Heraklion on Crete is the perfect holiday base, with soft golden beaches, miniscule coves, buzzing towns, archaeological treasures, majestic mountains and deep gorges all within easy reach. The Minoans at Knossos The fascinating Minoan site of ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 71 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

John P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

This was a fantastic walk through a beautiful Gorge. The guide service and transportation was excellent. I recommend it to anyone who enjoys hiking. Make sure you have comfortable shoes and are fit enough for a ten mile intense walk. It will test you.

Doing what: Full Day Tour to Samaria Gorge

Caitlin K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

B.eautiful environment and a great walk

Doing what: Full Day Tour to Samaria Gorge

Ronald M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

This tour is really awesome! They had a cab pick us from our hotel to the port and back to our hotel after! They even had our name printed on a sign! We saw the main parts of santorini and had enough time to take plenty of pictures and eat lunch. It was a great experience overall

Doing what: Santorini Island Day Trip

Gay T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Beautiful day and amazing hike. And Irena was a wonderful guide who thoroughly prepared us. Would do it again. And make sure you follow the hike with a swim.

Doing what: Full Day Tour to Samaria Gorge

Avery K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

This was a fabulous tour! Our tour guide knew all about the island of Crete, Aghios Nikolaos, and Spinalonga. She was constantly giving us information about where we were at the time of the tour. It was great to spend the morning in Aghios Nikolaos to explore the main roads, the cathedral and the lake which our guide told us all about Next we were on our way to Spinalonga. You can get beautiful pictures of the outside of the island while the ferry goes around before dropping you off. We then had a guided tour around the inhabited part of the island and had a little time to ourselves to explore the island. We then went to a protected beach where you can swim while the ferry crew prepares lunch my suggestion would be to swim off the boat and not bother with going to the beach. The beach is very small, you have to climb over some large rocks to get there and the sand stops where the water is so its all small slippery stones The lunch was delicious and I love how it was included in the price of the tour. Overall a fantastic day out in the sun, beautiful views for pictures and you get to learn some history of the island of Crete.

The only things I would change would be to have at least another half hour on the island to explore we didn't get to see everything without risking missing the ferry and I would have loved to have been able to see it all The other thing would be to include the admission ticket to Spinalonga into the price so you aren't wasting time waiting in line to buy a ticket and can have more time exploring the island instead.

Doing what: Full Day Tour to Spinalonga Island with BBQ Lunch

Marion G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Absolutely stunning. It was run very efficiently, I booked online the day before, was told where and when to go to be picked up. The guide was helpful and informative. Really enjoyed my day

Doing what: Full Day Tour to Samaria Gorge

Katherine E

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

really interesting tour, beautiful island with a very sad past, the tour guide was really good and the bbq and swim afterwards was lovely.

Doing what: Full Day Tour to Spinalonga Island with BBQ Lunch

Sheila G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Really enjoyable day. The tour was well organized and efficiently run. The cruise was lovely and our barbecue meal was delicious. The area is stunningly beautiful.

Doing what: Full Day Tour to Spinalonga Island with BBQ Lunch

Sal M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Trip was well organized and the tour operator worked closely with us to make sure and pick us up and dropped off at a convenient location and on schedule.

Doing what: Full Day Tour to Samaria Gorge

Cindy C R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

The hike was extremely well organized, and the sites were beautiful!

Doing what: Full Day Tour to Samaria Gorge

Jennifer Z W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Amazing natural environment! Really appreciated the opportunity to sit back and enjoy the ride without driving the steep, narrow switchbacks. Coffee and biological stops along the way were great especially on the return, the soulvaki cooked on the outdoor grill was delicious.

Barbara, our guide was nice and provided enjoyable information about the history of the area as we drove up the mountain. Altough she verbally told us a couple times about the hike and the important timing benchmarks it would have been helpful to have them written out or at least a recommendation for us to make note of them. She said she did the hike 58 times already for the season but for those whose first time it was there was alot to remember, one certainly does not want to miss the boat back.

Bit confusing as to where to go at the end but we figured it out. There was a shuttle bus to town at the second place that offered refreshments but this was not included in our tour. The walk into town is short and flat after this but we just weren't sure where to go. A sign or remindern of this would have been comforting. Again, didn't want to miss boat. Take into consideration the phenomonon of the vacation brain

Wearing hiking shoes with stiff soles makes the walk more enjoyable-6 hrs for us as you ate constantly walking over rocks of various shapes and sizes. My knees tend to hurt going down so my walking sticks were a savior. In order to make the ferry we needed to keep walking, stopping often for photos of the spectacular scenery.

