Get the
Inside Scoop

Privacy Policy

Call (888) 651-9785

Hiroshima ATTRACTIONS See all

Hiroshima Peace Memorial

Also called Genbaku Dome, this landmark was the only building left standing after the Enola Gay dropped an atom bomb on Hiroshima on Aug. 6, 1945, eventually killing 140,000 people. Genbaku is the Japanese word for 'atomic bomb.' Originally built ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 32 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Caitlin R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

The Hiroshima Peace Memorial Park and Miyajima Island Tour was absolutely wonderful! I had such a great time on this tour. We covered so much ground in only a day but it never felt rushed. Our guide, Sammy, as so full of knowledge, was so approachable and kind. She was nice enough to share personal stories of relative who experienced the bomb in Hiroshima to give us a true sense of the horror it caused. It really put it all in to perspective and it can’t have been easy for her to share so we greatly appreciated it. Visiting Hiroshima was so surreal as someone who has wanted to go since I was little. It certainly lived up to my expectations! We visited the museum, gave a paper crane to Sadako, and marvelled at the Dome. Miyajima was also beautiful. It was not an Island I knew a great deal about prior to the tour but I was so lovely. All the deer walking around were hilarious as they attempted to steal and eat our bits of paper. Overall it was such an inspiring and fulfilling day that I would certainly recommend to everyone!

Doing what: Hiroshima Peace Memorial Park and Miyajima Island Tour from Hiroshima

John M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

A great days experience. Unfortunately rain spoilt the day to some degree.
The Miyajima Island visit was wonderful and should not be missed. The lunch on the Island was enjoyable. Peace Memorial was sobering and after visiting the museum you appreciated the devastation that the local people endured.

Doing what: Hiroshima Peace Memorial Park and Miyajima Island Tour from Hiroshima

Charles V

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Loved this tour. Miyajima is beautiful and Hiroshima peace park is a very moving and touching place.

Doing what: Hiroshima Peace Memorial Park and Miyajima Island Tour from Hiroshima

Lynn

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

We had a fabulous tour leader, Akiko, who did not waste a moment of time, gave us great information and stories, yet gave us sufficient free exploring time. The day is well planned, and very full, since you see the Island of Miyajima and the Peace Park. Yes, you could do both on your own, but the price, convenience, and tour guide made it worth doing it with a group. Dont miss the grilled oysters on the island, and the ritzy ryokan where we saw a bride and groom being taken by rickshaw

Doing what: Hiroshima Peace Memorial Park and Miyajima Island Tour from Hiroshima

Eva P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

I really loved Miyajima. The red tori gate in the blue sea in front of green hills is just beautiful. Special thanks to our tour guide who showed us another Buddhist temple a bit away from the tourist spots and provided lots of information.
Hiroshima was very impressive. I was moved by the storys of atomic bomb victims presented at the Peace Memorial Museum.

Doing what: Hiroshima Peace Memorial Park and Miyajima Island Tour from Hiroshima

Dilip C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

The Miyajima tour was good. For us the highlight was a wedding ceremony which was happening during our tour. The food experience was great. We ate there the best okonomiyaki. The Hiroshima trip was sublime. It brought horrors of a war very close. The peace message was very strong.

Doing what: Hiroshima Peace Memorial Park and Miyajima Island Tour from Hiroshima

Ashleigh O

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

Excellent tour thank you, we thoroughly enjoyed the visit to Miyajima Island and also found the Peace Memorial Park deeply moving and were inspired by the courage and determination of the people to rebid and move on so quickly after the bombing. Our guide Akiko was delightful.

Doing what: Hiroshima Peace Memorial Park and Miyajima Island Tour from Hiroshima

Kenneth J B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2013

We started the morning by taking a bus, then a pleasant ferry ride across to Miyajima Island. The Itsukushima torii gate is worth the visit alone! In our 'free time', I took a leisurely walk to the Daisho-in temple - very serene and beautiful setting with great views over the towards the shrine below. We then headed to the Hiroshima Peace Memorial Park. Our guide was very knowledgeable and sensitive to the history of Hiroshima. You can't help but be affected by this part of the tour - what more can be said, apart from you hope that it never happens again!

