As a main water supply, the Saigon River is critically important to the residents of Ho Chi Minh City. Spend a few days in Ho Chi Minh, and you’ll discover it’s a young, modern city on the move. In contrast, cruising along the Saigon River gives you ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 419 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Brian C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

Money well spent...worth every penny! We only had two days in Saigon, so we decided to splurge a bit and book a private tour. We are so glad we did. There were many companies that offered this or similar tour package and there was a big difference in price between them but the bottom line is you get what you pay for. We had the luxury of having our own private guide who taught us much about Vietnamese culture, answered our many many questions in depth and when asked, shared her own families war experience during our visit to the Chu Chi Tunnels. While people in other tour groups vied for photo ops in groups of 20 or more, we happily had our own space. When time is precious, we were so glad to have our own van and driver who picked us up promptly. No waiting in the heat for large groups to gather every time you need to board a bus or take a washroom break! The lunch that was arranged exceeded our expectations and snacks were provided throughout the day. We have never been fed so well on a tour before! While the sights we saw were interesting, we really feel that what made this tour so special was our tour guide, Thao. By the end of our day, we felt that we had made a friend.

Doing what: Private Mekong Delta and Cu Chi Tunnels Full-Day Trip

Mr M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

We decided to book this tour after the excellent tour to the chi chi tunnels and we were not disappointed, it was a really good way to escape the crowds and the city. The tour starts of down the Saigon river which is heavily polluted but it is good to see that the river is still a working river and so pollution is to be expected, passing down the river the guide explains the builds and housing along the river. We stopped at some surprising places along the river and had the chance to sample real Vietnam, even the market is interesting to see but to the less open minded or less travelled may be a shock, but great to see a traditional village unspoiled. The lunch at the orphanage was very traditional and good.

Doing what: Small-Group Authentic Mekong Delta Experience by Speedboat

Tone Tveit R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

A great way to reach the Cu Chi Tunnels from Ho Chi Minh City! We were a small group and were well taken care of with snack and soft drinks on the boat, lovely lunch at the river and great guide. I would definately reccomend traveling by boat! And the tunnels is a must see when visiting Ho Chi Minh.

Doing what: Half-Day Cu Chi Tunnels from Ho Chi Minh City by Luxury Speedboat

guido.fischer

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

What an amazing tour! Pick up from hotel and then to river to catch the speedboat Coffee and banh mi provided for early morning tour. Interesting to see how the Vietnamese survived the torture and how they beat the Americans and were ahead of them all the time. Very good tour guide Must do tour!

Doing what: Cu Chi Tunnels and Countryside Tour by Luxury Speedboat

Chris L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

Had a great bike tour with Tong. We meandered down many streets passing through several markets, Saigon river, Presidential Palace, Saigon Square, Cathedral, Post Office, Vietnam War Museum, Chinatown and ending at his bike shop. Stopping at each destination for a quick history lesson and pics, with a stop for coffee. Last destination was a great small Pho restaurant for some noodle soup and cold beer.

The bike ride was great. A bit intimidating at first, biking alongside thousands of motorbikes, but you get the hang of it. I do recommend having some previous biking experience - being able to control motion and speed well under crowded and sometimes unpredictable situations. But the craziness adds to the excitement. All in all, a great way to get some exercise and explore the city.

Doing what: Saigon Pho and Beer Bike tour

Graham W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

Well worth the booking just to get us to our destination without having to deal with the mayhem at the airport.
The car was clean and the driver sensibly manoeuvred through the heavy traffic highly recommend to first timers .

Doing what: Private Arrival Transfer: Tan Son Nhat Airport to Ho Chi Minh City Hotels

Mark F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

Arranged to be collected from Than Son Nhat Airport and taken to the Rex Hotel in Saigon. We arrived early evening and it took around 45 minutes to get our visas, once we had got our luggage and passed through customs we were met by a representative holding a sign with our name on it who directed us to our driver. It made arriving in Saigon for the first time and arriving at our hotel a seamless experience, very good.

