Lunch

Kristofer A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Excellent tour and very fun and informative. I highly recommend it.

Doing what: Full Day Tour to Spinalonga Island with BBQ Lunch

Vicki F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

It was very well organized and fun and easy to purchase and negotiate. I have no complaints other than more time in a day! The tour company worked with our resort to arrange for pick-up.

Doing what: Santorini Island Day Trip

Margaret M

3 star rating: Worth doing
October 2014

Pick ups pro-longed length of time. Would have preferred option to have lunch in Elounda instead of boat/barbecue. Would be good to have option. Spinalonga guide was very informative.

Doing what: Full Day Tour to Spinalonga Island with BBQ Lunch

Jamie S

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
October 2014

Our tour suppose to include Ag.Nikholas, but were picked up and drop at Elounda port without visiting the city. What a scam!

Doing what: Full Day Tour to Spinalonga Island with BBQ Lunch

susan M

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2014

I signed up very last minute and the local operator did a good job being in touch and helping me get on the tour. The Spinalonga guide also did a nice job with the tour, on a very hot day. Overall, the experience was a good one. I found Spinalonga very interesting. I also enjoyed the swimming area and the town of Agios Nicolaus. The BBQ lunch was good, though it was challenging eating it on a crowded boat. One negative was that I felt unprepared for the late hour of the lunch (3:30) and therefore needed to find an ATM and get food in Agios Nicolaus. Since I joined the tour late, it's possible that information would have come to me if I'd had more time.

Doing what: Full Day Tour to Spinalonga Island with BBQ Lunch

George M

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2014

Travel by coach was too long - inevitable when so many people to be picked up but it could be made clearer in the advertising that this would happen. The bay where we stopped for swimming was really unsuitable - stony and not particularly clean. There must surely be better places to stop?

Doing what: Full Day Tour to Spinalonga Island with BBQ Lunch

Arlene M

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2014

The visit to Spinalonga was good, I would have liked to spend more time on the island than was given. Other than that it was a nice tour.

Doing what: Full Day Tour to Spinalonga Island with BBQ Lunch

STEPHEN T

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2014

This was a great tour, you need 2 euro pp to pay for entry on spinalonga. The barbecue and swim at lunch were great , luckily we had good weather highly recommend

Doing what: Full Day Tour to Spinalonga Island with BBQ Lunch

Laurent L

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2014

I really loved Santorini but I would prefer to go there and stay for a few days as we spent too many hours traveling (bus+boat+bus). The guide was really kind and funny, we could see that she knows a lot about her island (she lives there), unfortunately I don't remember her name but she said that we could call her "mama" :) also she recommended a good restaurant by the beach!

Doing what: Santorini Island Day Trip

sharlior

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2013

I liked the tour, and visiting Santorini. However, there was almost no guidance, we had short free time of 1 hour or 1.5 hours in the major cities which was too crowded and left us with the wish to see more. The ferry was 2.75 hours to each direction, which left us less time than we expected.

Doing what: Santorini Island Day Trip

Gerald D

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
September 2013

Santorini itself is the most beautiful
Of islands. However the tour tries too hard to fit too much in. The result is that you hardly have time to look round before being moved on to the next location. My advice get the ferry yourself and take your time maybe just concentrate on Thira or one location

Doing what: Santorini Island Day Trip

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message