As a main water supply, the Saigon River is critically important to the residents of Ho Chi Minh City. Spend a few days in Ho Chi Minh, and you’ll discover it’s a young, modern city on the move. In contrast, cruising along the Saigon River gives you ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 332 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Alberto H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

The tour was amazing! The trip up on the Saigon River was beautiful and relaxing, was also great to take in life on the river. Our guide of the tunnel was very informative on the Vietnam War and Cu Chi Tunnels. Was also great to get a feel for local life in the area.

Doing what: Cu Chi Tunnels and Countryside Tour by Luxury Speedboat

David M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Staff were excellent!! Great tour and great trip up the Saigon River!!

Doing what: Half-Day Cu Chi Tunnels from Ho Chi Minh City by Luxury Speedboat

Nicholas K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

We were only in Vietnam a few days and despite generally avoiding tours we decided we wanted to do a home based cooking class to see another side of Vietnam.

It couldn't have been any better, a great guide, driver and host/cook. The meal was amazing and all the better for being involved in the preparation, we got a real appreciation for what makes Vietnamese home cooking different to what is offered in the restaurants.

Would highly recommend this tour and Hoi An Express overall.

Doing what: Home Cooking Class in Ho Chi Minh City

Andrea M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

My plane was two hours late and I was very happy to see that my driver was waiting for me at 1:30am.

Doing what: Private Ho Chi Minh City Arrival Transfer: Airport to Hotel

Catherine F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Great local guide and amazing insight into live on the Mekong river

Doing what: Mekong Delta Discovery Small Group Adventure Tour from Ho Chi Minh City

David W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Brilliant tour. The guide was really good, having a private tour was amazing, we stopped for lunch at a terrific restaurant on the river and the food was unbelievable.
Would highly recommend

Doing what: Private Tour: Mekong River Cruise Tour from Ho Chi Minh City

Carol R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

This was a great idea because our flight was delayed for 5 hours and our driver waited for us the whole time. Because of the wait we gave him 100,000 d but he wanted 200,000. Fair enough, 12 AUD and he waited 5 hours. We gave it to him because he was nice about it.

Doing what: Private Arrival Transfer: Tan Son Nhat Airport to Ho Chi Minh City Hotels

ANTHONY Y

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Pick up from the hotel lobby was very smooth and driver arrived early. Vehicle provided is big and comfortable for 5 of us. Worth paying for it. Thank you.

Doing what: Ho Chi Minh Airport Transfer and Downtown Locations

Le thi D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

We had our great van pick us up from our hotel in Ho Chi Minh city center.our guide was excellent with well speaking english ,friendly ,helpful and knowledgeable.we had a boat trip to visit local villages and had wonderful BBQ lunch on boat .we experiences ride in sampan,learnt all about bees and their product,had a ride in an horse and cart.learnt all about coconuts and products made with them.Fantastic boat trip on mekong and tasted a small sample of life on this mighly river and amazingly friendly people.Highly recommended this trip

Doing what: Mekong Delta Full-Day Small Group Guided Tour from Ho Chi Minh City

Susan H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Tour guide 'Hung' was fantastic! Hotel pick-up was prompt and she gave us tips for our stay in Ho Chi Minh like which taxi's were bad, which were good. Speedboat trip to/fro the tunnels saved us time as there were no traffic jams to contend with. The ride itself was pleasant/cool, and we saw Vietnamese daily living on the river. The tunnels themselves were fascinating and all the other exhibits well kept and informative. Hung spoke perfect english and was very knowledgable about the tunnels and the Vietnam war, and it was obvious she put a lot of thought into what she wanted to convey. We wished we could of had her along for our entire trip through Vietnam!

Doing what: Half-Day Cu Chi Tunnels from Ho Chi Minh City by Luxury Speedboat

Camille V

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

the tour was really informative and staff took good care of us on the boat and during land tour. While i wouldn't call the boat luxury it was a comfortable open boat with roof for shade and plenty of drinks/fruit during the ride up and back. Viewing the countryside and life along the river was interesting and the river itself was very pretty with much of the river covered by water hyacinths. The land part of the tour is very informative, our guide spoke good English and was knowledgeable. We got several opportunities to enter some of the tunnels to experience how small they really are. Watching the movie at the end of tour gives you the Vietnamese perspective of the war. Our provided lunch after the tour was good and they made provisions for those of us who are vegetarian. I would recommend doing the early morning tour as it was already warm when we started the land tour about 9am and quite hot 2hrs later.

Doing what: Half-Day Cu Chi Tunnels from Ho Chi Minh City by Luxury Speedboat

Marcus R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Definitely recommend the tour. Guide was very friendly and knowledgeable, boat ride up the Saigon River was scenic, and the food they served was excellent.

Doing what: Half-Day Cu Chi Tunnels from Ho Chi Minh City by Luxury Speedboat

pcoggins408

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Booked the trip online before arriving Vietnam, bus arrived for hotel pick-up, and the excursion began. Boat was clean, morning breakfast far, and a little Vietnamese coffee was included to start off the 35 min boat ride up the Siagon River toward Cambodia. We were very lucky and had a awesome guide and great boat crew. Provided history of sights and sounds along the way. Arrived the Cu Chi Tunnels for a 2 your tour and ultimately a 100 meter tunnel exploration. Afterward we had a delicious lunch dockside before the return boat ride to Ho Chi Ming City WiFi on boat ride back too!. Arrived at dock around 1pm, then back to the hotel. Highly recommend the Early Half-Day Tour to beat the other tours and afternoon heat. Well worth it and highly recommended.