Doing what: Private Ho Chi Minh City Arrival Transfer: Airport to Hotel

Bronwyn Alice T Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

I absolutely loved this tour! This was definitely the highlight of our trip to Vietnam. 'Long' was our tour guide for the day and he could not have made the day any more amazing than it was! Long was the perfect tour guide, his humor, intelligence, knowledge and organisation for the group was outstanding! You do not see the floating markets which i was not disappointed in. Long recommended that if you wanted to see the floating markets at the Mekong Delta that you should book a tour that is for 2 or 3 days long. The order of the places you see stated above is incorrect yet you do get to see everything. The bus trip is a total of 2 hours one way so you are on the bus for awhile. First you visit the buddhist temple at My Tho then you head to the Mekong Delta river where you catch a boat to an island where you will have lunch. We got the 'special' lunch and my goodness it was delicious, best decision of my life and there was sooo much food, you won't be left hungry! Then from lunch we jumped back onto the boat for about another 10 minutes, hope off at another stop and walk to a local village where they make the coconut candy, so delicious, plus you get the opportunity to hold a HUGE python around your neck for no charge at all. From the coconut candy village you hop on a small boat and let one of the villagers steer you around a smaller river off the mekong for about 20 minutes, a small tip is a good idea. You then hop off the boat and walk to another small village where they serve you hot honey bee tea and a selection of fruit, whilst you listen to some traditional music, a tip is almost encouraged here. Then its a short walk back to the bus and on your way home. I could not recommend this tour enough! You get to meet the locals, try local food and produce, and you are in an amazing environment that takes your breath away! The tour is a huge day and everyone ends up sleeping on the way back home. I would do this tour again if i had the opportunity to!

Doing what: Upper Mekong River Day Trip from Ho Chi Minh City

Stephanie S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

I expected the tour to be a little 'touristy' but it was actually really nicely done. The boat trip there and back is a must if you like to see life on the river. Lunch was delicious and they catered really well for veggies. Tam was fantastic. V informative and interesting guide. An excellent balance of talking and just allowing us to take in the sights . He even recommended 3 restaurants near our hotel which were also excellent. A small group of 8 and Tam expertly steered us away from any parts which had large groups. Cu Chi tunnels itself was also v nicely presented. The inevitable souvenir shops inside but the displays and tunnels were v interesting and well presented.

Doing what: Half-Day Cu Chi Tunnels from Ho Chi Minh City by Luxury Speedboat

Sandra T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

All went as planned, and we departed HCMC Airport for our hotel, the Lotte Legend. At that time in the afternoon, the traffic was extremely busy as usual with the buzzing bikes everywhere, but our driver was excellent. How he manoeuvred his way in and out was amazing. Unfortunately, I did not ask his name, but you will have that in your records. He was not only a capable driver, but very polite and helpful.

Doing what: Ho Chi Minh Airport Transfer and Downtown Locations

alicia_kent

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

One of the best tours we did, the puppet show was great and very funny, even though it was in Vietnamese we could still understand it. The Dinner cruise was great as well, a lot of great Delicious food and great views along the river.

Doing what: Ho Chi Minh City Water Puppet Show Including Dinner Cruise

CESAR S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

We enjoyed a lot the tour. If you visit Vietnam you don't have to miss this tour. Transportation was comfortable, driver very professional. The tour guide ave us valuable information about Vietnam history and cu chi tunnels. The size of the group was good, ours were about 8 persons. We made the tour with two adults, one kid 4 years old and our small 6 months baby and everything was fine.

Doing what: Cu Chi Tunnels Experience: Small Group Tour

mpeatlarge

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

We had an amazing full day tour around HCMC. Because it was a private tour, our guide, Thao Xuan Pham, and driver did many extra and very kind things for us. History and culture were our main interests, so we were treated to tons of additional information at every location. We were not rushed through museums, but could take our own time. We could also ask many questions and have good discussions. Our food stops were lovely. Thao also gave us lots of advice on other locations and sights that would interest us. We highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Private Ho Chi Minh City Discovery Full-Day Guided Tour

