The fifth-biggest city in Greece, Crete’s capital buzzes with energy, mixing ancient origins and modern-day big-city bustle. Away from Heraklion there are beaches for relaxing, ancient ruins to explore, lovely villages and one of the world’s most ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 122 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Gay T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Beautiful day and amazing hike. And Irena was a wonderful guide who thoroughly prepared us. Would do it again. And make sure you follow the hike with a swim.

Doing what: Full Day Tour to Samaria Gorge

Ronald M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

This tour is really awesome! They had a cab pick us from our hotel to the port and back to our hotel after! They even had our name printed on a sign! We saw the main parts of santorini and had enough time to take plenty of pictures and eat lunch. It was a great experience overall

Doing what: Santorini Island Day Trip

Caitlin K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

B.eautiful environment and a great walk

Doing what: Full Day Tour to Samaria Gorge

John P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

This was a fantastic walk through a beautiful Gorge. The guide service and transportation was excellent. I recommend it to anyone who enjoys hiking. Make sure you have comfortable shoes and are fit enough for a ten mile intense walk. It will test you.

Doing what: Full Day Tour to Samaria Gorge

Mike E

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2016

This tour was amazing!

Doing what: Full Day Tour to Samaria Gorge

thebache

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2016

Tour was nice and worth waking up early. Still far from Heraklion ... Better take it from chania or stay there .... Gorge is clean, water available every 2 km so you walk light

Doing what: Full Day Tour to Samaria Gorge

Jennifer M

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2016

The hike itself is great. The tour company did a great job coordination get our complicated travel arrangements. However, the guide was a little short on info, and some basic info about what to bring would benefit other hikers less experienced than us. The guide did do that but at the last minute

Doing what: Full Day Tour to Samaria Gorge

Marion G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Absolutely stunning. It was run very efficiently, I booked online the day before, was told where and when to go to be picked up. The guide was helpful and informative. Really enjoyed my day

Doing what: Full Day Tour to Samaria Gorge

Elyse N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

This tour was amazing!

Doing what: Crete's Wine and Olives Safari Tour from Chania

Avery K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

This was a fabulous tour! Our tour guide knew all about the island of Crete, Aghios Nikolaos, and Spinalonga. She was constantly giving us information about where we were at the time of the tour. It was great to spend the morning in Aghios Nikolaos to explore the main roads, the cathedral and the lake which our guide told us all about Next we were on our way to Spinalonga. You can get beautiful pictures of the outside of the island while the ferry goes around before dropping you off. We then had a guided tour around the inhabited part of the island and had a little time to ourselves to explore the island. We then went to a protected beach where you can swim while the ferry crew prepares lunch my suggestion would be to swim off the boat and not bother with going to the beach. The beach is very small, you have to climb over some large rocks to get there and the sand stops where the water is so its all small slippery stones The lunch was delicious and I love how it was included in the price of the tour. Overall a fantastic day out in the sun, beautiful views for pictures and you get to learn some history of the island of Crete.

The only things I would change would be to have at least another half hour on the island to explore we didn't get to see everything without risking missing the ferry and I would have loved to have been able to see it all The other thing would be to include the admission ticket to Spinalonga into the price so you aren't wasting time waiting in line to buy a ticket and can have more time exploring the island instead.

Doing what: Full Day Tour to Spinalonga Island with BBQ Lunch

Jeanmachug

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

We loved the tour. We could walk at our own pace and it was a good length for us.

Doing what: Imbros Gorge Hiking Day Trip Including Traditional Cretan Snack

Avery K

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2016

The tour and our guide were great! We learned a lot about the history of the ancient palace and then had an hour to explore and take pictures on our own time. 1.5 hours guided tour and 1 hour on our own it was the perfect length of time to fully experience Knossos.

The museum was also wonderful to see. You can get a better understanding of the daily life and culture.