Doing what: Full Day Tour to Samaria Gorge

mindasemail

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

This is a great one day excursion. I was skeptical about the leper colony island, but it was a lot of fun. You can hike wherever to the very top to see the ruins, or stick at the bottom with the tour guide. Then for lunch they stop at a private island where people swim while the crew grills up lunch.

Doing what: Full Day Tour to Spinalonga Island with BBQ Lunch

Cynthia M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Pros: We were very impressed with this tour. Tour company was very organized, had on-time arrival to morning pick-up, a well-informed tour guide, and comfortable transportation. Tour had a great pace through the gorge, finishing with 2 hours at the end to enjoy swimming in the Libyan Sea and lunch in the beautiful and remote Agios Roumeli.
        Cons: If youre looking to stroll through the gorge at your own/slower pace, this tour moves a little more briskly than that. Some reviews noted pace was quicker than desired, however, we did not feel that way and, at 6 hours, we were tired from our journey so glad to for its pace, and did not feel rushed.

Doing what: Full Day Tour to Samaria Gorge

Nicholas E

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Excellent day! Highly recommend this tour

Doing what: Full Day Tour to Samaria Gorge

Kristofer A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Excellent tour and very fun and informative. I highly recommend it.

Doing what: Full Day Tour to Spinalonga Island with BBQ Lunch

Vicki F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

It was very well organized and fun and easy to purchase and negotiate. I have no complaints other than more time in a day! The tour company worked with our resort to arrange for pick-up.

Doing what: Santorini Island Day Trip

Nathaniel F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Small bus picked us up, took us where we needed to go, and got us home quickly. Tour guy was funny and informative and had a great Austrian accent. This was more like a concierge service than anything else - would highly recommend over a large tour.

Doing what: Full Day Tour to Samaria Gorge

Tamara L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Great experience but one must be in really good condition and hiking shoes would be best. Our tour guide Thomas was terrific and informative. Everything went smoothly and we had plenty of time.

Doing what: Full Day Tour to Samaria Gorge

Monica M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

It was great! The tour guide was nice and informative and the tour pick-up and drop-off ran smoothly.

Doing what: Full Day Tour to Samaria Gorge

Kara B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

What an excellent trip. The guide was friendly and informative and the visit to Spinalonga was interesting and enjoyable although the time on the island is quite short and by the time you have had the tour you do not have much time to explore on your own - if you already know the history of Spinalonga you should probably just leave the tour and spend the time exploring on your own. The bay swim and bbq was absolutely wonderful. We would definitely recommend this tour and will definitely do it again next time we are in Crete.

Doing what: Full Day Tour to Spinalonga Island with BBQ Lunch

Denis D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

This was the highlight of my visit to Crete. The gorge itself was amazing due to its sheer height and beauty. The herbal smells particularly over the first few Km were amazing. The guide was helpful providing some background to the gorge and the small number of buildings in the valley. The history of those who lived in the gorge is fascinating. This is a trip that I would highly recommend.The only negative that I would say about the day was the very poor quality of the coffee / food rest stop, which the bus stopped at the half-way stage on travelling too and from the gorge. Better to be well planned and bring your own food!

Doing what: Full Day Tour to Samaria Gorge

sha

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

An awesome experience. The guide was great very helpful if how the walk was structured and the gear and food we needed to take with us, The walk was amazing and the transport arrangements were very organised.

Doing what: Full Day Tour to Samaria Gorge

Jay W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

A stunning hike. The early start meant we were ahead of most other people which was appreciated. Our tour guide was knowledgeable about the area, friendly and approachable. However, there is no need to rush the hike; take time to enjoy the scenery. My hiking pace is brisk so I had 4.5 hours to wait for the ferry to leave from the village at the end. Bring swimming shorts and a towel for a swim in the Libyan Sea and also a book to read.

Doing what: Full Day Tour to Samaria Gorge

Timothy S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

From the bus pickup in front of our hotel to the very professional and skilled guides, this was a great way to do this hike.

Doing what: Full Day Tour to Samaria Gorge

MARIYA T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

We enjoyed it greatly and encourage everyone pondering this idea to go ahead. You won't regret it! Our guide Thomas was very helpful, giving us valuable advice and at the same time, amusing us greatly.

Doing what: Full Day Tour to Samaria Gorge

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message