dan h

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

highly recommend this as a great day out.
the breakfast is a bit of a waste of tie as everyone seems to eat at their hotel early, then drive for 20 mins, have breakfast by which time the rush hour has built up then off you go out on the trip. i feel the rush hour could have been avoided instead.
or make it clear that the breakfast is included.
enjoyed the cricket farm
the rice paper workshop was much more fun than expected.
salad farm is a waste of time really, loads of lettuce all europeans on the tour..fields of lettuce nothing special
DOG LOVERS DO NOT GET OUT OF THE BUS at the salad farm - some very distressed dogs in horrific conditions here tiny cages etc etc
finally on to the tunnels at cu chi. this was awesome, really enjoyed it.
it is definitely worth reading up a little on vietnamese history before going to vietnam so that you can appreciate things like this more .
our guide was really great, her english was good and she was really helpful.
you can fire guns if that is your thing - i tried an AK47 and it was worth a go.
lunch after the tunnels was absolutely superb !
everyone in our group loved it about 8 in total
finally, high speed trip down the river which was really good.
tis was great, nice powerful boat and missed most of the rush hour traffic !
i would recommend this trip - it was a great day out.
only wy to improve it would be to drop the breakfast and salad farm.

dan - went early january 2017

Doing what: Cu Chi Tunnels and Countryside Tour by Luxury Speedboat

Michele United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Our tour guide and driver were both amazing. I highly recommend this and will definitely be using the same tour company when I come back to Vietnam. Also highly recommended this to friends/family. Thank you so much for the most amazing time!! The only thing that was kinda too touristy was the stop at the music/singing/fruit thing... I suggest taking that segment out.

Doing what: Private Mekong Delta and Cu Chi Tunnels Full-Day Trip

Sonja J G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

We walked off our cruise ship and there they were: Trang, Suong and Hang, full of smiles, motor scooters at the ready. After a brief discussion of what we had already seen in Saigon, we decided on an itinerary and were off, my husband, son 20 years old and myself. All three of our delightful drivers managed the intimidating Saigon traffic with ease while conversing with and explaining the passing streetscape to us. We, as passengers, soon learned to relax and leave the driving to these very capable young women, and focus on the amazing street tableaux we were passing through. One of our first stops was the oldest cafe in Saigon where we each got to sample Bahn My and the delicious local clay pot coffee. Then we actually got a behind the scenes tour and were able to help make the coffee! We went to a number of different markets that focused on various things: flowers, produce and seafood. Any food we expressed interest in trying was soon in our hands, peeled, or otherwise ready to sample. Our tour finished with a delicious lunch in a restaurant filled with locals, no tourists in sight but us! Would highly recommend our guides and this tour. Viator streamlined the booking for us, talking at least twice with the vendor to make sure we would be met at the cruise dock and that our timing needs would be honored. Could not be happier with the organization and the tour. A must if you are even slightly adventurous and a foodie!

Doing what: Ho Chi Minh Sightseeing and Local Street Food Tour by Scooter

Julianne H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

What a great day Thao our guide spoke good english and was very passionate and informative on each of the places we visited during the day. Hieu our driver was very friendly and did a wonderful job moving threw the busy traffic. A memorable experience expecially if you only have a couple of days and would like to escape the busy city, we saw more than we thought we would of Mekong Delta and Ho Chi Minh surrounding areas on this full day trip. An added bonus for us was being picked up and dropped off at our Hotel. Thank you Thao and Hieu
Julianne and Murray