Doing what: Hiroshima Peace Memorial Park and Miyajima Island Tour from Hiroshima

C H D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

We missed our morning pickup but Sunshine Tours got us to the venue all the same and we had a fantastic day at Miyajima. It would have been a great place to stay overnight. Very serene and beautiful. The Horishima Peace Park was moving. Our guide for the day, Miwa, was informative and humorous. She even gave us all a origami crane she had made herself. Incredible hospitality!

Doing what: Hiroshima Peace Memorial Park and Miyajima Island Tour from Hiroshima

Laurence Z USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2013

This was a great tour. The guide, Amy, was very knowledgeable and helpful. There was plenty of time at Miyajima and at the Peace Memorial Museum, which has some really excellent displays Highly recommended!

Doing what: Hiroshima Peace Memorial Park and Miyajima Island Tour from Hiroshima

Charles S USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2013

The tour and tour guide were the greatest! I'm planning to do this again next March with my wife. If everyone would visit Hiroshima Peace Memorial Park the world would be a much better place. It is a shame that only one American President has visited Hiroshima! Charlie from Pennsylvania USA

Doing what: Hiroshima Peace Memorial Park and Miyajima Island Tour from Hiroshima

Lisa W USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2010

The full day Miyajima Island and Peace Memorial Park tour was very good. We enjoyed ourselves, learned a lot and our tour guide spoke good English and she was knowledgeable. We had a great day in Hiroshima even though it was pouring rain!

Doing what: Hiroshima Peace Memorial Park and Miyajima Island Tour from Hiroshima

Samantha D USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2010

Another fantastic tour with Viator. We met our guide at a Hiroshima hotel and everything about the day went exactly as described. We had a fantastic few hours at Miyajima, what a gem of a place! Then we continued onto Peace Memorial Park. I can't say enough wonderful things about our tour guide, she has such passion for what she does, she's full of interesting history and personal experience, and she really brought both these places to life for us. I can't rate her and Viator highly enough!

Doing what: Hiroshima Peace Memorial Park and Miyajima Island Tour from Hiroshima

Kevin C Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2010

A well organized and informative tour. The tour guide was excellent! She had a genuine passion for these sites and was accessible, thoughtful and spoke very good English. The contrast of the beauty of Miyajima and the sadness of the Hiroshima Peace Memorial provides a lasting memory. The legacy of atomic warfare is a tragic graphic lesson that the world should never forget!

Doing what: Hiroshima Peace Memorial Park and Miyajima Island Tour from Hiroshima

Thaddeus A USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2010

I really enjoyed the trip. Our guide was informative, spoke decent English, and was humorous also. Later I took another Viator tour in Osaka, and the company is very consistent with quality of guides. The Miyajima Island tour was of a Buddhist or Shinto temple, and all would enjoy it. The Peace Park and A-bomb museum is serious but a must see for the impact of the A-bomb on Hiroshima. Good tour at a decent price. I definitely recommend this company.

Doing what: Hiroshima Peace Memorial Park and Miyajima Island Tour from Hiroshima

Susan H United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2009

A very interesting and well-balanced tour sensitively guided by a well-informed guide. We fell in love with Miyajima and were very impressed with and moved by the Peace Memorial Park.

Doing what: Hiroshima Peace Memorial Park and Miyajima Island Tour from Hiroshima

Anonymous

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2008

The tour was well organized and the guide was super friendly. It was nice to have someone do the planning for us. Miyajima was beautiful and peaceful. Hiroshima was moving. Would definitely recommend!

