To understand Vietnam’s present, you must look to the past, and that includes the tragic period of the Vietnam War, or the American War as it was called in Vietnam. The region surrounding Ho Chi Minh City sat at the heart of the conflict, and ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 108 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Gillian H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Great tour guide Linda showed us so much of Ho Chi Minh city. and the cyclo bikes are an absolute must-an incredible experience in what must be some of the craziest traffic in the world! Highly recommend this tour-it does include War Remnants museum which is unbelievable but unmissable

Doing what: Ho Chi Minh Cyclo and Walking Small Group Adventure Tour

ljocht6 Netherlands

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

We had a great time. The guide explained a lot about the Vietnam war and was a nice guy. The car had air conditioning. The exposition at the War Museum was very impressive.

Doing what: Private Tour: Ho Chi Minh City Sightseeing Tour and Cu Chi Tunnels

Joelle H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

This is an excellent tour. Our guide Nhipham was very informative and happy to share her knowledge. We were picked up at our hotel in a comfortable mini bus and there was one other couple on the tour with us. We only had a short stay in HCMC and this tour was a perfect sightseeing tour of the City, viewing the Catherdral, War Remnants Museum, the beautiful Post Office with well priced souvenirs there too, nice lunch etc. I highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Ho Chi Minh City Discovery Small Group Adventure Tour

Alistair S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

This tour was interesting and informative, making us more aware of what was involved in the Vietnamese/American war. Actually entering the tunnels was fun.

Doing what: Cu Chi Tunnels Small Group Adventure Tour from Ho Chi Minh City

Peter G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

The Small Group consisted of myself, the guide and driver! I was collected promptly from the hotel by a friendly and very informative guide who took me first to the War Remnants Museum - in many ways this brought home the futility of war, particularly the exhibition on 'Agent Orange' as the guide's sister had died as a result of the poisonous effects of the chemicals. We continued to the Reunification Palace, Notre Dame Cathedral from the outside and the Post Office building before going to lunch in a local restaurant and sampling Vietnamese food. After lunch we walked through the Ben Thanh market before visiting a Chinese temple and a Chinese market. From there we returned to the centre and I was dropped off at my hotel. As I had only limited time in Ho Chi Minh City, I felt this was a good way to see the highlights.

Doing what: Ho Chi Minh City Discovery Small Group Adventure Tour

David L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

I really enjoyed my trip to the Cu Chi tunnels. Our tour guide Thanh was not only informative about the history of the tunnels but also gave testimony of the war when his father was called to serve and therefor it made the trip feel more personal. Can and #39;t wait for another viator tour. Very fun. Thnx!

Doing what: Cu Chi Tunnels Small Group Adventure Tour from Ho Chi Minh City

Cindy W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

The tour was affordable and no-frills, yet delivered on quality. We were led by Trinh, an affable and enthusiastic chap who managed our group well and spoke knowledgeably about Vietnam's war history. He also gave good recommendations on where to eat and shop as well as tips on how to drive a hard bargain with the locals it worked!. We enjoyed the half-day tour very much, and plan to sign up for more tours on our next trip.

Doing what: Cu Chi Tunnels Small Group Adventure Tour from Ho Chi Minh City

Cindy W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Our tour was affordable and no-frills, yet delivered on quality. Pick-up from the Central Post Office was a breeze and the bus ride highly comfortable. Trinh our guide was an affable and knowledgeable chap, dispensing all manner of info not just about Vietnam and #39;s war history but also where to eat and shop, and how to drive a hard bargain at the local markets (it worked!).