Doing what: Half-Day Cu Chi Tunnels from Ho Chi Minh City by Luxury Speedboat

Kerry S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Really enjoyed this trip. Guide at the Tunnels was excellent. Every effort was made to make the experience special. Provisions were very good and lunch by the river was of really enjoyable.

Doing what: Half-Day Cu Chi Tunnels from Ho Chi Minh City by Luxury Speedboat

Samantha Y

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

We were so glad we booked this trip. Phu and the driver collected us promptly at 8 am and we were taken on a fantastic exploration outside of the city. First stop was a market on the suburbs of the city to buy our choice of fresh fruits to snack on during the day as well as fresh king prawns which were cooked for us later in the day at our beach side lunch. We stopped off to visit a fantastic ruin of a temple and then went on to a local village where we lay in hammocks whilst they made us fresh sugar cane drinks. After that we were taken on a motorcycle scooter ride through the village to see the paddy fields and observe village life. After lunch we visited another temple before taking a ferry taxi on the Mekong River to Unicorn Island where we snacked on more local fruits before a paddle boat ride along the beautiful canals, and the a ride in a horse drawn cart. Phu, our guide was so friendly and knowledgeable and was an absolute delight to spend the day with. I would definitely recommend this tour to anyone as it was a great way to get out of the city and observe rural life in Vietnam.

Doing what: Life on the Mekong Delta Tour from Ho Chi Minh City

Angelina

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

We simply love it! There were 5 of us all ladies and it was our first trip to HCMC. This cruise is an excellent way to see the city from a different perspective. The Government also did a good job in cleaning up the river. Ms Hanh and Mr Anh from The Saigon Boat Company were professional, very pleasant and fluent in English. They were punctual in picking us up from the hotel and we were shown where the lifejackets were the minute we stepped onto the boat. The boat is fairly new and well maintained. The breakfast served was scrumptious with a variety of drinks and juices.
All in all, it was a highly enjoyable 2-hour ride. And I dare say, we will definitely sign up for another cruise the next time we head back to HCMC.

Doing what: Saigon River Breakfast Cruise in Ho Chi Minh City

Dianne E USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

The tour was exactly as advertised and the company, The trip up and back by speedboat is the way to go. Les Rives was very professional and organized. Our tour guide, River was very knowledgeable and friendly. I would definitely recommend this company.

Doing what: Half-Day Cu Chi Tunnels from Ho Chi Minh City by Luxury Speedboat

susan e

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Great day out. Our guide was Kah.Cold drinks and fresh fruit were on hand the whole day. Lunch was superb. Stopped off at several places along the river and Kah was very knowledgable and witty. Highly recommend.

Doing what: Small-Group Authentic Mekong Delta Experience by Speedboat

Laura G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Drivers were excellent, they were friendly, spoke very good English and were extremely knowledgeable about the city. Although there are not as many stops as other tours this is reflected in the price and what you get is more than enough. Highly recommend.

Doing what: Saigon by Night Food Tour by Motorbike

Cris Lauranne S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Super convenient and the driver was courteous.

Doing what: Private Ho Chi Minh City Departure Transfer: Hotel to Airport

Cris Lauranne S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Driver arrived at our hotel on the dot. Very convenient. I highly recommend to anyone who wishes to travel to Ho Chi Minh.

Doing what: Private Ho Chi Minh City Arrival Transfer: Airport to Hotel

diddlywank

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Lucy and Ann were great guides and the food was plentiful and authentic. Motorbike tours are the best tours in Vietnam because they are fun and you get to more places quickly. And most importantly you basically get a guide/driver to yourself. You can even (kind of) chat on the way to stops.

Doing what: Night Saigon Street Food Tour of Ho Chi Minh City by Bike

WILLIAM R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Awesome experience and a must do if able to put on your itinerary. We went to the floating market on the Mekong Delta and our guide, Jay Jay, gave us a detailed historical overview of the whole area plus much about the current and past culture of the Vietnamese people. Very interesting on how the rice farmers operate, and then seeing the different businesses in the floating market area including candy making all topped off with a lunch we assisted in cooking and then the 2-3 man boat excursion through the forest on a narrrow river.....paddled by a guide.

Doing what: Mekong Delta Day Trip with Cooking Class and Cai Be Floating Market Tour

Peter G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Arriving in Ho Chi Minh City at 6 o'clock in the morning, I was keen to arrange transport to the city centre hotel without being 'ripped off' by a taxi driver or arriving without the correct currency. Booking the transfer in advance, and paying by card seemed like the ideal answer. The driver was waiting for me as I came out of the Arrivals hall and the comfortable journey to the hotel was completed with a minimum of delay.

Doing what: Private Ho Chi Minh City Arrival Transfer: Airport to Hotel

Peter G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

The Small Group consisted of myself, the guide and driver! I was collected promptly from the hotel by a friendly and very informative guide who took me first to the War Remnants Museum - in many ways this brought home the futility of war, particularly the exhibition on 'Agent Orange' as the guide's sister had died as a result of the poisonous effects of the chemicals. We continued to the Reunification Palace, Notre Dame Cathedral from the outside and the Post Office building before going to lunch in a local restaurant and sampling Vietnamese food. After lunch we walked through the Ben Thanh market before visiting a Chinese temple and a Chinese market. From there we returned to the centre and I was dropped off at my hotel. As I had only limited time in Ho Chi Minh City, I felt this was a good way to see the highlights.

Doing what: Ho Chi Minh City Discovery Small Group Adventure Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message