Doing what: Hiroshima Peace Memorial Park and Miyajima Island Tour from Hiroshima

Anonymous

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2007

This is an excellent tour for people who want to capture the essentials of both places in a day. Miyajima is serene and beautiful despite its inevitable tourist paraphernalia, and the tour of Hiroshima's atomic legacy was shattering and unforgettable. Do not visit Japan without coming here. Our guide was informative and also knew the best place to eat the local version of Okonomiyaki for lunch. If we'd had more time, it would have been good to do some climbing and meet the monkeys on Miyajima and also see more of modern-day Hiroshima, but as a day-trip this can't be faulted.

Doing what: Hiroshima Peace Memorial Park and Miyajima Island Tour from Hiroshima

Karen B Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2006

The whole tour more than exceeded my expectations. I found the tour to Miyajima Island very interesting, relaxing and pleasurable. The visit to the Peace Memorial Park was informative, sad and thought-provoking. The visit heightened my awareness of the history relating to the dropping of the atomic bomb on Hiroshima and the long-term effects. It also strengthened my belief that the world should abolish all nuclear weapons in every country.
The one-day tour was the only reason for my visit to Japan as part of my four-country world tour. However after visiting Japan I now wish to return for a longer period.
The Tour Guide for the day was very professional, informative and friendly and I would like to have my thanks passed onto her. The driver for the day was also friendly and assisted in every way possible.

Doing what: Hiroshima Peace Memorial Park and Miyajima Island Tour from Hiroshima

Tony

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2015

The tour was fantastic. The only problem was that we went on the Monday of Silver week and the traffic and number of people was incredible. this resulted in significant delays and we missed some of the highlights. For instance when we went to the peace memorial museum we were so late we had to rush through in a few minutes and missed most of it. Our guide Teddy was excellent.

Doing what: Hiroshima Peace Memorial Park and Miyajima Island Tour from Hiroshima

Kathryn N

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2015

It was worth the trip to Miyajima Island to see the Tori gate, not seeing it would be like going to Paris and not visiting the Eifel Tower. The island was however the Japanese equivalent of Western Australia's Rottnest Island. I think combining the Peace Park and Miyajima was a bit of an odd mix, ok if you have limited time, if you had longer a full day to Miyajima and a half day at Peace Memorial Park would be more enjoyable.

Doing what: Hiroshima Peace Memorial Park and Miyajima Island Tour from Hiroshima

Roger P

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2015

Our tour guide Kuniko was great, she had a good grasp of English so was easy to understand. We found Miyajima Island pleasant enough but felt would not return, however the Peace Memorial Park was very moving and Kunki explained everything we came across so well. We went back the next day for a slower visit by ourselves and were so grateful for everything we had learned from her the day before.

Doing what: Hiroshima Peace Memorial Park and Miyajima Island Tour from Hiroshima

Catherine C Philippines

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2015

The tour lived up to my expectations with a good tour guide Fumiko who even sent a letter to me in my hotel to remind me of the tour the following day. Miyajima esp the iconic red torii gate was really amazing and we learned of the Hiroshima bombing thru our visit to the A-Bomb Dome and Peace Memorial

Doing what: Hiroshima Peace Memorial Park and Miyajima Island Tour from Hiroshima

Lyndall M

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2014

Worth the $s. Full program day tour with journey to Miyajima Island to start the day but only 1hr of free time including lunch which can be difficult if many tourists visiting. Hiroshima Peace Memorial Park- very emotional and heart wrenching - incredible experience.

Doing what: Hiroshima Peace Memorial Park and Miyajima Island Tour from Hiroshima

Lance C

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2014

The tour covered all items intended and was very enjoyable. Our guide was well informed and communicated in English without any issues. My only critisism was the time spent at the Peace Park and museum was too short. I believe more time needs to be allocated to this part of the tour and less to Miyajima Island.

Doing what: Hiroshima Peace Memorial Park and Miyajima Island Tour from Hiroshima

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message