Doing what: Cu Chi Tunnels Small Group Adventure Tour from Ho Chi Minh City

kevin m

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

a great half day tour from ho chi minh city , are guide was uavn who was a great guide , very funny and easy to talk to , the tunnels themselves are very interesting, the guide first shows you a short film about the vietnam war , and you are then given a guided tour around the complex ,, the guide shows you some of the lethal traps used in the war , including if you want a chance to go in one off the tunnels which is about 100 meters long !!!
there is also a firing range at the complex if you want to try your hand at firing a gun of your choice
would recommend doing this tour while in ho chi minh city

Doing what: Cu Chi Tunnels Small Group Adventure Tour from Ho Chi Minh City

Mike M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

Great time. Interesting video from 1967 about Ch Chi fighters and Americans. The tunnel was fun and our guide Tom, was very knowledgeable. His English was tough at times but overall good. I would recommend this tour to all interested in Vietnam and the war.

Doing what: Cu Chi Tunnels Small Group Adventure Tour from Ho Chi Minh City

Kezza

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Interesting way to find out a little about the city and find your way around. Great guide, full of information. We especially enjoyed the cyclo part where you felt you were playing with death in the traffic at times. The market was interesting as was the war museum. Worth doing.

Doing what: Ho Chi Minh Cyclo and Walking Small Group Adventure Tour

gerry United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Very interesting day out, discovered many things about the innovative and resourceful VC, the way they eluded capture and eventually won that war. The various ingenious terrifying traps they built for killing and more importantly to them, maiming the Americans. Plenty of original contraptions available to view. The tunnels, even though widened for tourists, were still quite claustrophobic, though they are only a small part of the tour. You also have the option to use the firing range and let off some rounds from various guns, including M16s and AK47s. Our guide stressed there was no animosity towards the USA now, but he did seem quite proud and enthusiastic about the killing and injuring of Americans.
All in all a great educational and enjoyable day out in the jungle. Recommended.

Doing what: Cu Chi Tunnels Small Group Adventure Tour from Ho Chi Minh City

Rob

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

a wnderful tour of the city. Our guide knew so much detail, it was really interesting to see a different side of the story, having been familiar with the war stories in movies etc.

Doing what: Private Tour: Ho Chi Minh City Full-Day Tour

Paul W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Great trip to get outside the city for a morning. We stopped at a local farm and got to spend about thirty minutes seeing how daily life on the farm is. Our tour guide Loung provided facts and kept us engaged the entire trip. The entire tunnels area has been setup for tourists and does a good job of showing the history and perspective of the Cu Chi people in the Vietnamese War. Bring 300,000vd if you want to shoot some of the old weapons at the range on the end of the tour! Great experience, would definitely recommend for anyone visiting Saigon

Doing what: Cu Chi Tunnels Small Group Adventure Tour from Ho Chi Minh City

NicolasI

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Our guide was really nice and knowledgeable. She explained many things about the tunnels, made the tour quite interactive, and I feel like I saw and learnt much more in this tour than I would have seen in a museum or on websites about Vietnam war.

Doing what: Cu Chi Tunnels Small Group Adventure Tour from Ho Chi Minh City

Monisha D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

This tour was amazing! Really gave you insight on how the viet cong lived during the war times! The 30 second optional experience in the tunnel was a real eye opener! We also got to visit a family who lived near by and saw how the rice paper wrappers were made!

Doing what: Cu Chi Tunnels Small Group Adventure Tour from Ho Chi Minh City

Bill

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

This tour of the Cu Chi Tunnels in combination with a tour of the Cao Dai Temple is a must if you visit Ho Chi Minh City. Our transportation was modern and comfortable. Our guide was friendly, knowledgeable and his English was outstanding. The tunnel tour outlined the amazing feats of the Vietnamese soldiers during the wars with France and US. The Cao Dai Temple is an amazing sight and gives an interesting glimpse into a unique culture. I would highly recommend this tour to anyone.

Doing what: Private Tour: Cu Chi Tunnels and Cao Dai Temple Full-Day Tour from Ho Chi Minh City

Hayley K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Great day. A lot to take in at the start at the war remnants museum but a very varied and informative day.

Doing what: Ho Chi Minh City Discovery Small Group Adventure Tour

Sharan R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Our guide Thanh was excellent as he covered details of the cu chi tunnels with personal tales of struggle with his family during the war times.

