The fifth-biggest city in Greece, Crete’s capital buzzes with energy, mixing ancient origins and modern-day big-city bustle. Away from Heraklion there are beaches for relaxing, ancient ruins to explore, lovely villages and one of the world’s most ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 148 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Mary F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

an easy way to get to the gorge and know that your transportation there/back is taken care of

Doing what: Full Day Tour to Samaria Gorge

TM United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

We accessed the bus adjacent to the cruise port after taking a shuttle from the ship and navigated a gauntlet of taxi drivers trying to sell us a tour and telling us we could not prepay for the bus, however, we already had through Viator. Buying on-line saved us about 7 euros. The route runs about an hour and does go to the Knossos Palace which is a highlight. You cannot see the site from the bus, but with the hop-on hop-off feature this was not a problem. We spent a couple of hours there and easily got back on. The bus also goes by the grave site of the author Nicholas Kazantzakis and hits a few other highlights. A real economical way to see the sites if you have a limited time and budget.

Doing what: Heraklion Hop-On Hop-Off Bus Tour

Tim T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Arrangements for pick up and drop offs was great. Our guide ensured that everyone was kep safe for the duration of the trek. The scenery was awe-inspiring and the mojitos at the end were very refreshing.

Doing what: Full Day Tour to Samaria Gorge

Michael A

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2016

Not for the faint-hearted. Having walked the Samarian Gorge some years ago we thought that this would be a lot easier as it's less than half the distance. But imagine walking along pebbles, such as those on Chesil Beach for 5 miles and you'll start to see what it's like. Our calves took about 3/4 days to recover! But is was a wonderful experience and the dip in the Libyan Sea afterwards was wonderful. Wear good shoes - walking boots are advisable not trainers.

Doing what: Imbros Gorge Hiking Day Trip Including Traditional Cretan Snack

Lois S

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2016

The HoHo was a great option for us. We stopped at the Knossos Palace and paid the entry fee E20 each and E10 each for a small group guided tour 1 hour with George who is located just inside the entry gates. Much cheaper than the option of tours offered by the cruise line or any other small group tour we could find on-line. Our next two stops was the Archeological museum abt E8 ea and then shopping and lunch in Heraklion. Good value and excellent sites to see some of the 4000 yo Minoan culture.

Doing what: Heraklion Hop-On Hop-Off Bus Tour

Thomas United States of ... 

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2016

Overall a good tour, the stops were as scheduled. Some of the audio plugs did not work on the bus and at times my wife and I had to share earplugs. The stop at Knossos was excellent. Not always a good view at sites i.e., Jesus Gate unless you get off the bus and then wait an hour.

Doing what: Heraklion Hop-On Hop-Off Bus Tour

Nick S

3 star rating: Worth doing
October 2016

We had a wonderful day at the Samaria Gorge! Our guide was knowledgeable, bus was clean, bus driver was friendly. We are so glad we went! However, the day was too long. We were staying in Elounda, so we were on the bus for 12 hours. In addition, we would recommend giving additional details about the schedule for the day - how long the hike is, what to bring, etc.

Doing what: Full Day Tour to Samaria Gorge

Ping

3 star rating: Worth doing
October 2016

Not highly recommended

Doing what: Heraklion Hop-On Hop-Off Bus Tour

Richard S

3 star rating: Worth doing
October 2016

We arranged our own tour.

Doing what: Heraklion Hop-On Hop-Off Bus Tour

Korneel D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

The day went perfectly as planned. The guide and bus driver were excellent and very helpful... and of course, the samaria gorge is absolutely amazing. A long descent, but once you arrive, the bay and sea water are very rewarding. I would highly recommend it to anyone.

Doing what: Full Day Tour to Samaria Gorge

Sebastian B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Amazing views and quite easy hike for experienced people, with a non common ending: swimming into the sea at the end of the trail.

Doing what: Full Day Tour to Samaria Gorge

Maria Y United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Great service.

Doing what: Heraklion Hop-On Hop-Off Bus Tour

Gorenberg.k

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Lots of fun and interesting, including stops in Agios Nicholaos and Elounda.

Doing what: Full Day Tour to Spinalonga Island with BBQ Lunch

Gorenberg.k

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Fascinating

Doing what: Ancient Palace of Knossos Tour

Shirley H United States of ... 

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2016

Great city views from the bus. Not much to do in Crete. Didn't get off to explore the archeological site of Knossos. A little disappointed but did some shopping and back to the ship.

Doing what: Heraklion Hop-On Hop-Off Bus Tour

Eleni B

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2016

There are 2 Hop on Hop Off lines. The red line takes you to all the important stops. The red Line takes you to all the Blue line takes you, but also takes you to a couple of places outside the city, We were not so happy with that because it didn't appeal to us. There is a cost differential between the two, the red line is more expensive than the blue line.

Doing what: Heraklion Hop-On Hop-Off Bus Tour

Sarah H

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2016

Be prepared for a long day bus picked us up from our hotel at 6am and we didn't get back until 10:30pm that night, but the hike itself is fabulous. If you have the time definitely worth doing.

Doing what: Full Day Tour to Samaria Gorge

Sarah T

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
September 2016

worst guide ever. Had to ride 8 hours cramped into a small van. Hike was great!!

Doing what: Full Day Tour to Samaria Gorge

Phil C

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
September 2016

A thoroughly dispiriting experience, offhand and disinterested tour guides and an interminable wait for the tickets at Knossos - or should I say Disneyland - itself.

Doing what: Ancient Palace of Knossos Tour

George K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

The trip included a tour of the palace of Knossos, a tour of a winery/olive oil store, and time in Heraklion to walk around, eat lunch or go to the museum. Overall the tour guides were very knowledgeable particularly about the palace and it was a very full and comprehensive day. Coming from Elounda, the bus ride was a bit long, but it was also nice to drive through the different towns and see the other cities in Crete.

Doing what: Ancient Palace of Knossos Tour

Thorsten M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

This tour was amazing!

Doing what: Full Day Tour to Spinalonga Island with BBQ Lunch

Shri

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2016

This was a very enjoyable tour, starting off with a visit to the lovely town of Agios Nikolaos. After sometime to walk around we were taken to Elounda to catch the boat to Spinalonga. Once there you have the choice to walk around or go with a guide for part of the time. We went with the guide which was informative. Once back to the boat, we were taken to a secluded spot for our BBQ and swim, before heading back. Found this much better value than the Knossos Place tour.

Doing what: Full Day Tour to Spinalonga Island with BBQ Lunch

dobarr1

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2016

This was a good service because we could get to where ever we needed to be around Heraklion. The only problem was the buses were jammed with people. We were lucky and we were able to get on and off when and where we needed. Some of our friends were not as fortunate.

Doing what: Heraklion Hop-On Hop-Off Bus Tour

Gay T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Beautiful day and amazing hike. And Irena was a wonderful guide who thoroughly prepared us. Would do it again. And make sure you follow the hike with a swim.

Doing what: Full Day Tour to Samaria Gorge

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message