The fifth-biggest city in Greece, Crete’s capital buzzes with energy, mixing ancient origins and modern-day big-city bustle. Away from Heraklion there are beaches for relaxing, ancient ruins to explore, lovely villages and one of the world’s most ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 139 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Korneel D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

The day went perfectly as planned. The guide and bus driver were excellent and very helpful... and of course, the samaria gorge is absolutely amazing. A long descent, but once you arrive, the bay and sea water are very rewarding. I would highly recommend it to anyone.

Doing what: Full Day Tour to Samaria Gorge

Sebastian B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Amazing views and quite easy hike for experienced people, with a non common ending: swimming into the sea at the end of the trail.

Doing what: Full Day Tour to Samaria Gorge

Maria Y United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Great service.

Doing what: Heraklion Hop-On Hop-Off Bus Tour

Gorenberg.k

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Lots of fun and interesting, including stops in Agios Nicholaos and Elounda.

Doing what: Full Day Tour to Spinalonga Island with BBQ Lunch

Gorenberg.k

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Fascinating

Doing what: Ancient Palace of Knossos Tour

Shirley H United States of ... 

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2016

Great city views from the bus. Not much to do in Crete. Didn't get off to explore the archeological site of Knossos. A little disappointed but did some shopping and back to the ship.

Doing what: Heraklion Hop-On Hop-Off Bus Tour

Eleni B

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2016

There are 2 Hop on Hop Off lines. The red line takes you to all the important stops. The red Line takes you to all the Blue line takes you, but also takes you to a couple of places outside the city, We were not so happy with that because it didn't appeal to us. There is a cost differential between the two, the red line is more expensive than the blue line.

Doing what: Heraklion Hop-On Hop-Off Bus Tour

Sarah H

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2016

Be prepared for a long day bus picked us up from our hotel at 6am and we didn't get back until 10:30pm that night, but the hike itself is fabulous. If you have the time definitely worth doing.

Doing what: Full Day Tour to Samaria Gorge

Sarah T

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
September 2016

worst guide ever. Had to ride 8 hours cramped into a small van. Hike was great!!

Doing what: Full Day Tour to Samaria Gorge

Phil C

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
September 2016

A thoroughly dispiriting experience, offhand and disinterested tour guides and an interminable wait for the tickets at Knossos - or should I say Disneyland - itself.

Doing what: Ancient Palace of Knossos Tour

George K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

The trip included a tour of the palace of Knossos, a tour of a winery/olive oil store, and time in Heraklion to walk around, eat lunch or go to the museum. Overall the tour guides were very knowledgeable particularly about the palace and it was a very full and comprehensive day. Coming from Elounda, the bus ride was a bit long, but it was also nice to drive through the different towns and see the other cities in Crete.

Doing what: Ancient Palace of Knossos Tour

Thorsten M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

This tour was amazing!

Doing what: Full Day Tour to Spinalonga Island with BBQ Lunch

Shri

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2016

This was a very enjoyable tour, starting off with a visit to the lovely town of Agios Nikolaos. After sometime to walk around we were taken to Elounda to catch the boat to Spinalonga. Once there you have the choice to walk around or go with a guide for part of the time. We went with the guide which was informative. Once back to the boat, we were taken to a secluded spot for our BBQ and swim, before heading back. Found this much better value than the Knossos Place tour.

Doing what: Full Day Tour to Spinalonga Island with BBQ Lunch

dobarr1

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2016

This was a good service because we could get to where ever we needed to be around Heraklion. The only problem was the buses were jammed with people. We were lucky and we were able to get on and off when and where we needed. Some of our friends were not as fortunate.

Doing what: Heraklion Hop-On Hop-Off Bus Tour

Gay T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Beautiful day and amazing hike. And Irena was a wonderful guide who thoroughly prepared us. Would do it again. And make sure you follow the hike with a swim.

Doing what: Full Day Tour to Samaria Gorge

Ronald M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

This tour is really awesome! They had a cab pick us from our hotel to the port and back to our hotel after! They even had our name printed on a sign! We saw the main parts of santorini and had enough time to take plenty of pictures and eat lunch. It was a great experience overall

Doing what: Santorini Island Day Trip

Caitlin K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

B.eautiful environment and a great walk

Doing what: Full Day Tour to Samaria Gorge

John P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

This was a fantastic walk through a beautiful Gorge. The guide service and transportation was excellent. I recommend it to anyone who enjoys hiking. Make sure you have comfortable shoes and are fit enough for a ten mile intense walk. It will test you.

Doing what: Full Day Tour to Samaria Gorge

Mike E

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2016

This tour was amazing!

Doing what: Full Day Tour to Samaria Gorge

thebache

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2016

Tour was nice and worth waking up early. Still far from Heraklion ... Better take it from chania or stay there .... Gorge is clean, water available every 2 km so you walk light

Doing what: Full Day Tour to Samaria Gorge

Jennifer M

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2016

The hike itself is great. The tour company did a great job coordination get our complicated travel arrangements. However, the guide was a little short on info, and some basic info about what to bring would benefit other hikers less experienced than us. The guide did do that but at the last minute

Doing what: Full Day Tour to Samaria Gorge

Stacy

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2016

Easy and cheap way to get around the city. However, busses were rarely on their assigned schedule. Often times when the bus would finally get there we would sit and wait at random stops for 20/30 minutes. And when we stopped they turned off the AC so we'd be sweating

Doing what: Heraklion Hop-On Hop-Off Bus Tour

Marion G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Absolutely stunning. It was run very efficiently, I booked online the day before, was told where and when to go to be picked up. The guide was helpful and informative. Really enjoyed my day

Doing what: Full Day Tour to Samaria Gorge

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message