I had a few problems with the tour.
1 I found the group was way to big for the guided tour it took forever for people to pay the entrance fee we ended up waiting at least 20 minutes just to collect everyone to start the tour, it took a long time to move from one section to another. The last tour I went on had about 20 people and this one was at least 35 people. It would have been better if it was a smaller group of max 20 people.
2 There was a wine tasting between the palace of Knossos and the museum which isn't mentioned anywhere in the tours description so I wasn't expecting it. It was ok, but I would have rather spent the time it took to drive there and the 45 minutes at the tasting to explore the city of Heraklion instead.
3 Since we had the wine tour we only had an 1.75 hours to view the museum and get something to eat so we had to go through the museum faster than I would have liked to to make sure we had enough time to eat and get back to the bus on time.
4 I don't understand why they don't include the price to get into the palace and museum into the cost of the tour, I find you waste so much time paying for tickets that could be better spent enjoying exhibits.

Doing what: Ancient Palace of Knossos Tour

Brooke C

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
June 2016

This tour was very hot and uncomfortable and much longer than advertised in the brochure. There was not much to look at in Heraklion and if I traveled there in the future I would have chosen another tour to take me further out in Crete.

Doing what: Heraklion Hop-On Hop-Off Bus Tour

tracicavallaro

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
June 2016

Total waste of time

Doing what: Heraklion Hop-On Hop-Off Bus Tour

Sheila G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Really enjoyable day. The tour was well organized and efficiently run. The cruise was lovely and our barbecue meal was delicious. The area is stunningly beautiful.

Doing what: Full Day Tour to Spinalonga Island with BBQ Lunch

Katherine E

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

really interesting tour, beautiful island with a very sad past, the tour guide was really good and the bbq and swim afterwards was lovely.

Doing what: Full Day Tour to Spinalonga Island with BBQ Lunch

Rodger G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

our guide was excellent...she was able to highlight the best in a museum filled with artifacts and then bring it all the together as we explored the old ruins of the palace...well done

Doing what: Ancient Palace of Knossos Tour

Gerald F

3 star rating: Worth doing
May 2016

Very punctual and pickup points easy to find. Driver was helpful,knowlegeable, and pleasant! All of the people were using the ear buds for touring information however, many of the seat positions were not operating at all! Frustrating as my husband walked around trying to find one that worked! This needs to be corrected! We enjoyed the tour.

Doing what: Heraklion Hop-On Hop-Off Bus Tour

Sal M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Trip was well organized and the tour operator worked closely with us to make sure and pick us up and dropped off at a convenient location and on schedule.

Doing what: Full Day Tour to Samaria Gorge

Daro

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

great experience, nicely organised. recommend while in Heraklion

Doing what: Heraklion Hop-On Hop-Off Bus Tour

davidjciardi

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
November 2015

shocking tour
shame that the tour of the museum you have to do by yourself!!!

plus you have to pay entry for the museum for yourself on top of the 100 aud

worst tour guide ever only concerned about being able to have her cigarette!!!!

Doing what: Ancient Palace of Knossos Tour

Susilowati B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

The best tour in Heraklion , we were really enjoyed with this tour and you can just get off anywhere and get on back anytime on bus schedule .

Doing what: Heraklion Hop-On Hop-Off Bus Tour

ozcat

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2015

It was along day for me as I got picked up from Heraklion, other than that it was quite enjoyable. The island was interesting and I enjoyed lunch. It was too cold for swimming but some people did go in. The only drawback for me was that the entire tour bus had only German tourists on it and I was the only english speaker so I couldn't chat to my fellow travellers. Other than that I enjoyed it.

Doing what: Full Day Tour to Spinalonga Island with BBQ Lunch

Robyn S

3 star rating: Worth doing
October 2015

The boat trip itself and tour of spinalonga were lovely, as was the lunch. The two and a half hour coach journey to get there and two more hours to get back made me question whether this was really worth the money, probably could have booked something better through my hotel to be honest.

Doing what: Full Day Tour to Spinalonga Island with BBQ Lunch

Aparna J United States of ... 

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
October 2015

Knossos is not a very interesting artifact and our tour was horrible! Tour was in German and English. She seemed annoyed at questions and sounded like she was reciting from a memorize script. We left early to make better use of the day.

Doing what: Ancient Palace of Knossos Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message