Doing what: Cu Chi Tunnels Small Group Adventure Tour from Ho Chi Minh City

Stephen M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

It was a really great day. My guide Thanh was punctual, polite and very knowledgeable. The vehicle was modern and comfortable. The tunnels are a stark reminder of the pain of war - contrasted now with the bright, dynamic future of the country. The temple is simply gorgeous and I was fortunate enough to witness a ceremony there. We went for lunch in a typical restaurant in a small village, which was an authentic experience. All in all, a highly enjoyable and educational day. Thank you:-)

Doing what: Private Tour: Cu Chi Tunnels and Cao Dai Temple Full-Day Tour from Ho Chi Minh City

Dale Emet S A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

This was awesome. Our guide, Long, was very friendly. He's also quite knowledgeable and provided a lot of historical context on Vietnam, Cu Chi, it's people, and the tunnels.
The tour started out with a trip to a local family's home where we were able to watch the making of rice paper, then afterwards, to try our hand at it. The matriarch also showed us how they raised livestock and extracted sap from rubber trees, which grow abundantly in Cu Chi.
We spent the rest of the morning going around the tunnels, learning of its history, architecture, and its importance during the Vietnam War. We got a chance to "drop" into a tunnel access, then later try to traverse one that's been enlarged for tourist access. Our group didn't get to finish the whole 100 m stretch, exiting at around 40 m because the tunnel is claustrophobia inducing, but it was still great fun. We learned about the various traps they used during the war as well. For gun enthusiasts, there is a firing range at the Cu Chi tunnels, though for non-gun enthusiasts, it can get a bit noisy.
At the end of the tour, our guides took us back to our hotels, which was very convenient, and even provided us with general tourist tips for Saigon. All in all, a great way to spend your morning. :)

Doing what: Cu Chi Tunnels Small Group Adventure Tour from Ho Chi Minh City

Cynthia A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

We were the only 2 on this tour with a delightful guide named Tham. The walking part of the tour was very interesting with Tham giving us good insight into the history of Vietnam. We walked to the Reunification Palace and the War Remnants Museum which was extremely interesting. Tham all took us to the local market where she taught us some Vietnamese in the attempt to try to buy green onions and garlic. I'm sure the stall holders found it very amusing when we tried to speak to them in Vietnamese. I don't think we got the local price but it was a lot of fun. Then we took the Cyclo Tour and played in the traffic. Tham was always near us on a motorcycle and we found this a great way to see some of Ho Chi Minh and too feel part of the bustle of the city. I can thoroughly recommend this tour if you want to get up close and personal with the sights of the city. Tham was an excellent guide and looked after us very well. It was a wonderful experience.

Doing what: Ho Chi Minh Cyclo and Walking Small Group Adventure Tour

lynny

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Tour guide was very informative and her English was very good. Very friendly driver even though there is not much interaction with the driver.
We had heard mixed reviews for this tour, but it was well worth it. I visit countries to find out about their history and this was amazing to see and hear about how the Vietnamese survived the war. Climing through the tunnels was something else. As I'm 6ft I dropped down into the tunnel opening and then chickened out, however there was a bigger tunnel at the end of the tour which I went in and I'm glad I did.

Doing what: Cu Chi Tunnels Small Group Adventure Tour from Ho Chi Minh City

Robert E

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

As someone who as studied the Vietnam War over many years this was a fascinating insight into the Vietnamese take on things, although naturally heavily biased towards their view of the war, it was for me, a one off experience to be able to experience and see some of the aspects of the war I had read about in the past.

Doing what: Cu Chi Tunnels Small Group Adventure Tour from Ho Chi Minh City

Ashley H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Our tour guide Tom was awesome, really recommend him and this trip. Was absolutely insane to see how the tunnels were used and lived in during the war. Try out walking the enlarged tunnels if you are brave - we only made it 20 meters!!

Doing what: Cu Chi Tunnels Small Group Adventure Tour from Ho Chi Minh City

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message