Doing what: Private Mekong Delta and Cu Chi Tunnels Full-Day Trip

Mariusz M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

We were looking for a company to go with to see the Mekong delta. Most programmes were quite comparable, so we tried to find a reasonably priced trip. At out hotel the Buffalo Tours asked for 144 US dollars per person, which seemed an exorbirant price especially for Vietnamese prices. When we found the offer of Viator, we were rather hesitant, as it was 4 times cheaper while offering an almost identical programme, but because I have used TripAdvisor for years, we decided to give it a try.
It all started with us being picked up from the hotel exactly at 8 o'clock. 20 minutes later, with the rest of the group 6 adults and 2 children aboard, we were on our way to My Tho. Our guide started with Let me introduce myself. My name is Bach, like the German composer. I like Bachs music, so I thought it was a good omen. And I was right. Bach proved to be a big asset to the trip. Friendly, easy going, not to say charming, and well educated, he also has a very good command of English. He was ready to answer all our questions, and was very open and candid in his opinions.
The minivan was comfortable and air-conditioning was working well. In My Tho we visited the Vinh Trang pagoda. After a short boat trip crossing the river, we had a short break for a honeybee tea, then had a selection of fruit and heard a short selection of Vietnamese folk/court music, which was long enough to whet the appetites for those who liked it, and short enough for those who did not enjoy it.
Then we saw how to make coconut Candy and had a sampan ride. Then we were driven by a horse carriage to a riverside restaurant honestly, I could do without the ride where we had a pretty satisfying lunch excellent spring rolls, but no grilled chicken mentioned in the official programme. After lunch, we drove back to Ho Chi Minh.
All in all it was a very enjoyable trip, extremely well organised, doubtless thanks to Bachs organising skills and to a very good communication between organisers of particular events: although we changed means of transport van, boats, horse carriage several times we never waited even a few minutes and everywhere they were waiting for our arrival. And nobody asked us for any tips apart from the singers, who simply put a basket on the table!
Again, Bach thanks for all your efforts to make our trip such an enjoyable and successful event. Highly recommended.

Doing what: Classic Mekong Delta Deluxe Group Tour

Wojciech S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

I highly recommend this trip. Very good tour guide Typhoon Honey. Comfortable bus with AC and WiFi and experiened driver. Everything very well organized, tasty lunch. Definitely worth. Wojtek and Kamila from Poland

Doing what: Classic Mekong Delta Deluxe Group Tour

CHEN T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Great private full day experience by private car and guide.Amazing Combined full day tour.The trip to the Cu Chi tunnels was soow overwhelming while you were standing in actual war territory. To see the ingenuity from the vietnamese soldiers during the war in real life was awesome. To shoot with guns used in the war, crawl through the actual war tunnels and see the craters where bombs had exploded during the war just added a more complete view/experience during this trip. The mekong river trip was also a good trip to see another part of Vietnam. The way of life the people along side the river live and the impressive river itself. The boot tours were good, the fruit tasted wel as did the coconut candy's.Highly recommended !

Doing what: Cu Chi Tunnels and Mekong Delta Private Full-Day Trip

Chup-hei H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Smooth trip to airport. Comfortable car and professional driver

Doing what: Private Ho Chi Minh City Departure Transfer: Hotel to Airport

sanjoyan m

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

They where right there outside with my name on. Big van. Very polite driver. I am happy. The price can be a bit competitive...

Doing what: Private Ho Chi Minh City Arrival Transfer: Airport to Hotel

Gavin M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Really good trip for the money. Picked up from hotel, taken to boat, then down the river for 80 minutes. The seats are comfortable and life vests provided. Each stop had clean toilets and the tunnels are great to see and our guide friendly and informative. Well worth the money. Thank you for an enjoyable day.

Doing what: Half-Day Cu Chi Tunnels from Ho Chi Minh City by Luxury Speedboat

Augie

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

The driver was at the hotel at the proper time and all went swimmingly! Very dependable.

Doing what: Private Ho Chi Minh City Departure Transfer: Hotel to Airport

lsmaron

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

This trip was awesome, especially with our incredible, hilarious tour guide, Ashley! She was so informative of Ho Chi Minh City and the Mekong Delta! We traveled from Ho Chi Minh City to the Mekong Delta in a comfortable van with spacious room. Once we arrived to the river, our group of 12 visited a fruit farm, honey farm, cotton farm, and then had an authentic launch. Our final stop was boarding a small boat for 4 or less to float down the small stream/river to the main Mekong Delta. Overall, a fantastic experience. If anything, I recommend requesting Ashley for ANY trips in and outside of Ho Chi Minh City!!!

Doing what: Mekong Delta Discovery Small Group Adventure Tour from Ho Chi Minh City

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message