Hobart ATTRACTIONS See all

Convict Trail

From Richmond to Eaglehawk Neck and Port Arthur, take the Convict Trail from Hobart to get a real feel for Tasmania’s history and natural beauty. To get the most out of your visit, take a leisurely approach and spread your tour over a couple of ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 147 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Young B

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2016

The Unesco historic site is worth visiting to understand the history of Hobart even tho there is identical local one at only $110. They have successfully maintained the site of the prison with many exact stories of each prisoner as well as the gravestones, etc. They have the world best tour guides.

Doing what: Port Arthur Tour from Hobart

garygarywongwong

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2016

It was okay but pretty much a transport tour that brings you to-and-fro Port Arthur. When we reached Port Arthur, it was the guide from Port Arthur that gave a good detailed explanation of the place.

Doing what: Port Arthur Tour from Hobart

ANYA C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Excellent from start to end , even with an elderly mother in tow . Nothing was too much trouble for anyone

Doing what: Port Arthur Tour from Hobart

mcallary

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Great tour guide - very informative. Enjoyed our time exploring the site. Hotel pickup and drop off was great. Would recommend this tour!

Doing what: Port Arthur Tour from Hobart

Joseph M

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2016

Takes about an hour and a half to drive to the port narrated tour. There's a small museum and cafe at the entrance to the site and the arrival is timed to match up with a free walking tour and with a 30 minute afternoon harbour cruise the boat doesn't get more than a kilometre from the port and mainly circles the islands that were used by the jail. The site sprawls a bit but is easily accessible by foot within the free time available. Be warned, most people would consider this an old person's day trip and people looking for something more than a walk around ruins are going to be disappointed. There were quick stops as some beauty points cliffs near the site on the way back to Hobart, but the trip back isn't narrated. Interesting if you want to see some of Tasmania's scenery and have a relaxing day, but it's unlikely to prove an exciting trip that you remember for a lifetime.

Doing what: Port Arthur Tour from Hobart

Anthony M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

A very interesting two days, Port Arthur is a fascinating place! We also took a JetBoat tour which was also very entertaining...

Doing what: Port Arthur Historic Site 2-Day Pass

Karen K

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2016

We enjoyed this day, particularly the peacefulness of the area.

Doing what: Port Arthur Tour from Hobart

Mrs Coral A H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

I am sure I have already rated this trio! However to repeat, it was excellent. A great day tour of Port Arthur, the isle of the dead and the Tasman Gorge. Very good driver full of both information and jokes. A great day out.

Doing what: Port Arthur Tour from Hobart

Luca V

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

Lovely place!

Doing what: Port Arthur Tour from Hobart

Philip M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

Very good driver/guide and very interesting place. Definitely a MUST for all Hobart visitors.

Doing what: Port Arthur Tour from Hobart

Sheree R

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2016

Walking tour very informative, had a great guide.
Cruise was ok but not necessary if you are short of time

Doing what: Port Arthur Historic Site 2-Day Pass

Sally F I

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

This was an excellent day. The driver, John, was articulate and informed, punctual and charming. The site has been beautifully maintained and is very well present. The highlight of our stay in the Hobart area.

Doing what: Port Arthur Tour from Hobart

Alan J

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2016

Friendly and knowledgeable driver. We stopped en route to view features of the Tasman Sea Coast - a bonus.

Doing what: Port Arthur Tour from Hobart

Robyn M

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2015

Very enjoyable and interesting. Driver also informed us of different things to and from Port Arthur which you don't get to know if you do it by yourself.

Doing what: Port Arthur Tour from Hobart

Brig. Brian W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

An excellent tour with good guides and commentarties all day. The scenery and antique buiding were something to behold and will stay in out memory forever.

Doing what: Port Arthur Tour from Hobart

Paul M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

The Tour Guide Zoran was excellent.

Doing what: Port Arthur Tour from Hobart

Rein B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Port Arthur was bigger and better than we expected. John, our bus driver, was one of the best tour guides we've had.

Doing what: Port Arthur Tour from Hobart

William D

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2015

Excellent driver
Good trip

Doing what: Port Arthur Tour from Hobart

Margaret S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

All was very good guide John new his stuff had a great day

Doing what: Port Arthur Tour from Hobart

Harold H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

very rewarding experience

Doing what: Port Arthur Tour from Hobart

Larry C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

plenty of time to see all of the prison

Doing what: Port Arthur Tour from Hobart

Chen L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Tour guide is very professional!The day tour was quiet well!

Doing what: Port Arthur Tour from Hobart

Stephen P Australia

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2015

Another overcast wet day in Hobart. We were collected by our driver in a very comfortable bus to commence our tour to Port Arthur. Our driver Greg was very informative and helpful. Once we arrived at Port Arthur we joined the walking tour for a general overview of the old penal colony. I recommend this as it provides you with good basic information to plan the rest of your day, especially if you have limited time, which we had. The boat trip which is included in your tour was ok but could be missed. It did give us the opportunity
To sit and have some lunch!! Exploring the Town Hall/asylum was great and really well presented. On to the commandants quarters which again included a free tour... Then down to the doctors house and the church....all excellently presented. A visit to the PA Memorial area...very eerie and moving. Last a visit to the museum. A most enjoyable day, however would have enjoyed a little more time to explore...alas not
Available. A very busy day full of interesting facts. Deb n Steve Perth WA

Doing what: Port Arthur Tour from Hobart

ronald w

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

a great day

Doing what: Port Arthur Tour from Hobart

Tina R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

It was better than expected, we were lucky to have a glorious day. The tour guide was very informative. The bus driver was very good and made a lot of time to explain everything as were were driving through there and back. Enjoyed it immensely and have recommended it to all my friends.

Doing what: Port Arthur Tour from Hobart

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message